A Quick Tour of Listless Ink

Medicine Melancholy yihsieh

While doing my daily checking of blog statistics, I noticed quite a few hits from the Aniblog Tourney. Before I know it, it is my turn to be on the chopping block. For those unaware of the Aniblog Tourney, it is a tournament that pits different anime blogs against each other through a democratic voting process. Having been included in the tournament, I would like to provide a quick tour around Listless Ink for the visitors.

Gunslinger Girl ~Il Teatrino~

Unlike many other blogs, I do not have a strict niche, although I do tend to blog about certain things more than others. I enjoy writing reviews and impressions. In my reviews, I try to stay away from mere “I like this and so should you,” and really try to pinpoint the specific elements that resonate with me.
This is post in which I think I articulated my feelings very well: Gunslinger Girl ~Il Teatrino~

Soutaiseiriron

In a similar vein, I occasionally try to write longer editorials or explorations by relating aspects of anime or Japanese culture to something outside of anime.
Here are two such recent posts: A Relative Listen to Japanese Music and Soutaiseiriron and Awkward Dance in the Vampire Bund – Pedophilia for Mina Tepes. (I feel a bit silly linking to such recent posts…)

Hanabira couples

Yuri also takes a particularly large percentage of my posts and my anime interest. Many of my yuri-centric posts are reviews. Just like my other review posts, I try to dissect one aspect of the yuri material that makes it standout.
This is a personal favorite yuri post: Iono the Fanatics.
On the other hand, many of my yuri posts are simply news or translation projects that hopefully keep certain readers updated on yuri releases.

Junji Ito

A growing fascination with guro has seen my posting several horror and guro related posts. Guro might become the next large focus of this blog.
Here is a guro related post: The Horror World of Junji Ito.

Jigoku Shoujo Enma Ai yihsieh

Being so detached from a particular niche grants me some freedom to write on any topic. My experiences, thoughts, works, or even free associations (trolling) have all been part of Listless Ink. At the same time, not having a strict style of discussion has allowed me to really explore my writing, be it good or bad.

Konohanatei Kitan

For regular readers of this site, I hope you can find joy in rereading some of my older posts. For the new visitors, feel free to read some of my recommended posts or simply click around. I cannot guarantee that everything is good (in fact, there are many pretty thoughtless posts), but I hope you can find something you enjoy.

I encourage everyone to visit Aniblog Tourney for some quality exposures to other anime blogs. While you are there, be sure to visit Super Noisy Rice Shower Goes Boom!! and cast your vote in our face off.

AnimeBlips: vote it up!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Asides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to A Quick Tour of Listless Ink

  1. Baka-Raptor says:

    That wasn’t quick. I’ll give you a real quick tour of Listless Ink:

    – Turn left and you’ll see lesbians
    – Turn right and you’ll see lesbians
    – Go straight and you’ll see lesbians (GET IT?!?!?!)

  2. Swordwind says:

    You neglected to mention that you’ll find lesbians if you go backwards, downwards, upwards or if you fail to move at all, Baka.

    If you start posting guro, I’ll cry.

    • Yi says:

      @Swordwind: Believe it or not, the blog started with very little yuri. I had not intention and no idea that it would turn out to be so yuri focused.

      Anyways, as for guro, I’m probably not going to write so much on it. Someone, who is an expert in this fetishist niche of the niche, though has expressed interest in posting a few guro related posts. He’s going to be approaching it from a medical point of view (he’s in medicine), so I thought it’d be a great chance to add some depth, expand the reach, and just kind of help out when I have to go on mini-hiatuses.

      • Swordwind says:

        You seem to have taken offense. A Yuri focus would hardly be undesirable, although I understand you taking exception to flagrant flanderization of a blog you clearly put significant effort into. Anything for comedy’s sake, within reason, I suppose.

        While I’m sure you’re brother will have a very professional view on the subject, I’ll cry regardless.

        In the tradition of comments below this one, I thought your site’s name was listless…umm, pink?

        • Yi says:

          @Swordwind: “You seem to have taken offense.”
          Not at all. I write too seriously sometime…😦
          I was honestly very amused at the comments. Definitely not offended.

          “While I’m sure you’re brother will have a very professional view on the subject, I’ll cry regardless.”
          Interesting. How did you know it’d be my brother?

