A Look at Fashion in Kimi ni Todoke

Kimi ni Todoke Fashion look Kurumi sunglasses

Lately, I have been really smitten with Kimi ni Todoke, so much so that I easily caught up to the second season from mid-first season in just one huge sitting. The anime’s slow pace and clumsy romance make me smile and warm my heart, even in this unbearably cold weather. Likewise, the characters in Kimi ni Todoke are ready for their own winter with some gorgeous outfits.

Kimi ni Todoke Sawako Fashion Cape Sweater

With the winter theme in mind, let us start with my favorite outfits. Here, Sawako wears a lovely cape sweater. I really like how that one item can propel the entire look from drab to chic. The cape adds a beautiful youthful contrast to the serious elegance provided by the long coat underneath. The knitted texture gives it a very home-made motherly feel that warms her and everyone around her from within the heart. She just looks so adorable in these clothes, kind of like a little girl straight from a fairytale.

Kimi Todo Sawako skirt blouse

Sawako continues to look great indoors. I like that cute soft blouse with that long skirt. [1] For a girl who is supposed to be extremely socially inept, Sawako sure knows how to shop and look good.

Kimi ni Todoke Yano Chizuru Scarf

Sawako’s friends dress pretty well also, especially Yano. I have always loved scarves! They can add a lot of color and complexity. Further, I love winter fashion, perhaps because I rarely have a chance to wear these styles – I have never lived anywhere that snows or even falls below 40°F. Rock those scarves and coats, girls!

Kimi ni Todoke Yano fur coat winter fashion

Kimi Todo Kazehaya fur winter coat hoodie

Fur was totally in last year and continues to be hot this year. [2] Yano’s winter fur coat not only looks incredibly comfortable and warm, but also very trendy. It is a perfect fit for Yano. On the other hand, Kazehaya’s fur hoodie makes Kazehaya look raw. He desperately needs this little bit of fierceness to help complement his bland boring personality.

Kimi ni Todoke Kurumi Fashion Gym Uniform

Of course, I cannot do a Kimi ni Todoke post without mentioning Kurumi. [3] While she is often shown in the plainest outfit, the gym uniform, she still looks better than anyone else! It is a shame we rarely get to see her outside of school clothing.

Kimi ni Todoke Kurumi fashion sense

She looks even more gorgeous in a school uniform. She can make even the most boring clothes brilliant. The drastic contrast between what we see her in and how stunning she actually is just makes her stand out that much more as the idol-esque girl in Kimi ni Todoke.

Kimi ni Todoke Kurumi Fashion Sense

And I love love love her full flowing hair! Kurumi is absolutely perfect.

Kimi ni Todoke Sawako Summer Dress

While I do enjoy outlandish and fetishist costumes, to see characters dress realistically and nicely is always refreshing. Kimi ni Todoke may not have the best or the most consistent animation, but it certainly is delightful to watch because of its stylish fashion sense. The fashion might even give that extra detail to clearly define personalities and shape our perception of the characters. [4] Although this is nothing new for anime that rely heavily on cosplay-ish attires for character designs, it is fascinating to see the same effect fashion has in anime that have authentic styles.

__________________________________________________

  1. Long skirts are sorely underrepresented in anime.
  2. Faux fur to be exact, since animal rights have really caught on this year.
  3. I love Kurumi. This post almost turned into a fangasm for her… Actually, it kind of did. I just think she is so lovely and so adorable.
  4. In addition to the characters mentioned in the post (Yano, Kazehaya, Kurumi), there are many other examples of how fashion can help shape character personalities in Kimi ni Todoke. Ryu and Chizuru come easily to mind with their athletic and casual attires respectively.
This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Editorial, Fashion, Kimi ni Todoke and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to A Look at Fashion in Kimi ni Todoke

  1. EmperorG says:

    Your passion for this show is all it took to convince me to give this one a try. After all, I don’t follow mass media hype that often, but I’ll make an exception for this show.
    another excellent anime fashion report Yi-san. You’re the #1 go to person when it comes to fair judgment of fashion in anime.

