Guest Write for Listless Ink!

patchouli knowledge touhou jq

As most of you know by now, I am in Taiwan. It has been quite a drastic change at this stage of my life; so drastic, in fact, that I am finding it increasingly difficult to do all the things I want to do. Trying to juggle all these things at this pace—school, social life, cultural acclimation, and personal projects—is at once extremely stressful and exciting. However, it really is hard to keep weekly updates here. Although things may yet change again when the transitional stage ends and the school year actually starts (for better or worse), I trust I can at least keep a reasonable pace.

Still, I need some help.

And this is where you come in! I would so love to have guest bloggers contribute posts every now and then.

kirisame marisa patchouli knowledge touhou ke-ta

I have mentioned interest in having guest posts some time ago; I have also tried it a few times with great success. I am so fortunate and grateful to have AJtheFourth be my first, followed by 2DT—do go check them out! Their brilliance has given me confidence and hope that even if I am too listless after some especially tough days, there are people more insightful and more articulate who may be willing to contribute.

So if anyone is interested in having a guest post hosted on Listless Ink, just contact me via email, Twitter, or some way.

Here are (unfortunately) some conditions for the guest post:

  1. I have to know who you are. This probably sounds very egotistical, but Listless Ink is, after all, a personal blog, a blog driven by personality and by an unspoken trust between loose friends. Please don’t let this deter you though! If you are thinking about guest posting, then you are probably fine.
  2. Send me your idea first. It does not have to be a draft or even all that fleshed out, but what I am looking for are guest posts, not just an indication of interest.
  3. Your post should be on theme with the blog. For the same reasons stated earlier, I would like to keep the essence of Listless Ink. Of course, what is on theme is totally up to you. (But please, oh gosh please, no internet memes.) One little note: I would prefer commentaries instead of reviews and personal experiences (e.g. how I got into anime). This is a very flexible thing, and if you think you have a great review, by all means, I would love to have it. But just something small to keep in mind.
  4. After the guest post is posted, please try to reply to all the comments for at least a little while. If you do not want to do that, let me know in advance, and I will simply turn the comments off.
  5. Finally, unique content is pretty important, so yea… I’m not really looking for single paragraphs on “cool Japanese items and news” type of things.

I apologize for all these conditions, especially because I am asking for your favors, and I really don’t have much to offer the guest bloggers. I cannot boast the traffic of major blogs nor the reputation of incredible writers. I also cannot pay you. The only things I can give are my gratitude and my love (which I guess is not really worth all that much).

Still, this blog has been my baby for the last three—quickly approaching four—years. All the efforts, energy, research, toils, people, and pride that went and still go into maintaining this blog… The feelings are hard to put into words. Suffice it to say, I want to keep this alive forever, or at least as long as possible—let the contents flow and the people engage. So if anyone is interested in contributing, much loves and thanks!

About Yi

''lol...you're either sleeping or eating'' ''oh and watching anime'' ''and indulge in fashion.'' ... Ahh the busy life~
This entry was posted in Asides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

90 Responses to Guest Write for Listless Ink!

  1. enri says:

    Hi!
    You forgot to put 6. Preferably Yuri :)
    PS. I’m too dimwitted to even try to write a post here, but i’m sure there will be plenty contestants ^.^

    • Yi says:

      Haha! I actually don’t mind non-yuri posts though; in fact, only probably around 20-25% of my posts are yuri. It’s weird how this has been sort of typecasted as a yuri blog over the years.

      Anyway, give yourself more credit!

  2. Seinime says:

    Your post should be on theme with the blog. For the same reasons stated earlier, I would like to keep the essence of Listless Ink.

    What themes did you have in mind? I see fashion, culture, history, reviews, a plethora of topics.

    The only things I can give are my gratitude and my love (which I guess is not really worth all that much).

    You can’t put a price on things like that.

    • Yi says:

      I don’t actually have anything in particular in mind. (Though I do kind of know what I don’t want to see.) I left it intentionally very vague so that the authors make their own decisions. Take for example, AJtheFourth’s lovely post on FLCL’s Ninamori. Even though I’ve never written about FLCLm, it’s on theme because it’s a character study on a female character. So really, as long as it’s not something blatantly contrary to what I usually do, it’s fine.