          Hehe Listless Pink. ^ ^

        • Swordwind says:

          Well, my private detectives and I alternate on stalking you. Or, you already mentioned him not too long ago and I don’t have a shit memory. I think I’ll have to cry about you disregarding my threat to cry.

        • Yi says:

          @Swordwind: Haha I sincerely hope you’re joking. ^ ^
          Looking back a few posts though, I did mention him. Good deductive reasoning here.
          “I think I’ll have to cry about you disregarding my threat to cry.”
          I promise it won’t be that bad if they ever get posted.

        • Swordwind says:

          mmkay, if you say so.

          I can’t think of a funny way to continue the stalking joke without being mean, so I’ll just concede that you win and I’m not employing anyone or dedicating the time necessary to stalk or even keep tabs on you.

          That being said, I’m somewhat offended that you consider me a possible lunatic. Do you have a bandage for my pride?

        • Yi says:

          @Swordwind: “I’m somewhat offended that you consider me a possible lunatic. Do you have a bandage for my pride?” Hehe. How about my deepest apology.🙂

        • Swordwind says:

          Maybe if it came with a cash prize -.-

        • Yi says:

          @Swordwind: Actually, I might start doing some giveaways in the future. ^ ^
          I don’t want to say too much on that yet though or make empty promises.

  3. I feel a bit silly linking to such recent posts…

    Well, a good post is still a good post, right? =P I forgot all about that Lady GaGa trollin’ you did, so thanks for the link! I almost fell for it back then…

    …Speaking of “Link”, what if I told you I just found out your blog is called Listless Ink and not Listless Link? =(

    • Ningyo says:

      I’ll have to be honest and say I was once guilty of the same thing >.>

      I heard – Yuri! Loli-kitsune!
      So what was that about a blogging competition?

      I’m really wondering if I should have some sort of reactionary post to the tournament. Now it seems criminal for me not to address it at all.But yeah, you captured the spirit of Listless Ink well in this post. To the votes!

      • I usually don’t address that kind of competition, but it seems to be in a better nature than the last one.

        Really? You guys thought it was Listless Link? I thought it was Listless Sink… (I’m just kidding on that one, Yi ^^)

        • Yi says:

          @Jesus159159159: Haha you flatter me. ^ ^
          I actually almost never troll, so that post was a rarity. Interestingly, it also attracted some of the most hateful comments on this blog.

          “Speaking of “Link”, what if I told you I just found out your blog is called Listless Ink and not Listless Link”
          In hindsight, that would probably have been a better name because of the alliteration.

          @Ningyo: I was really hesitant about whether to directly address the tourney. I refrained myself from talking about the OEG because of its controversy, and I didn’t think ABT would have any significant drama (Not so sure about that now). Furthermore, I’ve been meaning to post something like this for a while. I was going to do it at the next blog land mark, but this gave me an opportunity. I still tried not to make the tourney such a major focus though, and tried to only kind of mention it in passing.

          @lightningsabre: Unlike Listless Link, Listless Sink is a name I cannot forgive. Anyways, someone made a good point somewhere that ABT, unlike OEG, does not impose judgment themselves, which makes inherently more civilized, because the only discussion are left to everyone, and most people are polite after all.

  4. glothelegend says:

    You should have just put up a picture of some lesbian anime girls making out.

    Needless to say, if you don’t win, I’ll be angered and be forced to do nothing about it, because I don’t have any power.

    • Yi says:

      @glothelegend: I guess yuri really is the defining part of Listless Ink. Anyways, thanks for the support, but j1m0ne has an amazing blog too. Her posts on seiyuu is a true niche of an already-niche blogosphere, It’s a well-written, unique, blog on a very relevant and interesting topic for the more dedicated anime fan.

  5. Shinra says:

    Wasn’t that Quick, but explains more faster n directly than ur recent post… LOVE IT!!!! >w<

    To Summarize it up, u should say: 90% Yuri n 10% for the rest

    (A short n Quick Answer that explains it all XD)

    • Shinra says:

      Oh yeah, forgot to mention tat i voted for u XDDD Since i always come here, I shoud!!! Good Luck on Winning!!! Gambare!!

