Personal Note

This post is a personal note on some changes to come in my life.

hakurei reimu touhou yakumo yukari

Some time ago, I mentioned I was applying to medical school. That was my post-college plan. As I waited to hear back from various schools, a lot of things happened, some good, but more bad. And my life went in a sort of transition, flying and living for a few months here and there.

Recently, I started hearing back from medical schools. Fortunately, I got accepted into some prestigious institutions. (Congratulations me!!) And, so ends an aimless time.

Here is the twist. Because of stuff that happened earlier in the year—the reason for all that moving—I also applied to medical schools in Taiwan, who has also offered me a position.

Now I am faced with a pretty heavy life decision. Do I stay in the US or do I go to Taiwan?

Both are fairly permanent moves at least for the next decade or so. This really is something that pretty much demanded most minutes of my thoughts for the last few weeks. (Regular readers here might have noted my lack of attention to this blog, to responding, or to just general anime watching.)

After considering many factors—my role, home situations, and various other things, with which I do not want to bore you—I will be leaving the US at the end of this summer. Taiwan is a wonderful, busy place with a lot of opportunities.

I will, however, miss a lot of things. Of course, this will be a huge cultural change. The language, books, entertainment, pop culture, television, sports, style, fashion, food, what’s cool, what’s not, and even humor are all different. Getting used to a completely new set of sensibilities will be quite… interesting.

Furthermore, having spent my last twelve years of my short life in the US, I pretty much grew up here. All my possessions and comforts are here. More importantly, my friends, my brother, my sister, and most people I know are here as well.

But I suppose…

“When one door closes another door opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door, that we do not see the ones which open for us.”

—Alexander Graham Bell

I better practice enunciating, writing, and typing Chinese.

__________________________________________________

這篇是一些有關於我的生活點滴。

hakurei reimu touhou yakumo yukari

前一陣子,我提到我在申請醫學院。在我等待各個學校的回應時, 人生發生了很多事情。有一些是好事,但更多是壞事。為此我的生活無所定向,每數個月飛來飛去於這裡那裡。

最近醫學院的回應收到了。我錄取於著名頂尖的學校,結束了這一段漫無目的的時間。由於之前發生的一些事情,我也有順便申請台灣醫學院。台灣醫學院也有錄取了我。

因此而來一個相當沉重的問題。我應留在美國還是去台灣?

這將是一個相當長久的決定。至少在今後十年左右,我都會住在同一處。

在考慮過我的位來,家庭情況,以及其他各種因素後,我將在今年夏天底離開美國。台灣是一個很美妙,繁忙,並機會很多的地方。

不過我會想念很多東西。當然對我來說這將是一個巨大的文化改變。語言,書籍,娛樂,流行,時尚,電視,體育,風格,時裝,食品,什麼酷,什麼不酷,甚至幽默都非常不同。習慣一套全新的感性將會是個相當… 有趣的經驗。

雖說我短暫生命中的上十二年都住在美國。我幾乎是在這裡長大的。我所有的東西都在這裡。更重要的是,我的朋友,哥哥,姐姐,和我認識的大多數人也在這裡。

不過,我想…

“ 當一扇門關閉,另一扇門就打開了。有時候我們盯着一扇離我们很近的門好久,等到我們看到那扇敞開的門的時候已經太晚了。”

—亞歷山大 格雷厄姆 貝爾

我應該開始練習中文發音,寫作,和打字。

__________________________________________________

Notes:

  • I am not quitting blogging… At least not for a long while. ^ ^
  • The entry in Chinese is the same as the one in English (in case you were wondering). This is not something I will do often, and probably not again.

About Yi

''lol...you're either sleeping or eating'' ''oh and watching anime'' ''and indulge in fashion.'' ... Ahh the busy life~
This entry was posted in Life Update and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

142 Responses to Personal Note

  1. Overlord-G says:

    I myself am currently undergoing a life changing decision that will decide the fate of my career. I wish you the best of luck with the course you’ve chosen and your new life in Taiwan. Keep on rockin’ and you know that The Big OG will always have your back dood.

    Take care, wash your hair…etc.

    • Yi says:

      Ahh, it sure is an important time for both of us. Best of luck with your future!!
      Anyway, thank you. It’s really comforting to know I’ll always have the support of really kind people like you. ^ ^

      “Take care, wash your hair…etc.”
      You know it! I actually made an appointment today to get my hair trimmed and taken care of. Just thought I’d mention that~

  2. solidv2 says:

    Wow what a impossible decision to make… I dont know if I would like to make a choice like that ever. Well, but it isnt goodbye forever, right? Anyway, good luck on your new endeavor !! Just dont stop bloggin okay? ; )

    • Yi says:

      You’re right about that! Definitely not a goodbye forever, and certainly not going to be disappearing from the internet or blogging. ^ ^ That’s the good thing about social media I guess. It keeps us connected.

      Anyway, just wanted to put my thoughts out here to blow off some steam~

  3. Ryan says:

    Such a leap! Somewhat sad to hear you’ll be leaving the US, but I had a feeling when you mentioned… yet I cannot help but be excited for you. School is such a great place to be, and it’s nice to hear you’re moving forward with this. ^ ^ Perhaps if/when I move out to Cali you can pay me a visit around the Bay ;) [rather than the other way around].

    Well have a great summer Yi, and I’ll be rooting for you when it’s time for departure. Cheers.

    P.S. I’m thinking some of the yukifu bloggers are in Taiwan, am I remembering correctly?

