Loveless

Loveless yaoi Ritsuka

A while ago I watched Loveless. Despite its title, I had quite a bit of love for this anime. (Forgive my tasteless puns…)

Loveless Ritsuka Soubi yaoi

Loveless follows Ritsuka and Soubi as they unravels the mystery behind the death of Ritsuka’s brother. After the brother has died, Ritsuka is sought out by Soubi, who claims to be a friend of Rituka’s brother. The pair are soon drawn into various battles. Together, Ritsuka and Soubi fight in spell battles, with Soubi acting as the fighter and Ritsuka as the “Sacrifice”.

Ritsuka Loveless
Ritsuka actually looks kind of cute in this scan. Actually, in many scans, Ritsuka looks really very cute.

Aoyagi Ritsuka Kouga Yun Loveless scan

I thought the series is a rather nice watch. The pacing is quite slow, but that does set the tone fairly. Further, Soubi and Ritsuka are both really lovable characters. I especially like Ritsuka. The interplay and the development of the relationship between the couple are quite interesting as well.

Loveless yaoi manga scan

Although the series does an amazing job with the characters, the plot certainly does get a bit convoluted at times. However, beneath all that are some really subtle complex themes and a touching story.

Loveless Ritsuka scan

Anyway, since I am not watching that many series this fall, I decided to to take an opportunity to write some posts I did not got around to. Further, I recently read a review on Antique Bakery, and realizing that I actually read/ watch quite a bit of yaoi, I decided to write a review for a series I recently watched. With all the yuri on this blog, I hope this is a nice change of pace.

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Loveless, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Loveless

  1. moelitist says:

    Must. Check. Out. I’m following too much anime at once right now. Like 10 series, gets confusin’

    Thanks for the review, motivated me to watch xD

  2. kluxorious says:

    lol is this post inspired by blur’s Antique Bakery entry?

    I like Loveless. It doesn’t leave you with a bad taste in your mouth despite the yaoi theme.

  3. Baka-Raptor says:

    The pictures I love. The puns I Love less.

  4. Ningyo says:

    blar, yaoi, one of the one or two odd fetishes that aren’t in my cup of tea…

    imo, the charas here aren’t feminine-looking enough to warrant the dress. ahwell.

  5. Yi says:

    @moelitist: Yea, I have a bunch of shows on queue too… Need to get through them one at a time.

    @kluxorious: Yep yep. I suggested briefly Loveless, and then thought that I should write a quick review. Anyway, I’m planning to watch Antique Bakery as well. I actually read quite a bit of yaoi or borderline boy love manga, so Loveless was kind of nice. I don’t mind yaoi themes unless it’s super hardcore.

    @Baka-Raptor: Well played. I love puns.

    @Ningyo: Haha, to each his own. I actually thought Rituski looks quite feminine.

  6. Snark says:

    Are these things men or women? I CANNOT FUCKING TELL.

  7. kluxorious says:

    @Snark, androgynous FTW? hehehehe

  8. 2DT says:

    Fun fact I learned from a panel where the author was answering questions: Originally, all the characters had cat ears. She decided that Soubi and the other older characters didn’t look very cute with them, but she needed to figure out a reason why Ritsuka and co. would still have them. I was a little disappointed that it wasn’t a blatant message about sexuality, but I still enjoyed Loveless anyway.

  9. Fujii_Itsuki says:

    Haha, interesting change of pace~^^
    To be honest, I never got past the first episode of Loveless. It’s probably the pacing and the cat ears. …Okay, maybe not the cat ears but it didn’t exactly reeled me in… unlike Gravitation. That one was my first brush with yaoi anime and I remembered enjoying it quite a bit. It’s apparently quite a famous series with the yaoi fangirls. I can understand why…heh. The main pairing probably aren’t that much different with Soubi and Ritsuka…or any other yaoi pairings at that. =P But their occupation and situation does make things more interesting.

    Antique Bakery is pretty good. I rather enjoyed the mood and the pace of the series. The cakes are mouth watering…don’t watch it with an empty stomach. Hehe, they were pretty realistically rendered for an anime…The Korean live-action adaptation was entertaining too. Nice looking bishies~ =3

  10. "G" says:

    m..is this BL?

  11. Yi says:

    @Snark: They’re both men. In fact, one of them is very underage too.

    @klux:❤ androgyny.

    @2DT: I didn't know that. I had thought it was some sort of sexuality thing too, with only innocent children retaining nekomimi.