    • Yi says:

      I don’t think Kimi ni Todoke had a lot of hype behind it. It came out during the fall 2009 season, and A Certain Scientific Railgun (which I loved!) was the most hyped anime of that season. Kimi Todo, by comparison, is relatively obscure, and caters mostly to shoujo fans.

      I hope you enjoy it as much as I did though! It’s a bit slow paced, but it’s nice.

      Anyway, thanks for the supportive words. ^ ^
      I still have a long way to go before I can consider myself really fashionable though~

  2. krizzlybear says:

    I’m re-watching the first season, because I haven’t seen it in a long while. As such, I forgot such details regarding fashion, as I never really had any impression of it with this show. However, I recall being instantly drawn to the wardrobe choice of the characters from Lovely Complex, as they spend more time outside of school than KnT. Have you seen that show as well? What are your thoughts on Fashion in that particular series, especially compared to that of the one in your post?

    • Yi says:

      To be fair, I didn’t really notice the fashion aspect much initially. Clothes are usually among the last things I pay attention to while watching anime since there’s so much other stuff going on. However, once the season turned, and the girls started wearing those scarves, winter coats, and stuff, their wardrobe really caught me eye.

      I have yet to watch Lovely Complex, but I’m loving the scans already. My immediate thought, based on the scans I see, is that it’s very refreshing, bright, and colorful. It’s also much more complex with the stripes and other patterns. Compared to KimiTodo, Lovely Complex has a much more vibrant and popping take. KimiTodo, on the other hand, is a bit more demure in its beautiful simplicity.

  3. Set-chan says:

    Kyaa, I love your posts!!! >.<

    Although I haven't even encouraged to see in full Kimi no Todoke, I've seen pictures of "Kurumi"zawa and I can say that I Love Her!!! The most fashion character in all Anime. The only comparison in style fashion (but more for "children", I say XP) is Shugo Chara! I Love all the characters and the style of PEACH-PIT… but this is another history😄.

    Greeting and I hope you're enjoying your trip.

    • Yi says:

      Kurumi is gorgeous. She doesn’t have the flashiest oufits simply because of screen time; she is the “villain” of the series after all. But just from the way she carries herself and her hair styles, it’s fairly evident that she is the most fashionable character in Kimi Todo. I really really like her hair and how she wears it. It’s gorgeous!

      Anyway, agreed about PEACH-PIT. Shugo Chara clothes look amazing too, albeit in a more hip/ alternative fashion. I love it though. I also really like the gothic lolita styles in Rozen Maiden. But yea, this is digressing a bit.

      Thanks for dropping by and reading! ^ ^

  4. I wonder how much of this focus on fashion is due to this anime stems from its shoujo manga origins where the audience would be paying attention to such details? Props go to the illustrators though since they seem to have a good eye for color (which is to be expected, but praiseworthy all the same).

    • Yi says:

      I would guess so. Based on my limited experience, Shoujo manga tend to pay fairly close attention to having trendy outfits. In fact, I really enjoy the overall aesthetics of the genre: its general character design styles and the attention to various details.

      The illustrators have great taste! It’s lovely.

  5. shumbapumba says:

    ‘Long skirts are sorely underrepresented in anime.’ haha so true.

    • Yi says:

      Nothing against mini-skirts and panty revealing bottoms – I love them a lot – but once in a while, something more elegant is nice too.

  6. lvlln says:

    “Long skirts are sorely underrepresented in anime.”

    THIS. I’m tired of seeing school uniforms with skirts that wouldn’t even cover the butt when sitting down. When these girls sit in their cold school chairs, they’ve got just the one layer of their panties to keep their rear ends warm. Not to mention how the skirt lengths tend not to change for the winter uniforms…

    • Yi says:

      Mini-skirts are overrepresented. It’s not as if I hate watching revealing clothing and skimpy uniforms. In fact, I really like catching a glimpse of the curvature of buttocks. But at the same time, there’s not much variation when anime is saturated with mini-skirts.

      I want my normal length skirts and uniforms alongside my pantsu fanservice.

