Caterpillar

Caterpillar - yihsieh

Caterpillar
yihsieh
Acrylic on canvas
20 x 16 inches

I had not painted with traditional mediums in a long, long time, so I decided to brush up on my painting skills over the weekend. This took four days of work.

Caterpillar Alice

Caterpillar Sara

Caterpillar sketch - yihsieh
This is the sketch that I based the painting on.


Looks like the cat will not make it…


I thought I’d be almost done here, but instead, the finished version took about another 2 days of work.

Caterpillar - yihsieh
Finally finished. Look at it in higher resolution to see it better. ^^


The small storage room where I worked.

It was really nice to find some time over the summer to paint again. Also, thanks a lot to G for taking the pictures for me. She’s really awesome.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

This entry was posted in Gallery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Caterpillar

  1. Winterbraid says:

    Nice! I like the atmosphere in this one a lot. Keep up the good work!🙂

  2. shijima says:

    Very nice.
    I’ve never painted with acryllic before.
    I like the sort of starry night on the upper right, and the little flowers on the bottom.

    Hehe, I see someone at your studio is an MCB major.
    I quit after Chem 1A. :p

  3. Wow! nice work!
    i like the way u posted all the process of the work, is very cool.
    u used nice colours the final result is great!

  4. Yi says:

    @Winterbraid: Thanks. ^^ I might paint something again when I have the time and the drive.
    @shijima: Acrylic is a pretty fair medium to work with since it dries so fast. Anyway, good eyes. That would be my text book.
    @Yuri Downloads: Thanks. I’m glad you thought the colors were good.

  5. Oooh nice painting! Very colourful. The only thing I’ve painted recently was a Gundam😄

  6. Yi says:

    @lightningsabre: Thanks ^^. I’d love to see your Gundam painting too.

  7. Akira Eshi says:

    Wow, very very cool.

    You acrylic looks dry.
    And I love to draw watercolor and acryl with plenty of water. I love the transparent layers

  8. Yi says:

    @Akira Eshi: I think I tend to like to use really thick and dry paint rather than wet-on-wet style, which works pretty well for me on acrylic.

  9. Pingback: A Quick Tour of Listless Ink « Listless Ink

Leave a Reply

