Shinryaku! Ika Musume Review

shinryaku! ika musume squid girl shintaro

Shinryaku! Ika Musume follows the squidly adventures of our favorite tentacle squid girl, Ika Musume, as she attempts to invade and enslave humanity. Armed with her random knowledge, unreliable common sense, and a childish mentality, Ika-chan successfully “infiltrates” a beach restaurant, where she eventually settles down with the Aizawa family. The anime illustrates the comical events surrounding Ika Musume and a cast of oddballs as Ika-chan lives her new life among humans.

shinryaku! ika musume cindy squid girl swimsuits

As a straight comedy, Shinryaku! Ika Musume is composed of a series of sketches with absolutely no attempt to string them together. There is no overarching plot or parallel themes to run alongside the jokes. Sketches just happen because they might be funny; one sketch may be about Ika Musume’s first time with make-up and the next about Cindy’s hunt for aliens. Because the series focuses all its efforts and minutes into its comedy – most events and script go toward an immediate punch line – if the humor succeeds, then so does the anime. Of course, if the jokes fall flat, the series falls too as it lacks anything else substantial [1].

shinryaku! ika musume squid girl swimsuits tentacles wallpaper cygnus

It is hard to evaluate comedy. Scholars have written myriads of literature over the centuries on what tickles us, and there is still no concrete answer in sight. I doubt I can add any meaningful insight to what appeals to our humor sense. What I can say is that Shinryaku! Ika Musume, for me, is a messy hit-or-miss.

aizawa eiko honda mino squid girl nagatsuki sanae shinryaku! ika musume

The comedy uses a mixture of slapstick, exaggeration, and grotesque distortions in most of its sketches. The fast pace is appropriate for this kind of chaotic, haphazard humor. However, because of the randomness of each sketch, my enjoyment varied wildly depending on the particular joke and my mood. I found myself laughing at about one-third of the sketches, and rolling my eyes at the rest, particularly the ones that seem to try too hard at being funny and consequently result in bland distastes.

aizawa eiko honda mino squid girl nagatsuki sanae shinryaku! ika musume

To exacerbate these failed sketches, most of the characters are quite boring. Their one-dimensional personalities rely on singular traits to be exploited for jokes. For example, Chizuru is the beautiful older sister whose kind façade belies her scary and fearsome powers. This is fresh in the first episode, but the anime really beats this set up to death. Ika Musume finds out about this early on; then the exact same revelation comes to Gorou; after that, the joke is repeated again with the Americans with very little variation. Chizuru’s character gets very tiring very quickly. Sanae suffers from this as well. Her entire role in this series can be reduced to a psychotic lesbian girl obsessed with Ika Musume. Like Sanae and Chizuru, most other characters only have one humorous motif that is pounded on repeatedly and exhaustively.

squid girl mizore akihiro shinryaku! ikamusume wet clothes

On the other hand, Ika Musume is, in contrast to the supporting cast, a very complex character. Each sketch reveals a little more of her super adorable personality. She is an invader, a genius, a child, and often just a weirdo. Ika-chan is incredibly delightful to watch. I especially love to watch her do all kinds of creative and unimaginable things with her tentacles. Indeed, I found most of the Ika Musume-centric sketches wonderful.

In particular, this short deserves special mention: [2]

The inclusion of this touching drama in an otherwise silly anime is brilliant. Though this sketch is far different from the rest of the series, it never feels awkward. It provides the perfect balance and variance to a single-minded show. Furthermore, the sketch itself is beautifully directed. The few narrations and the girls’ expressions portray such emotions.

chibi ika musume rakugakio shinryaku! mini-ika squid girl

Simply charming and poignant. I suppose in the end, Ika-chan does succeed in invading our humanity and our hearts.

__________________________________________________

  1. The one notable exception is the touching, bittersweet mini-Ika sketch.
  2. Even if the anime does not interest you, I would still highly recommend watching this one sketch. It can be just as beautiful as a standalone short animation. Be prepared with tissues though because this is an incredible tear-jerker.
__________________________________________________
Shinryaku!? Ika Musume Review (second season) 

__________________________________________________
More anime and manga reviews

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Ika Musume, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

101 Responses to Shinryaku! Ika Musume Review

  1. EmperorG says:

    Another successful review and very well told from someone who has a different sense of humor than I, though we can both agree that the humor found in “MM!” and the “Kore wa Zombie Desu ka?” is much worse than this show’s.

