Ga-Rei Zero

I finished watching Ga-Rei -Zero- a while ago, but I never got the chance to post my thoughts on it until now. Anyway, I like it a lot. In fact, Ga-Rei Zero is the most exciting anime I have watched lately, and certainly one of best in recent seasons. Of course, supernatural anime has always been my favorite genre, which certainly adds to my feelings for this series.

Backed by amazingly executed action scenes, the plot has great pacing as well as fantastic ups and downs. I am always wanting to see what happens next. Watching Yomi’s development is especially heart wrenching and poignant, and the ending simply beautiful.



Further, besides all the action and all the tragically sweet plots, what really makes me love this anime completely is Yomi.

Yomi is just too hot. I love お姉, I love 腹黑, and I love yanderes, Yomi is a combination of all of these. I am completely in love with yomi onee-chan. I really like her hair style too. I like bangs and long hairs, so yea…


Yomi x Kagura yuri

Kagura and Yomi’s interactions in the anime is definitely another highlight. They are so cute together. The yuri in the anime is left pretty ambiguous though. When I watched Ga-Rei Zero again with my sister, she thought that the love between Yomi and Kagura is merely sisterly. I insisted that by the end of the series, their feelings are clearly very romantic. To this, my sister said that I can not tell apart sisterly, friendly, and romantic love… However, after reading the latest chapters in the manga, Yomi and Kagura just seem to me to be so much more in love love.

I do tend to see yuri in a lot things though…. What do people think?


Loli Kagura x Yomi

Some more scans from Ga-Rei Zero and Ga-Rei (manga):


Isayama Yomi and Ranguren


Yomi and Mee. I really like Mee too. This anime is full of cute girls, yanderes, and love hate relationships.


Ga-Rei manga


Yomi comes back in the manga as a villain, just as awesome as before. Kagura is way hotter too.

The opening sequence is nice too!

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Ga-Rei, Review, Yuri Anime and Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Ga-Rei Zero

  1. shijima says:

    Oh, looks interesting. I do like cool fighting scenes.
    Hehe, a yandere is probably too scary for me, though I like tsundere.
    Hmm…the OP definitely has fluffy moments.

  2. Yi says:

    Yea the OP’s does show pretty good moments. Yandere or not, I’m sure you’ll like her too.

  3. Galaxy says:

    I loved it too!
    It was great and interesting. (:
    Glad you liked that anime as much as I do! Ehehe~

  4. foodies35 says:

    i still think their love is sisterly love from what i seen on anime. But overall, it is a great anime!!love it

  5. Yi says:

    @ Galaxy: Yes it was awesome and I loved it.

    @ foodie35: I’m glad you like it, but I think it is more than sisterly love…

  6. Kat says:

    Ahh, I loved the anime! >w< I really need to get the manga now. But man, I’m afraid the manga won’t have any of the love between Kagura and Yomi that was there in Ga-Rei -zero-. ;-;

    I think it was more than sisterly love. o.< But I’m not sure if I’m just being hopeful and bending their feelings to how I think they should be. D:

  7. Yi says:

    I just read the most recent chapter in the manga. If you have yuri goggles on, you will not be disappointed. It’s still not blatantly out there though, and the yuri still requires a bit of imagination.

  8. TheFatherCat says:

    I enjoyed Ga Rei too. (Had my yuri goggles on) Unfortunately, I agree with your sister that it is just sisterly love. *grinds my teeth* If Noriyuki wasn’t there….if Yomi wasn’t *tries to refrain from throwing up* in love in with him…nooo! I can’t do it! YomixKagura forever!!!<–a person that runs away from the truth
    On a more serious note, the anime did show many clues that Yomi did in fact had feelings Noriyuki. There is a kiss between them, Yomi cried when the engagement was called off while she was recovering in the hospital, and Yomi went to Noriyuki so he can kill her.

  9. Yi says:

    @TheFatherCat: I absolutely refuse to acknowledge that kiss happened and will not accept that there to have ever been anything between Yomi onee-chan and that minor character.
    JKJK. Deep down inside, I know you’re right… I guess all I’m hoping for is that by the end of the anime, she has come to the realization that she in fact loves Kagura even more, and in that way. But it very well might just be wistful thinking.