    @Fujii_Itsuki: The pacing is a bit too slow in Loveless; the cat ears I don't mind. Anyway, Gravitation is also nice. I need to watch antique bakery sometime too.

    @G: ^ ^

  12. If I am not wrong, Loveless it’s the only yaoi that I have watched in all my life, I have seen some other scenes of other animes, but since I don’t like yaoi I just watched some minutes, and never bothered myself to watch the whole thing…anyway, Loveless it’s not bad, but the real reason why I watched it was because of the zeros…

  13. razrig says:

    No… i cant stand BL……….

  14. Yi says:

    @Yuri DL: Haha yep yep. I liked them too, for obvious reasons. ^ ^

    @razrig: Try some; you might end up liking it.

  15. Reltair says:

    Gawd, I remember when I went to the AX panel with the Gundam 00 character designer who is also the mangaka for Loveless. Too many Loveless fans at that panel.

    BL, ughhh.

  16. phossil says:

    I think I wil need to see it for myself. Didnt know about this show until now.🙂

  17. Yi says:

    @Reltair: Hehe, I guess you don’t particularly like BL. ^ ^

    @phossil: Yea, definitely check it out.

  18. shijima says:

    I quite liked the art of Loveless.
    Thank you for the great pics again. =)

  19. Yi says:

    @shijima: Yea the art is definitely nice. For the pics, I just download them and upload them. Really not much to thank there…

  20. Optic says:

    Clearly a series I’m not after.
    It’s a definite pass for me.🙂

  21. Yi says:

    @Optic: Because of the yaoi?

  22. saturnity says:

    Ah, Loveless. My first shounen-ai.

    …And ironically, I ended up liking the lesbian story between Yamato and that other chick a lot more. I mean, Ritsuka x Soubi is fine, but it seemed kind of forced at times.

    Oh, and Michiyuki is a beautiful song.

  23. Yi says:

    @saturnity: Well, I like Ritsuka, but I have to agree that Ritsuka x Soubi feels quite tense and strained for the majority of the series.
    Of course, I like yuri more than yaoi, so agreed with you there on Yamato and Kouya.

  24. Akira Eshi says:

    MMMMM! Boy love *^___^*

    This was my first manga in the life ha-ha-ha =)

  25. Yi says:

    @Akira Eshi: Glad to see a guy enjoy a healthy dose of BL now and then.

  26. Akira Eshi says:

    EEE! I am invincible Dulk =)

  27. Yi says:

    @Akira Eshi: hehe.

  28. Yaoi-fan girl says:

    If you’re reviewing a manga like Loveless, why not add Yaoi to your site?

    • Yi says:

      I guess I could. I have definitely considered including more BL on here, especially back in the days. But I think the blog has, since the publishing of this post, moved on from this direction. Nowadays, my blog emphasis, readerbase, and my own tastes all lean much more heavily toward yuri, which is kind of the other direction.

      Plus, even though I did read quite a few yaoi manga, I don’t really any more. And I don’t think I have the sort of reach that I have with yuri.

      As a side note, one of my favorite old school mangaka is Kaori Yuki, and she does lovely heavy BL overtone stuff.

  29. Alexander says:

    @ Ningyo, Yuri Downloads, razrig and Reltair

    Couldn’t agree anymore. I can’t stand yaoi. From a straight guy’s perspective, the “guys” look feminine and most instances, their personalities don’t mirror that of any a real guy, heck even homosexual men.

    But than again, manga like Loveless is made by and for women, hence why the vast majority of its core demographics are heterosexual and bisexual women and not homosexual/heterosexual males… I assume you’re part of the demographics right Yi?

    @Yaoi-Fan girl

    That’s the last thing I want to see around here. Yaoi already has all the publicity and love in the world, that it doesn’t need anything more than it already has. Consider the hundreds of BL orientated websites that exist compared to yuri. To top it off, plenty of yaoi manga has been licensed here in the West compared to yuri releases.

    • Yi says:

      I hesitate to make overgeneralizing conclusions about gender and tastes.

      I’m not really sure if yaoi does get more attention. It’s definitely carved out its own niche. But if we were to look at main stream anime, we’d often see more yuri subthemes nowadays than yaoi, albeit a lot of it is fan service fodder.

      As for manga, I would agree that there are much more yaoi manga than yuri manga.

      Anyway, I probably won’t be reviewing any yaoi for a while.

