Gokujou Drops

Gokujou Drops yuri manga Yukio Komari

Being a huge fan of yuri, I am a voracious reader of yuri manga. Among the hundreds of one-shots and series I have read, Gokujou Drops has been by far one of my favorites (if not the favorite).

Gokujou Drops yuri manga cover Yukio Komari

Maezono Komari attends a rich all-girls school and somehow ends up living among the most elite members in a prestigious dorm. She quickly becomes a servant to her roommate, Himemiya Yukio. Gokujou Drops follows the development of their interesting and loving relationship.

Gokujou Drops yuri manga cover

I absolutely love Gokujou Drops. Every single chapter is full of action, fun, and emotions. It does more than just showcase ecchi yuri. It also has a delicate plot that actually makes the readers care about Komari and Yukio-chan’s relationship. There were many moments when I was on the edge of my seat waiting for the next chapter, wondering how these two will resolve their misunderstandings.

Gokujou Drops characters yuri manga

Gokujou Drops Tsun Tsun Hime Komari yuri

I really like Hadzime Mikuni’s style and the character’s pretty faces and slender proportions. Yukio-chan is just so cute; I think she is the reason I started to love hime hair cuts. Further, they all have very lovable personalities. Komari’s straightforwardness, sensitivity, and slight masochism pair really well with Yukio’s oujo-sama, tsundere type. The other members of the dorm all have their own distinct flavor as well. Anyway, Yukio is super hawt.

Gokujou Drops ecchi yuri manga

Gokujou Drops sexy yuri manga Yukio

Gokujou Drops Yukio Komari sex
Seriously, how sexy is Yukio.

Of course, the ecchi parts of Gokujou Drops is nice too. It is not overdone or too hardcore. I really appreciate the softness and tasteful yet arousing. This is such a guilty pleasure…

Gokujou Drops yuri manga volume download

Gokujou Drops holds a special place in my heart also partly because its my reason for starting manga editing. There are two volumes out so far. I am really looking forward to volume three. Translations can be found on Wings of Yuri.

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Gokujou Drops, Review, Yuri Anime and Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Gokujou Drops

  1. Ningyo says:

    Guilt? KANJITE NAI! Read it, love it, embrace it!

    Anyhow, dynamic characters really are one of the highest truisms of brilliant works, as are cliffhangers that aren’t overplayed.

    I spy, with my pervy eye, a pretty bit of oppai… mmm

    Just make sure to systematically assassinate any asshat who tries to flag you for it:\

  2. kluxorious says:

    that was certainly hot!

  3. FinallyAnime says:

    Oohhhhh!!!! I’m feeling this!!! Definitely😀 I have a harrrrd time getting to manga due to location, but I LOVE this post, like seriously.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Gokujou Drops « Listless Ink -- Topsy.com

  5. Fujii_Itsuki says:

    Ohh! I’m really enjoying this manga as well. The dynamics between both the characters are awesome and HOT! Hehe, and when it’s not filled with sexy hot, it can be pretty sweet and tender as well. I like it although it’s a tad soap opera-ish. Looking forward to vol3 too. =)

  6. saturnity says:

    Haha, I love these translations. They’re practically knuckle-deep fingering each other and they say “I like you.”

    I’ll have to check this out.

  7. Snark says:

    I don’t get it, why is it all yuri seems to happen in rich, prestigious, private schools? What? Is rug munching too good for the commoners?

  8. Yi says:

    @Ningyo: That’s a nice bit of rhyming there. Personally, I am very open about my definition of mature material, and so far I don’t consider anything here to warrant any flagging. With that said, I’m pretty sure there are those who disagree, especially about some of my even more sexual posts. I do hope my site will continue to be on moderate filter and such.

    @kluxorious: It sure is.

    @FinallyAnime: I love Gokujou Drops too. You can find scanlations on Wings of Yuri. Just dig around a bit on that site and you’ll find the downloads.

    @Fujii_Itsuki: “Hehe, and when it’s not filled with sexy hot, it can be pretty sweet and tender as well.”
    I like that apt description of Gokujou Drops. Really fits how I feel about the mana too.

    @saturnity: Haha, “knuckle-deep fingering each other”… That’s a phrase I will never forget.

