Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls’ Academy

Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls' Academy yuri

Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls’ Academy is a yuri manga I have been following for a while now. It truly lives up to its passionate title. And I love it for that.

Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls' Academy yuri

While passing through a cemetery on a rainy morning, Amano Arare somehow arrives in the world of mononoke at an all-girls boarding school. As a human, she is in danger of being violated or even eaten by the various youkai there. Luckily, with the help of Kiri (a nekomata) and Pero (an akaname), Arare is able to not only survive, but become a student under a false youkai identity.

Heart-Pounding Excitement Mononoke Girls' Academy

Spiriting away is a common theme in many Japanese stories. Mononoke Girl’s Academy combines this idea with school life. It really makes a fascinating blend of the weird and the familiar. Each day, Arare sees unexplainable phenomenon and meets her diverse class full of obake, spirits, kappa, yuki-onna, and anything in between. At the same time, she struggles with worldly problems of identity and love. The contrast makes a curious take on some common anxieties of teenage years.

Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls' Academy yuri

At one point, Arare is faced with a tough dilemma. She has to decide between her human identity and her relationship with Kiri. If Arare were to consummate her love with a youkai, she would become one herself. (“If Arare’s mouth down there kisses on that of a youkai’s, you’ll turn into that sort of youkai too”). I thought that is just an interesting, albeit a bit silly, set up. It also raises the issue of identity and love from a rather unique angle.

Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls' Academy yuri

Mononoke Girls’ Academy manages to gracefully incorporate relatable ideas and melodramatic plot into a rather inane story. This really adds a lot of substance to the plot and the silly humor, which can actually already stand on its own. There are so many scenes that make me chuckle at the ridiculous developments. And there are so many heart-wrenching moments as well.

Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls' Academy yuri

Furthermore, this yuri manga does not take itself too seriously. Thus, not only can it deliver some really funny situations, it can to go over the top with yuri. In fact, this is perhaps one of the most ecchi serialized manga I have read in a while. Just look at Pero, the akaname. The akaname is a youkai who loves to lick things clean. I think that should be enough hints to the kind of things that happen in the manga. Mononoke Girls’ Academy is a very sexual manga that really makes hearts race and blushing faces hot. Heart-pounding excitement indeed.

Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls' Academy yuri Arare Kiri

Yet despite all this, the yuri is not really distasteful. It is simply rich, fun ecchi.

Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls' Academy yuri Arare Kiri

I really enjoy Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls’ Academy. I mentioned before that I love myths, folklore, and supernatural stuff. This yuri manga not only has all those elements that I love, but it incorporates the plot into its setting beautifully. Plus, it has a lot of gratuitous yuri.

Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls' Academy Yuri Hime
__________________________________________________

  • After a hiatus, I usually like to ease back into blogging by doing a mini review of some of my favorite yuri manga, especially those in Yuri Hime. This is certainly a nice opportunity to write about the little gems. Anyways, I am not entirely done with all my stuff yet, so there will still be some lag time in my responses.

__________________________________________________
More anime and manga reviews

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls' Academy, Review, Yuri Anime and Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls’ Academy

  1. Nopy says:

    The plot reminds me of Rosario + Vampire, where a guy gets enrolled in an all-youkai school and lots of ecchi stuff happens, except now it’s a girl.

    The artwork doesn’t look too bad, but Kiri looks like one of those pretty boys rather than a girl to me. I’ve never heard of an akaname, but it sounds like something that would go well with ecchi scenes.

    • Yi says:

      That’s really interesting you picked that up about Kiri. The mangaka, Nangoku Banana is actually a fairly well established in both the yuri and yaoi circles. She’s done several yaoi manga as well, so some influences from there might have seeped into this.

      Akaname… yep yep. ^ ^

  2. I’d been meaning to check this out since you mentioned it on Twitter, but I hadn’t got around to it yet. After reading your write up though, it has bumped up (no pun intended) considerably on the priority list. Grabbing now….