    To me, this show felt like a superior version of Milky Holmes. Enjoyable because of how silly they are and how very unattached they are. Reminds me of my youth when I didn’t care about plot connection in my comedy shows.
    Of course it’s no masterpiece of humor, but it amused me to no end, even with the retarded American scientists, excluding Cindy who rocks. I guess in the end the main reason everyone who watched the show and stuck along with it came back for more each week was because of the defender of justice, Squid Girl herself de geso.

    Kudos on your praise of the Mini-squid skit. Very well described on how awesome and touching it was.

    But in the end it comes down to the most important point you made in the review: Every human being on Earth has a different sense of humor.

    • Yi says:

      From what I’ve heard, some people seem to be really enjoying Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? It’s supposed to be pretty hilarious. I have my doubts, but I haven’t seen any of it yet.

      As for Ika Musume, I really do like how very unattached it is as well. It’s silly and it kills time perfectly. There is no emotional investment or mental baggage to weigh the experience down.

      The mini-Ika was a nice treat though. Though it deviates from the light silly feel of the rest of the series, I think it propelled the anime to another level. It didn’t even feel that out of place.

      “Every human being on Earth has a different sense of humor.”
      Agreed. I’d go even further to say that our senses of humor is constantly changing depending on our mood of the day.

      • EmperorG says:

        Zombie show’s attempt at humor= TERRIBLE (in my opinion). Zombie show’s plot= intriguing. Although I strongly disagree with people who think the show is funny, I do agree that the main plot is worth checking out. Oh, and Yuu as well. the male lead is cool when he’s serious. As for the other girls, they make me want to barf, especially Sera. I so want to mutilate that “bleep” and whoever thought a vampire ninja would be cool. Seriously? Vampire ninja? There is so much wrong with that combination and so many reasons why it doesn’t work at all.

        Anyway, back to the Squid of destiny. I want a 2nd season. Who knows, maybe Sanae and Cindy will team up again to capture Squid Girl for their own purposes.

        • Yi says:

          I might actually just check zombie out. It doesn’t sound too bad. Kind of like a fun light a bit trashy show to enjoy. Vampire ninja is… creative. On second thought, I probably won’t ever get around to it.

          I wouldn’t mind a second season, but at the same time, I don’t care for it that much either. It’d be nice to see Sanae and Cindy gang r… up on Ika though.

        • afkeroge says:

          @EmperorG: The latest episode of Zombie shows improvement, I think. While I still think Kyuuketsu Ninja is a stupid idea, it’s still rather new(I don’t like Sera’s personality, though). I’d like to think now that comedy is not really the aim of this show.

          Well, even though I said all that, I respect everyone’s opinions and I understand why you would say that the show’s not good.

          @Yi: “It’d be nice to see Sanae and Cindy gang r… up on Ika though.”

          NOOOOOOOO!!!! NOT THAT!!! Haha! Just kidding!
          Well, I’m a little against that idea unless it’s done lightly for laughs.

        • Solaris says:

          Zombie has the best first episode this season, but it felt down the cliff soon after that. The vampire ninja is a useless char whose purpose is to call the main lead names, and that’s all about it. The majokko is the usual tsundere and the necromancer is the usual quite and shy one (and that’s why she’s so well accepted by fandom by now), so nothing new here too. The plot is rather shallow, humour is fanservice based (as usual) and the chars are still pretty dull.
          By now Ikachan’s worst punchline beat Kore(kuso)zombi hands down.

        • Yi says:

          @afkeroge: Loll. It’s all in jest, although a yuri 3P with Ika, Cindy, and Sanae has crossed my mind a few times.

        • necro says:

          i dont agree over Zombie plot being that intriguing, it’s easy to forsee whats gonna happens, they give to much hints, thou some ideas are twisted, and ofc its character based thou they are pretty predictable, except for Yuu which is amazing.
          Oki about Squid girl its nice watch i love when she played percusion, it looked hillarious, double blasts.^^ Ika reminds me a bit of Ichigo Mashimaru which i consider far superior to ika-chan and squad, i thing its caused that Ichigo’s character are much better, and only interesting personality in ika no musume is lovely Squidgirl. Ahh i want to watch Ichigo Mashimaru once again, sketches rulle there ~~ thou there were few that i disliked. I had smt on mind but i just simply forgot^^. Chaotic nature of my personality – scary.:P

        • Yi says:

          @necro: Ika-chan has a lot of hilarious, adorable moments. I am in love with her tentacles. They are so useful. If I had such tentacles, playing percussion is the tamest of the things I’d do.

