Mayoi Neko Overrun! Review

Kiriya Nozomi Mayoi Neko Overrun Peco Serizawa Fumino Umenomori Chise

For the past twelve weeks, I have been struggling with Mayoi Neko Overrun! I came into this series with a strong bias against harem anime. Still, being such a huge fan of Peco and Sono Hanabira, I wanted to support Peco by giving Mayoi Neko a chance. I gave it a chance. Actually, I gave it a dozen chances because of my undying determination not to drop any series. Unfortunately, it disappointed me with every episode.

Kiriya Nozomi Mayoi Neko Overrun peco peko Serizawa Fumino Umenomori Chise

First, though, here are some points about Mayoi Neko that I forgive. Although I hate the usual indecisive boring male lead, knowing harem anime, I expect such a personality. I also do not mind the misleading title and lack of actual cats (which might have made this more painless). Further, I can even forgive that it offers nothing new to an often stale genre. I actually enjoy watching the familiar tropes.

Mayoi Neko Overrun Umenomori Chise

However, even though I could forgive those flaws, I cannot overlook the other blatant faults. The three major things I hope for in Mayoi Neko are humor, cute romance, and lovable characters. This anime has none of those.

Kiriya Nozomi Serizawa Fumino Umetsu Yukinori

The humor of Mayoi Neko consists of a mix of ridiculous fan service situations and inside jokes on otaku culture. While I am fine with absurd fan service (after all, I do love Queen’s Blade and Strike Witches), Mayoi Neko’s fan service just seems cheap. Granted, it is incorporated well in the earlier episodes. For example, waking up to striped pantsu does make me smile. However, by the later episodes, I am completely bored by the overboard and over-beaten comedy. There is even a whole arc devoted to a battle between bloomers and spats. It may sound great, but not when it spans two whole episodes. Mayoi Neko takes a potentially amusing fan service situation, drags it out, bores us, and then forgets to deliver the punch line.

The other angle the humor takes is using otaku inside jokes. Desperately hoping to be our buddies, the series forcefully winks at the audience with its shimapan and moe references. There is even a full episode that parodies the clichés of mecha anime. The irony…

Kiriya Nozomi Mayoi Neko Overrun Peco

The romance is inconsistent and directionless. As early as the third episode, the tsundere Fumino confesses to Takumi about her feelings, but this development is completely ignored later. She confesses in episode nine again, but again that plot point is quickly forgotten. Furthermore, Mayoi Neko constantly hints at a different relationship between Takumi and another girl Nozomi, but it ultimately falls behind all the random tangents, such as the mecha episode or the bloomers/ spats arc. In the end, I still do not know whether Nozomi and Takumi’s feelings are mutual. I do not even know if they are in love. The other girls in the harem hold little weight. The loli Chise is comedic nonsense and big sister Otome is purely there for her breasts. Indeed, nothing is fleshed out. Not Fumino’s confession, not Nozomi’s affection, not Chise, not Otome, and certainly not the six or seven haphazardly inserted characters (miko, school president, the cute rich girl…etc.) throughout the series.

Chikumaen Kaho Fujino Tamao Kiriya Nozomi Naruko Kanae peco Serizawa Fumino Tsuzuki Otome Umenomori Chise

Lacking romance and humor, Mayoi neko clearly disappoints as a romantic comedy, but it can still be a successful harem… right? Unfortunately, without loveable girls, the series misses the most important aspect of harem. I really want to like Fumino because she is a tsundere. A few episodes in, I realize that she is nothing but a selfish hypocrite. She is quick to criticize others, but never sees her own misgivings. She benefits so much from Chise’s riches, such as a free expensive trip to an onsen and a high budget promotional commercial for her patisserie. Yet she has never once appreciated Chise. On the other hand, Chise is simply annoying. Her jokes are not funny and her lavish spending is immature. Nozomi is the only girl I could tolerate, but only because she has little dialogue as the quiet mysterious cat girl.