    • kai592 says:

      Being a homosexul male myself, yaoi can be pretty unrealistic O_O
      Especially Junjou romantica, the uke was always more feminine and always got the butt hurt.
      Although Bara is more realistic, which is made by homosexual men for homosexual men.

      I personally never seen any yaoi sites myself!O_o
      Only one, I always find yuri sites unfortunately >_>

      • Yi says:

        “yaoi can be pretty unrealistic O_O”
        Very true. I wouldn’t limit it to just yaoi either. Anime romances can sometime be very ridiculous. It’s true for yuri stories, bisexual stories, or heterosexual stories. Just think of all the harem anime.

        Anyway, sorry to disappoint, but at this point, I think this blog is very yuri-ish. I wish I could point you in the right direction for yaoi bloggers, but I really don’t know too many.

        • kai592 says:

          Oh yeah! There was this one anime I watched cause the girl character had cool hair (Yes, I wanted to watch it cause I thought the character had cool hair xD
          Well, ya know. It’s a more unusual color than the colors of anime characters, and I figured with that hair color she could use some cool power. I was disappointed when I found out it wasn’t an action anime xD)
          But anyways, it ended up being a romance anime. And the first episode, the male character tripped, fell on the girl and that made them magically kiss. I found it to be so ridiculous and unrealistic, as well as cliche’.
          The anime is fairly new too, it’s still airing as of this post. It’s called “A Bridge to the Starry Skies – Hoshizora e Kakaru Hashi” just in case anyone is curious, it happens in the first episode too.

          Don’t worry about it ^_~ Actually, to solve such a solution. I just made my own yaoi blog!😄

        • Yi says:

          The cliche trip, fall, and kiss… I’ve never seen any thing remotely similar in real life. It’s just such an implausible scenario. Yet, it seems to happen in so many anime. It’s kind of funny to think aobut.

          Anyway, looking forward to seeing your yaoi blog!

  30. Overlord-G says:

    Now I’m not a yaoi fan either but it’s not because it disgusts me, it’s because I’m not into the genre. There’s no need to bash it, it is what it is. I bet there are people out there who support yaoi as much as we here support yuri.

    As for Loveless, to be honest the only episodes I watched were the ones that focused on Koya Sakagami and Yamato Nakano. The relationship these two had was a lovely one and well worth the watch. It’s 100% clear that these two ladies loved each other and I’m glad they weren’t struck with the “Dark Age” plague. I also confess that both are beautiful women.

    • Yi says:

      I don’t know if I’m as much of a yaoi fan per se as I am a fan of androgyny. I find a lot of yaoi’s artworks to be really beautiful precisely because of the delicate mix of masculinity and femininity. But that’s kind of beside the point.

      Anyway, good point about bashing. Tastes are tastes, and that’s that. ^ ^

      • Overlord-G says:

        Well that settles it. I watched the show’s 3rd quarter because of the lovely yuri pairing and you watched it because of the well drawn androgynous art style (primarily). Good stuff all around.

        Also read your post above concerning yaoi’s position in media. I tend to think that although yaoi is kind of ruling the manga world, the anime world (subtext wise) is all yuri, serious or humor-wise.

        • Yi says:

          I should also mention that besides the art, it’s also nice to just read a cute love story.

          Anyway,
          “I tend to think that although yaoi is kind of ruling the manga world, the anime world (subtext wise) is all yuri, serious or humor-wise.”
          Yep yep exactly. I think I mentioned that in an earlier comment.

  31. kai592 says:

    I really enjoyed Loveless, I think it had a really good story! It had me wanting more after each episode, it was also really cute to see Ritsuka fall in love with soubi; despite the whole Ritsuka’s under age part xD

    If you want to see a shounen ai that’s really light and has lots of action, I suggest Togainu no chi. There’s lot’s of action, blood and death, it’s barely even a shounen ai!

    • Yi says:

      Loveless does have a pretty good story and it is super cute seeing Ritsuka and Soubi together. I did find the pacing a little too slow for me though, but overall, it was an enjoyable anime.

      I’ve heard about Togainu no Chi. I wish I have time to watch it–I have so many other anime to watch as well–but it’s definitely on my radar and my long backlog.

      Thanks for the suggestion and the comment! ^ ^

      • kai592 says:

        Yeah, Loveless is one of the few anime’s that had me wanting to watch the next episode right away; I just got so into the story.
        I actually plan to buy the manga, cause according to wikipedia; it’s not even over. The anime is, but not the manga.

        No problem! ^_~

Leave a Reply