          I can kind of see the comparison to Ichigo Mashimaru. Both play with the comedy surrounding childhood innocence. Like you, I find Ichigo Mashimaru much superior as well. Ika-chan is lovely, but she stands alone in the show. On the other hand, there are several interesting characters from Ichigo, and they all interact with each other in very fun, interesting ways. Ika Musume falls a bit short when it comes to other characters.

          This reminds me, I have to watch the OVA for Ichigo Mashimaru.

          “Chaotic nature of my personality – scary.:P”
          Haha, I don’t mind. ^ ^

  2. Jo says:

    I really enjoyed it..^^

    Overall it was a weekly dose of laid back goofy fun. I quite liked the family, but the rest of the characters were all a bit meh though..like you said, it just got a bit repetitive.
    For me I thought it was consistently funny..good, clean entertainment.

    But yeah, Ika-Musume is absolutely adorable!!

    =)

    • Yi says:

      “A weekly dose of laid back goofy fun.”
      That’s a fine way of putting it.

      I really enjoyed killing time with this each week. I don’t think I’d be able to sit through a marathon of the series, but this is perfect after, say, six hours of sending emails and resumes to school and jobs. I love watching Ika Musume to just unwind my mind.

      Plus, Ika-chan is super cute!!

  3. chikorita157 says:

    It’s more of a layback show to be enjoyable… I agree that the jokes could be mixed bag, but its probably funnier to see people abuse the crap out of Ika more than anything…

    But, Ika Musume cannot compare to Milky Holmes since it was extremely funny not because of the excess moe, but the utter ridiculousness.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, it is a pretty laid back show. I probably sound like I hated it, but I didn’t. It gave me a great way to kill a good 20 minutes every week, and it is funny as heck to watch Ika get in all sort of shenanigans and to watch her be manipulated by others.

      I’ve read some episodics about Milky Holmes. That anime looks… interesting. Loll.

  4. Ristlin says:

    I agree to the fact that the only character that remained fresh and fun to watch was Ika-chan.

    For me atleast, most the the other personalities became bland by the 3rd episode.

    It’s true that the humor managed to amuse me at rare occasions but there are other, better, comedies than this one.

    Excellent review btw

    • Yi says:

      Yea, I didn’t care much for the other characters, but Ika Musume… She was just soooo adorable and so fun!

      Agreed that there are better comedies than this one. Arakawa, for example, made me laugh more often and harder. Still, the good thing about Ika Musume is that it’s so light, it doesn’t require any thinking afterwards. Good for clearing my mind.

  5. Smithy says:

    Quite enjoyed “Shinryaku! Ika Musume” for its silly comedy and rapidfire of slapstick character antics. Sure, the characters were written to suit the comedic plots instead of vice versa but that didn’t really bother me.
    Never really watched the series for the character nor did I expect them to become enthralling or interesting, this show surprised me with its terrific comedy and delivered consistently each episode.
    It was a delightful oddball comedy that made me laugh each episode.

    • Yi says:

      I quite enjoyed it too. For what it is and what it’s trying to do, I think it did it near perfectly. There were definitely some pretty funny moments. I loved Ika’s pictures! Just straight, unpretentious comedy.

  6. Solaris says:

    I said it elsewere and repeat here another time: Ika deserved more than a praise just cause it tried, and often succeeded, in making humour without the need of taking off her or other girl’s clothes.
    We are so used to fanservice that we can’t notice any comedy out there relies only on that to deliver humour. Said Korezombi or even Milky Holmes, that i also liked a lot aren’t excluded too.

    • Yi says:

      That I can agree with. I may not find all the sketches funny or the characters interesting, but I do appreciate that there is little to no fanservice humor. A male protagonist falling into a panty shot was never funny. I’m glad Ika Musume gave me a different brand of comedy than the way-too-prevalent distastes.

  7. glothelegend says:

    I love random comedy. Excel Saga and Puni Puni Poemi had randam (granted, really really REALLY random) humor, and I loved those. But so far I just don’t see why I should give this show a try. Maybe I’ll watch an episode, but I just get the feeling that I’d dislike it.