Mayoi Neko Overrun peco Umenomori Chise

I really dislike Mayoi Neko Overrun!, not because of the harem, the fan service, or the clichés, but because it fails to deliver on the more important things. It does not even do Peco’s art justice.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Like This!

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Mayoi Neko, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Mayoi Neko Overrun! Review

  1. I figured that this series was pretty much one to avoid from the opening screenshots and that one episode I party followed as I looked over someone’s shoulder. Needless to say, it wasn’t all too appealing.

    That said, I just might want to watch one episode only because the Saki parody looked kind of funny and I want to see what kind of epic shenanigans they can pull off with JENGA!

    • Yi says:

      @zzeroparticle: The Jenga episode had its moments for sure. There is also a pretty epic ping pong scene that I really enjoyed. Still, they’re not worth laboring through a whole series for.

  2. Pingback: The Genre of Mayoi Neko Overrun is… Horror!? | Listless Ink

  3. Taka says:

    I never expected the series to have coherent plot. As I understand it the series veered between fillers and actual light novel content pretty frequently. Still I never wished for the series to make any sense. The first thing to consider IMO when watching Mayoi Neko Overrun is the fact the series had 12 directors, storyboarders, and animation directors. Each I assume being given permission to go wild. So what got put out is a schizophrenic mess of a show. I still think it was bad, but it’s much more enjoyable when I ignore coherence and just focus on what I liked or didn’t like about each individual episode.

    P.S. Chise and Fumino got on my nerves too. Nozomi’s cute nyaa~ never got old. Takesatsu Ayane could make a career just saying nyaa~. Satou and Suzuki needed more screen time. I also thought episode 13 was pretty funny way to end the series.

    • Yi says:

      @Taka: I do not mind for the series to be a bit out there and ridiculous in terms of plot and premise. However, I did want something coherent. By that, I meant that if the series set up a confession by Fumino, I want to see what happens after that. If Fumino and Takumi spent an awkward night on a beach, I want to see the developing relationship. Mayoi Neko simply cuts things off way too often for me.

      I had heard about the director changes and such and I agree completely with how you feel. It almost seems as if one director went for Fumino x Takumi, while another wanted Nozomi x Takumi, and yet another wanted just comedic harem.

      To be fair though, there were some good parts. Like you, I also thought Nozomi’s nyaa~~~~ is really cute. The ping pong scene is pretty funny. The maids are also highlights to an otherwise mediocre cast. There are bits and pieces here and there that makes the show not completely unwatchable. And at the very least, it does not leave a bad taste afterward.

  4. Shinra says:

    I TOTALLY AGREE!!!! Mayoi Neko Overrun is a total let down. I downloaded only ep1 and after ep2, I deleted it. Its because of they change directors after ep1, thats wat i’ve heard. Till now, I watch the other eps by youtube and fastforwarding.

    The anime is totally Out of Topic & overdrived RIDICULOUS!!! Everytime i watch the episodes, i cant stop thinking: ” Hold on there, Seiyuus. I know its hard but gambatte.” Really felt sorry for all those AWESOME seiyuus like Satou Satomi, Itou Kanae, Taketatsu Ayana, Horie Yui, Satou Rina, Arai Satomi, Noto Mamiko and lots more. (The reason i watch is cuz all of these great Seiyuus) I can Imagine Index beinging a total WTF like Chise.

    And yeah, I hate the so not “romance, harem, neko” part. And wats with the WatEver Ranger and Mahjong like “Saki” episode ?! Only the Spats+Bloomer ep is good…. the rest, close your eyes and ignore them.

    • Yi says:

      @Shinra: I felt bad for the seiyuu too. Some of them are really rather big names, and for them to be stuck with such an overdrived ridiculous shallow piece is a shame.

      I hated the mecha parody episode and thought the “Saki” parody episode to be decent. Overall though, there are too many fillers for an already butchered plot.

  5. Shin says:

    Didn’t even have the courtesy to show tits unlike its far more generous mango counterpart.

