A Thousand Origami Cranes

A Thousand Origami Cranes

A legend once claimed that a wish would be granted to one who makes a thousand cranes. There have been many stories based around this myth. And once in while, someone will fold a thousand cranes in the sincerest hope that a wish would come true.

Some time ago, I had something I really wanted and needed fulfilled. On a whim, and perhaps prompted by the bleakness of the situation, I started making cranes. Since then, whenever I had a piece of scrap paper, a receipt, trash mail, and anything else I can get my hands on, I would fold it into a crane. I would then store the crane in a shoe box in the corner of my room, and count them every month or so. A thousand is quite a large number, but with enough time, I got there.

My wish did not come true. It was just a false fantasy after all.

A Thousand Origami Cranes

Today, while cleaning out my old home—I am moving once again—I found those cranes still in those shoeboxes. [1] It is a bit surprising just how many there are. [2] They will probably be tossed and scattered. Though the wish failed, I suppose the cranes did give me a bitter romantic hope.

__________________________________________________

  1. Sorry for the lack of posts and for being so distant and unresponsive to emails, comments, and stuff lately. Moving is super exhausting. I will be back to normal activity soon.
  2. By the way, not a single one made with one hand. I did try, but they were all too small.
This entry was posted in Life Update and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

112 Responses to A Thousand Origami Cranes

  1. Ryan A says:

    Mm, this is kind of amazing for me. I’ve heard of the myth, and even pondered it before, but I don’t think I’ve ever had a powerful enough hope or wish to push me beyond seeing it as feasible (probably because I would have tried to fold them all at one time). In your case, maybe it was a “bitter romantic hope” but the most attractive word of that phrase is “romantic.” Whatever the outcome, I feel something like this speaks for your romantic heart, and I don’t know… colour me impressed. ^ ^

    Happy moving Yi, cheers.

    • Yi says:

      Right when I started, my instinct was to sit down and blow through all 1000 at once. But I quickly realized that that is impossible. It got a lot easier though once I made a habit of folding all scraps of paper. I’d make a crane while waiting for my order at the restaurant, or while watching anime, or even when in traffic.

      Anyway, it would have been quite a fairytale ending if my wish did come true, but I guess the thought itself is kind of romantic. Cheers, Ry. Your words always make me a bit happier. Thanks. ^ ^

  2. Overlord-G says:

    It’s a shame your wish didn’t come true Yi-san.

    Best of luck moving to your new home and keep on rockin’, washing your hair and being cool. WOO WOO WOO! You know it, sis.

    • Yi says:

      Loll. Sure thing. ^ ^
      If I recall correctly, you said this is a pro wrestling references, right? So jarring to see that here. Haha.
      Btw. you can probably guess that I have absolutely zero interest in pro wrestling.

      • Overlord-G says:

        3 reasons for that (aside from being a wrestling fan myself).
        1: I like the catchphrase. It’s a cool way of telling people to take care of themselves and keep on having a great day.
        2: Since I have my own introduction catchphrase I think I’m planning on using this as my concluding catchphrase instead of “This is the OG-Man, signing off”.
        3: Zack Ryder is epic.

        In all seriousness, I do hope all is going well on your side, despite some setbacks. As you’ve figured out, I’m not good at making paper cranes or origami in general. I have a creative mind…but not physical motion.

        • TRazor says:

          Try “Do You Smell What The Overlord Is Cooking?”

          or

          “The Overlord is the best there wass, the best there is and the best there ever will be. But for now, he’s leaving the building.”

          or

          “It matter what I think.”

        • Yi says:

          @Overlord_G: Paper cranes are a lot easier than some of the more advanced origami, so with practice, you should be fine.

          @TRazor: I think I know what the first one is referencing. The others… Not so much.

  3. kluxorious says:

    I guess you wish for the end of the world? (bad joke, I know)😛

  4. Swordwind says:

    They’re lovely, Yi.

    • Yi says:

      Thank you!
      I guess they kind of are even without the miracles.

      • Swordwind says:

        I’m sorry… I know the cranes themselves weren’t the focus of this post.

        But I don’t know what miracle you wished for, or even if it’s possible for your wish to still come true, so all I can say about that wish is “I’m sorry.”

  5. 2DT says:

    You might want to burn them.

