Anime and Blogging: Chasing Statistics

Reassessing…

Blogging hits quick aside

Here is a fun story. When I first started blogging, I had to choose a name for the site. It was a few weeks before college. With little care in the world and nothing to do, I felt listless most days. So I knew it was going to be listless something. After much thought, I narrowed the choices down to link and ink. I considered Listless Link for a long time; the alliteration just rolls off the tongue so well. In the end though, I went with Listless Ink for several reasons. One is that I had a naïve dream of starting my own company some day. Thus, the title of the company would, of course, be Listless, inc.

Since then, anime has really influenced this blog. At the same time though, blogging has affected my experience with anime. Am I blogging so I can recreate the experience with anime? Or am I watching anime so I can have something fun to blog about?

This issue is further complicated by blog statistics. Two years ago, I did not care whether I had 15 hits today and 100 hits tomorrow. I did not care if no one left comments in a post I spent two hours on. Sure, it was nice to have a comment or two, but that was not something I thrived on. At some point, however, I started to care about these things. I chased after readers, looked up ways to gain traffic, and catered my writing to the niche. I even changed some aspects of my anime watching habits so I can create relevant content for the blog. While this is not a bad thing, there are days when everything feels like a chore.

A while ago, I got a comment on a page: “Stop trying to create work for yourself :) .”

The comment forced me to take a step back and think about what I want from all of this: blogging for anime or anime for blogging. It is probably a bit of both, but does it really even matter?

What I want is to have fun.

And fun for me means not caring too much about the ups and downs of hits. It means that I should not be bogged down by the nitty gritty logistics of blogging. It also means loving the comments and the successes of posts.

Most importantly, it means watching the ecchi yuri OVA, Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke wo, coming out today.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz
Like This!

This entry was posted in Asides and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Anime and Blogging: Chasing Statistics

  1. chikorita157 says:

    I blog about Anime since it’s enjoyable to write about what I see… Sometimes, you can come up with some interesting things to say… Blogging Anime needs to come naturally, not forced. If I have nothing to say about the episode, I won’t make a post about it… simple as that. If the readers find it interesting, they will read… Spreading the content (as in sharing the post as a link) to other channels like Facebook and/or Twitter helps too.

    Of course, ideas for editorials come into mind when I read blog or forum posts. It’s just recently that I haven’t been writing as much since I was on vacation, but that is okay.

    For me, I post on average 6 posts a week according to Anime Blips and get around 6000 visits and 40 comments a month.

    • Yi says:

      Well said! I took a bit of time to look back before I wrote this post because some stuff started to feel forced, and I was beginning to feel a bit burnt out.

      Anyways, thanks for the tips on blogging. ^ ^

  2. Pingback: Spirates » Blog Archive » Anime and Blogging: Chasing Statistics | Listless Ink

  3. Smithy says:

    What I seek in blogging is to have fun as well, s some sort of diary used to communicate my anime and other fun to the world and like-minded people. There are moments that I’d look at the statistics but find that trying to write in order to drive them up brings me less pleasure and less satisfaction than just writing what I want. Guess having fun indeed is what matters. ^^

    Thanks for the heads up on the Hanabira OVA, I’d forgotten all about the release date!

    • Yi says:

      I think that’s kind of what I aim for my blog to do too. On one hand, it’s a diary to share my life with the world. On the other, it’s to provide something (whether it’s another interpretation of an anime or updates on a series) for the readers.

      Lately though, it felt a bit too much like I’m doing a lot of stuff to drive up stats, and it can feel kind of exhausting. I need to remember to have fun at the same time!

      Btw. OVA is out!

  4. phro says:

    TL DR : “Most importantly, it means watching the ecchi yuri OVA, Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke wo, coming out today.”

    WIN.

    Just kidding, I read everything aha. Interesting how you came up with your site name. I always thought that “Ink” had some direct correlation to the ink pen (i.e. people write blogs with ink). Did not know it was a play on words with “inc.”.

    • Yi says:

      Haha that is the most important part. I wouldn’t have minded if no one read anything else but that line. ^ ^

      Well, Ink/ inc. is only one of the reasons. It’s also supposed to be a correlation to actual ink. I thought it was a cute double entendre.

  5. Glo says:

    I cared about comments and hits when I started. I wanted to be the best. Then, after one day, I stopped caring, and said, “fuck it, I’m doing whatever I want.”

  6. Mira says:

    Hi there! Teehee my hits never make it past 100

  7. Pingback: Blogging – Why It Works So Well For SEO « e377

  8. Swordwind says:

    I hope that nameless soul’s comment was more helpful than painful.

    Regarding your poll (How frequently would I like to see you post), of course it would be daily. I like to hear your opinion on things. But I also don’t want you to run yourself into the ground, allocating most of your day to frenzied posting. Post when you want to. To do otherwise, overall, is bad.