    • Yi says:

      @Shin: Maybe I should check out the manga… On second thought, I think I’m done with Mayoi Neko for a while.

      • Solaris says:

        Hi first time coming here, redirected from the aniblog contest.
        Nice review indeed. It points out all the flaws and hilights of this show. If the show is such a failure it was indeed not a matter of fanservice only, but please the onsen episode was terri-terri-terrible.
        The blo-spats couple of episodes were simply idiot. They could have done a very nice arc if they stayed close to Nozomi family issue, but they quickly changed focus and ruined it with an idiotic closure.
        Well i just wrote too much, sorry. The reason this post is a reply, is to give some infos about the manga.
        The manga has actually a direction. The fact Fumino behaves as such is also well explained there. Plus there are cameos from To-loveru chars too.
        I’m afraid this show is another example of how to ruin a manga with a terrible adaptation into anime.

        • Yi says:

          @solaris: Those are all great points. I wish I didn’t have to keep my reviews shorter because there are so many other things I wanted to complain about it.

          You mentioned a really good point that they didn’t explore any of the major issues enough. Not Fumino’s past, not Nozomi’s family issues. We got perhaps 5 minutes into each of those, and a very cheap treatment at that.

          I will probably eventually read the manga, especially now knowing that it’s a much better story.

          Thank you so much for visiting and leaving an insightful comment! ^ ^

  6. chikorita157 says:

    I’m not surprised at all… since I was too disappointed by the whole story. It was all over the place and Fumino is too tsundere for my liking. Perhaps there isn’t any character I liked from the whole show since they are dull and unlikable. Besides from the fanservice, the inconsistency is the biggest issue. Angel Beats! is inconsistent, but never done on a scale of Mayoi Neko Overrun that made it turn into the biggest disappointment ever.

    I ultimately dropped the show after three episodes, since it didn’t work for me… especially when they had full-on mecha… I hate mecha.

    • Yi says:

      @chikorita157: Not having lovable characters really hurt the series for me. I like tsundere in general, but Fumino just didn’t click for me. I guess my problem with her is that her tsun characteristics are not backed up dere, but by her hypocrisy. I hate the way she treats the other characters like Chise.

  7. Zemial99 says:

    I’m just gonna guess that out of all of Peco’s artwork, Sono Hanabira series stands out as the better series, right?

    • Yi says:

      @Zemial99: Sono Hanabira is certainly one that holds a special place in my heart.

      • Zemial99 says:

        Same here.

        Oh, and one more thing…. is it okay if I introduce you to a certain genre named “Tokusatsu”?

        • Yi says:

          @Zemial99: Sure. I didn’t know what it was before, but a quick google search looks really interesting!

          I have some vague childhood memories of catching a quick glance or two of Ultraman with my brother.

  8. Kairu90 says:

    I am still going to finish out the series. I just finished episode 8 and had to take a break. The characters are ok, but none of them will stick with me after the series ends. They are cute and kinda funny at times, but there are no redeeming quality that I will always remember.

    I have pretty much decided to treat it as a slice of life series instead of anything serious. There is no definite story line it is all just a blur in randomness.

    I actually enjoyed the mecha episode. It actually took me around 5 minutes to actually realize “Wait….so I DIDNT click the wrong link?” Like I said though I will continue to watch the series for more curiosity than anything else.

    • Yi says:

      @Kairu90: I always think it’s good to finish a series regardless of how bad it is. You never know. You may end up liking it in the end. And even if you didn’t, it’s always fun to hate on something. ^ ^

      Agreed about the characters being forgettable. In fact, the series itself is too for me.

      I think I should’ve probably treated it as slice-of-life as well. Watching forced relationship developments and hoping for resolution was too much to ask for. Looking at it episodically might have made me like it a bit more.

      About the mecha episode, I’ve heard of different opinions on it. Personally, I hate mecha. For me to like a great mecha series is really rare, and there is no way I could’ve enjoyed a bad parody of the genre.

  9. Reltair says:

    Spot on, I tried to keep watching but ended up dropping it half-way.

