A Touch of Battle Girls – Textures in Sengoku Otome

Sengoku Otome Hideyoshi wall art

Just some quick thoughts about a much neglected series of this season—Sengoku Otome: Momoiro Paradox.

Sengoku Otome Hideyoshi Nobunaga Akerin yuri

Sengoku Otome, despite all its flaws, is actually surprisingly pleasant to look at. No, I do not mean the revealing breasts, sexy hips, large breasts, the heavy yuri subtext—or rather, yuri scenes—and those few cute plays on urination fetishes. [1] I mean the gorgeous textures of Sengoku Otome.


Sengoku Otome Hideyoshi Nobunaga wall art

Sengoku Otome Hideyoshi fascinated fabric

From the detailed old-fashioned wall arts to the beautiful cloth, the environment of Sengoku Otome is ripe with intricate, stunning patterns and florals.

Battle Girl kimono Yoshimoto Imagawa

The various scenes with kimonos are especially eye-catching. The anime does a wonderful job of detailing not only the designs, but also the tactile to the kimono fabric. I can almost feel the clothes through just the visual. And I can imagine just imagine how pretty and how comfortable the fabric feel against the girls’ skin. [2]

Battle Girls Hideyoshi on the toilet

Sure, this anime may not have much substance or deep plot. Most scenes may be crude and silly (yes, that is her on the toilet). And its story is a jarring amalgamation of time periods and ridiculous parallel worlds.

Sengoku Otome Hideyoshi wall art textures

However, even though Sengoku Otome is far from a work of art, it does nail this one element well. For those several scenes, Sengoku Otome is very pretty, even elegant. The textures give the aesthetics a tangible feel and a touch of intelligence. They are a surprising but much appreciated part to this lowbrow anime. Very classy indeed. [3]

Sengoku Otome kimono fabric

Sengoku Otome Hideyoshi fascinated kimono

On a related note, I can totally understand Hideyoshi’s excitement when she received that huge treasure chest of kimonos. I think almost every girl, as a kid, has wanted to wrap herself up in bundles of luxurious lovely fabric. [4]

__________________________________________________

  1. I may just be extra sensitive to this, but Sengoku Otome seems to love to show Hideyoshi on the toilet or on the verge of going to the bathroom.Sengoku Otome Hideyoshi bathroomBattle Girls Hideyoshi running toilet
    … ♥?
  2. I kind of like how diva Yoshimoto Imagawa acts.
  3. At least as classy as it is embarrassing to admit that I am totally loving this anime right now for all the sexual reasons.
    Hideyoshi embarrassed
  4. The ending sequence is noteworthy.

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Editorial, Sengoku Otome and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to A Touch of Battle Girls – Textures in Sengoku Otome

  1. jreding says:

    I am glad to find that I am not the only one enjoying this show!

    The splendid textures caught my eye as well! Actually, this was also one of the main reasons why I liked Otome Youkai Zakuro.

    On another note, I find that there is one show in almost every season which is completely ridiculous but which I enjoy just for this randomness. This is particularly true for Shin Koihime Musou although it is far inferior to Sengoku Otome in terms of aesthetics. Tongue in cheek one might descibe Sengoku Otome as a combination of the best from Shin Koihime Musou and Houyge Mono!

    • Yi says:

      Sengoku Otome is my throwaway anime of this season, but it’s turning out so much more than I expected. And while Sengoku Otome may be pretty inconsistent with a lot of its animation, it nevertheless is very pleasant to look at. Those tapestries, kimonos, wall paper are the best.

      I have to give Otome Youkai Zakuro a look soon! Seems like something I’d enjoy a lot.

      • jreding says:

        By the way: My throwaway anime this Summer Season 2011 is Nekogami Yaoyorozu. In terms of art it is much inferior to Sengoku Otome, but it is very funny and cute, and it also has some yuri vibes!

        • Yi says:

          I think I’ve read the manga for Nekogami Yaoyorozu. It didn’t make much of an impression on me, so I’m not picking it up. My throwaway anime this season though is Yuru Yuri, which is also cute w/ yuri vibes.