    Your desire to have others comment on (or simply read) your posts is hardly surprising; no one wants to feel ignored. However, I think a moderate path, like the one you seem to have decided on, is probably for the best.

    Here’s to the coming OVA

    • Yi says:

      The comment was definitely very needed and helpful. I’ve been feeling a bit burnt out for a while yet was still trying to do a lot of new things. The comment came at a right time. I really needed to sit back a bit and relax.

      About the poll, there is no way I can do a post daily. Even in the summer with little to do, I can’t do it. Based on the results right now, I think I’m aiming for one every 2-4 days.

      The biggest reason for the poll was actually to gauge how much content is too much. I’ve always been hesitant to post two posts back to back or even with just two days apart, thinking that the earlier one would not get read at all. I wanted to know for sure if that’s true, and it doesn’t seem to be. Most people are open to see a new posts relatively frequently, so that’s good.

      Here’s to the released OVA. ^ ^

  9. Pingback: Anime and Blogging: Chasing Statistics | Listless Ink « Blogging Future

  10. Yu says:

    Your blog naming process was amusing to read. I enjoyed the pun.

    I don’t read blogs to be catered to. I read them to see another person’s point of view on something. Any content the blogger focuses which I also enjoy is just a bonus.

    But it seems we needn’t worry. You’ve already recognized that this shouldn’t receive unneeded stress.

    • Yi says:

      I think I kind of miswrote a bit in this post. When I said catered my writing, I meant it more on choice of topics. For example, I would start posting a bit more on recent anime rather than old stuff. Opinions are still mostly my own.

      Glad you liked the pun! I thought it was kind of clever.

  11. Pingback: Anime and Blogging : Chasing Statistics | Listless Ink

  12. Xine says:

    I used to have a personal blog but I stopped writing because I don’t want to write about personal stuff anymore. Well, I guess Toy Pusher is also kinda personal but not personal personal… Lol. I don’t write just to maintain stats or anything, I guess it wouldn’t be fun that way. Sure it’s nice to receive comments and kind words here and there but I write because I’m inspired or I just have something to share which may be interesting to some or just plain useless to others. Lol.

    I read your blog because it doesn’t look forced and I know you know what you’re talking about. ^^ And I also like your style of writing.

    • Yi says:

      Thanks for the nice words. I’m still not sure just how personal I want this to be. On the one hand, I want to use this somewhat like a diary. On the other hand, I don’t particularly want to bore readers and myself with details about myself.

      Well, I hope I strike a good balance.

      p.s. I love your personal non-personal blog!

      • Xine says:

        Thank you! I really appreciate that.❤

        Well I think you're doing great with your blog. I'm sure many of your readers will agree with me ^^

  13. kluxorious says:

    I blog for fun, as you can notice by the inconsistencies of my posts. I’m sure if comparing my statistic and yours, mine will be way smaller in numbers, so congratulations either way.
    I’m blogging for both reasons. I need to blog because it’s my outlet for my stress and what better way than to blog about something that I love🙂

  14. Fabrice says:

    Always Focus on writing what you are passionate about and don’t let anybody tell you otherwise. Dont focus on pageviews – focus on content and the rest will follow. =)

  15. Zemial99 says:

    Hey Yi, I have to be a bit off-topic right now, But…. Can you guess what’s released today?

  16. Pingback: Blogging – blogging directory | SEO Mixer Blog

  17. Oh cool! So that’s how Listless Ink came about ^^ What you’re saying is pretty true… In the beginning I didn’t care about the hits either, I just wanted to put out my projects out there. I had a lot of creative posts back then and I thought it would be better to show it off with multiple pictures on a blog instead of just one picture on DC.com or just pictures and hardly any text on Facebook. So I just wanted to make it more interesting back then.

    I didn’t care about the hits or visits or whatever. I didn’t even have a proper counter until 4 months later ^^; Now I can’t help but look at the stats, haha. But mostly because I want to see where everyone’s coming from.

    Somehow though I feel like making projects for the sake of the blog instead of for fun… No wait, I still have fun with it, it just seems to be focused on blog appropriate content. As for anime, I do blog about anime sometimes, but other people have better words for specific anime than I do, so I don’t do it that often. That doesn’t mean I don’t watch anime though… I’ve been doing nothing but watch anime if I’m not at work 0.o

    Err… oops, making myself TL;DR here… Long story short… Where is this Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke wo OVA?

    • Yi says:

      Well, that’s part of how the name came about. There are other more important reasons, but this is a more interesting story. ^ ^

      Your third paragraph pretty much encapsulates what I tried to say in this post. Lately, it feels a lot like my articles and reviews were done for the sake of the blog. Even some anime watching felt like that too. Of course, I still have fun, but…

      Check my newest post: https://listlessink.wordpress.com/2010/08/01/sono-hanabira-ni-kuchizuke-wo-anata-to-koibito-tsunagi-anime-review/
      In the comments should be some useful links.

