Strike Witches

Strike Witches Sanya Shimada Humikane Nekomimi pantsu pantyhose

Over the weekend, I finally finished watching Strike Witches, and I decided to write a review for it… F*cking hent*i…

Strike Witches Francesca Lucchini yuri pantsu

Just kidding. That is a bit harsh. Strike Witches is actually not that bad. I first decided to watch it because of all the loli yuri potential. It did not let me down. The yuri is definitely there. Sanya and Eila, as well as Lucchini and Charlotte, are only some of the numerous yuri pairs among the cute characters.

Yuri Strike Witches Sanya and Eila

As the images suggest, Strike Witches is a very fan servicing anime focused especially on gratuitous pantsu shots. Although such blatant ecchi is usually not to my taste, I do not particularly mind. Perhaps because I am much more of a pantsu person than an oppai person, and I am a bit of a lolicon. (Just a bit?)

Strike Witches artbook pantsu Shimada Humikane mecha musume

However, there were several scenes that simply made me blush and feel really guilty and embarrassed, especially if you were to watch Strike Fansub’s uncensored version…

Strike Witches Minna Sakamoto Mio swimsuits

By the way, I probably saw more pantsu and camel toes in the first episode of Strike Witches than I have in all other anime combined. Skirts and pants apparently do not exist in this world. The panties come in different varieties as well, shimapan, pantyhose, school swimsuit, bikini, string thongs… etc. Couple that with different mimis and tails, and Strike Witches is definitely full of all kinds of moe for everyone.

Strike Witches yuri Sanya Eila

Strike Witches Sanya V Litvyak pantyhose

I particularly like Sanya’s pantyhose.

Shimada Fumikane’s Strike Witches artbook is also very cute.


A different generation of Strike Witches, looking cooler and cuter. ^ ^ I love her socks.

Also, the yuri doujins that stem off of Strike Witches are all mostly quite good.


[Z-Less] 親友以上×恋人却下 (ストライクウィッチーズ)

P.S. notice how I said nothing about the plot or development…

__________________________________________________
Strike Witches 2 review
More anime and manga reviews

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Review, Strike Witches, Yuri Anime and Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Strike Witches

  1. Snark says:

    I’ve always wondered what the hell happened to pants in the world of Strike Witches… -_-

    But yeah, it was surprisingly enjoyable despite how much I initially thought I’d hate it >_< And Sanya was gay as hell.

  2. Fujii_Itsuki says:

    *Moe moe kyun~* Plot? Who cares about plot? *Goes find~* =3

  3. Yi says:

    @Snark: I agree. “Surprisingly enjoyable” is a good description. I thought I’d hate this as well, but I actually ended up liking it.
    @Fujii_Itsuki: Plot of Strike Witches is quite bland, and does not tie up well, but who cares, right?

  4. hahahaha, i agree with Fujii. who cares?😄
    well, the good point for me watch it is: SEXY/CUTE girls with guns and of course, some yuri, ok, ok, who I am trying to fool?!, the yuri is the main reason! *.*
    I really like that picture with that blond girl (the next to the last) the blond girl looks so cool! *.*
    Well, another anime to my ‘plans to watch’ list =P

  5. Yi says:

    @Yuri Downloads: The yuri never gets so blatant as a relationship between lovers, although there are plenty of groping and clear sense of affection. That blond girl in the second to last picture unfortunately will not appear in the anime. It seems that she is from a different generation of Strike Witches, although I agree she is probably the cutest looking among the pictures.

  6. piggy-san444 says:

    I see you’ve been quite busy… got some catching up to do🙂

  7. glothelegend says:

    hmmmmm….I like the whole idea of…..well….leg…..errr……aeroplane…..things……..or whatever.

    I’m not really excited about excessive fanservice, but I like To-LOVE Ru, so that doesn’t really bother me much.

    I started watching the first episode once, then something came up and I ended up only watching about 1 minute, and never came back to it.

    Girl in an eye patch? Count me in.

  8. blur says:

    Initially enjoying Strike Girls. I pretty much knew what to expect from Strike Witches. Really just one of those carefree animes which gives you your guilty indulgence.

    About the pants thing.. forgot where I read about it, but there is actually an explanation for not wearing pants from the anime director or studio or rep or whatever.