  10. haebo says:

    I think…Yomi went to Noriyuki because she want to test Noriyuki and herself.

    if Noriyuki kill Yomi there, then Yomi could die as she want to die.
    if Noriyuki do not kill Yomi, then Yomi is The Killer who have killed Mei nee-sang, not a killer as accused by others but The Killer as something she detest because Kagura must detest The Killer.

    To Yomi, Category A is a Human, she cannot accept that Mei is not a human. Yomi is so same-sweet girl as Kagura who cannot kill Category D.

    after Noriyuki, Yomi went to Kagura because she want to know that Kagura can kill a human. She found her Kagura cannot kill a human.

    After these test, Yomi want to destroy the World. because she is The Killer, Kagura can not be her sister, Kagura must not love her. She could not live without Kagura.

    yes, I see yuri in Ga Rei Zero and I love Yomi…

  11. haebo says:

    as a yuri fan, I may insert below :

    1. Yomi never cried out because Noriyuki, but cried for the family that she so dearly cling to now disapearing (you can hear the evil boy’s voice over at that time)

    2. Yes there are two kisses between them. but first is for Kagura’s effort. second is because Yomi need comfort that Kagura can not give her. I cannot see any Yomi’s LOVE at that scenes, for example Look the distance between them, and Who initiates the deed?

    and,

    3. Yomi Never went to Noriyuki to be killed by him. Yomi just want to know that Noriyuki can kill her. Yomi want to test Noriyuki. If Noriyuki success, Yomi can be killed, which is her wish. But If he failed, Yomi’s choice is right. Yomi is the Killer. Yomi must be the bad guy who must be detested by Kagura.

    After testing Noriyuki, Yomi went to Kagura, to find out Kagura still cannot kill a human, who is happen to be Category A Yomi.

    Kagura cannot kill Category D because they was human. Yomi cannot kill Category A because they are human. But Yomi kill Mei. So Yomi think herself as the Killer, not as accused by friends, but as Kagura-love-disappear-risked being.

    So, we can wish…

  12. Yi says:

    @haebo: Good points about Yomi, especially point #2. That’s enough for me to confirm that Yomi indeed does not love Noriyuki in a lovers relationship.
    Yuri between Kagura and Yomi is somewhat implied depending on how you infer.

    “I see yuri in Ga Rei Zero and I love Yomi…”

    Me too.

  13. haebo says:

    Hi, I recently change my theory! please let me know…

    I think, at the hospital, she realises that ‘Isayama Yuu’ killed his brother i.e. her step father. So she desided to use the evil stone because she could not forgive him, even if that means her death. You can see in episode 10 that she kills Isayama Yuu with hatred.

    So, Yomi want to be killed by Noriyoki… I accept that…but she want to say good bye Kagura first(the phone scene at episode 2 and 10).

    God, I just can get away from Yomi, what happen to me?

  14. Yi says:

    @haebo: That is certainly possible and likely.
    I think Yomi wanted to be killed by Noriyoki because she is afraid of what she might do to Kagura.

    Anyway, Yomi is just too awesome. ^ ^

  15. Such a tragic death. *sigh*

    Ga Rei Zero was just so sad. It was completely jaw dropping amazing though… ah.. I love it.

    Ah, yes! Maybe it’s just me and my dominating wishful thinking, but I see more yuri in things than others usually do… haha.

    But! I believe that Yomi and Kagura were a pair that was tragically separated.
    (Haha. I can’t believe that just made me think of Romeo and Juliet. Why is there Shakespeare in here? o_o? Erm.. lol.)

    Thanks for posting another great Ga Rei Zero erm… thought post! (<– makes no sense)

    I love it when people just post their thoughts on things. ^_^

  16. Yi says:

    @Azu~nyan Panda~~: I also see yuri in more things than others. Yomi and Kagura were certainly a very cute couple that unfortunately were separated…😦
    Thanks for your comments. I love it when people post their thoughts too. ^ ^

  17. Sellers says:

    I recently watched this series and found it quite good. I’m also compelled to assert that Yomi and Kagura’s relationship is more than sisterly. Kagura clearly values Yomi more than a simple family member: She is far more devastated by Yomi’s death than the death of say, her uncle, even after Yomi kills Kagura’s father (whose death also affects her less). In fact, the survivors of the disposal team comment on how Kagura may now kill anything, as she’s killed her one love.