    @Snark: That is a good point. I have a feeling Marimite is the start of it all. Although recently, there has been a shift in the major yuri works away from this trend. For example, Aoi Hana, Sasameki Koto, Octave, and Girl Friends don’t fit these profile.
    Anyway, rug munching is for everyone. ^ ^

  9. shijima says:

    Yah, this plus Hanjuku Joshi are quite decent for ecchi manga.
    It seems a whole plethora of other yuri manga are being published by Ichijinsha this month though I’m not picking them all up. :p
    Thank you for all your help in editing. =)
    Now, what do I do with all the other cruddy manga I got suckered into buying? -__-

  10. I love GD, it’s awesome, Yukio it’s so cute, and she and Komari makes a good couple, also I really like the twins, well, I think that I like all the characters of the dorm…they all are so well made, and have something cool in everyone’s.
    Just more 3 days to the new volume first chapter! yay!

  11. Misu says:

    The first image reminded me of Nami and Robin from One Piece.

  12. Yi says:

    @shijima: You could scanlate them all too. ^ ^
    Well, if you’re ever in need of an extra hand on editing, just email me. I always love to edit for you.
    Anyway, thanks a lot for scanning and translating such a lovely manga.

    @Yuri Downloads: I love how everyone in that dorm loves to molest Komari too!

    @Misu: Now that you mention it, I can see that too.

  13. OH. EM. GEE. WANT. I’m so glad I happened to click on this blog in time to see this post~!

    This really looks amazing, great character art and sex and very well-drawn breasts (something I’m particular about) will read!

  14. Ninjovee says:

    Yukio’s design reminds me of Sohma Rin from Fruits Basket.
    This seems interesting, I might pick this up when I don’t have anything to read. Fufufu :3c

  15. Yi says:

    @21stcenturydigitalboy: I’m really particular about the proportions as well. That is one of the main reason Gokujou Drops is one of my favorite yuri. The drawing style and characters just really appeal to me.

    @Ninjovee: I can kind of see that resemblance as well. Do pick this up for some fun and sexy readings.

  16. FinallyAnime says:

    Btw, I added you to my blogroll🙂

  17. kirapika says:

    Is Gokujou Drops good? There’s a big lack of good yuri/shoujo-ai mangas that are actually interesting nowadays. It probably doesn’t hurt to have some dose of shoujo-ai. :3

  18. Gokujou Drops is hands down (Komari’s panties) my favorite ongoing ecchi yuri series! It has everything I need to, ah-hem, be entertained. I love the S/D relationship between our leading schoolgirls and the naughty Student Council Molestation Coalition pleases me greatly, not to mention Gokujou Drops holds the distinction of having THE MOST erotic scene involving an actual cherry of any yuri manga! “Don’t bite down!” Mmmm and getting to read just how much of a Tsundere sex-kitten Yukio can be makes me melt!

    I LOVE all the pics you posted! Nice! Thank you so much for blogging on this series! Gokujou Drops needs more exposure!

  19. phossil says:

    and this things happens in yuri manga? I will consider then to read more yuri.. lol.

  20. FaS says:

    ME WANT MORE FUN YURI POSTS NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OR BOOBIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. Yi says:

    @FaS: I’ve added you to my links section as well. Also, more yuri and b00bies post to come in the future for sure.

    @kirapika: Gokujou Drops is one of my favorite yuri ever, so I do think it’s pretty good. Lately, shoujo-ai has gained a bit more popularity so there are a few good stuff out and I think even more will come.

    @Audio Erotica: Completely agreed with you. Reading certain things really does make me melt too! And tsundere Yukio, masochistic Komari, and the molestation dorm are just too hot. I loved the cherry scene too. Absolutely erotic and fun.

    @phossil: Do read more yuri. It’s awesome. ^ ^

  22. I mean this with all my heart: GD volume 1 is what got me into yuri. And more importantly, into translation. My interest started with doujins… then this was the first real yuri I read. It was stories and translations like this that made me want to translate yuri myself.
    I can never be thankful enough for the quality, story, art, everything about this series. To this day, GD has been and may always will be my favorite yuri.
    I am thankful for this series, for Wings of Yuri, Yi’s editing, and everyone else who had a part in it’s translation. =D
    CANNOT WAIT FOR 3. Go, Solelo, go!

  23. Yi says:

    @TsundereYuriko: GD is also what got me into manga editing. It’s just that good. Also, I think volume three is coming. Saw a tweet by Audio Erotica.

  24. koyot3 says:

    I look forward to Gokujo Drops probably more than YH and “that office lady series” in Tsumobi (which still hasn’t been translated T.T)

    The characters really grew on me. At first, I found Komari annoying and Yukio plain abusive. But soon Komari became adoreable and Yukio very sly and devious🙂. So definately, thank you and Soleo for the work.

