Konohanatei Kitan

Konohanatei Kitan Amano Sakuya Yuri Hime Cover

As a dedicated yuri fan, I follow Yuri Hime almost religiously. Yuri Hime contains collections of one-shot stories and serialized manga from various mangaka, each with her own distinct style. The manga anthology exposes readers to some of the best yuri authors, including Morinaga Milk, Miyabi Fujieda, and Hadzime Mikuni. The works of these authors are so memorable because of not only the stories but also their drawing styles. Konohanatei Kitan (此花亭奇譚) by Amano Sakuya is one such manga. After only four chapters in Yuri Hime S, this adorable manga serialized in Yuri Hime S has become a favorite from the anthologies.

Konohanatei Kitan Yuzu Amano Sakuya

Set in a village inhabited by Youkai, Konohanatei Kitan presents the lives of several fox mononoke working in a hot spring inn. The stories revolve around a new employee, Yuzu. Yuzu had always been living in the mountains, but now has to adjust to a new life working in a high class inn. She is oblivious and clumsy at first, but with her simple cuteness, she is able to get along with all the other foxes.

Konohanatei Kitan kitsune mononoke Yuzu Amano Sakuya

While the plot is often nothing exciting (although it is very very lovely), as with the best slice-of-life manga, the characters draws me into the story. The designs are just beautiful. I love the lolified girls with their fox ears, fangs, and fluffy tails. These characters give the readers a sense of warm innocence and playful fun.

Konohanatei Kitan Kimono Amano Sakuya Yuzu Satsuki

Furthermore, the folklore themes make Konohanatei Kitan a nice retreat from my routine boring life. The aesthetics and the kimonos accentuate this escape. Something as mundane as doing chores becomes a relaxed festive experience. Each chapter is always a pleasant read.

Konohanatei Kitan loli yuri Amano Sakuya Yuzu Satsuki

Having such adorable characters, strong flavor, and subtle loli yuri, Konohanatei Kitan is one of my favorite serialized manga in Yuri Hime. Given that, I am a bit surprised that it has not really gotten as much attention among scanlators and English readers. Perhaps with more chapters, this will.

Konohanatei Kitan Webshort translated
An example of the cute loli yuri actions!

Anyways, after yet another rather long hiatus due to midterms, I thought I would ease back into regular blogging with a shorter entry on a smaller subject. I want to apologize to readers for the slow replies and inactivity.

Konohanatei Kitan fox bloomers sakura

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Konohanatei Kitan, Review, Yuri Anime and Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Konohanatei Kitan

  1. shinra says:

    OMG!!! Kawaii!!!! My 2nd favorite Animal… Kitsune (1st Ookami)…. + Yuri + Loli!!!
    (3 of my favorites combine to 1!!!!)

    I checked around google and found out that its not translated yet.. Fully RAW (2chapters). Really Hope its translated soon ^^

    But i’m still gonna read it anyways so… ooopps.. done downloading…. off to read it right now..
    (dash off)

    • Yi says:

      @Shinra: I think they are up to 4 chapters now, none of which have been picked up by the usual scanlators of Yuri Hime (Dynasty/Lililicious). I hope someone does though because it’s so cute.
      Kitsune + loli + yuri is indeed a very nice combination. ^ ^

  2. softz says:

    Oh man! Those illustrations are lovely and pretty. It seems like something that worth taking a look. I’m not a fan of neko girls but again, due to the beautiful arts, I’d go take a look for sure.

    • Yi says:

      @softz: Honestly, the story is nothing new. Slice of life with a bit of comedy and yuri thrown in there, but it really is the cute flavorful art that drew me in.

  3. SparkyTheGryphon says:

    Hm, interesting. I’ve never read a yuri that had kitsune characters in it, I’ll have to check it out. Besides, they’re just too cute. (:

    Of course RL should come before blogging and internetz (unfortunately XD). I just started spring break a little while ago, so only now am I getting caught up with all the websites I’m a part of.

    • Yi says:

      @SparkyTheGryphon: For me, this is a really nice short manga definitely worth killing 5 minutes with.
      Anyways, enjoy your break! Don’t party too hard. ^ ^

  4. Snark says:

    “As a dedicated yuri fan”

    Goddammit, I would marry you if I could.

    But yeah, in a statement that will surprise exactly no one, I’m going to give the same reason why I’ll never read this as I’ve given to hundreds of manga before it; they look like f*cking children. Why Japan, why!?

