Two and Two Review – Yuri Mathematics

Two and Two Akihito Yoshitome Yuri Hime Futari to Futari

Two and Two Akihito Yoshitome Yuri Hime Futari to Futari

Two and Two (Futari to Futari) is a short yuri manga by Akihito Yoshitomi (吉富昭仁) serialized in Yuri Hime S. With only five chapters, it is not a particularly signature work, but I actually really enjoyed it. Since I am still inundated with stuff, this is the perfect little title to skim through.

Two and Two Akihito Yoshitome Yuri Hime Futari to Futari

The story revolves around four girls in a really complicated love square. Ayumi and Sayako are roommates and really good friends. Ayumi is currently dating Asami, while Sayako is dating Keiko. It turns out Asami and Keiko once dated each other. To complicate matters further, Ayumi and Sayako both have feelings for each other that develop into something more. The story follows these girls as the affair between Ayumi and Sayako is found out, and the four deal with their intertwining emotions.

Two and Two Akihito Yoshitome Yuri Hime Futari to Futari

The manga does a beautiful job in portraying clear tension between the four girls. At the same time, the angst does not overpower the romance. It has a delicate balance between the dramatic emotions and the sweet moments. This is furthered by the various moving and titillating sex scenes.

Two and Two Akihito Yoshitome Yuri Hime Futari to Futari

Akihito Yoshitomi is an easily recognizable name in the yuri community (Blue Drop, Tropical Girls…etc). He is no stranger to gorgeous yuri manga. Two and Two is no exception. The sex scenes are especially gorgeous. Like the story, these scenes are at once slightly melancholic and sweet… and really titillating.

Two and Two Akihito Yoshitome Yuri Hime Futari to Futari

However, I do have one complaint. All the characters look too similar not only in Two and Two, but across most of Akihito Yoshitomi’s works. When I read this the first time, I got really confused by who is with whom, and who is cheating on whom. This is worsened by the time gap between chapters in the quarterly magazine.

Two and Two Akihito Yoshitome Yuri Hime Futari to Futari

Still, once I got my bearings, this manga stands out as a tactful narrative for a complex situation. In particular, the ending makes Two and Two one of the more memorable yuri manga.

The solution to this convoluted love square is really just simple mathematics. 2 + 2 = 4.

Two and Two Akihito Yoshitome Yuri Hime Futari to Futari

A four-way relationship is daring and ingenious. It is also undoubtedly something many yuri fans have wanted to see, but manga authors rarely deliver.

__________________________________________________
More anime and manga reviews

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Review, Two and Two, Yuri Anime and Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Two and Two Review – Yuri Mathematics

  1. RyanA says:

    Pretty and sensual enough… that’s an interesting turnout for sure.O_o

    • Yi says:

      Yea. This is the first time I’ve ever read such an ending in a yuri manga. Sure, there has been harem and even a threesome relationship, but for those, a singular mindset still exists. In this one, the ending seems to suggest that each of the four really has true feelings for more than one. In essence, we have a criss cross thing going on. Two and Two really is a quite unique in this sense.

  2. Swordwind says:

    Fuuun.

  3. Nopy says:

    I’m surprised other authors haven’t thought of this before. There’s plenty of polygamy going on when it comes to hetero anime/manga, so why not throw it in with yuri ^.^

    • Yi says:

      I wouldn’t say it hasn’t been thought of before. It also probably has been done before. But it’s certainly a very rare situation.
      I’ve seen harem and I’ve seen polygamy in yuri manga before, but crisscrossing polygamy is a first for me. It almost feels a bit like an orgy, but with romance.

  4. Lilyvess says:

    Hey lose look like scanlated images of chapter 5? Where did you get them? or did you scanlate them yourself?

    I had been reading Two and Two and was enjoying it up until it took to the foursome relationship. While I loved some of the parallelism used to represent both couples, a foursome relationship was a really big pill to swallow.

    I would have preferred a more concrete “Girl A goes with Girl B” ending. Hopefully one that didn’t pair up the older girls with the school girls, that age gap also got my attention in all the wrong ways.

    But mostly I was just sad Yoshitomi Akihito. I genuinely enjoyed some of his previous works like Suika and Natsu no Ari. Between this and Sisterism I’ve lost a lot of my faith in the man.

