Nostalgia for the 90′s

Nostalgia? Is the 90’s too recent to feel nostalgic about?

I remember when I was a kid in middle school, I used to watch MTV with my sis and bro. That was when MTV still consistently showed  nice music videos rather than focused on trash TV (Tools Academy, NEXT…)

Music videos on average were better back then too. They were more imaginative and just more fun. I am especially fed up with some of the rap videos in particular. Videos either parade booty, are focus on blings and the gangster lifestyle, or merely show the artist moving around…

Of course, there are quite a few nice videos today as well, but they are much more rare admist the crappy stuff. I am talking about stuff like Souja Boy’s Crank That.

Anyway, while browsing around other blogs (specifically, Lora’s awesome blog), I was inspired to write a 90’s music post. This song really brings back some memories.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
She’s So High by Tal Bachman

I love the song, and I love the music video, ‘Cause she’s so high, high above me. She’s so lovely. She’s so high, like Cleopatra, Joan of Arc, or Aphrodite.

Do people remember some other awesome 90’s music videos?

As a side note, sorry… Still no ACG for some of my regular readers. To make up for it though, as soon as finals are over,  I will post my review of Amaranto for my next anime entry. For those waiting on Himegami, it will come soon as well… I apologize that I have not finished editing it even though Wings of Yuri gave me the translations 2 weeks ago. It will be done by Wednesday next week for sure.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

This entry was posted in Asides, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Nostalgia for the 90′s

  1. "G" says:

    oh yea! i love this song too!!

  2. Lora says:

    “Anyway, while browsing around other blogs, I was inspired to write a 90’s music post. This song really brings back some memories.”

    Hm….My blog? ^^

    Great song choice! =D

    – Lora

  3. Yi says:

    @ G: Yep yep, awesome song.
    @ Lora: It is indeed your blog post on 90’s music.

  4. Lora says:

    Hehe, awesome.
    Where’s my credit?! *giggles*

    – Lora

  5. Yi says:

    Sorry Lora.
    Credited you and your awesome blog for bringing back an appreciation for 90’s music in me.

    http://lorawow.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/i-love-the-90s-02/

  6. Lora says:

    Don’t worry, I was just kidding. ^^

    – Lora

  7. Akira Eshi says:

    And I first saw MTV in 2003. and at that time it wasn’t the best of the music chanel.

  8. Yi says:

    @ Lora: ^ ^

    @ Akira Eshi: No, it sure wasn’t. At some point around then, it stopped being a music channel, and started being trash TV.

  9. Pingback: Pages tagged "listless"

  10. David Stock says:

    Whatever hapened to tal Bachman?? He was a good musican!

Leave a Reply