      “You can’t put a price on things like that.”
      Awww thanks. ^ ^ (But is it because they’re worthless? :3)

      • Seinime says:

        (But is it because they’re worthless? :3)

        A-Are you kidding me?! They’re priceless because it’s one of the things money can’t buy! No way it’s worthless.

        I think I get what you’re saying and I do have a post in mind already, but I’ll do my research/homework first before putting up a draft.

  3. I will totally write a guest post or two for you. All yuri-focused of course. Hell maybe I’ll cover Katahane for ya~

    • Yi says:

      Hehe. Just email me when you have something set. I am going to cover Katahane myself sometime in the far far future, but it’d be interesting to see someone else do it as well.. ^ ^

  4. MyHatsOffToYou says:

    Don’t apologize for the conditions; they’re what makes this site fun to read and interact

    Of course your love is worth a lot; otherwise, this blog site wouldn’t be fun then would it?

    I thought this site’s been here for a lot longer than 3-4 years….

    I wish I can contribute, but I barily passed my English for post secondary entrance requirement; guess the only place for me here is the comment area T_T

    • Yi says:

      Thanks MyHatsOffToYou! Glad you enjoy the love. ^ ^

      It’s a bit unexpected to hear that you thought the blog has been around for longer than 3-4 years. I was under the impression that most people had the opposite mindset. I remember when I hit three years almost a year ago, there were a few comments from some people who were surprised to hear the age and who had thought my blog was a new blog at three years.

      Don’t worry hun. Any contribution is lovely. If you do want to write a post, I’ll be happy to look it over. If not, I love you anyways. ^ ^ I really enjoy our interactions in the comment sections!

  5. dai1313 says:

    Hmmm, I still think I need to gain a few levels before I go and do a guest post anywhere. Perhaps someday.

    • Yi says:

      Have more confidence! I was a bit scared that the conditions might turn writers off… :(

      Anyway, if you ever do come up with something, I’d love to see it someday. ^ ^

  6. feal87 says:

    Good luck with your search. Hope you’ll find some nice guest poster!
    I am completely out-of-league to be able to write posts at your levels Yi. :D

    • Yi says:

      Thanks, feal87!! I hope I do get some awesome guest posts and writers. Anyway, though we may have really different writing styles and blog on different topics/ formats, I do respect and admire what you’ve done with your own blog and productivity. ^ ^

  7. Baka-Raptor says:

    Five conditions are too many. I’ll settle for two conditions and some ShizNat.

    • Yi says:

      Fine fine Baka! I’ll make an exception just for you. I’ll cut the conditions down to two: number 2 and number 4. I’ll even throw in a super hot ShizNat image.

      Shizuru Natsuki ShizNat doujin Dorapanda

      Now you owe me a post. ^ ^

  8. Ristlin says:

    Great idea to finally really start on this guest writers thing~ I hope for the best for this blog, and for your new life in Taiwan~ Good luck~!!!

  9. hoshiko says:

    I thought it was a great idea to put up those conditions. Then you’ll be getting exactly what you want to have on this blog, which is always a good thing. Really, there’s nothing to apologize about.

    And good luck! I hope you’ll settle down nicely in Taiwan and get into the rhythm real soon.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, it’s pretty important for myself that there is a sense of flow and coherency flowing through this blog, even if not all the contents came from my pen. While I wouldn’t say I know exactly what I want–it’s a reason I kept things somewhat vague, even if restricting–but I do know what I don’t want, and I do believe that I will get posts that will be exactly what I want in the end.

      Anyway, thanks. I really want to get my groove going too. I think once school actually starts, things will stabilize, which would be nice even if it is a busier schedule. What’s really frustrating right now are the unknowns and the running around trying to get things ready.