    • Yi says:

      Those are scanned pages of chapter 5. I don’t really remember where I found the raws. The last page I just translated it myself for that one text box. I think Dynasty Scans is working on this, so the last chapter should come out some time.

      I read the manga a little differently. For me, I do enjoy the paralellism between the two older couples (who were a pair before they drifted apart) and the two younger girls, as well as the similarity between the two current relationships. Still, when it started the 4 way relationship, it didn’t bother me much. It is kind of refreshing because it’s really something not seen often.

      The ending is a bit ambiguous though. They simply all live together, and I think it felt a bit too fantastical. The last scene felt too broad of a stroke to try to tie up a subtly developed plot.

      Yoshitomi Akihito has really done some nice works. If anything, he’s always bringing something a bit different than the usual school girl romance. Although some stuff will not be fan favorites, they are nevertheless kind of unique. I’m not too big of a fan of Sisterism, but its premise is admittedly really novel.

      Thanks for the comment. It’s always nice to hear from another yuri fan who’s read a lot of works. ^ ^

  5. hisui19 says:

    i have seen this title from Dynasty… I’m thinking of reading it but I always forgot to do it… Now that you review it, I’ll down it now!😄
    Thanks as always… Your reviews are always awesome ^_^

    • Yi says:

      Glad you enjoyed the review. I think Dynasty is only up to chapter 4 right now though, so you might need to wait a while to see chapter 5. It’s not bad. It’s not the best yuri manga ever, but it’s a fun short title.

      • hisui19 says:

        yeah, I finally read it all and currently waiting for the last chapter..
        I always read Lililicious and Dynasty’s most work, specially in Yuri Hime Magazine.. Now I’m used to reading one shots, but serialized is what I like more…

        • Yi says:

          Same here. I’ve been doing mostly one shots now too. I’m also not reading as much yuri now… or doing anything fun in general.

  6. Shinra says:

    I really think Akihito Yoshitomi loves to draw 2 yuri parings. For example Sisterism (tho i never like Sisterism ever since chapter 1). But overall, I still prefer Blue Drop (anime ver) more for stories. Not the best but its worth watching.

    I still cant find a better Yuri anime than Sasameki Koto, Kannazuki, Strawberry panic, Candy Boy and Sono Hanabira. Any other recommendations? (other than the ones that are famous, probably a add-in Yuri or just random Shoujo Ai)

    • Yi says:

      There’s a lot of parallels between this and Sisterism. It’s interesting to note that both were serialized at the same time before Two and Two ended, and we end up with two manga focusing on two yuri pairs. So many twos…

      Akihito Yoshitomi, while not my favorite yuri mangaka, has done some great works. I really liked Suika. Two and Two isn’t too bad either, and I like Sisterism as well.

      Anyways, other yuri anime recommendatios. I liked Maria-sama ga Miteru. I absolutely love Noir. It’s one of my favorite anime. Saki, Mai Hime, Mai Otome, and Strike Witches are all pretty good.
      There’s also Yami to Boushi to Hon no Tobibito, but I didn’t like it that much. I’m sure there’s more, but that’s all I can think of right now.

      • Shinra says:

        Thanks for the recommends, I’ll try out Noir cause I never knew that its a Yuri anime XDDD

        Thanks again.

        ( similar to you, Akihito Yoshitomi isnt my fav mangaka but the works are fine ^^)

        • Yi says:

          Noir is not the same kind of yuri that Strawberry Panic is. It’s a nice blend of genres. Most people do consider it to be a yuri series, but the relationships are not very overt.

  7. Johnny says:

    It seems very exciting… the same design as “Aoi Hana”, but a little more explicit ! :p

    • Yi says:

      The style does remind a bit of Aoi Hana with the roundish faces, although there are some differences both in the drawing and more notably, the story.

  8. Valence says:

    It sounds interesting enough. A love affair between two love affairs intertwined with yet another love affair. And I always knew that my math was bad. That image which compared the two couples in an embrace in bed – it found that interesting,interesting enough for me to go and read it. That image seems to parallel their thoughts and emotions, and really , I could go on, but I’ll digress.

    Being a newbie to Yuri, I can’t say that I have much authority on the subject, but that sure looks interesting to read. Although from the images it makes me think that most of the comics are devoted to them having sex @.@

    • Yi says:

      Yep yep. I thought it was an interesting but somewhat confusing read. The visuals are really nice though.

