K-On! Manga and First Thoughts

K-On! Manga
Yui and Mio

K-On seems to be one of the hottest anime this season, and for good reasons too. The girls are really really moe, especially Mio, who has the exact look and type I love.

K-On! Mio
Mio Akiyama (秋山 澪)

Before the anime version came out, I got a chance to read several chapters of the manga. I have to admit that I did not particularly enjoy it. It was not bad but it was not that good either. The manga stuck to a strict 4-panel format generally with a punchline at the end of each one. Although I did like Mio in the manga as well, the chapters just was not impressive. It felt a little bit like reading comic strips in the newspaper; you read it, you forget it.

K-On scan

However, after watching the first episode of K-On, I loved the anime. It was colorful, lively, and funny. Of course, the characters have a lot more personality and are a lot cuter when animated. Anyway, this is one anime I will continue to watch (it’s on episode 3 now I think), but as for the manga… maybe when I have nothing else to do.

Anyway, here’s the ED with a lot of Mio cuteness (plus others).

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, K-On!, Review, Yuri Anime and Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to K-On! Manga and First Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Cartoon and Manga articles news. » Archive » K-On! Manga and First Thoughts

  2. Cartoon and Manga articles news. » Archive » K-On! Manga and First Thoughts says:

    […] Originally posted here: K-On! Manga and First Thoughts […]
    P.S.: Forgot to say good post!

  3. shijima says:

    Oh, looks interesting.
    The girl on the manga cover looks sort of like Suzumiya Haruhi.
    I’ve always wanted to learn the guitar. It’s such a practical instrument and easy to carry around as opposed to say, a piano.

  4. Yi says:

    Yea, it’s definitely very interesting and worth checking out.

  5. chloë says:

    i just read your comment after mine in the forums on “blog stats” haha, how unsettleing was it when you saw the stats eeeek(!)
    – thank god i’m not the only one who freaked out x

    p.s i’ve always been a fan of their eyes🙂

  6. Yi says:

    Yea I got kind of worried.
    I’ve been a fan of anime eyes as well.

  7. xoiea says:

    Yui FTW!! Mio naaahh!! although as a bass player myself I’m not entirely skipping out some love for her ^_^
    BUT pure kawaii>shy moe …yes they are 2 entirely different meaning🙂

  8. Yi says:

    Yui is pretty cute as well.
    I suppose a major reason I like Mio more though is because of her hair style. I also like shy moe though quite a bit. Different tastes.

    I wish I knew how to play bass or just some instrument.

  9. Hei says:

    When I first heard of the series, I thought reading the manga would be better than watching the anime. It’s a good thing I chose the anime over the manga in the end now that I read this review of yours.

  10. Yi says:

    @Hei: I’ve never really been that into 4-koma’s, so I might have been a bit biased. Still I think the anime is a bit better than the manga.

  11. Pingback: The Power of Context – Brief Discourse on the Success of K-On! and Black Rock Shooter | Listless Ink

  12. Pingback: The Power of Context – Brief Discourse on K-On! and Black Rock Shooter | Listless Ink

  13. Pingback: K-On!! – Best for Last | Listless Ink

Leave a Reply