  10. Nopy says:

    That sounds like a good idea to keep things rolling while you get back up on your feet. I find time to be lacking in my life too, so I don’t know if I’d be able to contribute anything. If I do end up with an extra post though, I’ll send it your way.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, I think this is a busy time for a lot of people, either with school, jobs, career, or whatever. Anyway, if you do end up with something extra, I’d love to read it!! Thank you, Nopy. ^ ^

  11. Justin says:

    Uh-oh–sounds like I’ll be doing some thinking on this one Yi^^ I’ll say 80% chance I’ll try and write on here!

  12. Casshie says:

    Hmm..I wonder if a person with no experience in blogging and have no blog do a guest post?
    That said, how do we get you to know us(Condition 1)?XD Anyway, trying to guest post here could be hard, but we should never give up!(~Cliche Speech~)

    • Yi says:

      Yes of course! Anyone can guest post as long as they meet the conditions (including number 5).

      Anyway, I feel like I already kind of know you, Casshie. At least I recognize your name. I guess there isn’t really one way–as long as I’ve interacted with you to some extent either via the comments of this blog or elsewhere, it’s fine. ^ ^

      Casshie, if you’re interested and have an idea, just email me and we can talk. ^ ^

  13. 2DT says:

    I’m on it. I can’t do just the one; it’s like eating Pringles. ;) But it’ll be a while, I’m afraid.

    • Yi says:

      You know you’re always welcome anytime, anywhere, anything. No conditions needed either, darling. ^ ^

      p.s. If you remember, I do still owe you a post: http://goo.gl/pCHcp
      I have something in mind, but I am a bit overwhelmed recently, so ditto on the time.

  14. gozieson says:

    Don’t ask me for posting stuff on your blog…

    Why I no know Japan????? T.T

    • Yi says:

      If you’re interested, just let me know. The post doesn’t necessarily have to be about Japan, although I would prefer to keep internet memes out of posts. But that’s just my style I guess. ^ ^

  15. yunra13 says:

    oh that sounds like a good idea for you. And appealing. :P

    Wish you all the best to all the happenings in your life. Don’t forget to take a breather and have fun from time to time!

    P.s. I LOVE that first Patchouli image, beautiful and slightly haunted-looking.

    • Yi says:

      Thanks Yunra. It’s been kind of overwhelming over these past three weeks to be honest, but I am so so happy that I was able to talk to you over Twitter. You keep me feeling warm and motivated. So thank you. You’re awesome! ^ ^

      Best of luck with your life too, love~

      Anyway, glad you like that first Patchy. I thought her expression kind of matches my feelings of approaching dangerously close to burn out loll.

  16. Valence says:

    I’ll really consider writing a guest post for ya’, Yi. And I like how you laid out some guidelines…. I learnt to do so the hard way, haha.

    • Yi says:

      Sure thing Valence. Just email me in advance of your idea. ^ ^

      Anyway, it’s always a hard balance because we bloggers have an ideal for our blogs, and sometimes that ideal is pretty specific to our styles. It’s our own personality and our own aesthetics. I think when we open our blog up, it’s always hard to incorporate a different perspective into it, but hopefully, these guides will make things a little more smoothly without stepping on toes.

  17. Aya says:

    No need to apologize ^^ , Unfortunately I am not a good writer and barely watch anime currently only follow 4 series now, All the Best for your Life :D

    • Yi says:

      You’re a fine writer, Aya! Even if we do blog on fundamentally different things, I do enjoy reading your blog.

      Anyway, bests for your life as well. ^ ^

  18. @fkeroge says:

    It would be an honor if I got to write for your blog sometime in the future :D. I finished playing Katahane just a few days ago and I had wanted to blog about it here, but it seems someone else has taken the opportunity ^_^;. I do have some things to say about some of the other series that I’m keeping up with. I don’t know if my writing style will pass your standards, but I’ll try my best.

    • Yi says:

      Katahane seems to be a very popular topic that everyone wants to blog about. ^ ^

      Anyway, feel free to email me, but do keep in mind the new addendum. I’m not exactly looking for reviews, but rather, some sort of commentaries to come with the post. Have fun!!