      • Yi says:

        @Shinra: Sorry, I wanted to keep it short, but I get really verbose sometimes (always).
        “To Summarize it up, u should say: 90% Yuri n 10% for the rest”
        Is it really? I can probably count them, but I think yuri should really only half or less.
        Maybe it’s because I wear yuri goggles in so many of my reviews and because my yuri posts are always much more sensationalized with ecchi images that they outshine the other posts.
        Also, Hanabira posts consistently make my top posts…

        “LOVE IT!!!! >w<"
        Anyways, thanks for the kind words. Love you! ^^

  6. softz says:

    Hmmm…. from posts and comments… is it really Lesbians… Lesbians… Lesbians… and Lesbians?

  7. It’s good that you didn’t focus on the yuri right away, lol. Hmm… I gotta remember to review it better than saying “it’s good, go see it”. I tend to do that, but that’s because I really do want people to see what I review, otherwise I won’t watch it😄

    Good luck in the tourney!

    • Yi says:

      @lightningsabre: Yea, I didn’t want to scare off the new visitors coming from ABT with lots of nsfw yuri ecchi.
      Anyways, despite wanting to write more dissecting reviews, I’m not so good at it. The majority still boils down to “K-On! is relaxing. I like Mio.”
      “I really do want people to see what I review, otherwise I won’t watch it XD”
      Agreed!

  8. 2DT says:

    A lovely tour. 🙂

    It’s still a close match, but good luck!

  9. Fabrice says:

    Nice tour guide, yes i did look at your older post, my fellow blogger comrade =)

    • Yi says:

      @Fabrice: Thanks for visiting and reading some of my personal favorites. Hopefully they’ll encourage to continue sticking around. ^ ^

  10. shijima says:

    Wow, I didn’t know about that contest but it sounds cool. =)
    Thanks for posting about it.
    I’m glad I made it in time to vote.😀
    I do enjoy your blog so best of luck to you in the tournament!

    • Yi says:

      @shijima: Thanks for the kind words. I’m really happy and grateful that you’ve consistently been reading my posts, even if some are rushed, poorly-written, pontificating, pretentious TL;DR stuff.

      Thank you so much for your support! ^ ^

  11. Well, you are pulling ahead. That certainly makes it easier for me to vote on anyhow. Also, loved that tweet about the lesbian association with this blog. I guess that’s the most noticeable bit and I wouldn’t look upon it as a bad thing :p

  12. SparkyTheGryphon says:

    Yes, a majority of your blogging tends to be yuri, but I’d like it to stay that way. While I do enjoy reading your other blogs, yuri is what initially pulled my attention to your site.😉

    And your yuri blogging has introduced me to SO many new yuri manga/shows, I thank you for that.

    Keep up the lovely blogging. And good luck with the tournament! =D

    • Yi says:

      @SparkyTheGryphon: “yuri is what initially pulled my attention to your site. ”
      Yuri posts also comprise of the majority of the hits and referrals to this site, so I intend to keep writing a lot of yuri-related stuff. Besides, if it’s not obvious yet, I like yuri.

      “And your yuri blogging has introduced me to SO many new yuri manga/shows, I thank you for that.”
      Anyways, thank you for consistently coming back to read my material. I’m glad you’re able to get something out of it once in a while. I value my regular readers a lot and I really truly appreciate you. ^ ^

  13. Canne says:

    I like your blog and I like you so I will vote for you all the way unless you are facing me in the match ;P
    Plus, I admire your putting your competitor’s link in this post and encouraging people to visit that blog as well🙂

    • Yi says:

      @Canne: Thanks!
      “Plus, I admire your putting your competitor’s link in this post and encouraging people to visit that blog as well ”
      Well, I’ve started reading j1m0ne’s blog and I really like it.

  14. Reltair says:

    You got my vote, although I’m not really following the Aniblog Tourney.

    A pleasant tour, keep it up! Loved your GSG2 post, that would probably be my favorite one. ^^

    • Yi says:

      @Reltair: That was one of my favorite posts too; hence, it’s at the top. I’m really glad you thought it was pleasant. ^ ^
      Thanks for visiting.

  15. Hey Yi,

    I just wanted to let you know that I voted for you in the Ani-Blog tourney!!!! I hope that you make it to the next round. Sadly, I was knocked out of the competition by the Ani-Gamers, but there is always next year!!!!! Good luck my friend.

  16. statwiz says:

    LOL yeah i think so very yuri oriented in Yi’s blog ^^ see the big banner in the left. will go to yuri-doujinshi translator ^^
    and the main reason i read this blog is the yuri content
    Good luck ^_^

  17. Pingback: A Collection of Personal Thoughts | Listless Ink

Leave a Reply