    Not to say that that’s any more likely to make them work now. I don’t know what you’re going through. But may offer a kind of closure, doing it that way as opposed to putting them into the garbage.

    Just an idea. Good luck with everything.

    • Yi says:

      That’s a really good idea. I kind of wish I had read this comment before I tossed them in the trash already.

      It will be really really hard to get closure on it, but I think just parting with these cranes is a small step toward that.

      Anyway, thank you for the thought! And good luck with your life too~

  6. fathomlessblue says:

    I used to do something similar, by throwing coins into an old wishing well as a kid in Ireland. Even back then I was a bit of a realist and had no genuine expectations, but still, I think you can take comfort even going through the motions of something. It’s always a positive thing to think “what if” even when reality tends to reaffirm it’s shitty nature. I’d certainly prefer ‘imagined’ hope than none at all, it’s why I still always have a coin to spare whenever I find myself by that well. Perhaps I’m just a secret romantic at heart.🙂

    Anyway, I hope your move isn’t too stressful and works out for you. Take care xoxo

    • Yi says:

      Aww, that’s kind of really adorable. ^ ^

      I think it’s nice to have just a little bit of that childish naivete at heart. I’m a realist too, and I’d like to think I’m very rational in most cases, but sometimes, that “what if” is just so compelling. Maybe one of these days, that coin will turn into something miraculous.

      Anyway, take care of yourself too!

  7. glothelegend says:

    These are awesome. You should have made them really big. 1000 really big cranes.

  8. Sasa says:

    The cranes remind me of the story of the little girl who died of cancer before she could finish her cranes. Your story is almost as heart-breaking, and I am all for burning them too, by the way.😉

    • Yi says:

      I know that story! I think that may be where I got the idea from originally. There’s a few parallels too between my wish and hers, but yea… It’s a pretty sad story all around.

      Anyway, I really should have burned them. Next time I guess, if I ever try this again (or rather, believe in it again).

  9. Smithy says:

    Even if your wish didn’t come true, folding the cranes to make it come true gave you a purpose and something to hold on to, to keep your hope alive. That in itself is already worth something, don’t you think? ^^

    • Yi says:

      That is true. That little bit of hope is a nice (albeit a bit flimsy) dream while it lasted. And they did indeed make me just a little happier while making them.

  10. Zeroblade says:

    Oh man, this is so romantic; I’m really impressed that you were able to keep going all the way to a thousand – it must’ve been something huge if it kept you going that long.
    Like what 2DT said, if you’re inclined to part with them, I think burning them would offer some closure on the whole affair, and it just feels more appropriate on the whole.
    Hope you can sort out your issues smoothly, good luck with life, and happy moving~

    • Yi says:

      I think the trick to getting to a thousand is to not make it a task. For me, making cranes became a sort of habit after a while. Every single receipt I’ve had in the last two years have become a crane. It’s not that hard, but I guess it is time consuming.

      I think I probably should have burned them for more closure. But I did give them a kiss as I placed them in the recycling. I also kept a few to just scatter along the streets. (Yay! Littering!)

      Anyway, thanks for the kind thoughts. Good luck with your life as well. ^ ^

  11. CainHyde says:

    Agree with others.
    You’re quite a romantic person Yi!🙂
    And your diligence really astonish me.

  12. feal87 says:

    Oh, finally a romantic post!
    That’s what I needed to smile a little this morning.🙂

    You’re moving? Good luck with it, I can quite understand how tiring it is.🙂 (done it some year ago and I DON’T WANT to do it again)

    • Yi says:

      Glad I could give you a smile~

      Yea, moving sucks! It’s so much work.
      On the flip side though, I found a lot of cool stuff I never knew was in my house… Like multiple blindfolds. Weird…

  13. Canne says:

    What you did was amazing, though a bit sad.
    Good luck with moving!🙂

  14. abscissa says:

    That thousand cranes are so lovely but I’m up for the idea of burning them. I mean… burn the failures and have fresh start at your new place. Good luck on your move.

    • Yi says:

      I didn’t get a chance to burn them, but I think just parting with them is giving me some sort of closure. A fresh start… would be kind of nice. ^ ^

  15. gozieson says:

    Heh, I guess we have to keep the faith once in a while eh?

