A Lollypop or a Bullet

While browsing around a Chinese yuri site 百合會, I was surprised to find such a manga among the yuri materials.

A Lollypop or a Bullet manga
“Love, it really makes people despair”

A Lollypop or a Bullet is a short manga based on the book 砂糖菓子の弾丸は撃ちぬけない (Sugar Candy Bullets Can’t Pierce Anything). The plot follows two girls and their summer in a rural area.

A Lollypop or a Bullet Book
Book cover

From the start, there was a rather brooding and ominous atmosphere. As the chapters go by, the growing sense of depressing hopelessness and helplessness is just … When I got to the end, my eyes were so watery…

A Lollypop or a Bullet manga

A Lollypop or a Bullet manga

It’s a good story.

Some more pages

A Lollypop or a Bullet manga

A Lollypop or a Bullet manga
“candy bullet”

A Lollypop or a Bullet manga

A Lollypop or a Bullet manga
I rather like the ending, even though it’s so sad. I like sad endings.

This entry was posted in A Lollypop or a Bullet, Anime/ Manga, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to A Lollypop or a Bullet

  1. piggy-san444 says:

    Hey, can you email me the ending? I can’t speak Chinese (prolly won’t learn… I want to learn Japanese but that hasn’t gone anywhere).

    Like the artwork & the liberal destruction of the 4-panel format. I don’t particularly like sad endings because they sour me for so long, but at least it ends. I hate things that look like they won’t end…. and never come back.

  2. piggy-san444 says:

    I emailed you a response to your question on my site; check your junk folder please🙂

  3. Yi says:

    Sad endings can be really touching and good though.

  4. Swordwind says:

    I read the first volume, and really enjoyed it. Both the artwork and the story were very high quality. Unfortunately, I can’t find the second volume anywhere.

    You have good taste, Yi.

    • Yi says:

      @Swordwind: Thanks. This was one of my favorite shorts ever. Very deep and very touching.
      I hope you can find the other volumes though. Tranquil Springs seems to have picked this up, but I’m not sure if they’ve dropped it or not.
      Still, very very good story, especially the ending. God I love the ending.

      • Swordwind says:

        That’s good news. Also, thank you for rubbing the quality ending in my face.

        • Yi says:

          @Swordwind: Haha… Sorry about that. Good luck finding the rest of it. ^ ^
          Btw. I’m really glad someone else is interested in this. It doesn’t get enough attention and it should.

  5. Swordwind says:

    You’re probably right about that. A lot of good works get neglected, while people watch…Naruto. Thanks for your work on Drops, by the way.

  6. EmperorG says:

    How many chapters in total is this manga? I would like to give it a go but I don’t want to reach a cliffhanger and want to finish it in one sitting. Your manga reviews are just as good as your anime ones. It makes me proud to know a talented fellow reviewer as yourself. It may sound like I’m sucking up to you, but seriously, your reviews are that good. I like reading anime reviews from people who don’t criticize shows for petty reasons.

    • Yi says:

      I know it’s two volumes. I think it’s 13 chapters. I might need to double check. Anyways, as I know it, no one has completed English scanlations of this, although Tranquil Springs did partial scanlations. You might want to wait.

      I am actually considering re-reviewing this now that I have both volumes in print. It’s just such another really beautiful manga.

      “seriously, your reviews are that good”
      Awww… You’re far far too kind. ^ ^

  7. StayCold says:

    Awsesome, I feel motivated to read this! Know where I can read some scans of it? (either trad. Chinese or English) thanks ^^.

  8. haelycill says:

    i like this manga manga revew

  9. Yana says:

    you didn’t cry in the end??
    how could you be so heartless🙂 kiddin
    still very sad. and the mermaid thing she was always saying((
    even now when i remember it i want to cry
    i want to read the book that this manga was based on but i can’t find it anywhere.
    aaanyway
    good review as always🙂

    best regards,
    Yana

    • Yi says:

      Haha, just trying to hide my emotions back when I wrote the post. The truth is, I cried my eyes out at the end. It’s just so so sad. There was no way I could’ve held those tears in.

      The whole mermaid theme only made it so much more bitter. It’s… sigh…

      Anyway, I recently received both copies of the manga from a dear friend, but I still have no luck finding the book. I hope you have better luck at it than I.

      Cheer, Yana.

      p.s. I’m kind of embarrassed having this old old review dug up. It was written when the blog was just starting, and personally, I thought my posts back then were quite… amateurish and sloppy. Haha.
      p.p.s. Thanks so much for visiting!

  10. Searching says:

    Hello =)
    Can you email me the ending as well? I cant read chinese really wish to know the ending. Everyone says it’s incredibly sad and I would really like to know. I appreciate it!

    • Searching says:

      I uhh…I dont really have an account here though…

    • Yi says:

      Hm… I don’t think the ending has been scanlated. Tranquil Spring and Endless Abyss were working on it, but I think both have since dropped the project. I only have it in Chinese, so I can’t be of much help either. Good luck.

  11. Florentine says:

    I just read the manga. And boy, am I so dissapointed at how only 9 of 13 chapters was translated. I really want to know the story. Please spoil me every single necessary detail through email.
    Please…I am intrigue by the fan speculations that the girl was a child abuse victim with a damaged state of mind

    • Yi says:

      I’ll just spoil it here, my darling. (For others reading this comment, SPOILERS BEWARE!!)

      ***SPOILERS***
      The speculations are true. Umino Mokuzu is a child abuse victim who copes with domestic violence by romanticizing herself and her situation as a mermaid out of water. Eventually, however, her father goes too far.

      One night Nagisa Yamada sees the Umino’s father crying and leave his home with a huge luggage. Unsure, scared, and worried about her friend, Nagisa sneaks into his home. She finds a cleaver in the bathroom tub. When the father returns, Nagisa questions him, but he has no answers. The distraught Nagisa runs home and tells her family that she thinks Umino has been killed. Their parents don’t believe her and tried to calm her down, so Nagisa hides in her brother’s room, crying.

      After a while, her brother decides that he will go in the forest to confirm Nagisa’s fears with Nagisa. The two leaves—and her brother is able to overcome his fear of the outside world—to reach the base of the mountain. Nagisa’s brother then tells Nagisa to wait while he goes inside. After a while, he comes out and tells Nagisa that they should go home. He also tells her that there is a dismembered body of a girl in the forest. He then hands her a note that had been placed on top of the body: “turned into ocean foam.” Nagisa runs inside despite her brother telling her that it’s best not to see. She then comes upon Nagisa’s dead body…

      The rest wraps up the story. Umino’s father confesses, Nagisa’s brother joins the self-defense army, and Nagisa continues her student life. She will never forget that one summer and the lollypop bullet that can’t pierce anything.

  12. Sean Honnoraty says:

    Totally spoiled it for me but worth it! I stumbled across this manga, want to to buy it and find the novel.
    Awesome series, sad as well!

    • Yi says:

      I’m sincerely sorry if this post spoiled it for you. That was certainly not my intention. I love that you loved it though. So short, but so tragically powerful. The two volumes really impressed something awful and beautiful into my mind.

      Anyways, thanks for visiting and commenting, dear. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