    • Yi says:

      Ika Musume’s not too bad, but there’s no real reason why anyone should give this a try unless she wants to kills some time.

      I would highly recommend checking out the Mini-Ika sketch (last 7 minutes of episode 5). I don’t think you need to watch the reset of the series, but do try to see those 7 minutes. It’s an incredibly touching self-contained short story.

  8. Baka-Raptor says:

    For the first time in the history of the universe, I liked a girly show more than you. This show was great, at least for the first two-thirds or so. The comedy was well-written and well-executed, in my humble opinion. Toward the end it dulled down.

    • Yi says:

      Wow, I think you’re right. I only enjoyed about 1/3 of it. I thought the comedy was well written and the punchlines delivered timely and nicely. It just wasn’t always my cup of tea.

  9. shinra says:

    Ika Musume, probably one of my favorite Animes last year. Well, the Jokes are easier to understand but some of em aren’t hilarious at all. More like Stupidity.

    Sanae is Yuri but mostly….. Masochist. Those 2 reasons makes me like her a lot in this anime. And Chizuru….. even if I love Yandere, She’s…. well, unlikable. Plain Takeru is way better than her.

    Hope there’s a Season 2, I really wanna know who’s that girl who appeared on the last ep, talking to Ika Musume.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, that’s mostly what I thought as well. The jokes are easy to understand and appreciate, thought some do border on stupidity.

      Sanae is masochistic indeed. She’s not a character I like at all, mostly because she represents a stereotype often found in anime… The masochistic, perverted lesbian girl.

      I’m fine with a second season, although I won’t be overly excited for it. Ika Musume kind of missed the mark for me.

  10. afkeroge says:

    Well, for me, nothing’s really boring about Ika Musume… I actually liked almost everything that happened in the series, especially the cute umbrella sketch (ROLLING SHOWER ATTACK!) and that “We are GODDOMEN!” line. Found it very funny for some reason. At any rate, Ika Musume was a very fun series for me, as a break from real life and serious anime.

    • Yi says:

      That umbrella sketch is very cute and funny indeed. Actually, thinking back on it makes me laugh. I also really liked the one about Ika’s drawings and her make up. There were some really funny sketches… About one third of them. Unfortunately, there were some not so funny ones. I hated most of the ones with Cindy and the Americans especially.

      Agreed that the anime is still a really nice break from real life and serious stuff though.

  11. ~xxx says:

    I also liked this show even at times this show is not pushing enough,
    But it was enough to be considered as one of my favorites of 2010.

    And the mini-Ika part was very spectacular… Nothing more to say.

  12. jacqivarius says:

    I… gave up on this anime. I don’t know what it was that put me off but it did.

    One dimensional characters can be used well if the author is talented enough. They can also be given more depth later on in the series, example:K-ON! and Ritsu where she could be a goof or dead serious, but in Ika Musume I really doubted that would happen. What this anime lacked was a wide range of characters to make up for the fact that none of them had any substance. Supposing I took a cavalcade of female cast members and gave each one of them a trait, they can contrast each other and slowly become rounded characters in accordance to their counterparts. Thus, it would become a more interesting show for a wider audience. I can cater to whoever I please.

    I’m sure that the comedy can be quite enjoyable but slapstick isn’t a genre I enjoy. It’s not that I hated the show, it just wasn’t one I could sink my teeth in. Not to mention the fact that Ika-chan looks exactly like Index whom I despise. =/

    • Yi says:

      I can understand being put off. Agreed that the anime lacked the range of characters or any substance to make us care about them. I still could care less about Gorou, or the little brother, or even Eiko. They’re so flat that I don’t really feel invested. But that could be a good thing I guess in that it’s the perfect thing for a light unattached way to kill time. Of course, the exception being Ika. I thought Ika is pretty fairly developed.

      As a side note, I found Ritsu from K-On! to be much more 3-D than the cast in Ika Musume. The fact that she can be a goof and a serious leader of the club adds a subtle layer to her character. Plus, there were many other moments that make her far more interesting than the personalities in Ika Musume.

      I’m back and forth on slapstick. Sometimes I like it; other times I hate it. My enjoyment of the series varied wildly as well depending on my mood.

      Does Ika really look that much like Index. I don’t see the close resemblance, but it seems like a lot of people think so.