  2. Shin says:

    Might want to give Koihime Musou a shot, Yi. It spans three seasons and has better… plot.

    • Ayra says:

      “Might want to give Koihime Musou a shot, Yi. It spans three seasons and has better… plot.”

      While I do agree that both series have a lot of similarities and that if someone likes one they are likely to like the other, I have to respectfully disagree on Koihime Musou having a better plot🙂 In particular, the last few episodes of Battle Girls improved the plot considerably (No, it’s still certainly not a masterpiece), while I always felt that Koihime Musou was more about adding as many characters as possible and dedicating a significant amount of screen time about actually talking about breasts.

      Anyway, that was a great observation regarding the textures! I had noticed that they looked good, but I certainly hadn’t looked at it in details like this🙂

      • Yi says:

        @Ayra: I’m actually still a few episodes behind on Sengoku Otome (Only on episode 7 as of right now). I’m very glad that the plot will be improving. So far, it’s been a fairly straightforward story with a lot of silliness and a lot of missing explanations on plot points (especially how Hideyoshi got there and what her plans are for getting back–that is if she has any plans at all).

        Anyway, thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment!

    • Yi says:

      @Shin: I’ve actually gotten a lot of enthused recommendations for Koihime Musou over the years, especially from yuri fans. I’ve always put it off for one reason or another. But one of these days, I’ll give in. ^ ^

  3. yunra says:

    “At least as classy as it is embarrassing to admit that I am totally loving this anime right now for all the sexual reasons.”

    Fufu. Yet another title added onto my already too long “To-Watch” yuri anime list (since I’ve just “joined” the yuri community for like, only months, so I’m still an “amateur”). Not that I mind the backlog. Felt nice there’re still yuri stuff that I haven’t tried out, since yuri is a niche market. Definitely gonna try this when I find the time. Thanks for the recommendation, Yi.

    • Yi says:

      Haha yea, there is a few episodes in here with some pretty strong yuri themes. Still, I think if your backlog is too long, you won’t be missing much by putting this off. Sengoku Otome is nothing too spectacular. It is a lot of fun though. So I’d recommend watching this after you have gotten through the more classic and more well claimed yuri anime.

      Also, you’re absolutely right about yuri being a niche market. There needs to be more yuri anime, especially dedicated anime about yuri relationships rather than simply having yuri as a side element (like Kuroko in Railgun).

  4. Overlord-G says:

    I don’t know exactly how far into the show you are at the moment but believe me when I say that you should keep watching because it WILL pay off. Once again your ability to notice these details and discuss them note by note shows how inferior my judgment of a show’s animation is. Ah well, if I see any updates required in my review of this show, I’ll add it later. For now I think I got my points across.

    Anyway I’m glad you’re also watching this show Yi-san.

    • Yi says:

      I’m still only on episode 7. Haven’t really been watching any anime at all (as I’m sure you know from my lack of email replies…😦 ) . Anyway, that’s really good to hear that things will be picking up. The story so far has been super weak and disconnected. I could care less about Nobunaga’s quest for armor or Hideyoshi’s being in this parallel past. But hopefully, the next episodes change my opinion. I think I’ll try to get some anime in tonight.

      Anyway, you should give yourself more credit! Keep up with those reviews. ^ ^

      • Overlord-G says:

        As explained in my review, this show’s pacing is exactly like the KM trilogy, it introduces the cast slowly, has some comedic moments in the middle and then things get real near the end, which in this show’s case happens when Nobunaga gathers all the armor pieces.

        This show’s appeal isn’t the plot but the characters themselves. I loathe the Yallow Demon, give my full support to Mitsuhide and see Nobunaga as a badass with a well drawn body.

        P.S.: Someone you REALLY like on the show will actually become a legitimate threat next week. That is the ONLY spoiler I’ll give.

        • Yi says:

          Ahh I see I see. Most anime in this sort of genre follows that structure I guess. I haven’t seen Koihime Musou, but Queen’s Blade is sort of similar. We’re introduced to the characters, then things start to get real in the tournament thingy. Comedy and fillers fill the middle. Well, that has me looking forward to catching up even more!

