Need a New Laptop

The last time I updated was a while back. I promised myself that I would update regularly and really try to post each week. I do have a legitimate excuse this time though that is not mere laziness.

My laptop monitor has gone kaput… To say the least, this has been a mild inconvenience. I am sure most readers understand the pain and the frustration that comes from not being able to use a computer regularly and for hours at a time.

Anyway, I am currently using my TV as a monitor. It’s just a bit inconvenient, especially because other people want to watch TV too.

Still, I manage to get it to work. I have a lot of stuff lined up that needs to get done, and they will be done soon…

I know nearly nothing about reading specs and stuff… However, I am going to get a new laptop probably on July 4th, hoping for some sort of sale/ deal, though I still do not know what I should be looking for.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

This entry was posted in Asides, Life Update and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Need a New Laptop

  1. neochikara says:

    Sorry to hear about your notebook issues! I would advise, while shopping for a new notebook, to find your budget and stick to it. Also think of the things you want/like in a notebook and find who offers those things at the best price. In my opinion, I would first check out HP, Sony, and Sager’s offerings and see if they make anything that works for you and your budget. Good luck!

  2. Kairu says:

    Where’s XP-tan? wwww

  3. Pingback: Need a New Laptop « MacBook Explained Online

  4. "G" says:

    yea..HP’s notebook does sound like a good choice. it seems like they have some great deals now.

  5. Yi says:

    @neochikara: That’s a great plan and really sound advice, but I guess I also am not sure what a normal price range is for a laptop…

    @Kairu: Changing OS to Vista with new laptop and probably soon to Windows 7. But if you have good XP-tan pics… ^ ^

    @G: Yep. Agreed.

  6. neochikara says:

    Laptops range in price from around $400 all the way up to at least $4000 (I’m thinking in USD and US prices). $500-$700 generally gets you a good entry-range laptop with decent power and ability, and $750-$1000 will usually net you more power, features, looks, and even allow for a smaller or larger model (based on screen size). So then that begs the question: how big of a screen do you have right now and how or small do you want on a new one? Bigger it is, the easier it is to see, but the overall laptop is heavier. The opposite is true for smaller screens. Anything laptop over $1000 starts to have very premium features like 1080p HD screens, discrete graphics, and even Blu-ray drives.

  7. shijima says:

    Thank you for still editing manga even when you’re having computer issues.
    That’s quite amazing.

    If you’re on a budget or just looking for something to tide you over, there are reburbished and cancelled orders from Dell, Lenovo, and HP outlets (HP can’t be ordered online though)
    http://www.dell.com/outlet
    http://stores.channeladvisor.com/LenovoOutlet/Notebook/

    You can also check the forums at:
    http://slickdeals.net/

    I’ll admit it’s fun to shop for a new laptop so do let us know what you finally decide to buy. =)

  8. Yi says:

    @neochikara: Wow, thanks for the real detailed help and suggestions.

    Hm… All that gives me a lot to think about.

    @shijima: I love shopping for stuff, and it sure is fun to look around for laptops.

    I’ll be sure to check those links out. Thanks.

  9. Akira Eshi says:

    Sympathy. I am using a PC with a massive display of old type, and I will not change until his physical death. He perfectly transmits color, almost 1:1 as my home printer.

  10. Yi says:

    That’s good. ^^
    I love my current broken laptop too, but it’s unfortunately… broken.

  11. I hope u can get a new laptop soon ^_^

  12. Yi says:

    I got one two days ago ^^.

  13. Sorry to hear about your loss… ^^; But gratz on your new acquisition! I’ve been behind on the blogrolls so I missed a lot of current happenings like yours, gomen… m(_ _)m

  14. Yi says:

    Thanks. I missed a bunch of people’s newer posts too since I had computer problems earlier. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