      • jacqivarius says:

        They sure do look alike:
        sankakucomplex.com/2011/01/24/a-certain-magical-ikamusume-tan/

        It’s funny, while I find Index to be annoying, I still watch A Certain Magical Index. Ika-tan is a much more enjoyable character but I can’t stand watching the anime that she’s in.

        • Yi says:

          Thanks for the link. I suppose they do look alike! It almost reminds me of a funny video I saw sometime ago where Ika Musume invades Majutsu Index II’s OP.

          I found Index tolerable, but the Majutsu Index a struggle to get through. Kind of the opposite reaction you had I guess.

          p.s. Direct linking removed for various reasons, mostly to do with staying on the safe-search side of google. Hope you don’t mind.

        • Solaris says:

          There’s a sketch in latest Index-tan special where an Ika-Index-tan landed on Touma’s veranda instead.
          here’s the video:


          I think it was funny.

          And, by the way one reason people disliked Index, and maybe Ika too is for the chars are pretty flat. I’d dare say it’s not necessarily to add depth in the chars too. It depends on how the overall plot is played. Ika relies on quick punchline to deliver humour and it needs flat chars to flesh out stereotypes more. Index, on the other hand has a pretty huge cast. If you recall it being based on episodic-arcs you’d understand how one subset of chars are flashed in every story. Index’s belonged as a main char only for the first arc, and she’s being developed there. Unless she’ll be a main lead again, she’s been demoted to second role since then, so no new development.

        • Yi says:

          Haha, I enjoyed that video. Thanks!!

          I agree Index’s character is pretty flat. There really isn’t much going for her. Though on the other hand, I think Ika is actually a fairly complex character. Although most of what we know about her comes from senseless comedy, they nevertheless build toward a very deep personality. Twelve episodes full of sketches with each one showing another facet of her can really add up.

  13. hoshiko says:

    I’ve read more praises for Ika Musume than criticisms on blogosphere, and started wondering if my decision to drop the anime was correct. The truth is I find it hard to like it. Maybe I don’t quite catch the jokes that were told. Ika Musume and I work on different wavelengths. Haha. Anyways, it’s a miss for me for this one.

    • Yi says:

      I don’t think you’re missing too much by dropping the anime. There were good, great moments, but a lot of it is just kind of stupid humor. Not everything worked on my wavelengths either. ^ ^

      I hope you got a chance to see episode 5 though. The mini-Ika sketch is too adorable and poignant!

      • feal87 says:

        Sadly true, I’ve ended up dropping the series at the sixth episode when I realized most of the humor wasn’t really funny for me.😛
        May be back to watch it in the future…

        • Yi says:

          I don’t think it’s necessary to go back to finish it, unless you have some obsession with finishing series regardless of its quality… as I do.

          If you didn’t like the humor in the first six episodes, I doubt you’ll like six more of the same. I guess attitudes and moods can change though, but I doubt it.

        • feal87 says:

          Yep, you picked it right. I’m like you, I want to complete a series that I’ve started watching. 😛

        • Yi says:

          Ahh… I see. We’re in for a tough time then.

          A good friend once told me that life’s too short to waste time on good anime. She and others have also given me advice time again to just drop series. Still, it’s like an obsession with finishing stuff for me even if I have to stall certain anime for months or even years.

          Perhaps we can both change this attitude some time. Life is too short for crappy watches.

  14. CainHyde says:

    Nice review Yi.
    I myself had watch several episodes of Ika Musume until my 500Gb hdd fall straight to its grave. T.T
    I think the last episodes that I watched was ep 8.
    Until that episode while I enjoyed some of them, not all of them is really enjoyable to me.
    Though I agree that mini-ika part is very good.

    My biggest problem from this series is Ika Musume looks too much like Index, which is not a good thing for me.
    Remembering Shana-tan then Index-tan then Ika Musume and probably the dragon in Dragon Crisis always make me want to bang my head for some reason. =.=”

    • Solaris says:

      Oh noes another Index Hater!! WTF did Index do to you all to deserve such hate? Beats me.

      • CainHyde says:

        Nah…
        I wouldn’t go as far as calling myself Index Hater.
        After all I do enjoy Index in the beginning of Toaru Majutsu no Index first season.
        Though she starts to not really enjoyable to me once the focus of story shift to anyone but her.
        Some other character (but Touma) ended up interest me more than Index, while Index busy biting Touma head.

        I only start to feel my head hurt when I saw Index-tan. =.=”
        That reminds me a LOT to Shana, which I can’t say I like once the first season ends.