  7. Cell says:

    lol nice post, I reall enjoyed reading it. I love hime-cuts, and therefore, I love Sawako. She’s just too innocent and cute (not to mention hilarious) not to love.
    “This post almost turned into a fangasm for her… Actually, it kind of did.”
    fangasm…as in fan combined with orgasm? lol sorry I just couldn’t help but wonder about that. Fangasm, huh? I’ll remember to use that somewhere.

    • Yi says:

      I also love hime cuts with a fervent obsession, so when I first started Kimi Todo, I immediately took a strong liking for Sawako. However, once Kurumi showed up, her personality just completely overshadowed Sawako to the point that I’m willing to switch to a non Hime-cut team.

      Still, I really do love Hime-cuts a lot. Like a lot a lot. And I don’t dislike Sawako. I’m rooting for her and Kazehaya. I just love Kurumi a lot more…

      Anyway, I didn’t coin the term “fangasm.” I read that elsewhere and liked it.

  8. mrwan says:

    I find it difficult to tell whether Yano or Kazehaya’s fur is faux or not.

    • Yi says:

      I can’t tell at all either.

      To be fair though, that footnote was an addendum to this:
      “Fur was totally in last year and continues to be hot this year.”
      Fur was widely used by designers in 2010… If I remember correctly, about 1/3 of major designer used fur in their runway shows for fall 2010/ winter 2011. According to various sources (chic.tv, Examiner… etc.), faux fur will be even hotter in this new year.

      Anyway, it wasn’t really about whether Yano or Kazehaya’s fur is faux. I just thought it might be a kind of fun fact to note.

  9. enri says:

    Hi!
    Long time no see😀
    This year it’s been pretty warm winter here -1C (30F) right now, but lots of snow.
    Anyway, nice writeup again, now i’ll have to watch at least one episode of Kimi no Todoke😛

    • Yi says:

      Hi enri. It sure has been a while. It’s delightful to hear from you again. ^ ^

      -1C is a warm winter?!!? I’m hating this winter, and it’s only been around 40-50F
      I don’t think I can live where you live.

      Anyway, I’m glad you’re giving Kimi Todo a chance. It’s a pretty decent anime, albeit a bit stereotypical shoujo stuff.

  10. AHAHALOLHEHHEAHEAE says:

    “Long skirts are sorely underrepresented in anime.”

    Long skirts are sorely under-[i]present in real life[/i]. At least where I live, the majority of girls dress like sluts….from as young as 10!

    Makes me furious. Even the most genetically unlucky of the bunch can look pretty in the right clothes – that not being bucket tops and tights over underwear. When will they learn it’s what you [i]don’t[/i] see. Leave nothing for the imagination and the boys’ll get bored.

  11. Nopy says:

    I loved Kimi ni Todoke, it was so sweet. The outfits in the anime are pretty fashionable, especially the winter clothing. I can tell you that those clothes won’t actually do you any good in the cold though. I’ve lived in the great white north my whole life, and if anyone actually dressed like that, they’d freeze to death.

    I think Kurumi’s hair help defines who she is. I’ve found that most pretty girls always have long flowing, silky-smooth hair in styles that change every week.

    • Yi says:

      So the winter clothes don’t do much… Well, it’s more important they look nice then dress warm anyway. ^ ^

      Kurumi’s hair is so gorgeous! I love her hairstyles. She’s definitely a very pretty girl. Anyway, agreed about pretty girls in anime usually have long flowing hair. I can think of so many examples from my list of favorite female characters.

  12. Jo says:

    I love scarves as well… but apparently I’m a bit behind the times. This holidays I had really wanted to get a nice stripy scarf. Turns out according to my friend, stripy scarves were ‘in’ a few years ago. The ones that were available this season either didn’t look very nice or weren’t made very well. Argh..!! I want my stripy scarf…
    Sorry that kinda went off topic-ish…

    I don’t know, maybe its just me but I really like the coats and scarves look …(maybe also because I rarely get to wear proper winter clothes..)

    =)

    • Yi says:

      I think fashion always depends on the wearer. If you’re confident in your clothes, you’ll look nice. I say go for it. Striped scarves might not be the newest thing, but it’s certainly not that outdated.

      I really like the coats and scarves look as well and probably for the same reason. I can’t stand the cold at all.

