Blue Friend [Yuri Manga]

Blue Friend yuri manga cover

Blue Friend is an incredibly compelling yuri drama. In only seven chapters, this short story manages to create wonderful fluffy moments, then violently rend my heart and make me cry. The powerful manga evokes the full range of emotions, from love to disgust, from desolation to hopefulness. It is just the thing bring me out of my recent dry spell. [1]

Blue Friend yuri manga cover

Blue Friend revolves around Ayumu and Misuzu. Ayumu is a bright outgoing softball star in the school. On the other hand, Misuzu is the gorgeous school beauty with a very nasty demeanor. Hard to approach and difficult to talk to, she has no friends, only male admirers. Misuzu constantly has to face her hatred of men and malicious bullying from female students. When Ayumu befriends Misuzu, the two began a roller coaster relationship mired in obsession, secrets, and fear. Just as Misuzu finally found solace and protection in Ayumu, Misuzu’s dark past resurfaces. Can Ayumu catch Misuzu before all fall apart? [2]

Blue Friend yuri manga chapter 3

With a delicate drawing style, Blue Friend details the emotions of the two characters. It has excellent pacing and suspense. From the very first chapter, the manga creates a subtle brooding tone even during the fluffy romantic moments. In between the panels, there is just something waiting to be discovered… Waiting to destroy everything. The manga sets the atmosphere wonderfully, making the plot so intense, tragic, and beautiful.

Let us just let the scans speak for themselves.

Feel free to read on if you do not plan on reading this manga. Even just a few pages can show how powerful the manga is.

Spoiler Alert!!!
Jump to footnotes and comments

Blue Friend yuri manga chapter 1 chapter 2 Ayumu Misuzu

Blue Friend yuri manga Ayumu Misuzu

Blue Friend yuri manga chapter 4

Blue Friend yuri manga chapter 5

Blue Friend yuri manga chapter 7 ending

Blue Friend yuri manga chapter 7 ending

So many tears shed…

__________________________________________________

  1. I have been pretty apathetic toward yuri manga lately due to a lack of exciting material and personal feelings toward the genre. This brought me out of my funk.
  2. Misuzu is a self-inflicting yandere.

__________________________________________________
More anime and manga reviews

About Yi

''lol...you're either sleeping or eating'' ''oh and watching anime'' ''and indulge in fashion.'' ... Ahh the busy life~
This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Blue Friend, Review, Yuri Anime and Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

108 Responses to Blue Friend [Yuri Manga]

  1. Snark says:

    Well…that ending sucks.

    • Yi says:

      I didn’t spoil the whole thing. I don’t want to say how it ends exactly either in case people read the comments. That page isn’t the last last page though.

      • Snark says:

        “That page isn’t the last last page though.”

        That’s good to know at least.

        Ok, one more question then; does Softball Girl ultimately solve all her problems and dilemmas with hotbloodedness, determination or punching stuff in the face?

        • Yi says:

          Haha of course! How else can softball girls solve problems. ^ ^

          Seriously though, Ayumu’s personality is not as rash and bold as typical of softball players in other genre.

  2. shinra says:

    Is that really the ending???!!!! OMG!!! When I read the manga that was released a few weeks back, it was soooo nice!!! Blue Friend is one of the few yuri mangas that made me Mune Doki Kyun!! XD

    And I don’t wanna read sad endings from Yuri mangas again….. :C
    (btw, I love being Spoiled, so more spoilers please!! ^A^ v)

    • Yi says:

      Haha yea it had a similar effect on me. I loved it the moment I read it.

      Anyways, about the ending…
      I don’t want to spoil it even more. I will say that that page isn’t the last page. There is a little more after it. Whether things change in those last pages, you’re just going to have to read it to find out. ^ ^

  3. mrwan says:

    What a cruel world we live in.

      • mrwan says:

        Just finished reading the series. All I can say is, god, the people in the series sucks. Especially random female student number 831. I’d like to believe in Misuzu’s final words before the end, but in the universe of Blue Friends where you find yourself wishing random female students would just be quiet, things are looking fairly bleak.

        The plot is about as dark as how dark The O.C. gets, its just a matter of if you can stomach that on your manga. I wished the story wasn’t wrapped up so hastily though, and would’ve liked an flash-forward. Hope there’s an extra-story for volume 2 to tie up loose ends. Overall, an interesting read. Yuri good.

        • Yi says:

          Yea… The other students and people are seriously malicious. It’s not just ill feelings. They really want to hurt her with bad intentions.

          I’m hopeful for both of them. I’d like to believe that all Misuzu needs is to have a strong support system and to believe in them. And she does. Ayumu and her childhood friend are both there. Once she is able to truly see that, I think she’ll be able to tough things out.