      Anyways, the manga is not all about sex. It’s certainly a more mature look at relationships, but the manga focuses on their emotions. The sex scenes are only there to further that, and nothing is really treated in a lewd obscene manner.

      Of course, I included the most juicy parts.

  9. kluxorious says:

    I need to see some vaginas!

  10. Pingback: What are some hands on activities girls ages 6-16 may enjoy to learn about grooming? | girls cooking

  11. AXYPB says:

    Are you familiar with Ryu Asagi?

    • Yi says:

      I’m actually not. I quickly googled some of his works, and to my pleasant surprise, I haven’t read any of his yuri. Thanks for letting me know about more yuri.

      • AXYPB says:

        I mention him because you said this is “undoubtedly something many yuri fans have wanted to see, but manga authors rarely deliver.” His most famous yuri work, I Fell In Love For The First Time immediately came to mind as the first yuri manga I ever bothered reading. I was introduced to it as a work similar in spirit to Sonohana; that is, an uncomplicated love story between two girls supported with the cleanest explicitness possible. I must have read it no less than a dozen times. His other yuri stories also follow this theme, but to my knowledge, the only other story that has been translated is The Rites of the Moon Princess.

        • Yi says:

          Thanks for the links. I was really interested after a quick search into his name.
          “uncomplicated love story… supported with the cleanest explicitness”
          Great description. ^ ^

  12. glothelegend says:

    I can already see how it ends: Huge lesbian orgy. Count me in!

  13. Zemial99 says:

    This looks pretty… Heartwarming and good for a yuri Manga (I say yuri is heartwarming, cause the Sono Hanabira OVA warmed my heart a bit, as along with other yuri mangas I read, thanks to this: http://www.lililicious.net/index.php?Lily=5d6469cd5a59314d2cbf0cdb583bd849 ). I’ll maybe I’ll download Two to Two, and read the whole thing. (If I can find it)

    • Yi says:

      Yep yep. A lot of yuri titles really warm my heart too, including Sono Hanabira. I follow lililicious scanlations too. Mostly Yuri Hime stuff and Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls’ Academy. They’re a wonderful group.

      There are also many other great yuri scanlation groups.
      My favorite of all is Wings of Yuri (http://www.solelo.com/blog/)
      Tsundere Translations is pretty good too, as is Tranquil Spring and Dynasty.

      In fact, Dynasty scanlated Two and Two. The last time I checked, they’re only up to chapter 4 right now though, so yea.

      • Zemial99 says:

        Ah, okay. I’ll check it out.

        Oh, and about the “Me introducing you to tokusatsu thing”, sorry that I didn’t get a chance to do it. I thought it will take you away from anime, like how it did to me.

        • Yi says:

          Haha don’t worry about Tokusatsu. It looks interesting, but it wouldn’t take me away from anime. Btw. I really liked that genre when I was really young.

  14. He is no stranger to gorgeous yuri manga.

    A guy creating yuri manga… He must be very experienced!

    I’m liking the drool in that 5th (i think) picture; I’m totally into that. Would you happen to have a yuri manga with hair sniffing? Just curious…

    • Yi says:

      I think there is actually quite a number of male yuri mangaka. Anyways, I meant he has done a lot of yuri manga, either full series or one shots.

      I’m kind of into that too actually… The receiving end of a bit of teasing and punishment. j/k
      I can’t think of anything with hair sniffing off the top of my head, but there should be a lot with those situations. And probably a lot of upper lip sniffing too. ^ ^

  15. Zemial99 says:

    Ah, I didn’t know. But anyway, maybe I’ll tell you bits of what I know about Tokusatsu.

    Tokusatsu is a Japanese term of “superhero, or giants monsters” stuff that appears in either Live action, drama, or anime (Ex: Sailor Moon, Precure!, Gundam, Godzilla, Super Sentai, Kamen Rider, and Ultraman). The first Tokusatsu show to appear is the very first godzilla, a very well known monster movie that appeared (If I guess) during World War II (Or after World War II), But Godzilla gave everyone in Japan a sense of horror back then (Considering that the very first godzilla was made from the results of the atomic bomb exploding in Nagasaki and Hiroshima). Following that, was (if I can guess) Ultra Q, the very first entry of the Ultra series, followed by everyone’s favorite Ultraman. And Following Ultra Q, was (What I think) the very first show to feature 5 guys in Suits fighting bad guys and getting in a giant robot (Plus fight in it). That was Himitsu Sentai Goranger.