    Speaking of which, you know why I think we should always stay close to god? For me, I think that it would help us believe that there would be someone out there who would take care of us whichever world we are in. Our family members and friends would watch us when we grow, our children will watch us when we’re old, and when we pass on, someone, somewhere, somehow, there would be someone who would watch our spirit, no matter it being god, or our ancestors’ spirits.

    I haven’t really kept the faith much lately, maybe I should also fold some cranes for good measure (though that’s highly unlikely, as I’m still wondering why my PC version of pokemon white doesn’t let my pokemon gain EXP, I swear I thought I nailed down all the steps to play it properly T.T), must also keep my head in the game, just one more week of exams before I can strat running around like a mad man in my birthday suit😄.

    • Yi says:

      I have reservations about religions in general. As for believing in an otherworldly existence, it would be nice to know that there is some higher power, but I just can’t know for sure. I guess that’s why believing in a god/ gods requires some leaps of faith, faith that I’m not sure I have.

      With that said, even as rational as I am (or so I’d like to think), I do have my host of odd superstitions. Still, one thing I don’t think I’ll believe in again is hopelessly wish for something miraculous from a thousand cranes. Fantasy will be fantasy.

      Anyway, good luck with Pokemon and your exams! I hope you do excellent in both. ^ ^

      • gozieson says:

        Hah, thanks. I guess we all have different believes and views of religion. Being in Malaysia, I am quite neutral about the different races and religions and their practices here. Of course there will be people who have different thoughts about this, I know you do, everyone does.

        Maybe I might put my thoughts about religion in my fanfictions in the future, just another couple of days before I can continue to figure out how to boot up pokemon white on my computer.😀

        • Yi says:

          To be honest, I really don’t know what religion I am, or if I have one at all. So I’m pretty neutral about all religions and practices too I guess.

  16. Impy says:

    I really applaud you on spending so much time and dedication making those! I’m sorry that your wish didn’t come true but I remember hearing this in a funeral sermon once, “If you pray hard for something, and while you’re praying for that something, go get it yourself.”

    I don’t know about your situation, but maybe folding the cranes is just the first step? After you fold all those, you go after what you want. I wish you the best, Yi.

    • Yi says:

      That quotation is really good advice. I’ll definitely keep that in mind for whenever I need something accomplished.

      Unfortunately, this wish was something I have no control over (except maybe some sort of supernatural thing). I wish it was something I could work hard on, but it wasn’t. And as hard as I prayed, my wish didn’t happen. I suppose in the end, it is asking for too much…

      It’s all too late now. Other than an impossible miracle, I will never get what I want again.

      Sorry for being such a downer.😦 And thank you so much for the kind words. Cheers!

  17. Chris says:

    I think the trick behind the 1000 cranes is focusing on the wish while you fold them in succession. That much time focusing on a situation would bring a solution or outcome to light.

    It is an act of meditation.

    Best of luck on the move!

    • Yi says:

      Hm…Or maybe it’s simply a fairytale. I’m a bit cynical now about the whole thousand cranes things. It was kind of silly of me to think that I could will something into reality just by folding cranes. Still, it was indeed a nice meditative fantasy.

      Thanks for the words. Best of luck on your life too. ^ ^

  18. Baka-Raptor says:

    My eyes have been feeling a little better lately. Thanks for the wish!

  19. Nopy says:

    I remember this story from when I had to study Japan in school. I think it was a sick girl that was folding cranes in order to make a wish. She didn’t reach a thousand, but her classmates folded the cranes she needed after she died.

    • Yi says:

      It’s a lovely story isn’t it? I think she was the inspiration for my trying it this out.

      Unfortunately, it seems more likely that even if the sick girl got to a thousand, she wouldn’t have gotten better from her Leukemia.

  20. Cyurio says:

    There’s something about stories like these that I always find really touching. Stories of perseverance and hope in the midst of despair always get to me somehow.

    I’m amazed that you were able to fold the full thousand, it’s not something anyone can do. Though the wish may have failed, the experience shows that you have the kind of perseverance we need to get through troubles in life. It’s not much, but maybe that could work as a silver lining.

    • Yi says:

      A silver lining I guess. That’s a really kind way of wording the delusion. ^ ^
      Thanks, Cyurio! You’ve made me feel a little better about this whole thing. ^ ^

      • Cyurio says:

        Glad I could help.🙂

        Don’t be afraid to dream, ’cause even if they don’t come true, after all is said and done, you find that you’ve grown in ways you wouldn’t have expected.