          Agreed about the plot and the characters. While the characters are not especially well written, they are super exciting to watch. And they certainly give this series a very fun punch.

          I’m assuming you’re talking about Tokunyan~ I like her so much (possibly my favorite character in Sengoku Otome). I want to see her up to no good. ^ ^

      • Overlord-G says:

        Yup, pretty much most ECCHIMANIA anime have this flow in plot development.

        Tokunyan finally decides to do things herself instead of rely on her stooges so things are about to get real. I also like her evil smirk and when she tones down her voice to sound more menacing. Oh yeah, the purple wrath is coming.

  5. Shinra says:

    Oh yeah! When I 1st saw the seiyuu list I was like “What?! Kitamura Eri? This will be either Harem or Yuri.” AND ITS YURI!😄

    Oh, I do like Masamune’s outfit a lot. Probably its because I like the color blue and girls with long straight hair. I totally love girls in armors too!! (and eye-patches :p)

    Sengoku Otome is probably the only anime that I dig most in this season (2nd HanaSaku Iroha) :3

    • Yi says:

      Haha, good call! It may even be both yuri and harem. ^ ^

      I like Masamune quite a bit too. She seems like a very mature, classy, gentle woman, which is a very nice contrast to all those loud, hot-blooded girls in Sengoku Otome. The blue suits her too.

      I don’t know if Sengoku Otome is my favorite of the season, but I am certainly finding it more fun than some of the other series I’m watching.

      p.s. Girls in armor is sexy! And so are eye patches sometimes.

  6. And I was wondering who else would talk about Sengoku Otome. Glad to see that I’m not the only one blogging about it!

    The textures are definitely real beautiful and do have a certain artistic sense to them as well. I guess they appeals to me maybe because they do feel so much closer to Japanese culture, not the current culture with all the tech and big cities, but the older culture with a great deal of history (the Sengoku Era). Such a shame that we don’t much new historical anime series these days…

    P.S. Kenshin and Masamune are my favorites since I love their outfits and cool personalities!

    • Yi says:

      “And I was wondering who else would talk about Sengoku Otome.”
      I know right? There just doesn’t seem to be that many people talking about this anime, although I guess it is to be expected. Compared to, say, AnoHana, Sengoku Otome lacks quite a bit of depth in many areas.

      Certainly! I thought the textures really helps to root Sengoku Otome in a fantastical past. I especially love the luxurious feel of some of the insides of palaces. It’s really quite a blast.

      p.s. I’m not well versed enough in traditional Japanese culture and art history to know whether the tapestries, fabrics, and patterns are authentic for that era, but they definitely are very pretty to look at. And they do do a good job of placing the story in “olden” times.

      Anyway, I think my favorite character is probably Tokunyan followed by a tie among Nobunaga, Hideyoshi, and Masamune.

  7. Ristlin says:

    Haha, that almost makes me want to watch it. But, due to time constraints, I had to choose shows that seemed to have thicker plots and are acceptable to be watched in school >.< Glad that there's people who are giving less popular shows the benefit of the doubt.

    • Yi says:

      This isn’t exactly something I would go out of my way for. I picked it up on a whim, and for me, it’s just another throwaway show that I don’t have to invest too much energy or emotions into. A fun throwaway show of sorts. So yea, if you’re too busy, I think there are much more worthwhile series out there.

      p.s. While it’s turning out much better than I expected, it’s still far from the top-notch bests.

      “acceptable to be watched in school >.<"
      Loll, yea probably not this! Sengoku Otome isn't as bad as Queen's Blade or HotD though.

  8. J.Dang says:

    I watched a bit of the first episode of Sengoku Otome. I found the show pretty enjoyable. Thanks for pointing out some of textures in this show. They look really beautiful.

    I’ll have to make a long anime session when exams stop destroying my life, lol.

    • Yi says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the anime and the aesthetics. I did too!