  13. SilentSerenata says:

    This is the first I’ve encountered such a blog – you’ve definitely caught my interest when you stated this was a yuri blog (not that I’m a die hard fan, bt nevertheless I find it entertaining). I shall be back to visit once again🙂

    • Yi says:

      I call this a yuri blog, but in reality, it’s more of a mixture of things. It’s more like an anime blog with a slightly heavier slant toward yuri. I’d guess about 30% of my posts are on yuri materials, which is much higher than most anime blogs.

      Anyway, thank you so much for visiting. Having people read my blog and even leaving a comment always make my day. Please come back soon or read some of my older posts if you’d like! ^ ^

  14. SilentSerenata says:

    If I were to classify the fashion stereotypes in Kimi Ni Todoke then in my opinion,

    Sawako = Elegant (though at times she could also be casual smart/cute)
    Yano would undoubtedly be the sexy, mature-looking; Chizuru the tomboyish/urban style.
    Kurumi = fluff and cute
    Kazehaya = sporty casual?

    • Yi says:

      I think those are pretty apt descriptions. I’d add to Sawako a bit of soft reserved feel. I can see Kazehaya as the casual sportsy type. Kurumi is definitely fluffy and cute… My favorite!

  15. Impy says:

    About time you made a post like this. When I was reading your K-ON posts about fashion, I thought, “Yi should get on Kimi ni Todoke while’s he’s at it” and bam, you finally made a post about it!

    Yeah, the series is pretty slow but a friend of mine introduced me to the first season during the fall in my university’s anime club and me and 20 other people instantly fell in love with it. All the characters are very endearing, especially Sawako who really struck a chord in me about her insecurities. This series is very down to earth to me.

    • Yi says:

      It took me a while to finally get around to finishing this series. I stalled on it around episode 6 or so for half a year for various reasons. Furthermore, the clothes in the earlier episodes were nothing too special. Though I did really enjoy the summer dresses and long skirts and such in the OP and some scenes. And I loved the way Kurumi does her hair. However, it wasn’t until the last few episodes set in the winter that the winter clothes really jumped out to me. I knew I had to write something about it.

      Agreed that everyone’s so endearing. I may be in love with Kurumi, but I really like Sawako as well. In fact, I’m rooting for her and Kazehaya. It’s kind of rare that I can like both the hero and the “villain” so much at the same time. It’s a lovely series!

  16. afkeroge says:

    I haven’t even watched the first season yet.

    I actually want to watch it sometime seeing that my favorite voice actress, Mamiko Noto, voices Sawako, but I just can’t seem to find the time…

    • Yi says:

      Depending on your thoughts on the genre, this could be pretty good or pretty boring. I hope you enjoy it in any case.

      p.s. Sawako is wonderful!

      • afkeroge says:

        I think I have a neutral stand on shoujo anime. While I don’t tend to like typical shoujo anime situations, I think that it may be nice for a change of pace.

        P.S. I liked Gokujou Drops quite a bit, and I think that was a shoujo yuri manga.

        • Yi says:

          Gokujou Drops does feel a lot like a shoujo yuri manga. I loved it as well. Kimi Todo is much slower paced though. It doesn’t really have any “action”… Not even a kiss after a whole season. I think this lack of progress turns away a lot of people.

  17. ariannasterling says:

    I don’t pay attention to clothing in anything, ever (other than anime conventions…) but having read this, when I do finally get around to watching this, I’m sure it’ll be something I notice more.

    Great post as usual🙂

    • Yi says:

      I never used to care for clothing in anime either other than the flashier costumes, but one day, I don’t remember when, I started paying attention to the fashion senses of characters, especially to wardrobes that are authentic. I think a lot of how good an anime is for me is in the details, and this is an important detail.

  18. Fabienne says:

    Im so looking forward in receiving my Kimi ni Todoke desk calendar😀
    Well I like the fashion in this show to me the clothes have a more classical and retro look to them. I really like Sawako’s outfit in your third screenshot, but I have to say that Sawako looks good in everything she wears🙂

    • Yi says:

      Agreed! Sawako can look good in most everything. I like that outfit as well, but I still like the second screenshot look the most.