    A side note: Her reluctance to kill Yomi can’t be solely attributed to the fact that Yomi still looked human; Kagura killed the nurse she was friendly with despite her appearance, and the nurse had killed far less people than Yomi.

    It’s a bit more difficult to prove that Yomi’s love for Kagura is more than sororal (which, in contrast to Firefox’s beliefs, is a word), mostly as a result as her relationship with Noriyoki. It is reasonable to consider Yomi’s relationship with Kagura Yuri under a few conditions, in spite of Noriyoki’s situation. The first possibility is that she loves (at least initially) both Nori and Kagura erotically. The second, that she only really loves Kagura.

    The first postulation is, in my opinion, very legitimate. She kisses the both of them (the argument that her kiss with Kagura was just teasing loses weight when one considers the duration and placement of the kiss [this of course, may fluctuate from society to society]). She clearly enjoys spending time with the both of them.

    The second is also legitimate by the end of the anime. Yomi calls Kagura her “last treasure” before confronting Mei (and thus, before she know her marriage with Nori has been canceled). She cuts Kagura’s shirt off before she intends to execute Kagura (notably, she does so to “end her pain”; which means she doesn’t care about or wishes to prolong Nori’s pain, who she intentionally spares). All of Kagura’s interactions with Nori were fully clothed.

    One last note, on whom Yomi picks to kill her, which I see has been discussed above. The fact that she picks Nori as her first choice is undeniable. However, the fact that this means she loves him (much less more than Kagura) is extremely debatable. First, Yomi wanted very much to die: she personally attacked the Ministry of Defense’s most elite unit, then threw sand in the eyes of the majority of Ministry of the Environments disposal teams, then treated Nori and Kagura contemptuously in order to get them to kill her*, then fought Kagura’s dad, and then tried to kill herself. In short, she may have choose Nori simply because she believed that he was more likely to kill her. This explains why she considers Nori a “coward” when he fails to do so. Also, and I believe this has been mentioned, Killing people is traumatic. Killing someone you love is especially traumatic. So choosing Nori as her executioner doesn’t necessarily show love for Nori, it shows love for Kagura, who was being spared such a terrible experience.

    *I believe that Yomi’s removal of Kagura’s clothing isn’t attributable to her attempting to get Kagura to hate her (so Kagura will kill her) for two reasons: Yomi intended to kill Kagura at that point (so it would have been pointless) and Kagura clearly doesn’t care (which Yomi probably would have known). You may reasonably attribute it to fan service, but this series is notably neglects to include fan service like that when it had the option to, so I believe that it is unlikely that that was their sole intention.

  18. Sellers says:

    ***Please Ignore Above Post, Below is a more thoroughly thought-out response with less grammatical issues submitted with a better internet connection***

    I recently watched this series and found it quite good. I’m also compelled to assert that Yomi and Kagura’s relationship is more than sisterly. Kagura clearly values Yomi more than a simple family member: She is far more devastated by Yomi’s death than the death of say, her uncle, even after Yomi kills Kagura’s father (whose death also affects her less). In fact, the survivors of the disposal team comment on how Kagura may now kill anything, as she’s killed her one love.

    A side note: Her reluctance to kill Yomi can’t be solely attributed to the fact that Yomi still looked human; Kagura killed the nurse she was friendly with despite her appearance, and the nurse had killed far less people than Yomi.

    It’s a bit more difficult to prove that Yomi’s love for Kagura is more than sororal (which, in contrast to Firefox’s beliefs, is a word), mostly as a result as her relationship with Noriyoki. It is reasonable to consider Yomi’s relationship with Kagura Yuri under a few conditions, in spite of Noriyoki’s situation. The first possibility is that she loves (at least initially) both Nori and Kagura erotically. The second, that she only really loves Kagura.

    The first postulation is, in my opinion, very legitimate. She kisses the both of them (the argument that her kiss with Kagura was just teasing loses weight when one considers the duration and placement of the kiss [my society may be different from yours, however]). She clearly enjoys spending time with the both of them. She is devastated when she feels rejected by the both of them while she recovers from the hospital. While this explanation is less satisfying for the Yuri-lovers out there, with the addition of several points below it is quite clear that if Yomi isn’t after a lesbian experience, she’s at least a entertaining a bisexual one.