  10. kimaguresan says:

    Yeah…mostly spot on. I enjoyed some of the random humor in the earlier episodes, but didn’t get much else later on. Chise sucked and, as you said, annoying all the time.

    I pretty much knew that with the whole confession in episode 3 going just not well, it was over at that point. I stayed for the silly fanservice in episode 4, and epic ping pong, but it was pretty much downhill from there. After that many episodes, just stuck it out till the end.

    The last “recap” episode failed for not showing any of the epic ping pong match, which put the final nail in the coffin.

    • Yi says:

      @kimaguresan: The first three episodes are actually not too bad for me. I like them. In an earlier post, I also wrote what I thought at the time.

      However, as the series went on, it just became worse and worse.

      “After that many episodes, just stuck it out till the end.”

      Same here, I pretty much clenched my teeth and blasted through the last few episodes in one go just so I can complete the series.

      Also, I hate the last episode. A recap is usually not interesting, and it even forgets to include the best part…

  11. Swordwind says:

    Well, that’s a shame.

  12. Tiffy Tran says:

    I agree with you. The only thing that kept me going was the nice animation and the characters were pretty cute. I’m a big fan of good animation🙂.

    • Yi says:

      @Tiffy Tran: Yep yep. I felt that the characters are very nicely designed. Peco really draws very cute girls. They make the anime much more tolerable.

  13. AXYPB says:

    My hope for this series plummeted halfway through the second episode. It was all too accepting of how cliche and stagnant it was and I didn’t expect it to get any better.

  14. Ningyo says:

    Well, the fact that it’s a romantic comedy probably will mean that the romance will be inconsistent, right? Characters never take each other seriously and maintain the series’ romantic status quo, at least until the end. It’s how they keep their running gags running.
    Still, I’m in no place to accuse you of demanding too much from a series with this kind of premise and character base, with me having given up on it in the first episode. I probably foresaw the flaws you listed here. Maybe I was in no mood for romantic comedy, but there was also how generic it was.
    No actual cats, huh? Ironic.

    • Yi says:

      @Ningyo: Inconsistency is one thing I hated. The other thing I hated about the romance though is that it’s directionless. I have no idea which direction the anime is taking the relationships because everything gets cut off. It does not follow up with anything.

      In the example I gave, Fumino confesses to Takumi. The logical next step would either be Fumino and Takumi get together, or Takumi rejects Fumino. Instead, what we have is an episode where Chise and Fumino plays ping pong. Then another episode where they make a movie. And another one where they’re mecha characters. And one more that parodies Saki. I guess I just felt that they should have at least addressed it a bit instead of just ignored it. Even if they somehow addressed it to maintain status quo, I want to feel like that it actually happened.

      Anyways, I could hardly call this romantic comedy. It’s not even harem. I don’t know what it is.

      And it has little to do with cats…

  15. CShen says:

    I think the changing directors per episode really impacted how I felt about the series during, and afterward. Plot was nonexistent, and there wasn’t much development for characters except a bit for Nozomi at the end. I’m sure the novels are better, and I’m enjoying the manga more than this.

    • Yi says:

      @CShen: Yea, having too many directors made this directionless. It seems that at various points, the directors were going for difference things.

      Maybe I should really check out the manga.

  16. IMSirius says:

    Takumi, apart from a couple of moments where he exudes personal character, is about as compelling as a piece of toast. It’s hard to understand why the girls are all so gaga for him. You could understand them being hardcore friends of his, but the harem setup seemed far fetched.

    I spent most of the show waiting for Nozomi to say or do something, and waited in vain for Fumino to be honest about her feelings for even a moment, and for someone to explain what the heck is going on with Otome-neesan. I simply skipped the Grand Braver episode.

    • Yi says:

      @IMSirius: Yea, Takumi is the most boring, indecisive, and insignificant character of them all. I cannot think of one thing that makes him stand out. Still, because of the harem feel of Mayoi Neko, I expected such a male lead.