      Anyway, the Kimi Todo desk calendar sounds lovely! Hopefully it will have a lot of Sawako and Kurumi cuteness. ^ ^

  19. hoshiko says:

    I love that cape sweater too! It’s really cute, and it looks good on Sawako. I think she was at her cutest on that day. And yeaps, I like Yano’s sense of style too. She’s the more fashionable girl among the three friends no?😉

    • Yi says:

      Sawako has to look her cutest for Kazehaya.
      Anyways, agreed about Yano. I think she might have the best fashion sense, although she can’t quite rock her outfits like Sawako can.

  20. Canne says:

    Winter is probably the best season for fashion. Too bad that in my country, there is no snow and it is never cold enough to wear (faux) fur clothes. I’ve never wore anything with fur hood😦

    • Yi says:

      I understand the feeling. Both of the places I spend most of my time in get no snow. The bay area in California, US is fairly temperate, and Taipei, Taiwan never snows (though there is a lot of rain… ugh).

      Although it’s not too ridiculously cold, I still have a few parkas, some relics from my high school swimming days. It’s not the same and very rarely do I ever get to rock them.

  21. biotoxic says:

    This reminds me I should start watching the second season of Kimi no Todoke.

    I have absolutely 0 interest in fashion. I’m that dude who wears the same cycle of clothes for years – the first thing in the wardrobe is what I put on.

    But as I was watching Kimi no Todoke I actually noticed the outfits they wear and how it reflects back on their personalities. I noticed with Sawako at the start of the series she dresses rather unique, what with all the long skirts, which really made her stand out. She looks so doll like when she dresses like that.

    Kazehaya and his manly fur hoody – gao – I like it😆.

    • Yi says:

      Agreed about Sawako. Her long skirts really make her stand out as this nice, reserved, shy girl. She does look like a doll!

      I like Kazehaya’s hoodie as well. It’s nothing special, but it’s not bad.

      Anyway, I’m sure you have an eye for fashion, even if you don’t always spend too much time on picking out what to wear. ^ ^

  22. Xine says:

    I’ve been hearing a lot about Kimi ni Todoke and I think it’s quite interesting. I’d definitely check this series out when I have the time. Thanks for sharing.

  23. fathomlessblue says:

    I suppose using clothing to reflect character types is nothing new to anime, e.g. the ‘sporty’ type (Chizu) always dresses like a tomboy, the ‘worldly’ type (Yano) dresses more provocatively etc; however, I really like the detail KnT puts into the outfits. Unlike most other shows, the clothing feel less like general markers for a particular character’s traits, and more like an extension of their individual personality.

    I find this particularly true with Sawako. Put any other character in the show, or indeed a similar type of shy character from another series, into her clothes and they would most likely look overly formal, stiff and a little frumpy. With Sawako though, the outfits look casually glamorous, with the modest home-made, natural fabrics definitely heightening her charm. I think how the clothes mesh with each characters hair (especially in Sawako and Kurumi’s case) has a lot to do with this and adds an extra layer of detail you don’t find in most other animes.

    It’s a shame the guys don’t come across as well as the girls do, although they they aren’t that interesting a group (bar Ryu). I mean, Kazehaya, wearing a plain, outdated looking parka; how apt! ;P

    Oh, and also loving the scarves! I have about twenty myself, which is overkill for anyone, let alone a guy!😛. Alongside K-on, KnT is rocking out with the designs!

    • Yi says:

      Very nice points about how the outfits feel organic and authentic to what the characters would actually go out and shop for, rather than something that is forced onto them for character design purposes.

      I really like the blend of homemade and glamour style sported by Sawako. It’s so appropriate for her personality: elegant and refined, yet still caring and loving. Agreed about their hairstyles as well. Kurumi especially. It’s very evident how much care she puts into making herself look amazing. Keeping such gorgeous hair and styling it in different ways are no easy feats.

      I actually kind of like Kazehaya’s parka/ winter coat. It’s nothing too special, but I think it’s still better than your average bland sweater. Certainly more interesting than what Pin wears. Still, compared to the girls, he’s out classed.