    • Yi says:

      Yea, circumstances among other considerations have leaned me toward this. But don’t feel sad. I’ll still be around here, on Twitter, and just running about I suppose. Even if our timezones don’t quite match up, I think we’ll catch each other. ^ ^

      I’m pretty sure I’ll visit the US all the time for my brother, sister, dog, friends, and In-n-Out. And maybe even you if you do end up around the bay.

      Cheers, Ry!

      (I think so, although I’m not too familiar with them personally.)

  4. Jubbz says:

    whoo boy… Sounds like a real tough decision. But i’m sure that your decision would lead to more good things in the long run, despite how tough of a decision it was to make.

    I’ll say Cheers and good luck in the Taiwan medical school, because once you’re done, you’ll be one of the alpha people around :3

    • Yi says:

      I hope it does turn out well in the end, but of course, we’ll never know if this is the right decision (or if there is one). Anyway, thanks. Cheers to all that’s going on with your life as well. ^ ^

      “you’ll be one of the alpha people around :3″
      p.s. Funny you should say that. I always imagined you to be an alpha male in real life. ^ ^

  5. RP says:

    Wow, that’s really cool news! Congrats on the medical school acceptance. Are you originally from Taiwan? Do you have any family there?

    • Yi says:

      Yep yep. I was born in Taiwan. Left there at a pretty early age, and now I’m returning. I’ll staying with my dad I think. Anyway, all my non-immediate relatives, dozens of them (cousins, aunts, uncles… etc) are in Taiwan; I don’t really know them well… and some of them, not at all. I’m kind of the odd cousin who’s rarely around and only shows up once or twice a year.

  6. What a tough decision to make Yi, I had to do the same thing as well. At the present moment, I am taking an online course in Medical Terminology and Medical Billing and Coding. With the way that the job market is at the moment, I coulden’t get a job in IT, so this would be a good start to get into a hospital. But on the bright side, I finally got a job at Borders as a cashier. It is a great job and I am really having a great time.

    But anyway, good luck with med school. I hope that things work out and that you keep in touch with the anime side of your world. Take care ;)

    • Yi says:

      Congrats! From what I hear from friends, the employment scene really is pretty harsh right now. I’m really glad you got a job, and more importantly, having a great time. ^ ^

      Career and future decisions really are quite… heavy things to think about. It’s really awesome you know what you’re doing!! I’m still trying to find my way in some ways, I think.

      Anyway, good luck with the online course and your job as well. Cheers~

      (p.s. I’ll still be around online and watching anime, I hope.)

  7. Sakurai_Hideru says:

    Best of luck to you Yi-san. Don’t forget your English while you’re there!

    • Yi says:

      Thank you. ^ ^ I really hope I don’t forget my English either. It’s actually quite a legitimate concern for me. Well, hopefully, I’ll still be able to find English books and write often enough in Taiwan that I can retain at least a loose semblance of English literacy.

      • Sakurai_Hideru says:

        I don’t think you need to worry that much though. The med school there is all English right? If so, then you have no cause for worry. :)

        • Sakurai_Hideru says:

          p.s: I meant that ”don’t forget your English there!” as a joke. Sorry to have made you worry over it, I didn’t mean to. :(

        • Yi says:

          English isn’t part of the language in Taiwan. It’s taught as a foreign language, but most people don’t speak it fluently, or at all.

          Medical schools (and many graduate schools) in Taiwan do use English language texts and do write reports in English, but in practice as a physician and in talking patients, it’s all strictly Chinese. Also, day-to-day is all Chinese only as well.

          p.s. Don’t worry about it! (And please, no apologizing. ^ ^) I’ve actually been worrying a bit over this for a long time even before you mentioned it. Even my sister has talked to me about forgetting how to speak English before when she returned from Taiwan after a year there. Although our circumstances are a bit different, it’s still kind of a big concern.

          We’ll see what happens I guess. Definitely going to be buying lots of English books there and keeping up with reading and writing, and I’ll be calling my brother regularly I think.

  8. robotnazi says:

    Best of luck with medical school. i dropped Biology as a subject in school cause i didn’t like it so i suppose u’re doing way better at it than me.
    Also reminded me y i dislike Chinese even though im Chinese :P

    • Valence says:

      ^ Definitely a Singaporean, no doubt.

      Anyway, good luck in your future endeavours. We hope to hear from you soon.

    • Yi says:

      @robotnazi: I think we all have our interests and strong points. I majored in cell biology, so it’s kind of my bread and butter. But if you were to ask me anything about engineering or programming or economics or just a bunch of stuff, I’d totally tank. It’s kind of interesting how humans have developed so much knowledge that it becomes necessary for everyone to specialize.

      My Chinese is so terrible, and I need to get better at it in a really short time. I’m actually a little bit worried about attending school. Thoughts of tracing out all those characters and hand cramps… Ugh.

      @Valence: Thanks! Don’t worry, I’ll still be blogging. ^ ^ Just from a different place.

      • Dun worry, my Chinese is crap too. i barely pass or fail exams. The Chinese language is just so complicated. Each word is different and unique unlike English where 26 characters makes it all.

        And yeah, i agree we’ll all different and require specialization or u’ll have BRAIN OVERLOAD (*inserts explosion sound). I prefer computer technology over Bio and stuff. But im great at Physics and Chem, just not Bio…(hehe)

        and its nice to know u’ll still blog from Taiwan :D

        • Yi says:

          I know right? It’s so hard to memorize them all. I blank out really often even on some of the most of often used characters. I guess it’s I’m going to have to practice a lot.