    Apparently to maximize the magic efficiency between user and their flight unit, they need to also maximize touch. So… no pants. Don’t know about the pantyhose though… perhaps it’s thin enough to ignore. :p

    And everyone I know who watched Strike Witches is gay for Sanya. EVERYONE.. Including me of course. :p

    Remember the pantsu swapping episode? Where each of the strike witches ended up taking each others pantsu because Luchini started it all.
    That was…. o.0!

  9. Fujii_Itsuki says:

    Can I just say that….

    “Apparently to maximize the magic efficiency between user and their flight unit, they need to also maximize touch. So… no pants.”

    = LOL *nods sagely* It’s easier to get into something like this when a reasonable exc…*cough* explanation is given. ;3

  10. Yi says:

    @piggy-san444: Not really actually been that busy with anime and such. I’ve just got some backlog and reposts of stuff, so there’s been more frequent updates. I am trying to actively post at least every 3-5 days though.

    @glothelegend: It’s pretty good. It’s not a masterpiece, but it’s relaxing and fun enough for an enjoyable time. I personally don’t usually like fanservice all that much, but it’s actually tolerable and even a bit nice in Strike Witches.

    @Blur: Wow, that explanation is totally legit! I’m also gay for Sanya. And the pantsu episode is the episode where I actually felt really embarrassed and started blushing even though I was alone.

    @Fujii_Itsuki: Hehe. Definitely not an excuse but a scientific fact. Everyone knows about those pants interfering with flight units.

  11. glothelegend says:

    Sometimes fanservice just works. To LOVE-Ru does it well. I think I already mentioned To LOVE-Ru here, but whatever. Asu no Yoichi is also good at it…then again, it’s pretty much good at everything.

  12. Yi says:

    @glothelegend: I actually have not seen To Love-Ru, but since it sounds really good, I will definitely watch it when I get the chance; unless it’s harem.

  13. shijima says:

    Thanks for the review.
    I have seen quite a bit of Strike Witches doujin around though I haven’t read any.
    I like the style of clothing in the 2nd to last picture.
    Military uniforms are awesome. =)

  14. Yi says:

    @shijima: There are quite a few pretty cute Sanya x Eila doujins running around. Also agreed about the second to last picture. Those costumes really are very nice.

  15. Pingback: Lady Gaga Watches Anime « Listless Ink

  16. Yuunagi says:

    To-Love-Ru is a harem manga. DX I didn’t really like it, although I don’t think it’s that bad.

    I like Strike Witches! Little to no plot, but Sanya and Eila were awesome, so. . .

  17. Yi says:

    @Yuunagi: I don’t generally like harem much unless it’s yuri. Still there have been decent ones.
    I loved Sanya x Eila. ^ ^

  18. Pingback: Mayoi Neko Overrun! Review | Listless Ink

  19. Ikuto says:

    Hiya everyone,

    At a friend’s suggestion I started watching this. Complete guilty pleasure but actually enjoyed it besides the obvious appeal ^^. Not good at finding good animes myself, so if I liked this what are some other good ones like it? Don’t want to wait for Season 2🙂

    • Yi says:

      @Ikuto: It was definitely a guilty pleasure for me too and I really liked it for all the stuff as well.
      Season 2 is already out, so not much waiting there. Though only 1 episode a week.
      As for other similar good anime, Mai Hime is a 10 for me, and it has some fan service. I also has a very great story and lovable characters. Essentially, it has everything Strike Witches has, but it also has a lot of other stuff.
      Similarly, Mai Otome is also pretty good.
      I would also recommend Queen’s Blade, but it’s a bit more hardcore in terms of fan service, plus more.

  20. Pingback: Anthropomorphism in Strike Witches | Listless Ink

  21. Ikuto says:

    @Yi Lol and I thought I was the only who actually liked the story🙂. I counted on Hulu to tell me when there were more but they failed me I guess -_-. Guess I will check a real anime site or something. I’ll look those other ones up to, I watch Death Note regularly but I need something a little brighter and happy to balance out, plus the selfish reason of fan service is nice too. Looking forward to seeing the other ones ty.

  22. EmperorG says:

    If you kinda liked the 1st season, then I do hope the 2nd one will blow you away. It did have that effect on me and quite a few others I must say. It depends on how you approach it.

  23. EmperorG says:

    I read your reviews a few days ago and agree wholeheartedly with your thoughts on QB, thus why I made the comparison between the two shows. Oh, and from the 2 subbed 3rd season OVAs so far, the 2nd one is the better of the 2.

  24. Pingback: Strike Witches 2 | Listless Ink

Leave a Reply