  19. ~xxx says:

    No need to feel sorry about that, asides few guidelines should help in upholding a good post.
    I wish I could get to do a post of some kind of ideas that will run inside of my mind.
    I hope I’ll find time to write…( because my top 30 and my review on one certain show is coming sooner.)

  20. Swordwind says:

    I’m glad you’re taking steps that will let you relax, even if only a little bit.

    I’ll be looking forward to when you have enough time to write more, though.

    Take care~

    • Yi says:

      Thanks, doll. ^ ^

      I was actually pretty hesitant to do this, but I really just don’t have the time in recent weeks to keep up with everything, so yea. Hopefully once things settle in and my life gets into its groove, I’ll be writing much more again.

      Take care of yourself as well, Swordwind! Always happy to hear your words~

  21. Cell says:

    Hey Yi, although I am interested in writing a guest post, I’m not sure if I qualify for writing on your blog. I guess term 1 and 5 are more iffy for me. But, if it would be possible for me to write a post here, I’d die of happiness. I hope that you adjust to your new life in Taiwan, and that you don’t stress yourself out. Always take a break when you need to. There’s no point in working too hard if the result isn’t positive in the end. I wish you good luck.

    • Cell says:

      Oh, I forgot! Also, happy Zhong Qiu Jie, Yi!

    • Yi says:

      Thanks Cell! I’m adjusting decently I guess. The people here are so kind and lovely, (well, most are), so they’ve been pretty helpful. It is super hard right now to find any time for hobbies, but yea… Hopefully things will slow down eventually.

      Anyway, you’re definitely fine on term 1. As for 5, just send me your idea, and we’ll find out. ^ ^

      p.s. I’m not a very good writer myself though so you don’t have to worry. I don’t have a ridiculously high standard at all.
      p.p.s. Hope you had a good 中秋節 as well.

  22. MkMiku says:

    Hmm… 3rd person I’ve read this week looking for guest writers. Must be the new semester. >.< Anyway, I understand the situation you're in. I'm pretty busy as well. Currently, I've been finding myself writing my blog posts that very night. x.x Hardly had any personal time over the summer, but your situation seems even more severe. Anyway, I hope you find someone with a similar writing style. I'll continue to visit your blog, as I find your efforts very admirable.

    • Yi says:

      I know right? Seems like a lot of people are super busy around this time of the year. And with school starting, it really is near impossible to find the free bulk of time necessary for me to write a decent post. Hope you’re doing better than me… And good luck with everything!

      Also, thank you so so much for the good wishes. ^ ^

  23. glothelegend says:

    I would totally do this if:

    1. I was actually good at writing.
    2. I had ideas for posts.
    3. I hadn’t been pretty much absent from the anime world for the past several months.
    4. I had faith that I wouldn’t completely destroy the reputation of Listless Ink.
    5. I could actually commit to stuff.
    6. I could keep going with this LIST, but I don’t have enough INK. (that didn’t even make sense…don’t blame me, I’m sick).

    And how come people write less when school starts? It’s the exact opposite for me. I write way more posts when school starts and I have nothing to do. I barely watch anime in the summer (it’s nice out!)

    • Yi says:

      Wow, I’m surprised that when school starts, you have nothing to do. I’m in school from pretty much 8 am to 11 pm now with all the classes, activities, and social stuff… It’s… really quite exhausting. So looking forward to the weekend.

      Anyway, it’s the thought that counts. ^ ^

  24. Ryo_kun says:

    This is obviously way out of my league, haha. But i’m just dropping by to say – all the best on finding a guest bloger, Yi. Hope I still get to read more of your posts in the near future XD

    • Yi says:

      Thanks Ryo_kun. And I don’t think it’s way out of your league. You might surprise yourself. ^ ^

      Anyway, I hope I can still get to write relatively often as well… Speaking of which…

  25. wieselhead says:

    Seems very difficult to get used to the life in Taiwan, but I guess its just a matter of time until you get more used to it.