        “Delusion” is just the pessimist’s word for “Dream.” A little optimism goes a long way, you know. You’d be surprised what a little hope can do.

        • Yi says:

          A little optimism could really brighten the day indeed. I should cheer up more often when I have these downer moods.

  21. ~xxx says:

    Amazing…

    But the thing is It is hard to make a wish come true.
    But, I still like to give it a try.

  22. Itachi says:

    Cool! It gives me a warm feeling when look at the pics. It reminds me of me making crane origami when I’m still young. Well, I kinda forgot already on the process of making it though T.T
    Those crane origami collection you got there are amazing. There sure got numbers. Anyway, Best of luck and enjoy your new home Yii! xD

    • Yi says:

      Making origami is super fun, isn’t it? At the very least, folding cranes gave me something to do with my fingers when I’m waiting for things. Usually, it’s waiting for a take out item or driving in traffic. Kills time really well. ^ ^

  23. Sakurai_Hideru says:

    Best of luck moving to your new home. I’ve done it once and I hope to never have to move again. One of the worst and most tiring experience of all time…

    Oh and btw, Adrena finally uploaded a new chappie for Spiral! Hurrah! ^-^

    • Yi says:

      I’ve had to move quite a few times, and not once is it not tiring… But I do enjoy getting comfortable with a new place. ^ ^

      “Oh and btw, Adrena finally uploaded a new chappie for Spiral! Hurrah! ^-^”
      Awesome!

  24. Ristlin says:

    Impressive. I personally would never have the willpower to do something like this (and also, I don’t know how to fold paper cranes to begin with). The wish must have been something very important to you for you to go to this point of trying to make it become reality. It’s a shame that it didn’t =(. Hope that your life will still ride the waves of problems that the world will toss at you, stay positive, and good luck. =D

    • Yi says:

      Just make it into a habit. Even now, I make cranes with scraps of paper. (Receipts are especially nice… Perfect size in my opinion.) I’m not trying to make a thousand anymore, but simply giving my hands things to do. I think it might be fun to try to learn to do it.

      Anyway, that wish is super important… And yea…😦

      “Hope that your life will still ride the waves of problems that the world will toss at you, stay positive, and good luck. =D”
      Thank you so much. Same for you as well. ^ ^

  25. Solaris says:

    Uhm sad post. And. Sorry but i’m going to be super mean here. But please bear with it once more, k?
    I mean, having hope is nice and all but waiting for God to grant our wishes without movin’ our asses is not so good. We gotta earn our success, how could we enjoy it unless we just sit there?
    Aiutati che Dio ti aiuta Is an old Proverb. It comes from St Ignazio di Loyola who said something similar: Agisci come se tutto dipendesse da te, sapendo che tutto dipende da Dio (act like everything depended on you alone, while knowing all depends on God instead).
    English equivalent is something like: God helps those who help themselves
    If you see it in this new light: Folding cranes is just a miss directed hope. That’s why the wish didn’t come true. You were wasting energies with some unrelated effort.

    This is even sadder if we take into account the crane story’s birth. Sadako was hit by the nuke’s harmful radiations during WWII. She believed she would be saved unless she folded 1k paper cranes, but reality is merciless and she died hopelessly.
    If you think it better folding 1k paper cranes just takes a lot of time. So folding another crane, when your own time is running out so fast, can be the only anchor of hope to keep on living just for one more day. It’s an hidden push to endure it against a hopeless faith.
    So next time you have a wish. Just work your ass and realize it but never wait the inevitable passively and hopelessly.😉
    Sorry for being mean.

    • Yi says:

      “Folding cranes is just a miss directed hope. That’s why the wish didn’t come true. You were wasting energies with some unrelated effort.”

      “So next time you have a wish. Just work your ass and realize it but never wait the inevitable passively and hopelessly. ”

      Do you think I didn’t realize that?

      You have no idea what my wish was.

    • Kee says:

      Well, that was kind of rude. Her wish could have been anything. Perhaps you should think before you get dirarrhea fingers.😉

    • Solaris says:

      Excuse me. I expected I was going to hit some nerve, but I didn’t expect my words to hit a rock wall and be rejected like that. So i really beg your pardon for my rudeness Yi, but please accept my goodwill at least.