  9. Yuffie says:

    First of all congratulations for you having pass to medical school! / Certainly it’s dificult to choose what to do in situations like that, it’s better to follow you heart and to really think about that. I’m a medical student too (hahahahha coincidence xD ) but i live where i was born and with my parents. Some of my friends don’t and i see the dificult that they have (maybe it’s because they never lived alone) but when they finished the course, they will go out, so as me (residence here it’s poor).

    I really don’t know how medicine is in Taiwan, in USA [as i can see in some show and the movie of Michael Moore] din’t liked so much, it was poor in humanization (how you treate pacient), but maybe it only show the bad parts. I see a lot of people going to medical residence in USA , they are the top of top, to choose betwan Taiwan and USA in this parte it’s a big choice! Each one has the positive and negative points. Personaly i will move out of here, can’t do so much in the national health (wanna to change it to better, may i’m a dreamer).

    If you made the choice maybe you can’t go back, for example, it’s horrible to study something in 2 languages, they change everything! Simple example, there you call “FLU”, here they call “Gripe”.

    You made your decision, go for it! Fight for you dream,never forget you past, remember the experiences ,etc. I wish a great new life to you (it’s a big change), good experiences in the medical school and good grades to! (hahaha)

    • Yi says:

      Aww thanks. You’re a medical student as well? That’s awesome!! Best of luck in your studies. I’m sure you’ll make a great physician. ^ ^

      Healthcare system in Taiwan is actually fairly advanced, being ranked as one of the forefronts in the world. It’s a single-payer system and there is pretty much universal coverage. Compared to the US, there is better access and cheaper costs. Of course, US has better resources overall and does have some of the world’s leading research in medicine. The problem is that most of the best care can only be afforded by the very rich. Similarly and related, pharmaceuticals are also a huge issue in terms of cost.

      Michael Moore’s documentary is a little too sensationalist, but Moore does have a point. There is a serious problem with American healthcare.

      This is all from a public health point of view though. Physicians in the US, just like physicians in the rest of the world, do an important job: they save lives. And I’m sure I will get the same sort of rewarding, self-fulfilling feeling if I stayed in the US. (In fact, my brother’s a med student here in California, and he is incredible. As a second year, he has already traveled all over the world to provide care to the disenfranchised.) I kind of hope I could live up to his experiences.

      Anyway, I digressed way too much! Thanks for the encouraging words!! And best of luck with you as well. ^ ^

  10. I will do nothing but hope and wish you well on your travels and adjustments to your new life in another country, but don’t you dare letting us down! ;)

  11. Mushyrulez says:

    But in your honest, unbiased, completely school-based opinion, which school was better? The one that accepted you in Taiwan, or the one in the US?

    Regardless of your answer, I commend you for making such a decision. Any great change is an act of bravery.

    (Also, darn: I can only read simplified Chinese! I don’t even know what the words are in traditional ):

    • Yi says:

      There is a difference between relative and straight rankings. Comparing schools across international borderlines is a bit tricky, especially when you consider where one will be practicing.

      In any case, the things I have to consider is not just ranking. There is a lot of stuff going on that are all pretty important.

      (I can read some simplified Chinese, but I’m much more comfortable with traditional. Anyway, the Chinese part is just the English post translated.)

  12. abscissa says:

    Congratulations! Grad school is awesome and only the passionate really fits well to be there. I believe you`ll do well in Med School.

    Leaving your comforts is really tough, but nothing endures but change so just welcome it with a smile–think about 3-4 years from now you`re going to be a doctor. ^^. Good luck on your endeavours, and I wish you happiness on your decision.

    • Yi says:

      Thanks! I’ve been around the medical scene for most of my college life, including running my own free clinic for the homeless and underserved population, working in emergency rooms, volunteering at hospitals, working at public health organization, and researching in biochem. fields–my major is cell biology with an emphasis in immunology. (Sorry, kind of bragging here. But it’s not every day I get to feel so proud. Please bear with it. ^ ^) This is indeed a passion, so I’m really glad to have gotten into medical school!

      I’m a bit worried (and perhaps scared) about diving into an unfamiliar environment, but I suppose embracing the change is the best thing to do. Anyway, thank you for the thoughts. Best of luck with your post-graduation plans. (If I recall correctly, you recently got out of school, right?)

  13. Shinra says:

    Good Luck Yi~ Congrats on u getting in Med School!!! >w< bbbbbbb

  14. AXYPB says:

    You have my full support in any decision you make in this matter. Thank you for all of your inspiration in my own work.

    • Yi says:

      Awww, you’re too kind. ^ ^ I’m very happy and honored to have friends like you~ (And I’m sure all fans of Sono Hanabira and yuri feel the same way!)

  15. Swordwind says:

    Do your best, Yi. Though, I’d bet you’re talented enough to get by without having to…

  16. chikorita157 says:

    Good luck on your future endeavors Yi and hopefully the transition will be smooth! While I have lived in the US for my entire life, moving to another country and getting used to the lifestyle and culture is difficult getting used to, but at least you will have a job that you will enjoy after the hard work.

    (Not related to the post: I really need to learn Chinese someday.)

    • Yi says:

      Thank you, chikorita. ^ ^ I really hope the transition won’t be as… difficult as I’m dreading. Besides being at a mere fourth grader level of Chinese, I’m also kind of just afraid of not being able to be to carry on conversations because I have little sense of what’s hot, what’s funny… etc. But I suppose I’ll just have to see what happens.