        • Solaris says:

          Those anime look rather similar and have the same -tan omake cause they’re produced by the same animation studio.

        • Yi says:

          My thoughts on Majutsu Index are kind of opposite. I actually enjoyed Index but despised Touma… Like really loathed him. But that’s opening a whole new topic, and it’s probably best left for another place.

          p.s. I did write something about Touma earlier, and some people really didn’t agree with my view.

        • CainHyde says:

          ^ I guess I might make mistake there.
          I means once Index arc ended and the focus of story moved, other new supporting character like Kuroko, Mikoto, some of Mikoto clones, the other level 0 esper, etc are more interesting for me than Biting Index.
          So Index is nice in her own story arc, but not as enjoyable in other story arc, while Touma doesn’t change my impression.
          He still fine… not really bad unlike some other show character but I can’t say he is my favorite character too either.

        • Yi says:

          Ahh I see I see. I actually found some of the other characters more interesting than Index as well, most notably Kuroko. I love her!

          Touma is… still not the kind of guy I’d ever like.

        • Solaris says:

          Damn these tree type comment section is rather hard to manage. I just said up here how Index has flat chars except for those being lead in their respective story arcs.
          Unless the chars are not belonging to their main arcs they’re demoted to flat appearances.
          Look at Kuroko: She’s being introduced early but was left as a flat stereotype until chapter 8, where she got her share of development too.
          Index had her bright moment in the first arc, but she’ll actually play some major roles later too.
          Some chars such as Maika or Komoe haven’t never had their own arc, so they’re still left quite undeveloped and pretty flat too.
          But that’s all far from flatness. Index is quite complex and gives infos about its settings, chars and plot whenever there’s the need of it. Unless that, it would be hard to manage such a super-huge cast.

        • CainHyde says:

          @Solaris:
          I know…
          But honestly still feel Index a bit annoying sometimes.
          I blame it all to watching first episode of Index-tan! :p
          Not sure if there are second episode or not.
          Index-tan has entered my ban and ignore list.

        • Yi says:

          Agreed with Solaris on the characters in Raildex.

          Anyway, a quick note. I think likability of a character is a separate issue from how developed that character is. There are plenty of one dimensional characters I find tolerable and even adorable, while a lot of my most hated characters are fairly developed. And vice versa of course.

    • Yi says:

      @CainHyde: I thought the same thing pretty much. It’s enjoyable to watch but not all of it is good. The mini-Ika part is especially great.

      As for Ika looking like Index… jacqivarius mentioned that as well. I just don’t see it. They do look kind of similar in that both are loli, dressed in white, and have bluish tinted hair, but I thought the differences between the two are very apparent. Oh well, different perspective I guess.

      Anyway, I guess you’re not a fan of mean lolis. ^ ^

      • CainHyde says:

        Eh…
        I thought I already reply this.😐
        Oh well…

        Usually I kind of like mean girl or loli, even yandere is fine.
        Not sure why I don’t like Biting Index or Bread Eater Shana-tan.
        Maybe the gluttony perhaps….

  15. Nice timing. I keep meaning to write my review of Ika, since I watched it like…two weeks ago, I think? Three? I never wrote my post.

    But I loved yours. Ika-chan is one of the cutest things in the world. I absolutely adore the sketch with the mini-Ika. It was just so hugable!

    • Yi says:

      I seem to remember your having watched it as one of your challenges. I think.

      Anyway, Ika is soooo cute. And I would so give mini-Ika a huge hug if I saw her.

  16. fathomlessblue says:

    It was pleasant enough for me, if ultimately too inconsequential to be remembered once it ended. I remember enjoying the series but it also took some motivation to bother and start each week’s episode, so it was hardly essential viewing. I treated Ika Musume as a throw-way show and that’s pretty much what I got from it. The only sketches that really stood out for me, were the chibi-Ika, umbrella and creepy doll stories.

    Saying that, Sanae in the giant shrimp outfit was one of the creepiest things I’ve ever seen and will probably stay with me for life; I won’t be getting my appetite for that particular type of seafood any time soon!

    • Yi says:

      “Throw-away show”. I really like that description. I’m going to steal it. ^ ^ It applies to so many anime, and Ika Musume certainly feels like one for me. In a few months, I probably won’t remember any of the specifics of this anime other than I’d seen it, but for those twenty minutes each week, I had fun… mostly.