      • Well from what I can see is that you’d be forced to watch all the yuri anime (not that you hate it) and write about it on your blog because it’s expected ^^; For me, I’m watching anime as it is. I may find something interesting to write on it, but I usually don’t think about what to write if I plan on watching an anime. Which probably explains why my “anime blog” hardly has anime in it ^^;;; Only if there are interesting things to write about, y’know like… Knee pits….

        And I’ve put down somewhat of an opinion on your Sono Hanabira wni Kuchizuke wo post🙂

        • Yi says:

          Haha knee pits! I think I’m beginning to feel the attraction. I should really be more organic about what series I choose to watch too. I guess I am… Kind of…

  18. Hachi says:

    I would say nearly all of your posts are noteworthy. And I’m totally anticipating this OVA, as well! I hope to see a review regarding the anime from you soon!

  19. Shin says:

    So meticulous! The only reason why I had a blog to begin with was because I couldn’t troll anywhere else and not get banned in the process.

    • Yi says:

      I’m glad you got a place to troll the most awesome trolls. Those places that banned your lol’s have no idea of their mistakes.

  20. Ninjovee says:

    I think a lot of us bloggers go through this cycle, but it’s definitely true that having fun is better than slowly turning it into work. *nodnod*

    I say that whoever gave you that comment is pretty kind and wise.

  21. Yumeka says:

    Though I was well into anime (and maintaining an anime web site) before I started blogging, over the years I too have been guilty of slightly altering my blogging style to attract more readers. I didn’t care too much about getting comments a few years ago, but recently I’ve been spoiled by my blog getting an average of about 15 comments now (where it used to be 1 or 2), so I try to keep that up. Sometimes I choose not to blog about a certain thing because I feel no reader would be interested even though I’d like to talk about it. It doesn’t happen very often though, and I don’t think I’ve ever found myself watching a certain anime or doing something else just for the sake of having something to blog about.

    It’s great that you’re able to reflect on your blogging like this. Keep up the excellent thoughts~

    • Yi says:

      I feel the same. Once I got a taste of the wonderful reader-writer interactions, I was hooked. I really tried to keep the comment count and stats up, and I avoided blogging about certain things too.

      In fact, I actually watch/ read quite a bit of yaoi as well, but I’ve been branded as a yuri blogger, so I rarely post any of that.

      Thanks for reading and sharing your own huge experience with managing a site, especially considering how long you’ve done it.

  22. It really should be about the enjoyment first and foremost because if you’re not having fun doing it, then it’ll come through your writing unless you’re really good at faking it.

    I’ve always looked upon writing as a way of getting my thoughts out. If others can derive some form of value from it, all the better. That said, I’m not going to adjust my hobbies just to make it easier for me to write about; at this point, my hobbies and blogging preferences happen to coincide and luckily, I don’t see that changing anytime soon.

    • Yi says:

      Haha yea. I think if I kept caring too much about stats, my posts will have suffered tremendously (or they may already have).

      I definitely don’t want to change my hobbies for sure. It’s a delicate balance when part of your hobby is blogging. It’s hard not to let one affect the other. I should really just not think about all this too much and let it chill.

  23. Shinra says:

    I just watched the OVA just now…. Was better than wat I expected XDDD

    The opposite, I really care about the hits of m y blog and ppl who comment… cuz its like a force to make me continue to blog😄 or other wise, I’m too lazy to on my laptop… that kind of laziness… Orz

    • Yi says:

      I really cared a lot about comments and hits, but I don’t want to be consumed by them. Vanity…

      Anyways, loved loved loved the OVA!

  24. Pingback: I’m still here! Random updates, sales… and giveaways? « Tangerine Tango

  25. Canne says:

    Blogging didn’t affect my watching habit so much. In fact, I am doing exactly the same as when I started blogging only with better organized schedule. That’s why my stats grow slowly, I supposed.
    ps. your desk is very tidy🙂

    • Yi says:

      Oops, missed your comment earlier.

      That’s impressive. I’ve been really inconsistent with organization and scheduling regarding this blog. I constantly have mini hiatuses, and days with a rush of posts. It’s something I’m trying to improve on, but I’ve decided to not make that such a high priority in my life anymore.

      Thanks! To be fair, I staged it a little bit. Still, I like my little pink desk.

  26. chubbybots says:

    I went through this phase when I started out blogging and at one point it became more like a chore than fun! I remember checking my stats like every few hours lol!

    That comment ‘stop trying to create work for yourself’ is really spot on.