      (It’s probably easier to learn if you’re in an environment where you’re regularly exposed to it: a Chinese speaking friend, Chinese subtitled dramas… etc.)

  17. Shin says:

    If Yi leaves me, 不如一槍打死我

    • Yi says:

      Awww, Shin. Always a flair for the dramatic~

      p.s. I won’t be leaving the blogosphere, at least not for a little longer. ^ ^

  18. IMSirius says:

    Given the long term economic prospects in the U.S., you might be better off living in Taiwan.

    • Yi says:

      Maybe. This economic recession is pretty rough. That’s one thing I won’t be missing from the US. ^ ^

      That, and spending $50 a week on gasoline.

  19. Jeffrey Goh says:

    Hmmm, yes there are times when choices like this can affect you deeply. For me, I’m still not so sure of what I’m going to do after secondary school. Maybe I should stay back in Malaysia for another year before heading overseas to further my studies. Hopefully i’d be able to find out what I’ll be able to do after my exams are finished.

    Oh, another thing, if you’re gonna write your future posts in Mandarin, please be courteous enough to also use simplified Chinese in your posts. I’m not the traditional Chinese characters kinda guy (just so you know).

    P.S. If you guessed, I am gozieson.

    • Jeffrey Goh says:

      just subscribing here…

    • Yi says:

      Good luck on finding your own path. I’m sure you’ll have no problem though regardless of what you end up doing. ^ ^

      I don’t know how to write simplified Chinese, so I won’t be doing that. Anyway, I don’t think it’s really discourteous to write only in traditional Chinese, especially since the English translation is already there. I can’t possibly include every language and its variations. (I also don’t use British spelling for example.) Also, this is probably not going to be done again, at least not for a long time.

      p.s. I didn’t know you were gozieson. Nice to put an avatar to your name finally. The blue square is a bit impersonal, I think. ^ ^ Cheers!

  20. 2DT says:

    No doors close for the truly gifted.
    Enjoy your life in Taiwan! I’m looking forward to seeing what you do next. :)

    • Yi says:

      Aww, thanks for the compliment. I needed that boost of confidence/ ego. ^ ^

      “Enjoy your life in Taiwan! I’m looking forward to seeing what you do next. “
      I feel the same way. Enjoy your return to the US, and all that you’ll be doing!

  21. jreding says:

    Yi, congratulations for being accepted to medical school and also to your decision to move to Taiwan! I hope you’ll have a great time!

    Of course, studying should be your first priority and medical school sounds like a lot of work to me. However, there are few anime blogs written with such a good taste and sense for details. I would miss a lot of inspiring observations on anime if you had to stop posting or changed to Chinese characters! However, both decisions would be fully understandable. In any case good luck for the future!

    • Yi says:

      Thanks for the congrats! I think I’ll enjoy my time there even if it does take a lot of adjustments.

      Anyway, don’t worry about changes to this blog. I’ll still be writing here for as long as I can and definitely in English. This is probably the only time in a long while that I’ll post in Chinese. It’s actually really hard for me. That short part took about 2 hours to word out and type out.

      Please do keep visiting, and thanks for all your support. ^ ^

  22. Fabienne says:

    congratulations for passing the school and getting accepted ^-^
    Oh that probably was a VERY hard decision, I guess I couldn’t leave my friends and family behind cause Im a crybaby and wimp in that regard XD

    I don’t know much about Taiwan but I guess it must be nice when you leave the US for it.
    Not that I think the US are the best country or what not (sorry Im slightly crazy today) ;p
    I wish you all the best there Yi its a good opportunity.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, it took a lot of considerations, and weighing pros and cons, but I do have to choose one. It’s a bit sad I won’t get to see some people as often, but I’m sure I’ll still be in contact with the people I love.

      The reason I decided on going to Taiwan extends beyond the place itself, but I’d rather not go into details. It’s a fairly complicated situations though.

      Anyway, thanks!

  23. Jo says:

    Congratulations Yi! All the best and Good Luck with everything..

    =)

    • Yi says:

      Thank you, Jo. All the best with what’s going on with you as well. ^ ^ Hope you’re enjoying the summer~

      • Jo says:

        Winter over here… ^ ^
        Maybe I’ll drop by Taiwan to visit one day…less flying to do and I’ve heard that there is great food there..

        =)

        • Yi says:

          Oh gosh. I keep forgetting that seasons are reversed!

          Anyway, Taiwan is lovely and its food is quite delicious, although they do have very distinctive flavors.

  24. TWWK says:

    Congratulations and the best of luck! And I hope the “bad” circumstances in your life get better.

  25. yunra says:

    Since I don’t know you personally and wouldn’t pretend to, nor will I bug you with questions, butI just want to say this:
    Wish you all the best ahead ^_^

    • Yi says:

      Thank you. I really appreciate that.

      p.s. I’d like to think that even though we don’t know each other personally, there is still a light friendship between us. Feel free to bug me anytime with questions or anything. ^ ^
      Cheers, darling!

  26. lovelyduckie says:

    I hope you keep this blog and update it every once in a whilie with what’s going on in your life and which anime series you’ve been enjoying! Good luck!

    • Yi says:

      I’m going to try my best to juggle med. school and blogging. Both are really important parts of my life, so yep, definitely going to keep blogging.

  27. Aya says:

    Good Luck Yi, and after all you still have all your Chinese “touch” (language,etc) unlike most in my Family including me of course ^^;

    • Yi says:

      Thanks, but I hardly have all my Chinese “touch.” Those few words in Chinese took me two whole hours just to type out, even though I knew exactly what I wanted to say (it’s just the English part translated). I think my Chinese is still at an elementary school level, which has me a bit worried.