      Just read above the lines. The cranes are an exhortation of endurance. So folding them keeps a very important meaning we have to keep in mind. It’s not just a rite such as asking god for favours.
      And St Ignazio’s quote is just another exhortation to work out our own wishes with all of our might.

    • Philijongon says:

      Miss directed hope or not. We humans believe in things for such. True that we should act like there was no god (atheist here), but if it only help giving your hope or doubts a rest, calming you, then why not?

  26. Valence says:

    I think the myth works because ‘when there’s a will, there’s a way.’ Seeing as how you’re willing to fold 1000 paper cranes, surely, you have the determination and skill to get what you want.

  27. Shiroiusachan says:

    Well Yi at least you still hope🙂
    Don’t stop hoping, because that might be our only motivation to carry on moving foward.
    I’ve had my share of disappoinment as well but that’s what reality is.
    I can’t deny reality but by hoping I can make it a little better.

  28. Keep on dreaming and I hope you’ll keep up a strong will and determination!

    I, myself, am in the midst of the thousand origami crane challenge as well, since I do also have a wish (a secret, if you’ll pardon me) that I strongly want to accomplish. I’ve lost count of how many I have done, but I will check later at the end of summer, since it will surely take a long time. Even though I know that it probably will not work, I can at least take comfort in the thought that I am still determined to accomplish my wish.

    That, and it’s also a convenient way to kill time. ^_^

    • Yi says:

      Good luck on your foldings and on your wish. I really hope yours does come true. ^ ^

      (It is a super fun way to kill time indeed!)

  29. bluedrakon says:

    I loved the shot of all the cranes – need to really pick up on doing that as it will give me some fun at work.

    • Yi says:

      I think folding crane is a great way to pass time while waiting. I do it when I’m stuck in traffic, or when I’m waiting for an order. Keeps my hand occupied and my mind blank. Have fun~

  30. Accelerator says:

    I folded 1000 air-planes as a child, thinking I could use them for world domination.
    What a stupid idea……

    Anyways, this atleast made more sense than my plane idea. If its not something physically impossible than the wish has a chance of happening. Though im not sure of the statistics, im sure theres a chance. If its not 0% then by dictionary definition its not “hopeless”.

    Also, the cranes can serve a psychological purpose, as in, if your doing something you are not sure you will succeed in, it can be alittle reassuring to have the cranes ready for an extra confidence boost. Even if it’ll seem pointless after you fail, atleast they were put to good use. But then again, all that paper could have been made into a bomb or used to spread a flame to engulf the…….straying off topic. If your wish is virtually impossible then let time decide wether it shall be, time is the means by which all is revealed, after all.

    • Yi says:

      Childhood playful innocence is not stupid; it’s adorable. ^ ^

      Whether my wish was impossible or just very slim, I really don’t know. I suppose that in itself means it wasn’t a hopeless endeavor. Oh well, it’s all hindsight now.

      “time is the means by which all is revealed, after all.”
      Very true. Give it enough time, and any worries will fade I suppose.

  31. baka~ says:

    Forgive me, but I find this fascinating. I may not be a die-hard religious person but I think, folding 1000 cranes is a form of prayer in itself. And even though you didn’t get what you prayed for, I guess, looking at these cranes that you made back then, reminded you of the faith you once had or, would I be too assuming to consider it as a faith that still burns inside you?.

    • Yi says:

      I guess this did in some ways resemble a form of prayer. Faith… Maybe not so much, but just a hope. I desperately wanted it to come true, but I think I always knew it was a fantasy. I was just hoping for that slim possibility (impossibility) that the fantasy is real.

  32. @fkeroge says:

    It takes a lot of dedication to fold 1000 paper cranes, more so if they’re that small. I don’t want to think that your effort will be in vain. Your wish would still be granted, I’m sure of it. Everything has its time and place. ^^

    And sorry for not being active the past few days… had lots of things going on in here for me too.

    • Yi says:

      Thanks for the kind thought, but unfortunately, what I want will never be. Not anymore.