  5. moemoekyun says:

    >.< which fox is tsundere of course i will pick her orz

    • moemoekyun says:

      oh yeah yi you kinda misunderstand about what I mean “i don’t like figma” I have figma also (drossel and still looking for miku)^^ that’s a message to someone (one of my blog reader) that let’s say force asking me moving collection to figma ^^ sorry if my words disturbing you.personally I am not collect figma just buy if it looks nice ^^but quite annoying if someone asking to moving collection right.
      for hatred i am not hate the person but it’s kinda annoying when a suddenly you will found an annoying advertisement right like those tenga stuff bleh. especially if you already became reader for 4 years =_=

      • Yi says:

        @momemoekyun: I think I misunderstood your words… I apologize.
        Also, please don’t be offended, but I would much appreciate it if you reply to my comment on your post in your blog. It’s just so that if other people were reading comments for this post, they would not feel out of the loop. I do appreciate your replying to my comment though. Thanks! ^ ^

    • moemoekyun says:

      forget when those add start but I visit there since mid 2006.

    • Yi says:

      @moemoekyun: The dark haired one is the clear tsundere and my first pick as well.

  6. Baka-Raptor says:

    Fifth pic from the top is quasi-p0rnographic. You’re killing my eyes!

  7. bluedrakon says:

    Too Kawaii – must look away before am enveloped in the cuteness. Wait – naked girl foxes – must watch now. This is something my wife may enjoy reading.

    Welcome back and hope the mid-terms did not take too much out of you.

  8. Canne says:

    The design looks almost like semi-chibi to me but lovely, nevertheless.
    So you are free from exam now…I’m glad to hear that🙂

    • Yi says:

      @Canne: I had not even realized these characters were chibified until I read the comments. I guess anime like K-On! and Lucky Star have started to blur that distinction for me.

      I’m free from exam for now…

  9. 2DT says:

    There’s no need to apologize for a needed rest. Besides, you’re back, after all. 🙂

    On a different level (that is, different from kitsune yuri), it is a rather fascinating subject, how traditional onsen ryokans get run. It was covered somewhat in Spirited Away, and I suppose I’ve been to a couple, but it’s still something I know very little about.

    I’ll check this out. Cheers.

    • Yi says:

      @2DT: Actually, I wanted to write a bit about that and onsen because this really reminded a lot of Spirited Away. The bathhouse and youkai seem to be two themes that are popular together. I’m curious about how they are run too, and more importantly, what customers usually get at a typically onsen ryokan. (The outdoor spa, the food… etc.)
      I’ve been to one when I visited Japan as a kid, but I don’t remember much of it.
      How are your experiences with them?

  10. Ningyo says:

    GLOOOORRIIOOOUUUS~
    Man, how many fatal devices does this use in one go? Kitsune-mimi, shippou, loli, bloomers? The thighhighs – oh, the thighhighs…
    I’ll check it out immediately. Can’t call myself Ningyo if I don’t. Loli, plus yuri, and foxes; very heavy material. Of course, I’ll keep an eye out for those mounties. Darn presumptuous horse riding authorities, think every one of us are potential sex offenders.
    Well, I can see a very terse dichotomy in reception for this, but you know which half I stand on.

    And you really shouldn’t apologize for such short absences; if that’s what is called for I’d need to make apologies weekly >.>

    • Yi says:

      @Ningyo: To be fair, that last image does not appear in the manga. It was something the mangaka drew as an extra.
      But yea… Agreed about all the things that went into it. The shippou especially… I never realized how much I want to just hug the large fluffy tails. Well, when I see my dog this weekend…

      I do hate writing to explain not writing although I kind of thought this long hiatus deserved a little explanation.

  11. That blushing loli kitsune is just so adorable! I wouldn’t mind reading more of this. I’m curious what that scene is all about ^_^ Personally I haven’t seen a lot of loli yuri, so moar liek dis would be great😄

  12. Fabrice says:

    The art is beautiful

    …And thus Fabrice become interested and a new follower of Yuri Hime

    =)

    • Yi says:

      @Fabrice: That’s my life goal… Slowly get everyone to become fans of yuri. ^ ^
      Anyways, I think Yuri Hime is a very good source for manga of that genre, but it is heavy yuri, so if you’re not that interested, I wouldn’t really recommend it.

  13. Reltair says:

    The art is beautiful, the colored illustrations remind me of watercolor works.

    • Yi says:

      @Reltair: Yea, the colored pages look like watercolor, although they might be airbrushed digitally. Very beautiful indeed. I really love the first two image especially.

  14. Shin says:

    oldmanhavingheartattack.jpg

  15. AS says:

    The art is cute. It has sort of a “airy” feel to it that gives it innocence. Don’t see much work that talks about foxes. Wonder if Fox-kei would make an appearance lol.

    • Yi says:

      @AS: The airy feel also makes reading this a very light thoughtless experience in a good way. It’s something I can read when I need to kill 5 minutes after 4 hours of studying.
      Foxes don’t make enough appearance for sure compared to nekomimi and such.

      I actually have no idea who or what Fox-kei is…😦

  16. lovelyduckie says:

    Does this series have a figure? I remember there being a few figures of a girl with fox ears/tail and I had no idea where she originated from.