    • Yi says:

      It’s a fairly popular yuri manga. In fact, I’d get an email or two from other yuri fans suggesting it every once in a while. It’s a really nice series and I’m always waiting on the next chapter. Unfortunately, releases are pretty slow…😦 And it’s at a cliff hanger right now.

      It’s a bit on the lewd side though compared to Girl Friends or even Octave.

  3. Karla Paraon says:

    This is the most sexual mangas I have ever read.

    • Yi says:

      I think it might be for me too… at least in recent memory. It’s not just the sex scenes, but some of the conversation and ideas in the manga are so sexual. It’s kind of fun.

  4. hisui19 says:

    oh my gosh!!😄 I read this too, Lililicious already released the last chapter but they said it has the omake which I look forward to… ^_^
    thanks for the review!😄 awesome as always…

    • Yi says:

      I was really glad Lililicious picked this up. I’m always looking forward to the next chapter or omake or anything related to this series. ^ ^

  5. enri says:

    This have been my favorite manga. Ever.
    Can’t wait ch.15.

  6. Ryan A says:

    Sounds like some good escapism right here. ;D I can imagine some intensity of the situation when the main character could be transformed into a youkai… somewhat reminds me of the stipulation from the tv series Pushing Up Daisy… where the guy can touch one dead thing and bring it to life, but another living thing in the area dies… he ends up touching this girl he loves, and the stipulation is that anything he’s brought back to life, if he touches it again, it will die.

    I guess that’s the sense I get from these constricting situations ^__^ Art looks nice as well.

    • Yi says:

      I agree. In fact, the core of the story is based on spiriting away, which just feels so inherently escapist. It’s nice.
      Anyways, the manga adds even more intensity to the dilemma. If Arare were to become a youkai, that would mean she can’t return home, because youkai cannot survive for long in the human world. It’s a nice catch 22, kind of like Pushing Up Daisy. Nice comparison. ^ ^

      Art is great. Someone above pointed out that Kiri looks a bit BL, and I kind of agree. I don’t mind though. I like the character styles.

  7. Shinra says:

    I too follow the manga, the only thing is the slow release of its chapters…. Yuri and Ecchi and Youkai is just too AWESOME!!!😄

    Sometimes I feel sorry for Kiri…. on liking Arare. While Kiri thinks Arare only thinks chicken. Sad. I really Pity Kiri….

    Hope the new chapter shows more Yuriness than before XDD MAKE IT EPIC!!! XDDD

    • Yi says:

      Yep yep. Yuri + Ecchi + Youkai = instant love for me.

      It really feels too long between chapters. It’s too bad Yuri Hime is a monthly magazine. It would be so awesome if there were new chapters each week.

      • Erin says:

        Yuri Hime isn’t a monthly magazine. It is a quarterly magazine but will be switching to bimonthly (once every two months) starting in November.

        • Yi says:

          Oops, you’re right. I must have falsely combined Yuri Hime S and all the different yuri magazines to create an illusion that there’s something every month.

          Good to hear that it’s becoming bimonthly though. ^ ^

  8. Fai D Fluorite says:

    Oh another Yuri post🙂
    Ah I dont read/see these stuffs.
    I’ve been wondering Yi,why do you like Yuri genre so much?
    Asked just like that!

    • Yi says:

      Ahhh that’s an interesting question.
      I don’t really know. It’s one of the many genre I like. I’m not sure if it’s actually my favorite. I don’t think I actually read/watch more yuri than mainstream popular anime. I think I just tend to like to write about yuri because it’s a narrower niche relative to mainstream. It’s also nice to bring more exposure to some works that fly under the radar of most anime fans. Another thing is that early in my blogging days, I wrote a few post on yuri materials and those really took off. Eventually, blogging about yuri has been kind of a sub-theme to my posts.

      Yea… I think I dodged the question there and went in a different direction. I guess I just like yuri. Maybe it’s the forbidden factor, but that’s not entirely true either for many great yuri works that don’t tackle the issue at all. Or maybe it’s because yuri is usually really fluffy, and I like that.