  28. Ristlin says:

    Don’t worry, with your amazing talent and perseverance, you will be able to prosper no matter where you live. I sincerely wish you the best of luck no matter which path you take in life, Hopefully, you will still have enough time to keep this blog more or less active and continue to bring us your amazing articles. May your life be a little less listless from now on ;) Gook luck~!

    • Yi says:

      I hope so. I’ve been out of school for about a year, so I’m a little scared about returning to a competitive (perhaps even cut-throat) environment. At the same time, I’m excited as well. Anyway, I’ll keep this place active for sure. The blog has become a huge part of my life.

      Anyway, thank you.

  29. Good luck and glad to hear that another Cal alum’s fortunes have changed for the better! Enjoy those long (but hopefully fulfilling) years at Med School!

    • Yi says:

      While I’m glad to be back in school, I’m not too terribly excited for those long long years. Still, I’m kind of happy about doing something fulfilling for myself.

      (Unrelated, but Cal sure is quite something, isn’t it?)

      • The direction is definitely a biggie though, and having that certainty goes a long way to calming down those nerves if life seemed to be veering towards chaos. Always helps to have school bring some semblance of order. It’s why I decided to apply (and somehow got in!) to a graduate program that I’ve had my eyes on and I’ll also be excited for what Fall semester brings once it goes into full swing in the beginning of August.

        And what can I say? Undergrad really holds a special place in my heart. It’s where I made lifelong friends and connections, felt challenged by the bustling intellect that was all around me, and yet, in spite of it all, carving out my own niche. Those are the memories that will stay with me forever because it really was a remarkable four years. Well, that, and Zacharys Pizza. My place of choice to celebrate the end of every semester.

        • Yi says:

          Yea, it was a huge relief when I started hearing back. Also, congrats on getting into the graduate program!! Let’s do our best. ^ ^

          Cal holds some really special memories as well. It’s where I think I matured the most, and it’s where I started to really do something worthwhile for myself.

          “felt challenged by the bustling intellect that was all around me, and yet, in spite of it all, carving out my own niche.”
          Wonderfully said!!

          p.s. My choice of celebration is Cheese Board. Love that place sooo much!

  30. MyHatsOffToYou says:

    WOOOWWW

    Most people forget how to speak Chinese after 12 years surrounded in an English dominant environment. You should be proud that you can still type like that. ^o^

    Maybe I’ll see you in Taiwan someday!

    However you choose to live your life, I’m glad that you’re gonna keep us company for a while longer.

    • Yi says:

      It’s a good thing I didn’t completely forget my Chinese. Now all I need to do is catch up to everyone else from an elementary school language level.

      Anyway, you live in Taiwan? I never knew that!! Maybe we will see each other some time.

      p.s.
      “I’m glad that you’re gonna keep us company for a while longer.”
      Thank you. That makes me feel warm inside~

  31. Nopy says:

    I hope you enjoy Taiwan!

  32. Mikoto says:

    Taiwan or the states, I hope you find success where ever you go. :)

  33. foshizzel says:

    Whoa! Congratulations!

    Good luck to you!

  34. Bass says:

    Wooowwwww, you’re moving to Taiwan for good? That is a huge decision, why not say in the USA?

    Either way, all the best for the future. You’ll knock them dead (wait, that’s not good in your profession is it?)

    • Yi says:

      I don’t know if it’s for good, but at least for the next 10, maybe even 20 years. Sigh… I’ve already made my decision, but I still keep thinking about staying in the US.

      Loll. Maybe “knock them dead” isn’t the best turn of phrase.

  35. Ryo_kun says:

    Hey, it’s been a while! XD I wish you all the best and success in your medical school. But hey, your chinese is not that bad at all. You even typed it in traditional form.

    • Yi says:

      It sure has been too long! Have been kind of preoccupied by thoughts lately.

      My Chinese… is still not up to par, still at, at most, an elementary school level. (p.s. Taiwan uses only traditional Chinese, so that’s all I know how to write in.)

      Anyway, thank you.

  36. Johnny says:

    Good luck, Yi !

  37. catchercatch says:

    First of all, congratulations. I can kind of relate to how you feel. I recently have been accepted granted a research opportunity in immunology at Harvard Med. However, all my life, I have lived in California, and I am very comfortable here, with all my 21 years of friends having been gathered near me. I made my decision, however, to transfer out and start what I hope to be the right choice at the East Coast. I believe it is the right choice, and I believe that yours is, as well. Best of luck to you.

    • Yi says:

      Oh wow! Congratulations. Harvard Medical is one of the best (if not the best) institutions in the world. That’s so incredible!! Huge congrats! Anyway, I’m sure you’ll do amazing on the East Coast, but California sure is a warm place, isn’t it?

      Best of luck of to both of us!

      p.s. Immunology huh? That was my field in college as well. ^ ^

  38. necrocosmos says:

    Kinda nice, i wanted always to travel to asian countries starting from Japan, Taiwan, South Korea, and China. Thou i bet u had hard time makeing that decision, i bet it was though for u, wish u best luck, kinda supirse i am, maybe sometimes i am to pragmatic, its hard for me value how good medical school are in Taiwan so i would have problem evalueting them, when i would have in mind my future(in mind i have like 15 years later) carrier. >< Hope For Yi the best. It will be pretty though at first to assimilate i bet, cat judge how big differences in culture are, i suspect they will make their influence on u for sure:D. Thank god i dont study medicine, i still think physics sucks:D.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, it took quite a bit of resolve to make that phone call, and leave the US/ this lifestyle for a long while… maybe even for the rest of my life.