      “And sorry for not being active the past few days… had lots of things going on in here for me too.”
      Please don’t apologize! I’ve been really inactive on the internet recently too. Haven’t really had a chance to properly respond to comments/ emails and visit my favorite blogs. I’ll have to catch up on my subscriptions.

      Best of luck with whatever you’re going through! ^ ^

  33. biotoxic says:

    This is both fascinating and tragic. Seeing the 1000 paper cranes you folded and stored over time shows the extend to which you hoped for your wish granted. To then find out the outcome …😦. Despite that I believe these cranes served their purpose: to give you hope and a means of helping in what appears to be a helpless situation.

    Best of luck with everything. Hopefully you will be on the way up again and good luck with all the moving.

    • Yi says:

      Yes, at the very least, the cranes gave me peace of mind and hope at times. Those are worth something I suppose. ^ ^

      Thank you.

  34. Xine says:

    I like making paper cranes too but I didn’t know about the legend. Those cranes are lovely, sorry your wish didn’t come true but I’m sure there will be a lot of great things coming your way.

    There’s this Thousand Cranes (I guess they got the name from that legend) restaurant here and for some reason, hubby and I make silly martial arts moves when we pass by that place. We always get a kick out of that. Lol.

    • Yi says:

      “hubby and I make silly martial arts moves when we pass by that place”
      Loll, how adorably fun! Now that you mention it, thousand cranes does sound like some martial arts move. ^ ^

  35. Mikoto says:

    I don’t know what happened or what you wished for, but I’m sorry it didn’t come true. ): But hey, at least those cranes tell you that your determination to hold onto your hope was as good as it could be, which kind of gives you a warm feeling, you know?

    • Yi says:

      True true. They do give me a somewhat warm feeling looking back, but at the same time, there is a very distinct bitterness. It’s a weird feeling.

  36. lovelyduckie says:

    I get frustrated with origami, it seems like I can never do the fold right on even the first 3 tries and my creations would have lots of extra folds. Moving is a pain, and when you’re moving hobbies are your lowest priority. I don’t think I saw a single anime figure for months after I moved.

    • Yi says:

      Keep practicing origami, and they’ll come out right. ^ ^

      Moving is a pain. Ugh… Come to think of it, I still haven’t unpacked my figures. They’re still in their boxes.

  37. Aya says:

    Already forget how to make these Lovely Cranes T_T and also those stars yeah I remember my sister’s husband (haven’t married at that time) make a hundreds of stars for her birthday years ago….

    May your dream some true Yi😀

    by the way did you ever count yours ? ^^

    • Yi says:

      I used to make origami stars too, but I think I’ve forgotten how to make them as well. These days, all I do with origami is making cranes.

      Anyway, you’re sister’s husband is such a sweet guy~

      “May your dream some true Yi ”
      Thanks, but it’s too late for that particular dream… I got to 1000, and it still wasn’t enough.😦

  38. Fabienne says:

    At least you’ve tried it, you have my respect for your diligence😉
    unfortunately wishes won’t be granted that easily in this cruel world,
    but it would be cool if it would work this way I guess ^_^

    • Yi says:

      It’s too bad right? It’d certainly be kind of nice if we could just will things into happening, but that’s not how life works…

  39. Anonymous says:

    All I will say is: ganbatte ne~

  40. Q says:

    Ah the 1000 cranes wish legend. They really are romantic, but for some reasons many I’ve heard so far end in a bittersweet way.

    You actually made 1000 paper cranes! This is surely no ordinary feat I have to say, as that requires a lot of time, effort, and most of all patience and determination to do so. Sorry to hear that the wish didn’t get to become true, and whatever it was it must have been really dear to you and something that it cannot be happened by now.

    I must admit that I have become less sensitive or inspired by motivational quotes/stories these days (the “life is not as ideal” kind of thing), but that’s just me, and nevertheless I think in general humans have developed something quite unique in the way of thinking – hope. Even when there’s a good amount of odd against you, you cling onto hope and give yourself a chance, a possibility that you can overcome this odd. Sometimes it won’t work, but sometimes it does. There’s nothing to lose to hope I suppose. While making cranes may not “directly” give the results that one wishes for, but it does metaphorically show the belief or “thing” we have somewhere within ourselves.

    So I suppose despite what I’ve said earlier, I still say to myself “Don’t give up hope!” when I am not so much in an ideal situation. Don’t give up yours!