    The second also becomes legitimate by the end of the anime. Yomi calls Kagura her “last treasure” before confronting Mei (and thus, before she knows her marriage with Nori has been canceled). Her last wish is to spare Kagura pain, even if it kills her – Nori isn’t even considered. She cuts Kagura’s shirt off before she intends to execute Kagura (notably, she plans to kill Kagura to “end her pain”; which means she doesn’t care about or wishes to prolong Nori’s pain, who she intentionally spares). Besides, all of Kagura’s interactions with Nori were fully clothed.

    There is one final note, which regards who Yomi picks to kill her. The fact that she picks Nori as her first choice is undeniable. However, the fact that this means she loves him (much less more than Kagura) is extremely debatable. First, Yomi wanted very much to die: she personally attacked the Ministry of Defense’s most elite unit, then threw sand in the eyes of the majority of Ministry of the Environments disposal teams, then treated Nori and Kagura contemptuously in order to get them to kill her*, then fought Kagura’s dad, and then tried to kill herself. In short, she may have chosen Nori simply because she believed that he was more likely to kill her. This explains why she considers Nori a “coward” when he fails to do so. Also, and I believe this has been mentioned, Killing people is traumatic. Killing someone you love is especially traumatic. So choosing Nori as her executioner doesn’t necessarily show love for Nori, it shows love for Kagura, who was being spared such a terrible experience.

    *I believe that Yomi’s removal of Kagura’s clothing isn’t attributable to Yomi attempting to get Kagura to hate her (so Kagura will kill her) for two reasons: Yomi intended to kill Kagura at that point (so it would have been pointless) and Kagura clearly doesn’t care (which Yomi probably would have known). One may reasonably attribute it to fan service, but this series is notably neglects to include fan service when it had the option to include it (to the series’ credit, in my opinion), so I believe that it is unlikely that that was their sole intention.

    I apologize if I seem rambling or boring. Just my thoughts and the reasoning behind them.

  19. Yi says:

    @Sellers: This pretty much wins the debate for me. ^ ^

    “Yomi calls Kagura her “last treasure” before confronting Mei (and thus, before she knows her marriage with Nori has been canceled).”
    “So choosing Nori as her executioner doesn’t necessarily show love for Nori, it shows love for Kagura, who was being spared such a terrible experience.”

    Exactly!
    Thank you for these very compelling arguments.

  20. Sellers says:

    Glad I could offer my viewpoint. Now, to use the traditional route of spreading ideas, who should we stab first to get the “Gai Rei Zero has Yuri” ideology more accepted?

  21. @Everyone ‘cos I’m too lazy to actually direct anything to anyone specifically…

    Although I’d love to see Ga Rei Zero actually fit in the category of shoujo-ai, (yuri), I don’t think Ga Rei Zero was actually an attempt at shoujo-ai wincest. (Yes, I do know they are not biologically related, but hey, if this was yuri, then that was pretty intense”sisterly love”.)

    Ga Rei Zero was just a prologue to the manga, (which then further explains things), and it *Spoilers* doesn’t really make it clear to readers that Kagura actually loved Yomi at a higher level.

    LOL… and IMHO, I thought Noriyuki was a major annoyance. =_=” Sorry, just my opinion…

    @Sellers (yes, forget that above note, I’m defying my own notes…. lol)

    Good points there, but I’d like to correct that it isn’t “one love”, it’s “most valued person” in the quote: “In fact, the survivors of the disposal team comment on how Kagura may now kill anything, as she’s killed her one love.” <— right here

    @Yi

    Oh yes…. that wins.😄

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Oooh… now my head is spinning from trying to solve all of this, but instead confusing myself… oh.. dear.😄

    Mhmm. Thanks for all the debatable arguments (wait… you're supposed to debate on arguments… ah.. *headdesk*!

    – Akira
    (I apologize if I confuse you any where in my comments… for I confused myself too. I'm also sorry for any grammatical errors… @_@)

  22. Yi says:

    @Sellers: Haha.

    @Azu~nyan Panda~~: I’ve read a bit of the manga. From what I can tell, the author does not push for any sort of yuri between the two. However, whether it exists I think is completely up to the viewer. The anime and the manga left it open enough for imagination, and so I choose to see love between the two.