      Scarves are lovely! Twenty scarves? I’m jealous. ^ ^

  24. MkMiku says:

    I love Kimi ni Todoke and I love Kurumi’s sunglasses. ^_^

  25. jacqivarius says:

    To be honest, Japanese fashion simply doesn’t suit my tastes. Their clothing is much more… cutesy than others. If it’s Asian fashion then I prefer the Koreans for their mature but casual style. Though, I will say this, the Japanese have perfect cuts. It is what they are known for. Their clothing isn’t as stylish per say but they make the simple clothing look amazing with their stitching and use of accessories.

    The clothing really suits the characters though. It helps to accentuate their already distinct personalities. I can tell that the author puts a lot of effort into this; perhaps she’s a fashion enthusiast. A lot of credit has to go to Production I.G. for portraying her art so well. It looks very similar to the manga.

    The attention to things like the gloves and strands of lace are also quite nice. Colours as well! It looks like every article of clothing blends a bit with the background. Sawako’s casual clothes are a warm colour, matching with the reds and oranges of her room. At times when the tension is mounting, they seem to mute the colours maybe as a focus on the character themselves. When the tension is lifted, so are the restraints and everyone is wearing a bright colour to match the soft backgrounds they are in.

    A lot of anime or game characters seem to dress well. It’s probably part of the media.

    • Yi says:

      Very fascinating to read your take on Japanese and Korean fashion. I agree completely! I do like the cutesy looks though.

      I haven’t read Kimi Todo manga, but I think in general, shoujo manga tend to put better effort into their wardrobes, and I’m glad Production I.G. didn’t neglect that about Kimi Todo.

      Great point about using the colors and clothings to help set the mood and bring focus to where it’s wanted. I actually didn’t think of that, but I’m going to start looking for more such instances.

      Anime does have a lot of cute clothes, though a lot of of popular stuff tend to mostly have more cosplay-ish outfits as opposed to casual real-world fashion. Anyway, both are pleasant to look at.

      Thanks for the comment!

  26. akinari-kun says:

    Mmm…loved reading through this post ^_^ The art style of Kimi ni Todoke is quite unique. Add in the realistic and lovely clothing and you get a feeling of wonderful warmth. Combine that with the fantastic storyline and cute romance and you have a winner!

    • Yi says:

      Yea agreed. The art is not typical of most anime. I really like the realistic clothing and the warm fluffy feeling the anime gives, even if progress does drag on. Definitely a winner!

  27. lovelyduckie says:

    The first day I discovered Kimi ni Todoke I was obsessed and caught up to Japan marathon style reading the manga. But the pace of the series became something that frustrated me, and I’ve fallen behind. The miscommunication thing was cute for a really long time, but there gets to be a point where there have been enough signs between two characters where they just need to realize what’s going on. I admit some series inspire more patience in me with regard to both parties realizing the feeling of the other longer than others (Skip Beat! for example), but not many can test my patience for longer than 10 volumes. Perhaps I’ll try the anime to re-kindle my love. I thought I REALLY disliked Lovely Complex until I tried the anime one day, and found I actually enjoyed the series (at least animated). Maybe at some point I’ll give the Lovely Complex manga a 2nd chance too, since the anime may have made my attitude towards the series more positive.

    • Yi says:

      I’m still fine with the pacing and all the misunderstandings so far, but I’m only watching the anime. Perhaps the colors and the nice elegant looks in the anime have something to do with it. If you do try Kimi Todo, it might end up being a case where anime is better than the manga, which isn’t often the case.

  28. Reltair says:

    I don’t think I even saw far enough into season 1 to even get to see Kurumi. Need to pick it back up sometime.:/

    I love how the clothes that characters wear usually complements their personality. Fashion in anime is always interesting, but I think the only fashion-specific posts I’ve read about it were here on your blog. Keep it up!

    • Yi says:

      Ah I see… She’s so lovely though. I hope you do get a chance to at least see her if you do revisit it.

      I find fashion in anime fascinating, and I’m glad you do too!

  29. Pingback: Kimi ni Todoke Season One and Two Review – Confessions of a Shoujo-holic | Listless Ink

Leave a Reply