      Agreed about chibi-Ika and umbrella and the creepy doll. Actually, I had totally forgotten about that sketch, but now I’m smiling as I remember it.

      Sanae’s giant shrimp outfit… That had me chuckling quite a bit. It’s so… grotesque.
      “I won’t be getting my appetite for that particular type of seafood any time soon!”
      Loll! I’m also not eating squids for a while; I’m still fine with shrimps though.

  17. bluedrakon says:

    I have seen her face just about everywhere and not really got that close to the series. I may have to give it a shot to see how it rolls, but does not hit my “funny bone”.

    Stunning review however as always – I wish I could be as verbally pleasing as this when I write my reviews🙂

    • Yi says:

      I see her everywhere too. She’s just that cute!

      As for the anime, I think its humor is kind of love it or hate it, and there’s really no point in forcing yourself to watch something you don’t find funny.

      p.s. I find your reviews a blast to read too. I really enjoyed your recent one on Freezing 1-5. It gave me a clear sense of what to expect from the series, and that’s the most important thing about reviews.

  18. MkMiku says:

    I liked this series. It was squidtastic. The American scientists were pretty funny, too. Episode 5 was one of the most touching anime episodes I’ve seen in a while. De geso~

    • Yi says:

      Haha, it was super squidtastic indeed de geso~

      I actually really didn’t like the American scientists, but agreed totally about episode 5!

  19. lovelyduckie says:

    For me the best anime humor comes from Lucky Star, Yotsuba, Fairy Tail, and One Piece. I think there are some older series I’m forgetting but those are my current favorites.

    • Yi says:

      I’d add Arakawa to that list too. Maybe it’s recency bias having just finished both seasons a few weeks ago, but I really enjoyed its comedy. Lucky Star and Yotsuba are the best! And Yotsuba is arguably cuter than Ika Musume.

      We both have pretty good sense of humor, don’t we? ^ ^

  20. Pingback: Tweets that mention Shinryaku! Ika Musume Review | Listless Ink -- Topsy.com

  21. Wiguan says:

    Haven’t watch this anime series myself.
    Feel wanna watch it after reading and see those kawaii Ika-chan… ^^

    • Yi says:

      Enjoyment will probably vary wildly depending on what you find funny. Still, I think it might be nice to check out at least one episode. Plus, Ika is super super cute!!

      I’d also highly highly recommend at least watching episode 5. The episodes and sketches are mostly standalone, so it wouldn’t matter much if you didn’t see the first four episodes.

      p.s. Thanks for dropping by and even leaving a comment!

  22. Nopy says:

    Ika Musume was a miss for me, especially since I’ve grown tired of senseless comedy recently. It’s more of a series I would save for when I’m down and have nothing to do, rather than follow regularly.

    • Yi says:

      I can understand. Two thirds of the series were misses for me as well. Anyway, it still gave me some decent laughs though, especially when I needed it a lot. I’m not sure that I can marathon it though. It’d be too much senseless comedy to handle at once.

  23. Fabienne says:

    Oh, hehe I dropped this show after the first episode
    I expected it to be a bit different and I somehow wasn’t in the mood for such a show.
    My main problem was, that I couldn’t stand that the owners of the restaurant were so mean to squid girl, and at the scene were they forced her to spit out more ink on the noodles, when she was already out of it I became quite angry😦
    I guess I took the setting too serious, because the reasons for squid girls”Invasion” were more than justifiable and understandable.

    anyway thx for showing all these illustrations, they are really nice🙂

    • Yi says:

      I know what you mean! I got kind of angry too at the owners of the restaurant and even just most of the characters for being so mean to Ika-chan. The sketch where they made her spit ink is terribly cruel!!
      If I met Ika Musume, I’d totally pamper her. She’s too cute not to be spoiled.

      “I guess I took the setting too serious, because the reasons for squid girls”Invasion” were more than justifiable and understandable.”
      Not at all! I felt the same at times too.

  24. afkeroge says:

    I actually had no intention of picking up Ika Musume at first, but when I saw her all over the internet, cosplays of her everywhere in the convention I’ve been last year (my first one) and friend recommendations, I’ve finally decided to watch it and I was not disappointed.

    • Yi says:

      I see her everywhere too, and it’s kind of cute to know how adorable she is in the anime.