  9. glothelegend says:

    Rosario Vampire = Same exact thing. This looks better though, because it’s about lesbians. Maybe I’ll check it out, but right now I’m obsessed with Bleach.

    • Yi says:

      Haven’t seen Rosario Vampire yet, but now I’m kind of interested.
      Anyways, I’ve been keeping up with the Bleach manga. It’s getting better recently because it actually look like it’s ending soon.

      • Yeah, I’m reading your review and it does sound like replacing the male character in Rosario+Vampire with a female one. R+V is a harem show basically, which kinda disinterest me nowadays. But put it in a yuri situation, then bam! “That sounds interesting!” Though I have heard that two of the girls in R+V actually had a yuri scene, but maybe it was just in one chapter… I didn’t keep track of it…

        I’m gonna try to put Mononoke Girls’ Academy into my reading list for sure… Just don’t know when I’ll get to it ^^;

        • Yi says:

          This is actually not as haremy as the images indicate. The yuri pairs are all fairly set, and there isn’t much of a one x many situation.

          I might get into Rosario+ Vampire since it sounds nice, but it’s kind of unlikely given my backlog and my free time.

          There isn’t that many chapters out yet, so you might be able to get through to the most recent fairly quickly.

  10. Swordwind says:

    I have mixed feelings towards this series.

    • Yi says:

      Is that good or bad? Or both?

      • Swordwind says:

        A bit of both…

        Some Youkai are just too…weird for my tastes, and the story develops a little unevenly. But, I like it regardless.

        • Yi says:

          Agreed about the uneven development. The tone can be inconsistent at times. I’m willing to forgive that though for the yuri.
          Also agreed about the youkai. I don’t mind Kiri, Pero, the teacher, the yuki-onna, or most of the more human looking ones. I did sort of have a problem with that one mini story about futakuchi-onna and the kappa. Futakuch-onna’s large mouth just feels kind of gross when it’s all over the kappa’s face…

  11. rockleelotus says:

    this series sounds really strange but fun :3
    will have to give it a try ^^

  12. bluedrakon says:

    As with others, it does resonate of Rosario + Vampire with me as well. I am actually reading that series and may have to check this out myself. Youkai love seems a bit weird to me, but they kinky a the same time.

    • Yi says:

      I’m only vaguely familiar with Rosario + Vampire, so now I’m extremely interested. I enjoyed this set up, so I’m looking forward to checking out more of it.

      Anyways, youkai love can be super kinky!

  13. Solaris says:

    I think i’ll stick with Rosario+Vampire as i’m not too much into yuri-entaish stuff. Not that yuri disturbed be at all, but i consider such fanservice a good spiceup for stories than a the subject of the plot. And it looks like this manga is based entirely on po… ehm… *stuff*… i pass.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, yuri isn’t really for everybody, nor is fanservice. This manga is very very sexual, and pushes the boundary of child friendly. It’s not just the scenes, but the themes and the dialogues, so if that’s not your thing, then I’d avoid this.

  14. koyot3 says:

    At first few chapters I thought it was a fanservice and a distasteful short (as the author’s pen name is Banana?) But after getting to know the characters more and the series prolonged, the strage and over the top ecchi comedy is what sold me.

    Besides, I think it is the shounen artists that make the YuriHime books shine.

    • Yi says:

      “the strage and over the top ecchi comedy is what sold me.”
      Exactly! I was a bit put off at first, especially when I got that chapter with the cow youkai. But something about it just kept me with it and now I’m in love with the story and the characters.

  15. softz says:

    Finally, I look up the meaning of yuri. Initially, I thought you were referring to the character’s name. Hmmm… interesting series. I knew there are some NSFW. So, I read this post at home. I’ll see where I can get a browse of one episode or two to see if I like it😉

    • Yi says:

      I always assume people know the terms I use. I think it’s pretty bad practice. Anyways, this is a manga so it should be pretty quick to browse through it. It’s NSFW for sure though, but I wouldn’t say it’s hentai. It sits on the borderline with the likes of Queen’s Blade and such.