    I’ll talk a little bit more about Tokusatsu, but I’m afraid that the comment is a little bit too long for me to talk in. Sorry.

    Oh, and if you’re wondering why I started in a new post, Apparently I can only be limited to 4 replies.

    • Yi says:

      That’s a really fascinating read on the history of Tokusatsu. Thank you.
      It’s really fun to see some title I actually recognize. Godzilla obviously. I remember watching Godzilla and Mothra as a kid, and I felt really bad when Mothra kind of died in the middle. I also remember Ultraman. He was awesome.

      Anyways, the other day, I saw the trailer for the movie, Big Man Japan. It looks like a really intelligent parody of the genre, and after reading this, I’m super excited to watch it.

      p.s. About the reply thread thingy, I set it at 4 layers deep. If you want a response to be in the same sequence, just scroll up and find the closest reply button you can find. It should line up if you reply to the thing the other comments are replied to.

  16. AHAHALOLHEHHEAHEAE says:

    I’m curious – have you read Indigo Blue by Yamaji Ebine yet?

    It ‘s a contrast to most other *ahem* “mushy” or “fantastical” yuri manga…you know the one’s I’m talking about.

    I think it’d make for an interesting blog post, doing a comparison between the two. Maybe something to look into when you’re not so busy.

    • Yi says:

      I did read that a long time ago.

      You’re certainly right that it’s far different from your typical fluffy yuri manga. I’m really glad to have read such a unique piece. With that said, I didn’t like it that much. Part of the issue I had is simply with the mangaka’s drawing style. It’s not particularly appealing to me. The plot, however, seems to be a beautiful and realistic portrayal of lesbian relationships. From the girl’s uncertainty to the discussion of sex vs. love, everything is just so believable. It also does an amazing job in creating angst and poignant moments.

      While I tend to like a bit of fantasy in anime and manga, I don’t mind realism either. For example, I really like Octave as well. I guess my only problem was that I was a bit put off by the art.

      Anyways, that’s a good idea for a blog post. Thanks. I’ll keep that in mind for sure. ^ ^

      • AHAHALOLHEHHEAHEAE says:

        The character designs left something to be desired for sure. Especially the main love interest ( I prefer my females to look….well, female) and the love scenes, they held very little sensuality for me; which is so very important with yuri, I think.

        Takako Shimura is someone who is doing everything right for me with a series like Aoi Hana. Like Fumito Ueda once said, for fantasy to have an impact, the connection to reality needs to be strong. The slow pace of the story best illustrates the characters and their issues by showing rather than telling. There must be a great effort by the reader to put oneself into the characters situation and really read them. Along with the wonderful simplicity and clarity that comes with the art, this is what I look for in the medium. If I was asked, Shimura’s works would be some of the first I’d think of to best represent my taste in manga.

        I’m aware of Akihito Yoshitomi from reading Blue Drop (after watching the anime, which I recommend if you have yet to see it. It gets 10/10 in my book.) but never sought out anything else he’s done. I’ll be sure to look into Futari to Futari.

        Cheers.

        • Yi says:

          My problem with the artwork in Indigo Blue isn’t with character design, but it’s more just how simple it looks. It’s a style I think works in individual pieces of artwork, such as in a fashion spread or something, but I’m not sure it works for me for a whole manga.

          Aoi Hana is something I really enjoyed, especially the anime. It’s a very intricate and realistic look into the girls’ feelings. Fumito Ueda is certainly right when he said that. Resonance is a very major concept in a lot of things, such as design.

          If you’re looking for something from Akihito Yoshitomi, I would actually recommend starting Tropical Girls, which I’d consider his recent signature work after Blue Drop.

  17. bluedrakon says:

    I have not seen anything like this either. You usually have a single yuri relationship. Should be an interesting scenario as each are hiding something.