    • Swordwind says:

      The fox characteristics aren’t too uncommon, so not necessarily. Of course, it may be possible that the figures were from this specific series… just not particularly likely.

    • Yi says:

      @lovelyduckie: I don’t think this has a figure for reasons Swordwind said. It’s a really new series and it just does not have that popularity yet.

  17. Nakayo says:

    WOW! k1y0 had dropped me link saying it’s a must read!! hahha Another blog for me to check out! YAY!! ^_^

    Hmmm I’m not the biggest fan of cat girls particularly ones that look so young but if it gets scanlated I’d be sure to give it a go!! The art is so pretty!! Thanks for bringing this one to our attention!!

    • Yi says:

      @Nakayo: The art is pretty and I’m both surprised an a bit disappointed no one seemed to scanlate this. Anyways, it’s a nice read, but I’m not sure if it will be that interesting if you don’t like fox ears or loli looking characters.

      Thank you so much for visiting and commenting. I love your blog too. Yasashiisekai is a pillar in yuri blogging, so it feels really great to have you comment on my yuri post.

      • Nakayo says:

        WOW! “pillar of yuri blogging”!? That’s a bit too much!!! I’m just another girl who’s into yuri and likes to share it around!!! If you don’t mind, I’m going to add ur blog into my links section!!! ^_^ You’ll be seeing me more around!!!

        • Yi says:

          @Nakayo: Your blog has exposed many fans to yuri material that are otherwise relatively obscure and it has always provided great episodics on recent yuri for a long time, so yea definitely a giant in yuri blogging. ^ ^ Anyways, I have added you to the links section as well.

  18. It is Yuri, I wanted to bring to my blogg … but I can not find anywhere a version translated into English for me to use as a basis for me to move to the Portuguese

    • Yi says:

      @jonas sorax miranda: I don’t think there is any group working on translating this yet, so I’m afraid I can’t be much help.

  19. Pingback: Heart-Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls’ Academy Review – a Blush-Worthy Yuri | Listless Ink

  20. EmperorG says:

    Might I ask where you found this one? I am truly curious to give it a read after your sweet review of it.

    • Yi says:

      Hm… I honestly can’t remember where I found it. Most likely yamibo forums. This is yet another manga I would love to see get picked up by a scanlation group, but unfortunately hasn’t.

      • Overlord-G says:

        Read the 4th chapter today and the manga is both adorable and relaxing. I only have one question and I think you can guess what it’s about, Natsume’s gender. Is Natsume a hermaphrodite?

        Oh, and I want a Yuzu plushie. She’s so huggable.

        • Yi says:

          They’re all super huggable. Soooo much cuteness.

          Anyway, I thought Natsume is pretty clearly female…

        • Overlord-G says:

          Oh. My mistake. I guess she’s just flat then.

          True, everyone is huggable but Yuzu is the cutest of all. It’s obvious, yes but still I can’t deny but want to give the little puffball a hug. I would get arrested sure but it would be worth it…just kidding.

        • Yi says:

          Personally, I want to hug Sakura the most out them, but Yuzu comes in close second.

        • Overlord-G says:

          OF COURSE! how could I have forgotten the quiet and super awesome Sakura?! I’m so ashamed to have ignored her for a bit. Thank you so much for reminding me of her. It’s been a while since ch3 was translated.
          Anyway, you’re right. Sakura is even more hug worthy than Suzu. How could anyone resist a quiet girl who has the charisma of a pop idol?

        • Yi says:

          I’m a bit out of touch with English scanlation groups… Who’s scanlating this?

        • Overlord-G says:

          According to Dynasty-Scans, the scanlators are Kawaii-scans. Then again, I don’t pay 100% attention to scanlators unless I’m really looking for a translation of a manga I can’t find anywhere else.

        • Yi says:

          Icic. Thanks. ^ ^

  21. Pingback: Who Murdered Detective Fictions? The Simplicity of Gosick Mysteries | Listless Ink

  22. Shiki says:

    This series just gave me a diabetes and heart attack at the same time… Sadly it’s said that the series end in chapter 8 thou… Wish Amano Sakuya would continue her/his work

    • Yi says:

      Those eight chapters were so adorable though! This is one of the cutest little things I’ve read ever. And it’s so incredibly well drawn too. The aesthetics and the mysticism are all so wonderful. They are the things I love most about Amano Sakuya.

      By the way, Shiki darling, if you enjoyed this, you may like the anime Gosick and Ikoku no Meiro Croisee as well. ^ ^

      • Shiki says:

        Shiki darling? Lol, well thank you for make my day😄. Yes I really enjoy this manga, especially the gentleness that the author shows from her works. I will try that two next time =).

Leave a Reply

