Adventure, Books, Cake, Pina

March has been kind to me, although it has been a chaotically busy time. School is now in full swing, and, with work in the morning and a vibrant social life, my time these days are productive, exhausting and slightly—very—frantic. Weekdays, I wake up at eight and am usually home at eleven at night, at which point I fall asleep fairly quickly. Saturdays are my unwinding days. I get to wake up a little later, and spend the day like a lump of lame mud splattered across my bed all afternoon. Well, the exception are those Saturdays when I have to catch up on work or study, which—come to think of it—is a bit too often. (Medicine is not for the lazy.) Sundays are much of the same, albeit with the looming Monday ahead. But I love having a rhythm to this new pace of life wildly different from that of, say, California, or even just last year around this time.

__________________________________________________

Birthday Yi Adventure Time

A little over a week ago was my birthday. A true Aries, it fell on the first day of the first sign, ruled by Mars, marked by the ram and by a sincere, naïve passion. The celebration is nothing less than that.

Birthday Yi Books Haruki Murakami Norwegian Wood Alchemist Paulo Coelho

Some presents and a very heartfelt, personal card. I consume a lot of books nowadays with this new schedule in the downtime between classes and work, in lectures, and on the metro. Five minutes here, half-hour there, reading is a nice way to pass the time. I love this thoughtful set!

Birthday Yi Nachos

A feast of Mexican food. Good, hearty Mexican cuisine in Taiwan is a rare treat.

Birthday Yi Cake

Cake from a home-styled pâtisserie. Mr. Bruno lives in his apartment on the fifth floor with his kitchen modified into a bakery. To get to our cake, we found our way inside the building, greeted his wife and cat, and sat in his home for a while.

Pina Bausch Le Sacre du Printemps Taiwan

Last night, I had a chance to visit the National Theater in Taipei to see Tanztheatre Wuppertal Pina Bausch’s brilliant works: Café Müller and Le Sacre du Printemps. We had gotten the best seats in the VIP lounge to see this world-class performance. The experience was so intensely, overwhelmingly emotional. The movements, the story, and the jarring display of femininity and power left a stark imprint.

This was perfect!

__________________________________________________

It really has been too long.

I promise you this though: I am still around, and I will be updating, however sparsely that may be. I have something spicy lined up, but it will have to wait until after the string of midterms in April.

About Yi

''lol...you're either sleeping or eating'' ''oh and watching anime'' ''and indulge in fashion.'' ... Ahh the busy life~
This entry was posted in Gallery, Life Update and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Adventure, Books, Cake, Pina

  1. seinime says:

    Glad to see that you are still around, and enjoying some precious food eye candy at that. Good luck on your midterms!

    • Yi says:

      Thank you! It’s been a while since I saw you, seinime dear. There are still quite a few midterms coming up, so I definitely need all the luck I can get. ^ ^

      • seinime says:

        Same here, same here. Enjoy your trip as well! I remember you did something similar last year as well?

        • Yi says:

          Yes, maybe? I take a trip once in a while, usually around stressed times. (Though when is it ever not a stressed time? Heh) I took a brief respite a few days ago to rural Taiwan, and it was pleasant. I’m not sure when my next one will be. Perhaps I’ll fly to see my brother and sister in May.^ ^

  2. oooooooh belated happy birthday dear Yi-chan~ and I think that even from this post it appears you’ve changed a bit, positively I mean. There’s sparkling energy pouring out from your words and I’m very happy for you~ I’m also very glad for the upcoming post :) I can’t wait! Good luck with your exams in the meantime!

    • Yi says:

      Haha, maybe I have changed a bit, and hopefully for the better. Thank you, Foxy Lady Ayame dearie. You’re one of the reasons I keep coming back to blogging. ^ ^

      • You put such a big smile on my face right now! Let’s keep blogging and making memories~ You should know that I consider you a dear friend, too :D

        • Guy says:

          When I think of Yi I think “Akiyama Mio”, there’s something that makes you think “Dear” when you think of Yi. I agree.