    I would like to give you a post of mine, but I don’t feel that suited for writing here.
    Your writing style is way too good ;)

    Anyway atm Im writing on a post about the Cardcaptor Sakura anime and If I think it turned out good enough I would give you a note. Don’t worry I won’t get angry in case you don’t want it at all :D. I have one question, Am I still allowed to post the post on my own blog after I presented it here?

    take care, Yi ^_^

    • Yi says:

      It is a bit tough to get used to this pace. I think I was living in too relaxing of a life before, so yea, the sudden switch to such an incredibly busy lifestyle is a bit jarring.

      Anyway, I would love to host something of yours on this blog if you do have an extra post. However, I will not unfortunately have a post that is also posted somewhere else. The piece should be for this blog only. Also, keep in mind, I would prefer not to have reviews, but rather some sort of commentary.

      Thank you so so much for the thought, and take care yourself. ^ ^

      Cheers, wieselhead!

  26. Snark says:

    You should get me to guest write. I’d write an article once every two years, and will just accuse your readers of pedophilia.

    • Yi says:

      Whoa, when did you get back into the blogosphere?? I feel like I haven’t seen you in forever! But yea, if you’re interested, just shoot me a draft or an idea, and we can talk about it. ^ ^

  27. Itachi says:

    I’m not a good writer, but I wish you all the best and hope you find a great guest writer. Go Yi! XD

  28. TRazor says:

    Me writing at ListlessInk is like a fresh little-league football player playing in the English Premier League.

    I would love to write here, but I fear I’ll bring down the quality of ListlessInk. My writing lacks the refinement of yours and 2DT’s. I’ll just let you decide whether it’s OK with you or not…

    But more importantly, you take care and have fun Yi :) We’ll always wait for you.

    • Yi says:

      If you have an idea or a draft, just shoot me an email. ^ ^

      And thanks. I’ll try my best to enjoy all this business, but yea…

      Cheers, TRazor!

  29. ajthefourth says:

    Ahh…I need to go finish that post I started for you forever ago…these two days off I have are probably the perfect time.

    Also I think you underestimate how much your gratitude and love are appreciated. ^ ^ I was honored when you agreed to host my first post, since it’s evident how much time, effort, love, and personality you have poured into this blog. I’m still honored at the ability to possible have a post here, and also warmed by how our relationship has evolved because of it. Best of luck with everything, I’ll try to get on the ball and finish that post for you.

    • Yi says:

      Yes Em! I’m still waiting on those posts, my love. ^ ^

      Anyway, thanks for the kind words. Likewise, I’m honored you were the first to start this little project here. You make me feel warm too, hun~

      Thanks again! Also, I haven’t been able to check up on you recently over Twitter, so I kind of miss you… :( Hope you’re doing well.

  30. Good luck, Yi! Just wanted to stop by and say that while I find that this blog doesn’t contain much of anything I’d personally write about, I still come back to read it time and time again to see what you have to say. In the meantime, hope everything goes well in Taiwan! Don’t work yourself to death, that would give all new meaning to your blog title! ;)

    I’m sure there will be plenty of awesome guest blog posts. The aniblogger (is that the correct abbreviation? I don’t know these things…) seems like a cool community with a lot of co-operation. And the ones you’ve gotten before were great!

    • Yi says:

      I suppose we do blog on different topics, although you’d be surprised how we also overlap, I think. Anyway, haha yea. I’ll try to balance everything.

      This blog did start in with a listless mindset though…

  31. Overlord-G says:

    I just type, type type whenever I’m free or feel like it. You know how our friendship status is like right now so no need to explain anything. Hmm, contributions…I dunno. What CAN I contribute that you already have?

    Anyway, I wish you the best of luck in your weekly battle against the necessary evil that is college life. 2 (Or possibly) 3 more years to go on my side. Fighto Yi-san. Take care, wash your hair. You know the rest.

    • Yi says:

      You’re contributing so much already just with your comments and support, so thank you so so much! ^ ^

      Anyway, college life is not at all evil. It’s super fun, but also just super busy.

      Best!