      It’s interesting for sure, but it’s questionable for sure.

  16. Zemial99 says:

    Hey, I don’t know if you know this, but here’s a new Sono Hanabira game that’s coming out: images.4chan.org/u/src/1284573515133.jpg

  17. Pingback: Vicki B. Escarra: For some children, going back to school means getting to eat | Cheap bag

  18. Pingback: Trashed Ideas

  19. EmperorG says:

    I have this manga in my collection as well. I haven’t finished it yet and as soon as I saw that you reviewed it, I was curious to read your thoughts on it. To my surprise, you enjoyed it quite a bit. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it as well. Now I’m going to have a blast finishing it. Well written review once again comrade Yi.

    • Yi says:

      It’s still being serialized, so this is kind of a mid-series review I guess. I can only see it be even better though now that the story is approaching the climax. Cute, sexy, and just a bit of ecchi… or maybe more than a bit.

      • EmperorG says:

        Ah, so it’s not over yet? Even after what happened at the end of the 2nd volume? Oh my, I do hope more crazy antics will be taking place should a new volume be released. I need me some more Arare and Kiri.

        • Yi says:

          It’s serialized in Yuri Hime, so new chapters come out excruciatingly slow.😦
          I need more Arare and Kiri too! And Pero as well.

  20. EmperorG says:

    Ah, so it’s part of Yuri Hime is it? Very well, I suppose we must patiently await the next chapter when it’s released then. It does hurt to wait, since I’m also curious as to the fate of another couple that caught my interest, Double Mouth and Kappa. I also wonder if the “forbidden love” couple will also get the spotlight one more time as I am hoping it to do.

    • Yi says:

      Yea… I want to see more Yuki-onna too. I guess the only redeeming thing about having to wait is that there are so many series going on at once. It doesn’t feel that bad because you could always read something else in the mean time.

  21. Manfred says:

    Well, I’m not very receptive towards furry and catgirls and such but I’ll make an exception for this manga😀 just like Sweet Peach. It’s a really nice read. So fluffy and cute. Although it got a whole lot weirder than Sweet Peach.

    Btw, the series has ended fight?

    • Manfred says:

      This picture kinda sums up my reactions while reading this

    • Yi says:

      I wouldn’t count cat girls as furries, but I guess some do draw the line looser.

      Anyway, it is kind of like Sweet Peach, and yes, it got a lot weirder haha.

      I think the series has ended indeed. Lililicious has all the chapters.

      p.s. I chuckled at that picture. ^ ^

  22. Pingback: Honey Crush – The Bittersweet Yuri of a Yurei, the Impossibilities of Some Love | Listless Ink

  23. wendy says:

    i really cant believe it ended like that D: i want more:/

    • Yi says:

      Yea I agree. The ending feels very abrupt and almost a bit forced. I want more too. While there isn’t really any loose ends, some stuff feels like it could use a little more. For example, I want to see their dates, their school lives… etc. etc.

      Well, hopefully, we get an extra or something in Yuri Hime or some otehr publication someday.

  24. Aya says:

    spiriting away? and mononoke? FBI lie movies much?!😄

  25. ayame says:

    LOVE IT~~~ SO HAPPY you blogged about it! It’s absolutely gorgeous from the art down to the comedy, the romance and the smutiness!!! One of the best out there! Seriously, it’s really rare that ecchi is so sensual and funny while not stupid like what we see with all the pantyshots and bouncing boobs. I had the luck to read it after its completion, so I really enjoyed it!

    • Yi says:

      Totally agreed! The super sexual comedy is usually not really my thing, but it somehow worked really well here. The romance and the story, while a bit inane and erotic, are actually quite decent. I’m glad we both enjoyed this. ^ ^

      Thanks for visiting, hun!

Leave a Reply