          I also want to see an extra-story too. However, without it, I think the story is fairly resolved. It leaves just enough room for readers to imagine the future, as well as end on a somewhat optimistic tone to help direct it.

          Overall, good yuri. Good story.

  4. Shance says:

    Ooooh, a yuri manga geared towards the old and tragic tenets of yuri (lesbian is started, feelings build up, one bad thing leads to another, tragic climax flag triggered, BAD END GET).

    I think I just found something to whet my oldschool tastes.

    • Yi says:

      Yea definitely. I’ve reading been so many comedy/ moe driven, half-hearted yuri manga/ doujin lately. It’s nice to finally read one that actually has an intense story.

  5. Abscissa says:

    After reading you’re review it feels like a glass just suddenly trampled right in front of me. I’m fond of this manga because I like how dynamic the story is, however, I didn’t expect that it’s going to be that intense to that extent. Like whew! Nevertheless, I’m happy that this manga won’t disappoint me to get that emotional roller coaster–something that I enjoy about yuri and its forbidden love. And, it’s a breath of fresh air to have a yandere as a main character in a yuri plot.

    I can’t wait for the scanlators to release the next chapters.
    Again, thanks for sharing your review… and for spoiling us lol :P

    • Yi says:

      When I started reading this, I always had a sense something is about to go very awry. But the full scale of intensity didn’t hit me until later chapters. This is certainly a bit darker than something like Aoi Hana or Sasameki Koto, which is kind of refreshing to see. And I love yandere.

      “Again, thanks for sharing your review… and for spoiling us lol :)”
      If you didn’t want to be spoiled, I sincerely apologize. I really didn’t want to ruin this for you.

      I was hoping the spoiler alert, spacing and placement of images, and page jumps are enough to prevent unwanted spoilers…

    • Abscissa says:

      Just noticed, I got typo here. I meant to say “…can’t wait…” not “…can wait…” and “it’s” is supposed to be “its” =_=!

  6. Pingback: Blue Friend [yuri manga] | Listless Ink | Anime and Manga

  7. glothelegend says:

    A lesbian who also plays softball? That’s a bit out of the norm.

    I’m obviously being sarcastic. My sister played softball, and the teams were filled with more lesbians than a gay bar for girls.

    • glothelegend says:

      Bad news, I can only find the first chapters, which I subsequently read.

    • Yi says:

      “the teams were filled with more lesbians than a gay bar for girls.”
      Loll.

      She’s a softball player, but that doesn’t really come up much after the first few chapters.

      I think English scanlations by Yurikai are only up to chapter 2 right now. The whole thing is released though so complete scanlations should be released soon.

      • EmperorG says:

        I also wanted to ask you that question of where did you read this great manga? Turns out you read the original. Would you mind informing me of when the English scanlations will be released if it’s not too much trouble?

        I could sure use a Taishou Yakyuu Musume type of manga right about now. Since I can’t find the novels anywhere, I’ll have to wait until Blue Friend is translated. Also, WHERE IS MY CONTINUATION OF CHIRALITY!? I’m up to chapter 16 and I want MORE! Sorry, I don’t have credit cards so I can’t order the original manga. “Sobs” chirality is many years old and I can’t find a site that currently has it passed volume 3. “Sobs”.

        As for your review, well you already know how I feel about your writing skills comrade Yi. I salute your gift of being able to motivate everyone around you to either enjoy what you did like or deny what you didn’t like. I bow before your greatness Yi.

        • Yi says:

          I think this is really different from Taishou Yakyuu Musume. For one, there’s very little, if any, comedy in Blue Friends. Further, the softball element doesn’t come up after initial introductions. It’s fairly insignificant to the story or the characters.

          Sorry to hear that about Chirality. It’s the worst feeling to not be able to find the rest of a series. Best of luck on that.

          Anyways, thank you for your kind words. ^ ^

          p.s. I did indeed read the raw scans. I found them on Yamibo forum, but the site isn’t in English.
          Yurikai is scanlating it and they’re up to chapter two.

  8. reo 2040 says:

    is this a bad ending please say yes or no
    Did she die?

    • Yi says:

      Hm… I’m afraid I have to keep the suspense. ^ ^

      Well, if you must know, shoot me an email via the contact page.
      I don’t want to spoil it in the comments in case others read it.

      • Yi says:

        Actually, I realized that it’s going to be a while until the full volume is accessible in English, so here’s the final spoiler just for you, reo 2040. ^ ^

        She lives.

  9. Zemial99 says:

    …… Really? She went suicidal in the end?

    The ending reminds me of Myself ; Yourself, except…. more dramatic. (Oh, and if you want to know what’s Myself ; Yourself, it’s a romance comedy/drama anime that well….. Just to spoil you a small part, it took a really big turn almost at the end of the series)

    • Yi says:

      Yea she did. It wasn’t as big of a turn since the progression up to that point is very well paced. The scene didn’t come as a too huge of a shock, but it was still really emotional.