  32. Good luck finding guest bloggers! I’d volunteer but I still haven’t given up on my own blog! Plus I’m a bit unreliable when it comes to how often I blog

    • Yi says:

      I’m not actually looking for a co-author, but just guests. Single posts and such. So if you ever have something that you’d like hosted here, just let me know. It doesn’t mean at all that you have to leave your blog.

      Anyway, have fun with everything~

  33. Bladezer says:

    Man I really would like to write for your blog but I have a distinct lack of being able to write non-fiction areas. Still I wish you luck in this venture (trying to sound smart and sophisticated).

  34. Snippett says:

    I’d like to help out but I don’t have any topic right now that I can share off the top of my head, and looks like you already have so many volunteers–more qualified ones ^^

    Anyway, I really wish you well, and I hope to read more posts from your blog. ^^

    • Yi says:

      It’s the thought that counts! Thanks Snippett. When you do have something in mind, be sure to let me know~ I would definitely love to see your stuff here!!

      Best. ^ ^

  35. saraneth says:

    Stumbled upon your blog only yesterday!! (Been reading your posts XD) So, I am curious. You’re in Taiwan!!? I am from Taiwan, and it’s rare for me to see an English aniblog owner that is in Taiwan. Just, wow.

    • Yi says:

      Yep yep. I am in Taiwan now. Anyway, I think there might be a few other Taiwanese bloggers blogging anime in English, but yea, we’re a fairly rare breed when compared to some other Asian countries.

      Anyway, the reason I’m blogging in English probably has to do with my spending most of my life in California, so I’m far more comfortable writing and talking in English than in Chinese.

      Thanks for dropping by, saraneth. ^ ^ I hope you visit again! It’s always lovely to hear from another person from Taiwan~

  36. Pingback: Learning the Art of Love: Yuri versus BL (on Listless Ink) « 2-D Teleidoscope

  37. Marow says:

    Wow, I would never have guessed that this many would help. I guess this is why I love the community :)
    I hope your life goes well too.

    I have to admit that it is tempting to guest write, but I cannot come up with any topic right now (I should stop trusting my memory and instead write down my ideas). If anything, I could translate a thing I wrote about region locks in Swedish. But I believe it would not fit with the mood of this blog, as it is more of a “dang why don’t we have it here, what a bother” than a deeper analysis. Oh well, I could always come up with anything else!

    • Marow says:

      Forgot to throw in the link, if you were curious http://loading.se/blogg.php?user_id=26244&blogg_id=23870
      You could always use Google Translate, but honestly, it doesn’t make much sense then.

    • Yi says:

      Thanks, Marow, for the good wishes.

      Many have offered support and ideas, and for that I thank them. As for what actually gets finished, we’ll see. 2DT is super lovely though (check the most recent post on this site!)

      Anyway, your post looks super interesting. Unfortunately, I can’t read Swedish, so I can only get a loose idea of what it’s about, and lose on the nuances and details. I wish I could understand it though. It might not fit the theme of this blog, but it sure would be a fun read!

  38. TheBigN says:

    I’ll write up a post and e-mail it over to you. Sounds fun, and I’ll try my best to make it good enough for you to post over here. :P

  39. I really don’t have any good ideas, but I do have one forming in my mind just now (which is why I held off commenting up to now until I could think of a good idea for a post). I have no idea whether it would fit with your blog’s theme, but if you like, I’ll send you my idea through Twitter if you’d like to hear more. Though it seems like you already have a lot of great volunteers. ^_^

    • Yi says:

      Sure thing! I’d love to hear your idea. Feel free to email me or tweet me anytime. ^ ^

      Anyway, the response has been great. Everyone’s soooo nice. You included, of course. Thanks, Ephemeral Dreamer!

  40. TheBigN says:

    Is the only way to e-mail you via the link?

    And that being said, is there still a need for entries?

    • Yi says:

      No, you can tweet me too or just drop a comment.

      And yes, yes, and more yes. I saw your email today actually, but sorry for the late response. I just haven’t had a chance to reply to emails during weekdays. And this weekend has been… emotionally exhausting. But yea thank you so much. I’m delighted to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