  25. Yi says:

    @koyot3: I thought Yukio was abusive at first too, and that made me really love her from the start…
    I’m really looking forward to this more than any other series. Which office lady series are you talking about?

  26. I’m very glad you introduced this to me, Yi. I’m enjoying it thoroughly~

  27. Yep, I read it up to the end of second volume because of your recommendation ^^

    Loved it lots! I can’t help but compare it a little to MariMite… with the ecchi scenes that you wanted Yumi and Sachiko to do, but they never get around to it in the show. Ok, it’s not all ecchi, I know, but they definitely went further. The relationship between Komari and Yukio is just as complex, especially with Yukio hardly expressing herself.

    It seems to be continuing still and I can’t wait to read more! And thanks for the recommendation ^_^

  28. Yi says:

    @21stcenturydigitalboy: Always happy to share great stuff, especially great yuri stuff.

    @lightningsabre: “MariMite… with the ecchi scenes that you wanted Yumi and Sachiko to do, but they never get around to it in the show.”
    That’s certainly a great way to put it. ^ ^

  29. Akira says:

    I love Gokujou Drops. I just can’t wait for vol 3 as it should be out on Nov 18.

    Yukio is just too hawt! I guess tsudere ojou-samas are one of my fetishes lol

    The art is clean, love the different pairings and the story line, well let’s just hope that a school/dorm like that exists lol

  30. Akira says:

    oh and the ‘scenes’ are not too hardcore and overdone. It keeps the cuteness going ^^

  31. Pingback: Gokujou Drops Volume 3 Preview « Listless Ink

  32. Yi says:

    @Akira: Agreed on every point. Oujo-sama/ queen types are my biggest fetish too, followed by tsundere types. Combine that, you get tsuntsun Hime. I just love Yukio.

    Anyway, thanks for the information. I knew it was coming out around now, but did not realize it was already out on Nov. 18th. Looking forward to scanlations.

  33. enri says:

    I really like it too, it’s one of 2 of my favorite ongoing mangas.
    The other one is Heart Pounding Excitement at Mononoke Girls’ Academy, a cute comedy.

  34. Yi says:

    @enri: Me too!!! I love Gokujou Drops, obviously. I like Mononoke Girl’s Academy too. Cute and funny and a lot more ecchi in my opinion.

  35. enri says:

    Thank you so much Yi, for the new episode ^ ^

  36. Yi says:

    @enri: All thanks to Shijima of Wings of Yuri. She is the main reason that this manga was so accessible to all.

  37. enri says:

    Don’t lessen your contribution in this🙂

  38. Yi says:

    @enri: Don’t worry. ^ ^
    I’ll get the next chapter out soon.

  39. Pingback: May Sickness in March « Listless Ink

  40. Pingback: Konohanatei Kitan « Listless Ink

  41. Katie says:

    I love this story but I can’t seem to find chapters 12 thro the end traslated that in can read online lol if u no of a website that has this translated plz let me no lol (=^.^=)

  42. EmperorG says:

    Marvelous review dear Yi. I just finished adding this to my collection and will begin reading it after I finish Iono-sama fanatics.
    I wonder if this will be as glorious as Girl Friends was? Judging from the pics, I can guess that this one will develop much quicker than GF, but probably not as quick as FLS, another comic I enjoyed.
    Anyway, your review motivated me even more to give this masterpiece a read.

    • Yi says:

      This is my favorite yuri manga ever for several reasons… One of which is because of sentimental attachments to its scanlation. So I’m probably a bit biased.

      I love the artwork though and I love the story/ characters. It’s shorter than Girl Friends. It’s faster paced with more ecchi, whereas GF is a little more delicate in relationship ups and downs.

      They’re both great great stories.

      • EmperorG says:

        Oh you got that right Yi-chan. They didn’t joke around with this one. Whew, not even 1 chapter and already we’re in business. I have to tell you, Yukio is a master of raising the roof. I mean, wow, just….WOW, she’s good.

        • Yi says:

          Yea definitely. I looooove Yukio. She is just so lovely. Elegant, beautiful, tsundere, and a bit of S. I’m in love with her.

      • Manfred says:

        I agree with both of you😀
        Although I enjoyed girl friends more, this is a close second. I’ve read both thrice already :p

        • Yi says:

          Yea Girl Friend is definitely among my top top favorites of yuri manga. There are some personal reason why Gokujou Drops hold such a close place to my heart, but were it not for them, Girl Friend would probably be my favorite.

Leave a Reply