      Anyway, while I’m not completely in love with the series, I’m not too disappointed either.

  25. Pingback: Suggested Reading February 5th-12th « Black and Blue Socks

  26. rockleelotus says:

    i picked up this series late and didnt even look into a summery of the plot. but right from the start i liked it lol its just a silly anime that i watched to unwind and Ika chans way of talking always made me smile or laugh… so funny and cute😄

    that mini Ika chan sketch was brilliant! everyone should at least watch that sketch from this series lol

    • Yi says:

      There isn’t much plot to summarize anyway. Just a series of short stories. It’s silly, it’s light-hearted, and it’s fun. It did make me smile and even chuckle once in a while.

      Sure it has its flaws, but overall a great way to spend 20 minutes when I needed a break from mental activity.

      Mini-Ika is the best!

  27. biotoxic says:

    I might give this series a go at some point after reading your review and comments. I don’t expect it to be amazing but it sounds like something I could watch to kill some time (not that I need to kill time at the moment ><). I wanted to watch that clip you had there, but it's been ninja'd.

    • Yi says:

      I forgot to mention this in the review, but this is like the best way to take a quick mental break. Not only are the episodes standalone, each sketch (roughly 7 minutes) are as well. I found myself watching a sketch here and there to break up the monotony of sending out resumes and emails.

      Sorry about the clip. I really tried not just on Youtube, but across multiple video hosting sites. TV Tokyo is really on top of their stuff.

  28. K-Nashi says:

    I agree with most of your review there, yeah the characters of the supporting cast turned to be pretty bland compared to Ika, but then again I still love this anime. I mean c’mon, where else you can see Obama casted as a crazy scientist?? lolol

  29. Reltair says:

    I was planning to watch the first episode right after it aired, but I kept putting it off and telling myself I’ll catch up to the current episode later. Now it’s finished, but I don’t know if I’ll ever get around to it.

    • Yi says:

      I see I see. If the first episode didn’t catch your fancy, I doubt the rest will. I would recommend watching that mini-Ika sketch though even if you don’t watch the rest. All the sketches are pretty standalone, so you should be able to understand what’s going on, and maybe also understand why Ika Musume is soooo adorable.

    • Yi says:

      That’s pretty cool. I’m certainly going to watch it de geso~

      • EmperorG says:

        Someone beat me to it but now you know that the Squid of Destiny will return. It is her destiny to rule the world. We cannot deny her. Her mission is absolute as she works up the courage to confess to Eiko (At least I tend to imagine that in my dreams). Anyway, I wonder what other schemes she will have in store for the planet Earth?

        • Yi says:

          The series might be much better if she does rule the world! Sadly, she won’t. The story will never progress, and Ika-chan will be doing her silly, sometimes funny, antics for another dozen or so episodes. And at the end of the day, this anime will be forgotten, except for a few adorable Ika moments. But at least for those episodes, it will kill time perfectly.

  30. EmperorG says:

    Sadly you speak the truth Yi-san. The squid is indeed destined for greatness, but that all depends on how the writers capitalize on her success. Will they follow the Looney Tunes path or the Yi path? either way I’ll enjoy both so it doesn’t particularly matter. However, I can understand what you mean by the impact she will have in the fans’ hearts should they follow the Yi path. We’ll find out once the show premieres.

    • Yi says:

      I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. But of course, if it actually does break away from the silliness, it might feel too inconsistent with the first season. But if it remains this style of humor, it will never be a series I love. I’m a bit torn on what exactly I want to see.

  31. EmperorG says:

    If it follows a similar path to Arakawa 2nd season, I’m okay with it.

      • EmperorG says:

        Thanks to a 2nd viewing and your pro review, I decided to make some modifications to my own Squid Girl G-View to make it slightly more appropriate instead of it seeming like something a fanboy wrote. I once again thank you for being my friend Yi-san. I bet many here feel the same way.

        • Yi says:

          Nothing wrong with being a fan-boy. ^ ^
          I think whenever I write about series I really love, I go into fangasm mode too, and do nothing but sing meaningless praises. It just so happens Ika Musume isn’t an anime I loved wholeheartedly.

          “I once again thank you for being my friend Yi-san.”
          Aww… No need for thanks~ ^ ^

          p.s. I’d love to see the squidly G-View v.2.

  32. Pingback: Shinryaku!? Ika Musume Review (Second Season) | Listless Ink

Leave a Reply

