Hakodate Youjin Buraichou Himegami

Hakodate Youjin Buraichou Himegami is a yuri action manga by Tamaki Nozomu. Set in the Meiji Era, Himegami follows the adventures of a young girl, Hyou. Hyou protects Hakodate and a strange girl, Himeka, from foreigners and youjins. While losing a battle one day, she is saved by a busty masked woman who calls herself Himegami. The plot reveals the intertwining past and the yuri love of these girls.

Of course, after a chapter, you realize that Himeka and Himegami are the same person… big surprise. (If I spoiled this for you, I am truly sorry).


That’s a nice pose.

I like Himegami a lot. The plot successfully weaves in Japanese historical characters and really turns an already captivating action packed plot much higher. Further, the yuri within the “subtext” makes Himegami so much more enjoyable. Actually, Hyou and Himeka’s love for each other is probably beyond mere subtext… Anyway, the action and the yuri is really what makes Himegami such a great read.

Stylistically, the art looks clean and the characters look cute. One aspect I did not like however, was Himeka’s incredible proportions. I would have preferred a less busty Himeka. I was never not that into big chests, but I can let that slide because Himeka is really pretty cool. I would also have preferred Hyou to look a little more feminine in certain scenes, but that is just a personal preference. Lastly, gratuitous fan service is not really something that I get too excited about, but if that is your thing, this will be an even better manga.


Hyou is pretty cute here too.

Overall though, I did enjoy this manga quite a bit. It’s busty, it’s bold, it’s ecchi, and it’s yuri. Himegami is awesome.


Hyou and Himeka. Himeka looks so hot and evil and sexy.

You can find Himegami at Wings of Yuri.

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Himegami, Review, Yuri Anime and Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Hakodate Youjin Buraichou Himegami

  1. Snark says:

    I see tits. I like tits. Therefore, by logical conjuncture, I believe I will like this manga.

  2. shijima says:

    Yah, Himegami was not too bad of an action manga.
    It wrapped itself up and didn’t drag on for too long.
    More lovey dovey scenes would have been nice. =)
    I’m also not such a fan of big breasts, but I guess I could used to it. :p

    Thanks again for all your help in editing this manga!

  3. Yi says:

    @Snark: Hehe. I hope you do.
    @shijima: More lovey dovey would have been nice too, but I am satisfied by how much there is already. I had a lot of fun editing this and I think I truly learned a lot from doing Himegami, so thanks for giving me that to work on. Also, big thanks to you for translation/ editing, FKLover for editing, and Winterbraid for TLCheck as well.

  4. Pingback: Hakodate Youjin Buraichou Himegami

  5. izaakmak says:

    I don’t know Jack about Japanese culture, nor am I a follower of Anime in particular, but I know artwork that I like when I see it – and I LOVE this!

  6. Yi says:

    @izaakmak: Glad you liked this. If you like this kind of artwork, you may very well like anime in general.

  7. izaakmak says:

    I know I’ll be coming here more often.

  8. Yi says:

    @izaakmak: Great. I hope my more mature posts don’t scare you off though. ^^

  9. wow, himeka is pretty hot! and seems to b so cool!
    about hyo, i like more of feminine girls…its a personal preference, so there’s ntg to say about her…
    i will download it when i have more time to read ^_^

  10. Yi says:

    @Yuri Downloads: Agreed on both Himeka and Hyou. I would prefer a more feminine Hyou too.

  11. Akira Eshi says:

    Hmmm, a girl with big … eyes =)

  12. Yi says:

    @Akira Eshi: Hehe… big eyes.

  13. piggy-san444 says:

    Action yuri? Fun 🙂 I thought of Tsukikage Ran when I saw this, but I think this is a bit more in-your-face about some things… maybe Tenjou Tenge would be a closer comparison? Except that’s not yuri…

  14. Yi says:

    This is definitely a lot more “in-your-face” in terms of breasts, buttocks, and fan service.

  15. piggy-san444 says:

    Having almost finished vol 1, it is not Tsukikage Ran… though elements abound. Hyou fills the tsundere roll (popularly defined at least) to a fault, but probably at no fault of her own. I get the feeling her past is making her Tomboy +50. Himeka is awesome and fun, and yes… busty. Busts do abound (except for our tsundere of course), as does a gender-bending French woman. Fun.

    I seem to get the same impulse in this manga as I did with Girls Bravo, but in a less in-your-face kind of way. GB just ~wanted~ to be hentai, but this feels more like a witchblade kind of ecchi… definitely in your face with cleverly positioned hair and doggies (?!?!), but I don’t get the same sense of obstinacy that I got from Girls Bravo. It feels what I would call “classic” action comic proportions. Rather, I think this would make a fantastic hentai feature.

    Is that wrong of me to think so?

    I think I would tend to agree with you that the proportions are a bit mis-balanced, (it seems everyone has enormous endowments except Hyou) but the attention paid to the female body’s design is fantastic.

  16. Yi says:

    @piggy-san444: I could imagine this as hentai. I’d prefer it not to be though because if it were, it would inevitably involve some really rather nasty demon stuff and tentacles…

  17. Pingback: Himegami Chapter 17 Finally Edited « Listless Ink

  18. EmperorG says:

    Hmm, sounds like an action packed yuri manga, like Hayate X Blade. Thanks for the review Yi. I now know that this will be a most interesting read.

    • Yi says:

      This manga has a special place in my heart because of all the work I put into it as a part of the scanlation team on Wings of Yuri with Shijima. Besides that, it also has a wonderful story and lovely art. The same mangaka did Vampire Bund manga, and he really knows how to draw curves and sexy lolis.

Leave a Reply

