Bakuretsu Tenshi Review

Finally, an anime related post.

Bakuretsu Tenshi- Jo and Meg scan

Recently I finished watching Bakuretsu Tenshi after having put the series away for so long.

Jo, Meg, Sei, and Loli

Truth be told, this anime is quite mediocre. However, from a yuri and fan service perspective, Bakuretsu Tenshi is awesome. Lots of cleavage, lots of panty shots and wedgies, and lots and lots of yuri subtext. A typical plot that centers around Meg messing up and Jo coming to her rescue, resulting in lots of yurilicious moments… Jo x Meg is just plain hot.

Meg x Jo yuri

More importantly, Bakuretsu Tenshi packs a lot style and aesthetic panache. And although I hate mechas, I have to admit that the battle scenes are pretty good.

Mario Flamboyant [Ugetsu Hakua] scan

Jo Flamboyant [Ugetsu Hakua] scan

Meg Flamboyant [Ugetsu Hakua] scan

Meg looking very cute; she is my favorite character from the series

The ending is rather unsatisfying though. Open endings are often either hits or misses, and unfortunately, this one just didn’t work out very well for me. In fact, open endings in yuri anime are usually not to my taste. Still, Bakuretsu Tenshi is worth looking into, if only for the visual flairs and Jo x Meg yuri.

Bakuretsu Tenshi- Jo and Meg yuri

__________________________________________________
More anime and manga reviews

This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Bakuretsu Tenshi, Review, Yuri Anime and Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bakuretsu Tenshi Review

  1. piggy-san444 says:

    First, nice fresh layout. Where’d you get the banner pic?

    Second, I had the start of this anime but never put it in. It’s probably lying stagnant on one of my 4 anime HDDs. What on earth is Loli doing amonst these busty women?

    Third, OMG is Jo exploding in that last shot. I am amused by anime and MMORPGs that portray female cast in ridiculous fan-service getups while kicking @$$. I have to wonder if they can really kick @$$ in tight micro-skirts and strapless form-exploding halter-tops. ^_^

  2. Yi says:

    Banner is from a pic I drew; layout’s Ocean Mist by Ed Merrit (one of the ones you can choose using wordrpess). I used to try to design my own, and now I’ve just given up.

    Loli’s the computer tech girl of the team.

    I wonder the same things about their clothes too.

  3. StayCold says:

    The only bad thing is that the english eps are dubbed

  4. Kim says:

    Have you tried the manga? It’s all Meg and Jo, and quite yuri. Jo is also more intelligent and charming in the manga, so she seemed like a better match for Meg. It is as one of the best action yuri manga I’ve read.

    • Yi says:

      Perfect timing with this comment! I had just recently finished watching Bakuretsu Tenshi OVA and was kindly reminded of this series. I was just thinking about picking up the manga when I saw your comment. It sounds really interesting, and just my type of thing (minus the mecha)!

      Thanks for the comment. ^ ^

      • Kim says:

        Oops, just realized when I posted that I switched names around. I must have been really tired! It’s Meg that’s more charming and intelligent. Jo stays her usual badass self. I think there’s more warmth in their relationship together. Also, there’s not much mecha in the manga. Enjoy.

        • Yi says:

          That’s even better. Meg is my favorite character from the anime, and if she’s more charming in the manga, I think I’ll have a great time. And the lack of mecha is also a nice bonus.

  5. Manfred says:

    do you happen to have the download links?

    thanks😀

Leave a Reply