  27. Nopy says:

    I find that blogging is a good way to find like-minded individuals. Besides that, it’s always nice to see that someone cares enough about what you think to read what you write.

    • Yi says:

      Yep yep. It’s really nice to find people with similar interests and share with each other our thoughts. That’s something I hope can happen here.

  28. softz says:

    I personally think chasing after hits is good and bad.

    It can be tiring. You’ll constantly brainstorming for new ideas and trying hard to impress your readers to come back for me.

    However, if you look at the bright side, it may make you more creative than usual, more discipline than usual and improve yourself in most aspect related to the web skills (photoshop, css, dhtml, php (if you code), SEO, etc). So, it depends what you look for.

    But most importantly, I think… do not neglect your own work and career (unless you’re earning thru’ blogging :)) or anything more important. Last words, someone told me before… weigh the pros and cons if you’re not sure whether you are on the right track.

    Hope I’m not being a long-winded uncle here😉

    • Yi says:

      That’s really true. I think I’ve definitely gotten way more in touch with my creative side as well as my analytical side after I started blogging.

      Prioritizing is so important. I’ll need to keep that in mind for sure. After all, this isn’t really “productive” work here.

      “Hope I’m not being a long-winded uncle here ;)”
      Haha, not at all. ^ ^

  29. Fai D Fluorite says:

    Hello Yi!
    Nice post🙂
    I havent been following your blog….this is my first comment🙂
    I see your replies in Sea Slug anime blog!
    You seem to enjoy animes and mangas like me🙂
    I am looking forward to reading more of your posts…

    Actually my view is that when people comment on a blog,if the writer comments back on your comment..it makes commenting enjoyable!
    Take for eg:Baka Raptor..he always replies to the comments we readers post..so its enjoyable reading such people’s blogs!
    On the other hand..Star Crossed Anime blog…its a very good blog..but psgels doesnt comment back to the commenters…so my personal opinion is that “I’m posting a comment but nobody’s reading or replying” and hence I do not comment henceforth..
    In Sea Slugs…I always followed Epi’s Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood blogs…because he replies most of the time..and his blogging’s great🙂

    And yeah…good choice of name “Listless Ink”
    ^__^

    • Yi says:

      Thanks for the nice words and welcome! I was wondering why your name looks so familiar. Sea Slugs is awesome.

      When I first started, I didn’t reply to comments at all… I didn’t get many comments either. I’d read them and kind of just forget about them. Then I started to lurk on more blogs and sites. One day, I finally got the courage to leave a comment on a site (Wings of Yuri), and the site owner replied to my comment. It made me feel pretty good. At the least, it made me feel like someone read my comment. That’s when I realized how important comment replies and comment threads are for reader interactions, which leads to having regular friends as opposed to one-time visitors.

      The other aspect of it is that comments allow me to post lighter contents and let the readers contribute a bit more. Then I could add on to my point in response to something a commenter noted. Ultimately, I think comment replies add a lot to a post. So now I take some time to respond to most comments.

      Anyways, thanks for visiting and commenting. I hope you continue to come back.

      • Fai D Fluorite says:

        Yeah you are definitely right about the point of someone noticing our comment,getting back to us and having regular friends!
        It makes both the readers and writers have a good interaction!

        And yes definitely!
        I’ll be sure to comment in your posts which draw my interest and attention ^__^

  30. Brett says:

    I totally understand how you feel Yi. I’m about a year in to blogging. My months vary, at times I am very busy and watch no anime, while during others I marathon and watch tons. I don’t feel an obligation ever though to watch it, I only watch because I have the time and enjoy it. Blogging is even a lower priority, but something I totally enjoy. That’s why I still do it. The aniblogs that write episodic posts do their own thing, but then it just feels like you said, a “chore.” I’d much rather read a review, look at some pictures, or just read some thoughts on the industry and products than an overview of the episode. That’s what watching is for. Each blog should be inspired by what the writer loves, not what it expected or done in other blogs.

    I am glad you have come to the point where you realize where you are at and how you feel about blogging. It’s go to blog for anime and watch anime for the blog. That’s a very nice mix. While looking back from when I started reading, not leaving many comments, and also following/reading your tweets, I totally appreciate, respect, and look up to you. I love your yuri themed posts and conversations. So thank you for what you’ve done! Seriously, it is appreciated and read, so keep it up.

    • Yi says:

      I admire that attitude. When I wrote this post, I was feeling kind of burnt out because I placed it on too high of a priority. I was afraid it was starting to go even higher than watching anime. It should really be whatever comes natural, so I wanted to take a step back, reflect, and chill.

      Thank you so so very much for the kind words. It really means a lot to me. ^ ^
      I’m also really happy to have known you on Twitter and read your blog.

      Cheers.

Leave a Reply