      Anyway, good luck on your exams. I hope you ace them all. ^ ^ (Also have fun with the marathons~)

  9. Marina says:

    Haha, I felt kinda bashful about picking up this anime and sticking with it, especially since I don’t usually like fanservice and very few people seem to be watching it. I agree with you completely that the graphics for this show are very well done and detailed; the floral patterns nicely complement the femininity of the show. Women in full bloom, indeed.

    • Yi says:

      Me too. I’m bit embarrassed about liking this so much, especially the yuri fanservice parts. I’m really glad I’m not the only who’s enjoying this so much though. I think most people realize Sengoku Otome isn’t going to be a memorable piece of art, but that doesn’t mean we can’t love it!

      “Women in full bloom” are always super super nice. *blushes~*

  10. Ryan A says:

    I halted after episode 3, but grrr those textures. Maybe I’ll sneak in some more episodes one day, hehe. You know, I have to ask (I’ll assume anyway, so you don’t have to answer) but is the image under footnote #3 you in lieu of that statement? ^ ワ ^

    • Yi says:

      To be honest, I thought seriously about dropping this really early on, but the textures, tapestries, fabrics, kimonos, walls, and stuff kept me going. And I’m kind of glad I did, because later episodes gave me quite a yurilicious treat~

      “is the image under footnote #3 you in lieu of that statement?”
      Haha~ (Pretty much my expression during that huge yuri harem scene. ^ ^)

  11. kluxorious says:

    I can see why you like this one. I watched up to episode 4 then I realized that I don’t get any kind of pleasure from watching it so I put it on hold. I don’t give much thoughts on their attire though, I don’t usually do that.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, this would be my kind of lowbrow anime. Well, Sengoku Otome is definitely not something worth spending any time on if you’re not enjoying it (what anime really is?), so yea. ^ ^

  12. biotoxic says:

    Ah cool, I’ve been following Battle Girls as well. It’s nothing amazing and I probably wouldn’t recommend it as “worth watching” to anyone. It’s an okay filler that I wouldn’t be watching if it wasn’t on crunchyroll basically. Saying that I guess I must be enjoying something about it otherwise I’d have given up by now. I feel we only really know 3 characters though. The rest to me are “the green one” or “the light blue one”, which is a shame.

    The outfits are rather colourful and interesting to look at and the backdrops (especially inside the castle) are nicely done. Too bad the character animations aren’t all that consistent and pleasing to look at.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, definitely not art, but it is entertaining. The characters and the plot are both fairly mediocre. But despite all that, I find everything still work quite well overall.

      “Too bad the character animations aren’t all that consistent and pleasing to look at.”
      I know!

      Sengoku-Otome-Hideyoshi-inconsistent-animation

      p.s. I actually included this screenshot in the initial draft of the post and a jab at the inconsistency, but took it out because of length concerns.

      Well, at least we still have the pretty environment and the oddly entertaining story to enjoy. Cheers. ^ ^

  13. Sakurai_Hideru says:

    If I pick this up, it’ll be the third warrior guys turned into gals anime for me. The 1st was Koihime Musou, 2nd was Hyakka Ryouran. Does this anime have lots of yuri in it like Koihime? If it does then I’ll try to watch it sometime…🙂

    • Yi says:

      It does have a yuri subtheme and many yuri moments, but I’m not sure if it’s quite on the level of Koihime Musou (haven’t seen Koihime Musou.) In any case, I only picked up Sengoku Otome on a whim, and would probably not highly recommend it to anyone. If yuri is what you’re looking for, there are far better series.

  14. abscissa says:

    I’m not really watching Sengoku Otome, I dropped it after episode 1. But I agree, those textures are really lovely. In fact, right now I can remember how the details of the textures look like but not the characters. I can remember that someone is peeing but that’s just it. > <"

    • Yi says:

      Haha, yea. The story and the characters aren’t really too memorable. And there is just a lot of general silliness, like the pee pee stuff. ^ ^ But I guess at least it’s not all medicore/ bad.

  15. Swordwind says:

    The problem was with the show itself, not the post.