      Nozomi is the best character in the show, and I think I would’ve have liked to see her do more. As for Otome-neesan, she is just… weird.

  17. FT says:

    Other than the art and the fact that Fumino is one of the most tsundere(if it can be used as an adjective) characters ever the story is pretty much non-existent..what pissed me off were the Gundam and Saki parody episodes…given that Fumino actually confessed during the 3rd or 4th episode they should have continued to love-story rather than trying to make it a comedy…I had higher expectations of this anime-I completed it because of it’s great animation(nothing bad to say about it-except for the flash animation-like maids that appear after the ending)…this season Seitokai Yakuindomo(for which,again,I had high expectations) is the anime that tries to be funny yet it doesn’t make you laugh at all…as opposed to it Mitsudomoe(which I thought it would be the worst this season) is actually funny(as long as the art doesn’t go Minami-ke the anime should be quite good)

    wow…it would be great if I could comment on other things(like school work) like I do with anime ^_^

    • Yi says:

      @FT: I hated the Gundam parody episode too… The animation is decent, but it felt a bit inconsistent in some scenes. It’s nothing major though.

      I’m still debating on whether to watch Seitokai Yakuindomo and Mitsudomoe, but so far, probably not.

      “wow…it would be great if I could comment on other things(like school work) like I do with anime ^_^”
      I feel the same way. I wish I could put the passion I have for anime into something productive… Like school or finding a job.

      Anyways, thanks for visiting and dropping a comment. ^ ^

      • CShen says:

        I tried one episode of Seitokai Yakuindomo, and didn’t find it interesting. I’ve heard Mitsudomoe is actually funny, but I don’t think I’ll be giving it a try.

        • Yi says:

          @CShen: That’s kind of my feelings for both those shows.
          Mitsudomoe’s art style just isn’t my thing, and Seitokai Yakuindomo does not stand out for me.

  18. Smithy says:

    Must confess that I didn’t even sit through the first episode. Had been looking forward to “Mayoi Neko Overrun!” due to Peko’s art but when I saw the anime series animation style didn’t do the art justice -in fact it didn’t even come close- I dropped it then and there.

    Usually don’t drop shows for such a shallow reason, but seeing your thoughts on the series, am glad I didn’t bother for no doubt I’d have been disappointed.

    • Yi says:

      @Smithy: Same feelings here. Although for the most part, the animation is decent, some episodes and certain scenes really butchered Peco’s artwork.😦

      I wish I had the resolve to drop this series. That would’ve saved me some valuable time, time I could use to watch better stuff.

  19. lovelyduckie says:

    I don’t mind fanservice, but if it’s done in a way that feels cheap than I really won’t be able to stand the series. I haven’t seen this series but I agree with a lot of your likes/dislikes in a series.

    • Yi says:

      @lovelyduckie: Agreed about fanservice. I really don’t mind it as long as it’s not cheap. Anyways, I would not recommend this.

  20. Gelotaku says:

    You should read the manga, you’ll enjoy it a lot more than this~
    One of the shows I was really looking forward to in the spring…and it just failed in about every way. Peko’s art was ruined…I wonder how artists feel when they see their work get turned into stuff like…this..(at least we have the upcoming Sono Hanabira OVA~) parody episode’s weren’t needed and weren’t entertaining either, they could’ve used those for something else. The fanservice was of bad taste as well… I think the only good thing that came out of the series were magazine scans.
    Probably one of the worst shows AIC has made >__> and I’m sure if it hadn’t been for the director changes (which why why would they do that anyway…) this would’ve been just a BIT more enjoyable.

    • Yi says:

      @Gelotaku: I might eventually get to the manga; it sounds infinitely better than this. I was really disappointed by the series and by what happened to Peko’s girls. It’s pretty bad.😦

  21. FT says:

    if u liked the art but not the story then just get the VN Konayuki Fururi…characters have basically the same appearance and personality just that there is a story/plot…started it yesterday and it is quite good..the interface of the VN is just like the one of SonoHanabi VNs

    • Yi says:

      @FT: Will definitely check out Konayuki Fururi sometime. I think I saw a bunch of CGs from that when I was looking for Peko images and they look really nice. Peko is amazing.