      Anyway, medical schools in Taiwan are pretty good. And more importantly, it’s the relative ranking to the country. This isn’t just a decision for where I’m attending. It’s a decision on where I’m living and practicing.

      Anyway, thank you. ^ ^ I hope I can fit in well.

  39. ~xxx says:

    I’m actually looking for a job.
    but, in this times, it’s really hard to have one using luck.

    Well good luck with the Chinese-stuffs.
    And have the world changed because of someone’s decision.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, I think it’s pretty tough to find a job right now. I was talking to some friends, and they were all having trouble. Best of luck! I hope you find something. ^ ^

  40. Congratulations, and I wish you best luck! Must’ve been a hard choice, huh? I had a similar choice, except I could choose to go to an university near my home in CA (my parents insisted) or go to an university in Washington DC. I ended up going to DC for its history and fitting education that suited my needs.

    Do you think you’ll be going to the night markets? I strongly miss them, but the next trip to Taiwan to visit my family is set for next winter break, a long way off. I’m hungering for those delicious snack foods and aiyu jelly + milk tea…

    • Yi says:

      I remember doing a similar thing after high school. The choice was between a university about an hour drive from home in CA (I also live in CA! Well, not for long.) and one in New York. I opted to stay around home though. These kind of things really are tough to decide.

      Anyway, I’ve been to DC before (visited my brother when we went to school there for his masters), and it’s a beautiful city. It must have been quite a nice few years!

      Definitely going to the night markets. The food is soooo good. I actually live pretty close to Shihlin Night Market, so I’m pretty excited about getting regular access to all those local delicacies. And boba! Gosh I love boba. It’s so ridiculous here in the bay area. I have to drive 20 minutes and pay $3 just for a cup of pearl milk tea, whereas in Taiwan, there’s a place on every corner for something much tastier and much cheaper.

      … Kind of went on a rant there, haha!

      p.s. I didn’t know you’re family’s from Taiwan! That’s awesome. ^ ^

      • Ahaha, yeah, I understand. It’s ridiculous that the boba is expensive, and that’s part of why I prefer Taiwan. My mother and father moved here to U.S. from Taiwan about 20 years ago, and then I was born in Wisconsin and then we moved to the Bay Area (didn’t know that you were living in the Bay Area as well! Unfortunately, I’m in Seattle for the summer now.)

  41. Dan says:

    WOW -those were some big choices to make in one’s life. Change it often difficult and sometimes we regret having to make those changes (me for one). But with changes come new opportunities that we would never have imagined.

    I wish you the best and hope that Taiwan greets you with open arms and a warm hug.

    • Yi says:

      Yea. Hopefully, there won’t be any regrets. I guess we’ll never know if this is right.

      “I wish you the best and hope that Taiwan greets you with open arms and a warm hug.”
      Thank you. I hope too that I won’t have it too hard.

  42. Yi;
    May the Buddha bless and keep you on the “ENLIGHTEN PATH”! You have chose noblest of DUTYS to Humanity. “A HEALER”. I burn a candel before him and offer prayers for you and your brite future. Sent me one day a photo of you in one of the Buddhist shrines from there. I will place it beside the photo of my parents, under the Buddha I have in honnor of you. Take Care and Best Wishes!

    DC. Rushton, AKA: “The Priest of Tao” (Cosplay Name)

    (And YES, I am a Buddhist/Taoist and Ancesroral Worshiper)

    • Yi says:

      Thank you, Priest, for your kindest thoughts. ^ ^ Hopefully, this is the right path for me.

      I’m not exactly religious (although I did grow up in a heavy Buddhist/ Taoist/ 三教 environment, and later a Christian environment). Anyway, I’m definitely really excited about visiting the temples. I actually live really close to this Buddhist temple on top of a hill. It’s quite a gorgeous spiritual place, 惠濟宮 on top of 芝山岩. Anyway, here’s a good link with pictures of what it looks like: http://goo.gl/b8uMo

      That was my favorite place to go for my daily jog for the 3-4 months I was in Taiwan last winter. It’s just such a rich, but relaxing environment. Anyway, if I get a chance, I’ll take some pictures. ^ ^

      And, once again. Thank you so much! May you have the blessing of the Buddhas too~

  43. mystlord says:

    Ah wow. I can’t even begin to imagine how much thought went into this decision. I wish the best for you! And be sure to blog regularly so you won’t forget your English! :P

    • Yi says:

      I’m still thinking about it now even after I’ve already got all the things ready. I keep worrying that this might be wrong, but I suppose what’s chosen is chosen.

      Anyway, definitely going to blog regularly. Blogging will probably be one of the only times I get to exercise my English.

  44. CeleryFungus says:

    Whatever your decisions are, don’t regret it. Because you’ll end up going round in circles blaming yourself for not making the “right” choice – nothing is perfect, and of course there will be gains and losses, but everything happens for reason.
    Perhaps, a change is good? you never know~ and If it’s bad, it’s experience. If it’s good, it’s wonderful. :) xxx

    • Yi says:

      You words makes me feel so much better about this whole thing. Honestly, I’ve been thinking about it even now, fearful that I’ve made the wrong choice. But I suppose you’re right. An experience is an experience, and the change might just be what I really need. Thanks, darling. ^ ^

  45. I can’t really say much on your decision as I’ve never been in a situation anywhere near it’s scale; still, change can often be positive when you make the most it (I’m sure you will!). Also, it’s great you have such a wide choice for the future, many don’t have that luxury. Still, I’m not envious over making that particular choice; I’d probably still be banging my head against a wall, trying to decide, lol.