  16. Watch Anime says:

    Not one of my favorite shows took it off after a few mins…but great blog

    • Yi says:

      It’s not one of my favorite shows either, but I did stick with it. It’s not too terrible I suppose. (p.s. Thank you. ^ ^)

  17. I’m going to have to consider watching this. I never picked it up frankly due to the other stuff I wanted to get out of the way, but I can give this one a fair shake like I did to Softenni. Have to agree though by looking at the screens the art is visually pleasing.

    • Yi says:

      This isn’t what I would consider high priority, but the good thing with anime like this is that it doesn’t require much emotional investment, which kind of makes it very easy to watch. I really enjoy using Sengoku Otome to kill time. That it is pleasant to look at is a nice bonus.

  18. Dan says:

    I have heard much on this, but have not had time to watch myself. I have no idea why there is a fetish of girls gong to the toilet, but I guess we see the day-to-day aspect of the girls??

    • Yi says:

      I don’t really try to think too much about why there are certain fetishes. We all have our kinks, and what you may think is sexy, others may think is weird.

      Anyway, the anime is pretty mediocre, but it’s not too bad.

  19. Nopy says:

    I’m a fan of good animation/art and will usually watch an anime based on that, but I just couldn’t get over how they turned Oda Nobunaga into a busty, sexy red-head with a curvilicious figure. Oda has always been a cool, merciless warrior in my eyes.

    • Yi says:

      Haha, yea I totally understand that, I think. It’s the same reason I couldn’t get myself into Koihime Musou. I know much less about Japanese history as opposed to the three kingdoms era in China, so maybe that’s the reason I could tolerate Sengoku Otome and female fanservicing Oda Nobunaga much more.

  20. Kuro says:

    The ED theme of this anime is a work of art.🙂

  21. Overlord-G says:

    the Purple One struck this week but it is tomorrow when the real battle takes place. I’m hoping for a non-crappy ending involving the accursed Yellow Demon.

    • Yi says:

      I’m now at episode 11. And the purple one is indeed quite devilishly lovely. ^ ^

      I don’t expect this anime to have a bad ending though, for Hideyoshi, for Nobunaga, or for Tokunyan.

  22. @fkeroge says:

    I’m not really interested in watching this one. There’s just something about it that doesn’t click with me. Your post about it is very good and insightful as usual, but I still can’t get appeal from the looks of the show itself.

    It looks like that there’s yuri in here, but I’ll have to pass on that too.😦

    • Yi says:

      The series isn’t anything amazing, and definitely not a “must-watch” series. Even I’m a bit surprised I decided to pick it up, considering how little anime I watch. (Though I am enjoying it quite a bit for the silly fun and yuri.)

    • Overlord-G says:

      I expected you to stop by much earlier and dismiss this show after Yi-san posted it, but you stopped by anyway, you saw and you conquered. Then again, even I must admit that this show isn’t anything to write home about yet have no shame admitting that I enjoyed watching it.

  23. tama-chan says:

    sound like a good anime (ahaha ^ ^) should try it😀

    • Yi says:

      It’s not good and it’s not bad. Very very average. I guess it does kill time well, but I wouldn’t pick it up expecting to be thrilled.

  24. Yuffie says:

    Uhm… usually if an anime talks about
    the past of the japan i will go see it, but when i watched episode 5~6 I almost stopped it, was becoming boring =~ And the final(was a little boring too) until today i don’t understand who the hell the dog is! Just the part where date-sensei told akerin some ecchi tricks to seduces nobunaga was fun~~

    • Yi says:

      Yea, there were a lot of problems with this anime, and it really falls apart at the end. I was very unhappy with the final episode and the dog and all the weird unnecessary things. (I’ll probably write a review soon on all the things I had a problem with.)

      But yea, the yuri stuff is kind of cute. ^ ^

  25. Pingback: Sengoku Otome ~Momoiro Paradox~ Review | Listless Ink

  26. jreding says:

    I recently thought about this post when I watched Brave-10 which plays in the same period. If you like textures and patterns I recommend having a look at the ED of that show!

Leave a Reply