    • Yi says:

      “I must admit that I have become less sensitive or inspired by motivational quotes/stories these days (the “life is not as ideal” kind of thing)”
      I don’t think there’s anything inspirational about making 1000 cranes and then seeing that nothing happened… And yes, life is not ideal.😦

      “Don’t give up yours!”
      Thank you, but it’s unfortunately too late. It’s one of those things that either happened or didn’t happen, and it’s not within my control.

      Anyway, I appreciate the words~ ^ ^

  41. toffee-kun says:

    This post moves me in ways I did not deem possible.

  42. Have you ever tried making one thousand cranes before?.We challenged ourselves to fold a thousand cranes a little while ago to raise money for leukaemia. It was a lot of fun to make so many cranes..Tsuru.The reason why folding 1000 cranes is associated with leukaemia is due to the story of Sadako and the Paper Cranes..Sadako died of radiation poisoning just 10 years following the atomic bomb in Hiroshima.

  43. Rahul says:

    Reading all your comments and story made me little cynical. I have folded 1000 origami cranes just some days back. All the time in movies, in train, in bus, while sleeping, in telephonic meetings, I was able to finish it in 11 days. I really wanted to wish something for myself but I am not sure of it now.
    It was great experience, sometimes being a kid who believes in fairytales is good!
    Yes its more like a meditation, holding to somethng you want but not been able to achieve it in normal world.
    I am planning to gift those cranes to someone I know and wish for her happy and healthy life.

    • Yi says:

      It didn’t work for me, and although my scientific training and degree would tell me otherwise, a wish could work for you.

      In any case, I think you’re exactly right about the meditation aspect. To this day, I still make little cranes out of receipts or scraps of paper during down times or before tests to calm myself. It’s a nice little mindless motion to clear one’s mind.

      Good luck, and I really really hope everything goes well with you and your friend.

      Cheers, darling. And thank you for sharing. It really means a lot to hear about someone else’s experience.

  44. Lisa says:

    I’m here from the aniblog tourney, sorry for replying to a post more than a year old! This really struck me though. When my mom was sick I started doing the same thing, but I never even got close to 1000. I am not particularly religious or superstitious aside from what habits I grew up with thanks to my mom (like avoiding the number 4 lol), and I was in med school at the time and knew more about my mom’s condition than I really wanted to know, so I never had any belief that it would fix things. However, it did keep me calm and give me that tiny, romantic hope. Tbh in the aftermath I even folded them when I was stressed and had too much on my plate. So this post really touched me. That was more than a year ago for me, but it’s nice to know I can think of it almost fondly now.

    Also, having skimmed through your other posts, I have to say good luck in med school!! You sound like you will be an amazing doctor! Though I have relatives and family friends in Taiwan, I can’t even imagine doing med school there, though man do I love the food.😡

    Needless to say, I’m pulling for you in the tourney!! \o/

    • Yi says:

      Thank you for the heartfelt comment. I really appreciate it, and it really means a lot. ^ ^

      I can only imagine what you had to go through during that time. I went through something very similar myself, at least in terms of what happened. (So similar, in fact, that I was a bit surprised when reading this comment. I’m a med student as well.) And even though things did not turn out as I hoped—even though, like you, I think I knew deep down this isn’t anything tangible—I still fold cranes. Perhaps out of habit, or perhaps something else, but it’s calming indeed.

      p.s. Don’t worry about replying to old posts.
      p.p.s. Thank you again. This comment really touched me, Lisa. And yea… I feel very warm now. I hope you enjoyed your stay here.

  45. izavi says:

    I just finished my thousand cranes today. I made a wish and I wonder if it will come true so I search on the Internet and I found yours… I just kidding. I know it will never come true. If it did, people would stop doing things but folding cranes. But it still a great hope for me to hold on, to live through the days. I think it goes same to you.

    • Yi says:

      Hi izavi. Thank you for this heartfelt comment. ^ ^

      Although my wish didn’t come true for me, yours may for you. And you are absolutely right. Even if the cranes themselves did nothing directly, it is still a nice way to channel those hopeful feelings. And, maybe, just maybe, things will turn out right.

      Good luck with everything, my darling!

      p.s. Forgive the cynicism in this post. I wrote it back when I was going through some bad times.

Leave a Reply