    Anyway, best of luck for the future and all that jazz. You deserve it Yi! :)

    • Yi says:

      I’m looking forward to making the best of this new world and new lifestyle! And I suppose just having to choose is a good thing, even if it is an incredibly hard decision.

      Best of luck to everything that you’re doing, and thanks for the encouragement!

  46. biotoxic says:

    Congrats on getting multiple acceptances and good luck with your chosen one in Taiwan. I’ve never had to make a decision to travel internationally but it sounds like you’re comfortable with making those decisions. I’m glad to hear all the effort you’ve put in to getting accepted has paid off and you’ll be heading in a direction you’re interested in pursuing.

    • Yi says:

      Comfortable… Maybe not just yet. But I’ve certainly made up my mind. Hopefully, I won’t have too many regrets.

      Thanks for the congrats. ^ ^

  47. Johnny says:

    Is Taiwan good for yuri ?

  48. feal87 says:

    Every time I see a post like this (like last time) I lose 5-10 years of longevity. :D

    Good luck with your life Yi!

  49. Bladezer says:

    Hi, I’m not really one who talks much. I’m just one of the guys who comes by reads something and moves onto the thing. But I thought I wish you luck in your future in devours.

    Plus I really wanted thank you for introducing me the Sono Hanbira series. It really helpe to understand that seeing the girls have sex can really add to the relationship of a yuri pairing.

    • Yi says:

      Thanks for the good wishes! And also for the kind words. They mean a lot to me. It’s really good to hear that my posts are read!

      p.s. It’s nice to meet you. ^ ^
      p.p.s. Feel free to come out of lurking more often. I don’t bite~ (or at least I don’t bite most people).

  50. Elineas says:

    Goodness, here I am running around Taipei during summer break, and I completely miss this post.

    Congratulations on your acceptances! I can take a stab at guessing which med school, as there are only a handful of well known ones in Taiwan, but that’s not what matters here. Good luck with your future studies and perhaps your work in Taiwan healthcare. The system and medical community may have some issues, as my father likes to point out when he’s not on the job, but at its very best it compares very favorably to the rest of the world. May this be an opportunity for many more things, as long as the summer heat and typhoons don’t get you. ;)

    • Yi says:

      Taipei must be scorching hot this time of the year, right? Hope you’re enjoying all the boba and delicious foods. ^ ^

      Your father’s a physician? That’s super awesome!! Taiwan health care system does have some issues, but overall, I think access and cost is better for the average citizen in Taiwan than US healthcare is for the average American. In any case, that’s not really the main reason I’m going there though–there were a lot of things in play. Anyway, I’m pretty excited about this whole thing (even if it is kind of scary).

      Enjoy your lovely summer!

  51. rockleelotus says:

    congrats Yi! you must be one smart lady to be accepted into multiple prestigious institutions :D i think there really are more opportunities in Taiwan in these tough times so you made a good choice, one step closer to turning those dreams into reality, wish you much success and happiness!

    and if you find the time to continue blogging, it would be great to hear more about the culture there and your experience with the adjustments :P

    • Yi says:

      Thanks, rockleelotus. ^ ^ I think I got pretty lucky with some of my acceptances, but I will take this opportunity to get some direction in life, I suppose. Thanks for the good wishes. And I will definitely try my hardest to find time for blogging.

  52. Radiant says:

    Congratulations on being accepted! The kind of decision you made is definitely a tough one. But as Alexander Graham Bell says, as long as you don’t spend time regretting, you’ll be okay. I look forward to hearing you talk more about your life in Taiwan!

    • Yi says:

      Not having all these doubts, second thoughts, and regrets is the hardest part. But I think with enough time, I’ll get over them… I hope.

  53. @fkeroge says:

    Somehow, I started thinking about what I should do after I graduate from uni. I don’t really want to get a master’s degree, but life will be tough if I don’t, considering how hard it is to get a job with a decent salary. Anyway, glad to know that you have been accepted to a great post-grad school. Even though this means a more busy time for you (and probably less articles for us to read), you will always have my support from the other side of the wall. Time will only move forward and will never stop to wait for us, so we should all do the same. ^_^

    • Yi says:

      Depending on the kind of job and where you are, a master’s degree can go quite a way. I can’t really offer too much advice, but best of luck finding your own path, one that you can be comfortable with.

      “Time will only move forward and will never stop to wait for us, so we should all do the same. ^_^”
      Very very well said. Let’s look forward to brighter times ahead.

  54. reedbee says:

    I only just discovered your blog thanks to a game review/promotion you wrote in September 2010, and now it looks like things are over! You’ve said many times you’re not quitting the blog but having moved from the US to Japan six years ago I have not once found time to maintain a presence online, outside of commenting on blogs by more ambitious and focused writers like yourself. Hope you really will find all the happiness and success you deserve in Taiwan, and have no fear, you’ll retain your English forever and ever. :)

    Also, hopefully without sounding like a platitude, “You’re young, you’re smart! Everything is going to be Fine.” :D

    • Yi says:

      First, welcome and thanks for visiting. ^ ^ It always makes my day to meet new readers! Hopefully you enjoyed your stay.

