Shikabane Hime Kuro

Shikabane Hime Kuro scan Hoshimura Makina

Shikabane Hime Kuro continues where Shikabane Hime Aka left off. I was not very impressed with Aka, and really wanted to drop this series. However, I usually like to finish what I have started, so I decided to sit through it. I am rather glad that I did because Kuro really brought the series back to life.

Shikabane Hime Kuro scan Shichisei Hoshimura Makina

To quickly abstract the series, Shikabane Hime is about Hoshimura Makina and her contracted priest’s battles against corpses, most notably the powerful group Shichisei.

Shikabane Hime Kuro manga scan Hoshimura Makina

Unfortunately, not only is the annoying male lead, Oori, still there, he now has a much larger role. I hated watching him yearn and lust after Makina, especially since Makina and Oori’s brother, Keisei, love each other. Throughout the series, I just kept wishing he would simply take a step back out of Makina’s life and hopefully out of the show. But then the series would of course lack the weak, hesitant, confused, self-righteous, but kind-hearted boy that seem to be pivotal in so many otherwise good anime.

Shikabane Hime corpse princess manga

Besides that, the plot is actually quite nice. The series has several plot twists and really progresses to a climax in Kuro. Moreover, the fights against the Shichisei are well done, as are the character designs on some of the different corpses, priests, and Shikabane Himes.

Shikabane Hime manga

Further, Angela, with her unique sound, is just great to listen to for the opening and ending sequences.

My Story by Angela

Hikari, Sagase Naku Tomo by Angela

Shikabane Hime definitely far exceeded Aka and my expectations. However, having to sit through a very annoying kid and a very mediocre first season, Shikabane Hime might just not be worth the time…

Shikabane Hime Aka scan

As a side note, I always wondered why such an average series would be one of the few anime to be on Youtube and Hulu. Well, I never stream anime on those sites anyway.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Review, Shikabane Hime and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Shikabane Hime Kuro

  1. Pingback: Shikabane Hime Aka « Listless Ink

  2. Snark says:

    Annoying, whiny male leads are the bane of everything. EVERYTHING.

  3. I was thinking about watch Aka when I have some time, but seems that it’s gonna be a little bored at least in some episodes (for what u said…), so maybe I will give more time and watch other animes than this one, coz I am like u, when I start something I don’t like to drop, it’s like a fanfic, even if it’s not that good, I like to finish it, only it it’s really, really bad and have many things that I don’t like…

    Btw, Yi, do u have a banner?

  4. Yi says:

    @Snark: Agreed. They are indeed the bane of everything.

    @Yuri Downloads: Yea, there are definitely better anime out there that will not be as boring during certain episodes.
    Also, I do have a banner. If you scroll down on my links page, there are several banners to choose from. You can resize, crop, or do whatever you want with them.

  5. shijima says:

    Thank you for the review.
    I think I’ll hold off on watching the series then since I’m so behind on anime already. =)

  6. Yi says:

    @shijima: sounds good. ^ ^

  7. "G" says:

    Oh! wow..that’s a huge picture of me from your link site!

  8. Yi says:

    @”G”: If you want to use a different pic, let me know. It’s so big because that was a more convenient cropping.

  9. blur says:

    *spoiler*
    ________________________________

    The only character which I liked from the series was Minai. And they decided to kill her… -.-”

    Shikabane Hime never felt the same ever since….

  10. blur says:

    Hmm… Just realized I should have put a *Spoiler* warning. -.-”
    Sorry bout that…

  11. Yi says:

    @blur: *spoiler* I liked Minai too… I wished they would have killed off the more annoying characters.
    And don’t worry about spoiler tags, I have added them in for you.

  12. koyot3 says:

    Thanks for the well put review Yi

    This reminds me of Tokyo Underground very much, especially the lead both have similar looks.

    Though I wont really watch it, I did like the ED : ).

  13. Yi says:

    @koyot3: Haven’t seen Tokyo Underground but they do feel a bit similar. Also, I liked the ED too (obviously…).

Leave a Reply