      Thanks for the suggestion!!

  22. Silver says:

    Personally, I thought it was alright. Some characters annoyed the heck out of me and after surviving the entire series (God help me and my OCDness when it comes to completing an anime) I felt it was left how to say, unexplained? Nozomi and Takumi seemed to really have somethin’ going by the end but it got all muffled up by the random comedy inserts and harem theme. Personally, even though that woulda so made it seem like a code geass rip off (Mysterious girl shows up [C.C.], main character [Lelouch] falls for her even though he had a friend who has liked him for a really long time [Shirley even though she dies later and thus eliminating the problem there]) I feel that Takumi shoulda at least decided on Nozomi. Now I say this when looking at what I THINK (Cuz the plot was so darn random at times) was the theme: Family. They all were supporting her, and saying it was okay for her to make her own decisions. I think it woulda actually given some characters and the PLOT (Cough, cough, Fumino, cough) some depth; overcoming the jealousy and the pain of not being picked. I know it’s a harem anime and all but still, the other girls just don’t really sell it for me. Fumino’s WAY to mean. Even for a tsundere they went too far in several situations. Chise well, a bit of an airhead ^ ^” Nozomi’s at least practical, has decent skills despite her lacking of social skills and is quite intelligent. A bit predictable since MANY mysterious appear within the first ep characters are like this but she has her own quirks that give her a sense of originality…. somewhat. Meh, I don’t really like the story (Hell, I’m an amateur manga writer and even I can tell that this needs fixing even if it needs to keep its harem genre) but it was an alright anime. Uber disappointing ending though. Over all, I agree with one of the comments above, the characters and story don’t do the beautiful art work justice. ~ Nods ~

    • Yi says:

      I am just like you about finished series. I have an unexplained need to finish every series I start. If it wasn’t for that, I would’ve dropped this after 2 episodes.

      The story, especially the ending, is very flawed. Too many loose ends; too many unexplained issues; too many unresolved affairs. I am really annoyed that I still have no idea who exactly Nozomi is. The series vaguely touched upon her background, but nothing is explained well. I still don’t understand her motivations nor why she ended up at the patisserie. Same with the black hair girl and all the other characters. Why is Chise so infatuated with the male lead? What the heck is the purpose of Otome?

      Anyways, pretty much agreed about the characters. I like Nozomi the most, but mostly because the other characters are just not very likable.

  23. shogo says:

    to me this anime was ok like you guys said it leads nowhere the most annoying parts was the mech part i mean i thought i was in awhole over season the over.manga sounds way better from what everyone says

    • Yi says:

      Yea, this was pretty annoying, especially that mecha episode. I still remember how bad it was after all this time. I still need to try out the manga, but I don’t know if I really want to since I’m not in love with this series at all.

      Anyway, thanks for reading!! ^ ^

  24. justin chin says:

    I never really thought of it as bad. i liked it. maybe because all of the inconsistencies were not bad inconsistencies for me. sure, i could go with out them. but the only anime with inconsitencies i hated was bobobo. that was more than inconsitent. it was incoherent and plain retarded. i looked at it more as something more for shits and giggles.

    • Yi says:

      Part of my severe dislike for this series may stem from a bias toward the genre. But still, I thought everything was just so directionless and bland. Mayoi Neko just felt so flat. Even the comedy didn’t quite hit the notes for me, but I guess I just have a different sense of humor.

      I have vague memories of Bobobo back when it was on Adult Swim. Never really watched it, but from commercials and brief previews, it doesn’t seem like something I would like at all. As you said, it looks very incoherent.

      Anyway, thanks for visiting and voicing your opinion. ^ ^ Hope you enjoyed the stay, even if we disagree slightly on the merits of Mayoi Neko.

  25. justin chin says:

    when i said shits and giggles i meant mayoi.

Leave a Reply