          (Tries not to butt in too much)

        • Yi says:

          @Foxy Lady Ayame: I consider you a dear friend too, love. ^ ^

          @Guy: Haha thanks. That’s a wonderful compliment; I’m blushing a bit!

  3. Overlord-G says:

    Cool cake. Princess Bubblegum riding on a loaf-shaped Jake. Keep up the good work and have fun while working your butt off to minimize the monotony.

  4. John Sato says:

    Happy late birthday Yi! Glad you’re keeping busy!

    • Yi says:

      Thanks, John Sato. ^ ^
      The only downside to keeping myself so busy is that I have very little time for anime and hobbies. But, I suppose I am settling into another phase of life now, so it’s all part of the trade-off. I’ll try to stick around a little further though.

      • Guy says:

        Busy, we’re always busy, the only question is doing what. I mean, being busy with anime and hobbies is still being busy, and is srs bsns!

        Yeah, working full time, school, and dating, and well, League of Legends together conspired to take me away as well, but I’ve decided to make the time.

        • Yi says:

          That’s a fair point. I suppose that comment refers to my own approaches to anime and hobbies and academics and work. The former two, I’ve always afforded them a casual mind frame, while the latter two I’ve always placed them with a more serious zeal. The former “relaxation”, and the latter “business”. Hence, busy.

          Of course, we all have our own emphasis on what makes busy. It sounds like you’ve found your balance. I’m glad, darling. ^ ^

          And hopefully, I will be comfortable in mine.

        • Guy says:

          Comfortable is easy, I hope you’d be happy.

          (I am not entirely comfortable with mine yet, coming back to blogging is a way I redressed an issue that was troubling me.)

  5. Cratex says:

    Sounds like grad-school. I looked forward to Sunday’s because I had time to do laundry and it was an excuse to not be writing out equations…

    • Yi says:

      Haha yep yep. For me, I love my Saturdays. It was the one day of a week that I can afford not to go outside at all. Then perhaps Sunday or Wednesday. … Although I should probably be studying on these days too.

      Medical school can certainly be a stressful experience, Indeed, graduate school, med school, or whatever higher education can all be a bit difficult, but hopefully it will be worth the time. Cheers, Cratex! ^ ^

  6. jrdp_18 says:

    Belated happy birthday! I hope you have a good year.

  7. Guy says:

    Belated happy birthday.

    Keep at it :)

  8. Hi! (Or Machi, whatever) says:

    Happy Birthday Yi!
    by the way, the adventure time drawing is very cute!
    And as you said “Medicine is not for the lazy”, yhea is true. That’s why I can’t even think of studying medicine. I have a friend that is planing to start studing medicine next year. Admirable.
    Hope you are doing well!

    • Yi says:

      Yea! I was so pleasantly impressed and surprised by the card. When she handed it to me, I let out a little yelp and a big wow. Toast Jake and Princess Bubblegum jam are just too cute. (The inside is even cuter, but that’s personal. ;)) Anyways, thanks for the good wishes. I hope the best for you too, Machi dear. ^ ^

  9. darkandchoco says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Those books are quite good!! Have fun in reading them. :)

    • Yi says:

      I hope so! I’m very excited about reading these. I probably should have already, but it’s so hard to squeeze out time. In any case, now I have these lovely gifts—which by the way, books are always the right choice—I should be able to find the time.

      Anyways, thanks, darkandchoco dear. ^ ^

  10. jreding says:

    Belated happy birthday, dear Yi! The cake looks delicious. From the picture the theatre performance must have been awesome. Did they have Taiwanese actors/ dancers (as most of them look Asian on the picture)? Good luck with your mid-terms!

    • Yi says:

      Yea, Pina’s choregraphy and the dance group is so incredibly powerful! The whole experience was a blast. Just excellent.