  18. Oh I remember you linked a couple of these pictures on Twitter before. I didn’t realize they were Akihito Yoshitomi’s artwork 0.o I knew about Akihito when he did Eat-Man and I tracked down some of the manga that was released by him in the U.S. Unfortunately not a lot of his stuff gets to be continued. They were awesome work too, especially Eat-Man.

    Anyhow… He seems to be dabbling more with yuri these days. Kinda appropriate since his drawings of women always look really, really hot! Kinda too bad they start to look a like now… He should do more screentones for hair, methinks ^^; But I have to say his artwork changed quite drastically compared to Eat-Man. I’ll have to look this up. Sounds interesting enough, especially the “square”.

    • Yi says:

      I remember linking some images too. I think I also replied saying that they haven’t been scanlated, which is just not true. I think Dynasty has done up to chapter 4.

      Akihito’s style has really evolved since Eat-Man. I really like that. I didn’t really like his earlier style, especially for yuri works.

  19. Pingback: Tweets that mention Two and Two Review – Yuri Mathematics | Listless Ink -- Topsy.com

  20. Janette says:

    I feel really bad for asking, as I know being asked is annoying, so if this is bothersome, just ignore this. Do you know where I, who can’t torret, could maybe read this?

  21. EmperorG says:

    I just read this manga yesterday. I wish there could have been more to this. I mean, how many times have we actually seen a yuri love triangle, much less a love square?! Very rare. finally we get one and it’s not even as long as an average manga chapter.
    That’s right, I enjoyed reading this skit, including your final chapter translation. I would have liked more, but I suppose what we did get was fair enough.

    • Yi says:

      Yea it was a pretty refreshing thing to see = serious relationships involving multiple girls that doesn’t degenerate into a harem.

      I like this length though. It’s pretty hard for me to keep committing to several long running serialized manga. Nowadays, I prefer one-shots or short 1-3 volume yuri manga as opposed to something like Sasameki Koto, the never-ending story that drags on to infinity.

  22. MyHatsOffToYou says:

    Can you tell me where you can read the full translated manga online?

    I couldn’t find the full story and only read up to end of chapter four >_>

    • Yi says:

      Hm… I’m a little out of touch with English scanlation sites, so I’m not exactly sure who picked this up. However, as I understand it, the last chapter has yet to be scanlated. I read this in raw a long time ago, so you might be out of luck for now. Sorry about that.😦

  23. MyHatsOffToYou says:

    Oh well……thx anyway

  24. Overlord-G says:

    Finally read the last chapter (1 year after the previous 4 were subbed) and it was a fun way to close this neat little story with an ending the yuri nation has dreamed of yet never received until this manga popped up.
    I wonder why I liked Sayako most of all? Maybe it’s because of how quiet she was and how much she wanted Ayumi pie but waited patiently for Ayumi to crave a piece of Sayako pie herself.
    Asami would have to be 2nd in terms of coolness.

    • Yi says:

      Oh the final chapter is finally scanlated. That’s nice~

      Yea, I thought it was a neat little wrap up too. Very unconventional relationship the four have, but it works for them, and I love it.

      Anyway I think I tended to like the more aggressive characters, but all four girls are super lovely. ^ ^

  25. Victoria Kano says:

    I already read some of this manga and it is really good. I would like to read more of it but, I can’t find a site that doesn’t past the part where Ayumi and Sayako kiss in the bath. I would like to know if you could tell me where to read it.

    • Yi says:

      Hm… That just means it hasn’t been scanlated yet. You’re going to have to wait indefinitely. But yes, agreed. This is a wonderful manga. ^ ^

  26. ayame says:

    I’ve read it but passed it over as I got confused. I didn’t even realise that it was a foursome. I think that by reading many yuri or yaoi in a raw, you discard more stories more easily. Sex scenes sure can get repeatitive. Unless it arouses me and really touches me, I usually don’t store anything in my favs file of the disk. So this one didn’t quite passed the test.

    • Yi says:

      It does get pretty confusing, especially because the Akihito Yoshitomi’s girls all look pretty similar. I couldn’t be sure who was who a lot of the times, and their names don’t quite stick either.

      The sex scenes I did enjoy though, and especially with this mangaka… He likes to think outside the box with things sometimes. (This one is actually much tamer by comparison to his other works.)

  27. Lovely says:

    Yeah… I agree…

    I’m from Brazil and i love this site.
    😀

Leave a Reply