  23. Sellers says:

    Hmm. That’s an embarrassing mistake. Thanks for pointing it out. Guess I was too focused on the Yomi-loves-Kagura part of the argument. I’ll go shoot myself to make up for it, brb.

  24. Yi says:

    @Sellers: Haha, the argument is still valid and convincing though. ^ ^

  25. haebo says:

    @Sellers : ‘A side note: Her reluctance to kill Yomi can’t be solely attributed to the fact that Yomi still looked human.’ I must agree with you, as now I also think Kagura will not kill Yomi because love.

    Even if Kagura knows that Yomi wanted to be killed by Noriyuki, and Kagura knows it is right thing to do to kill Yomi who should be an evil spirit, Kagura desided not to kill Yomi, but to be killed by Yomi.

    Their last battle shows subtly, but clearly, that Kagura has desided to be Yomi’s last-standby-person than a some dutiful Exorcist.

    It’s subtle, because Kagura say ‘I will kill you’ to Yomi. But it’s clearly expressed by Yomi’s I’m-NOT-believe-Your-Words reaction at Kagura’s that declaration, the battle beginning scene with a diagonal composition (which is, I believe, used to express an outside-inside-is-not-same situation), Kagura’s recall scenes of their past, and Kagura’s last confession of love. At this very moment Yomi realises Kagura’s decision to be killed by Yomi, so Yomi cuts Kagura’s sword into pieces, which could not stop Kagura’s second attempt. Hence Yomi’s Mind (Love for Kagura) has to deside their last battle’s outcome.

    And I also agree with you about Nori. I think the Phase 1,2,3-operation in the park (at ep 5) shows the phase of the relationship between Yomi-Nori, which was not even Phase 1.😉

  26. Yi says:

    @haebo + Sellers + others: Thanks again for the input. I love how you guys keep raising convincing points that I did not even think about. I saw the yuri initially only because of a gut feeling and a wistful feeling. However, now I can back it up with literary analysis!

  27. Casshie says:

    I read through the comments ans i was like ‘How did everyone think about all these points to debate with from?!’ I actually loved this show. I also actually thought Yomi loved the guy(i forgot his name). But, at the last episode, it became clear to me that Yomi loves Kagura and vice versa. I mean, just as you said semapi, it doesn’t matter if they really showed real yuri or not, it’s a matter of your thinking, whether you want them to romantically love each other or not. So i think we should all just watch the show and come with with what you like best as the ending! Again, great review🙂
    P.S: But of course, i loved YomiXKagura best =) . The guy was just meh.

    • Yi says:

      I know right? The comments here are so lovely and smart! I really enjoy reading everyone’s comments.

      I also love this anime too. I usually watch anime with heavy yuri goggles on so yea, I see a lot of potential for Yomi x Kagura, although whether an actual romantic interest exists is up to debate. I like to think they are more than just friends though. But again, yea, it’s all up to our own preferences, perspectives, and interpretations. (Talking mostly only about the anime though…)

  28. fanaddict22 says:

    Oh my God! Ga-Rei Zero! One of the most action-packed animes I’ve ever watched. Plus, it has yuri undertones. LOL. Watching them fight’s real awesomesauce, man! I love how Kagura uses Michael 13! And Yomi’s fate is just too tragic, I was all teary-eyed by the end. Amazing plot, fast-paced and action-packed. Add in some badass OP and you’ve got one hell of a show.

    And I agree with Casshie, the guy was just meh. *evil laugh*😀

    • Yi says:

      Agreed totally! The action animation in this series is amazing. All the skills, fights, youkai, Kagura, and Yomi are all so gorgeous and their movements smooth; it really was super awesome to watch them do their things. And the story is engaging as well. I definitely shed a tear or two at Yomi’s fate… Poor Yomi and Kagura…😦

      Haha, glad we all think the same of the meh guy. ^ ^

      Thanks for visiting and commenting, love. ^ ^

  29. Casshie says:

    Oh and just so if you guys did not know, the opening theme is sung by chihara Minori, who is also Kagura’s V.A.😉 though i only found out after watching the Ga-Rei live concert.

  30. NamlessX says:

    i finished watching that last week…
    T T
    almost cry out when Yomi died

Leave a Reply