      I’m not quitting blogging for sure, but I do fear that as time goes on, especially with school and life, I won’t have time to blog, even I do want to. We’ll see what happens I suppose. This blog has been quite a pet project that I’m would like to keep for a long long time; I’ll try my best to keep it alive. ^ ^

      Anyway, thank you so so so much for the encouraging words. And it’s great to see that you still have perfect English after 6 years in Japan. ^ ^

  55. Cyurio says:

    Congratulations, Yi! There isn’t really much I can say that hasn’t been said already, but eh, whatever. You’ve got a new road ahead of you, so Good Luck and Godspeed.

    And what’s this about worrying about which doors are open and which are closed? There will always be open doors, and no door closes forever. If you worry too much, you might miss you chance, you know?

    • Yi says:

      No words are needed, but thanks so much for the warm support. ^ ^

      “If you worry too much, you might miss you chance, you know?”

      True true. I should really stop thinking too much about what I’m missing. It’s been weighing me down a bit too much.

  56. Ness says:

    Uwahh, such a big decision but good opportunities either way. Congrats on making it into med school and even good ones you wanted at that. I think experiencing a new place and atmosphere is a good thing and I hope everything goes well for you.

    Congrats again~!

    • Yi says:

      This should be quite a fresh experience indeed, and a change might be just what I need at this point of my life. Thanks!

  57. Xine says:

    Congratulations and all the best to you, Yi! I guess it was really a tough decision for you but I’m glad to know that you’re being positive with all the big changes happening in your life. Enjoy Taiwan. Take care!

  58. Himm, I think you’ve made the right decision… ’cause Taiwan is full of Tai-WIN!!!… In fact, you’ve already Tai-WON!!! *CRICKET* so yeah, that’s a pretty tough decision. I’m glad you’re sticking to it; not many can do the same. Also, to sort of echo what others have said, I’d love to see some Taiwan-centric posts, like the various attractions, maybe even hangouts for… CUTE BOIZZ!! (っ^ω^c). I’m sure you’ll get tons of money, buy a fancy camera, and give us a good tour! A tour by Yi, I’d like that =3 (when you have free time, of course)

    Anyway, congrats and have fun! You’ve earned my respect.

    • Yi says:

      Loll!! Such lame puns, but somehow I just can’t stop chuckling. ^ ^

      If I get a chance, I’ll definitely try to post a bit about my life in Taiwan once I get there. There should be a lot of interesting stuff to write about. (Hopefully, I’ll have the time to regularly blog.)

      Thank you for the congrats and the funny puns. They cheered me up~

  59. Cell says:

    Taiwan is a wonderful place and I wish I could also o back and live there. But if I do that then I’d be leaving all the great things of the US. I feel as if living in the US has softened my soul up… Well Yi, I hope that you don’t regret moving. It’ll be really hot over there in Taiwan lol. Good luck and may you have a safe trip.

    • Yi says:

      Yep yep, there are great advantages to both worlds. But it’s too bad I can’t be at both places at the same time. And yes, I hope there won’t be any regrets. The heat, I can handle. But feelings of regret kind of sucks.

  60. Q says:

    Congratulations on getting into a medical school! Getting into one sure doesn’t sound easy at all; I remember hearing some of my friends saying how hard it was just to apply to one compared to other institutions :o

    Choosing to study in the East or West sure is a tough decision to take, and you will have to stay there for a long time too. Taking a big step to go back to Taiwan is quite something, as I tend to see people getting used to one place and finds it hard to readjust again. Living in a particular place for a long time rather than visiting there like a tourist sure feels very different, with the former get to see more into different (both postive and negative) aspects of culture and life as time goes on. But then all things and places have their pros and cons, so getting to know both sides of the story and live the best out of it will be great.

    All that blabbering above aside, I do hope you won’t regret your decision, and live the fullest out of your time in Taiwan. IIRC the ACG communities in Taiwan are pretty big, abeit being relatively unknown to the English-speaking communities.

    P.S. Your Chinese is very good! Don’t worry about your Chinese really – mine is at primary school level too, and those who studied all the way through in Hong Kong told me that the ones they’ve learnt in secondary school aren’t particularly useful at all ^^; Being able to use it for everyday purposes is suffice I’d say!

    • Yi says:

      Thank you. It took quite a lot of luck for me to have gotten in, I think.

      This move will certainly have its pros and cons, but hopefully the pros will outweigh the cons. I expect to have to do a lot of heavy adjusting though, especially to the very different culture. It’s a welcome change though, and as you said, I have an opportunity to experience both sides of the story. I should make the best of it. ^ ^

      Interesting. So there’s a big ACG community in Taiwan. I’ll have to check that out and find a place I think.

      Anyway, thanks for the compliment. But what isn’t shown is that the Chinese portion took me sooooo long to type out, and I had the help of google translator for some of it. My everyday purpose is still just a bit lacking, haha. ^ ^

      Thank you for the comment again. Cheers, Q~

  61. Anya says:

    Wow that’s a big decision o.o I’m glad you found an answer! Good luck, hope you have a good time in Taiwan! ^^

  62. Choco Titi says:

    Fist, congratulations!!! For being accepted in 2 Medical Schools ^o^ (it’s awesome, Medical School).
    If I’ve had to choose, I’ve have picked US. It’s bigger in size, and it’s English spoken country. Multi-national fans gather there ^^;;
    But well, Taiwan is nearer Japan than US ^^;; it must be a nice decision. Enjoy ur life to the fullest there. And work hard.
    –choco

    • Yi says:

      There were a lot of things in play than just purely the location and the schools. In fact, those were hardly the most important things. Anyway, thanks for the congrats. I’ll try my best. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