      As for the dancers, although based in Germany, they come from all over the world, including a few from Taiwan among other Asian countries.

      If you’re interested—and you should be!—check out Tanztheatre Wuppertal’s website. http://www.pina-bausch.de/en/dancetheatre/
      Under ensemble and guests, you can find a list of the dancers.
      I also highly recommend the movie, Pina: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1440266/

      Anyways, thanks for the good wishes. ^ ^

  11. Jose says:

    With a lot of study i forgot to congratulate you… so belated happy birthday!!!
    i can see that you enjoyed your day jajajajajaja.
    see you and good luck!!

  12. nyaataku says:

    Oh Goodness. Sooooooooo late belated birthday Yi-chan !! ^ ^ Wish you the best year ever! Good Luck in your studies, blogging, life, and future !! Don’t overwork yourself too much!
    I want some cakeeeee!! XD

    P.S. Love Norweigen wood! I cried thought the story T_T **sniff**

    • Yi says:

      And a rather belated reply from me, nyaataku darling. ^ ^

      Thanks for all the good wishes, and I’ll try not to overdo it.

      p.s. I can’t wait to read Norwegian Wood. ♥

  13. it’s better to be late than never
    Happy birthday Yi! :D

  14. Kai says:

    Super belated birthday to you, lol ^^”

    I had always wondered how some people like you were able to consume books through “downtime”. I had been trying to read some books and even some light novels but it’s hard to read them through downtime alone. There are short in nature, and sometimes, the current environment, makes it harder to concentrate. In the end, it gets harder to absorb the content of the books.

    I actually find it more easier to just read a few manga chapters since there are faster to read through, so I always make sure to stock up on a few manga on my phone, lol. It gets a bit awkward though when the manga I’m reading turned up with some mature content (books are preferable in this case since it’s all text) so I had to hide my phone screen a bit from any people surrounding me ^^”

    • Yi says:

      Thank Kai. ^ ^ I made this post weeks after my birthday, and now I’m replying super late as well, so no worries there.

      I stretch my time pretty thin these days. My downtime comes mostly from less relevant, and easier lectures and on the metro. My job on a slower day also offers some reprieve. When it’s not exam time, I try to slip a little bit of reading in those half-hour, hour blocks. When it is exam time, though, I spend all my time studying… or resting.

      It is hard to concentrate in those environments, however, but I’ll take what I can get. Usually, it takes a little bit to get started, but once I get started, I can tune out the professor’s talk or the chatter on the train.

      I definitely agree about the manga. In fact, these days, I’m reading a lot more manga than I am watching anime. It’s just so much easier and the timing is better. I don’t have as much of an issue about having to keep my reading material discreet though. Best of luck to you on that. ^ ^

      Anyways, thank again, hun, for the birthday wishes. Cheers! ^ ^

  15. Andrew B says:

    Happy belated birthday by two months. The cake with PB and Jake was really cool. I know exactly how you feel with blogging. I haven’t had much time over the last few months with taking a class to get ready for grad school (I got accepted back in February to start my Masters of Library and Information Science degree in a few months) and i started a full-time job back at the university back in July of last year so it kind of eats away at my blogging time just a bit in which my numbers show it. But I am trying my hardest to get back into the game little by little. It’s been a while since I stopped by, but I am still alive and still an anime junkie. Take care Yi and I can’t wait to see what you have in store ;)

    • Yi says:

      Belated congratulations on your acceptance to grad school. I have a friend who just finished his library and information master’s too, and it sounds pretty awesome! I hope you’ll enjoy it too. ^ ^

      Anyways, yea, it’s really hard to get back into blogging with so little hours in a day. In fact, it’s even hard to find the time and energy to watch anime at all, but I’ll try to stick around for a little longer.

      It’s good to see you, Andrew, and I’m glad you stuck around too~ Cheers hun!

Leave a Reply