      Anyways, you have me interested in Myself; Yourself.

      p.s. I whited out the spoiler word. Just highlight to show it.

      • Zemial99 says:

        It’s a good thing the ending’s expected, otherwise, it would be like School Days. (About school Days, it’s another anime that….. I highly wanted to say is this: Stay away from School Days. It’s not crappy, but one episode will, and quote, “Makes you wanna have nightmares, and never wanna watch the series ever again”).

        • Yi says:

          I haven’t School Days myself, but I hear a lot of people have expressed similar sentiments. I have an idea what happens…… And I don’t think I’m watching School Days anytime soon.

  10. afkeroge says:

    I’m definitely gonna be reading this! d[^_^]b

    I was searching for a yuri story that could make me cry… this may be the one… or not. Still, I’m going to be reading this! Thanks, Yi!

  11. hossammilan says:

    Well, drama and tears are not my thing so I’m not interested, but if the story is the same as “Pieta” and no boys interfere in the relationship then I will think again…

  12. I’m SO going to read this! btw since I skipped straight to comments, I wasn’t sure if you put up any links as to where I can read this online.

    Thanks! ^^

  13. nina5478 says:

    I only want saying that my Chinese is better than the Japanese, the Japanese is also better than English, very wants to return to some commentaries, but looked the good pain, this BLUE FRIEND I like, although I only see the sixth words, but I hoped that finally will have the good result, some authors to can come a shallowturn finally, did not know whether too to mind third party’s judgment,

    • Yi says:

      The last chapter is just an emotional chaos. Highs and lows. Well, I’ll leave you to find out the ending for yourself.

      我會講一些中文. 假如你想用中文留言也 OK. ^ ^

  14. Pingback: Tweets that mention Blue Friend [yuri manga] | Listless Ink -- Topsy.com

  15. wingberg says:

    I’ve read the ending. Was wondering when is the next ‘special’ be out? Is it just a one-shot. No volume 2?
    The art is beautiful but the storyline is a bit ‘soft’. It can be interpreted as strong friendship bond or unrequited love

    • Yi says:

      I don’t know if there will be more after the first volume. The story is wrapped up pretty nicely and ends on a definitive note.

      I thought this manga actually had a fair amount of subtext. Misuzu certainly has romantic feelings for Ayumu. On the other hand, Ayumu’s feelings are a bit more unclear, but I think by the end of chapter 4, she has the same kind of feeling back as well. Although it’s not explicitly stated, the subtext is there for the yuri.

  16. Guy says:

    I saw your not at the end, why do you have negative feelings towards yuri manga? I’m quite surprised, honestly, heh.

    • Yi says:

      It’s just that haven’t picked up anything worthwhile recently. I’m still enjoying the longer works, such as Aoi Hana and Octave, but there’s been a distinct lack of interesting new materials. Furthermore, with Girl Friend having ended and Sasameki Koto dragging out its story, I haven’t found much good stuff. Most of the stuff I see are either fan servicey comedies or Touhou doujins. There’s just so many of those you can read at once before you’re burned out. I wanted something with more weight.

  17. Nopy says:

    “The powerful manga evokes the full range of emotions, from love to disgust, from desolation to hopefulness.”

    That line got me interested.

    “2.Misuzu is a yandere.”

    Now I’m sold. My friends think I’m weird and maybe I am, but I just like yandere characters.

  18. someone from somewhere says:

    spoil us…thanks…
    also, can you post the raws if you have them?

  19. someone from somewhere says:

    nah, it’s not sarcasm…uhm…i don’t speak nor read chinese so it’s difficult for me to know where to find them. i do have an account though…so if you would be as lovely enough as to just link to the thread where i can find them, it would be greatly apriciated. thank you very much

  20. loyz says:

    hi.,..there.,.,uhm.,..where can i read this online????i wanna try to read it but i cant found it in mangafox????is there any manga web…where i can find this blue friend manga????pls.,.,pls,.,.,pls,.,.,

  21. R0_0AR says:

    Good review! You write so well. I’ve been looking for more shoujo-ai/yuri manga for quite a while and I found this. I haven’t seen lots of these manga drawn so well, so maybe it’ll fit my taste. I can only say that I have one problem.

    I want more spoilers. O,…..,O

  22. KoSSa says:

    Well since my knowledge of Chinese (since I have Chinese scans of entire volume) is absolute zero and of Japanese which sucks since all I know is hiragana and few kanji I was hoping to get from your review more than what I got from pictures but whatever. This review was indeed written.
    Still this manga deserves recommendation.

    Btw. ch3 p26 – I love that startled cat.
    Btw2: Did they got together or stayed in “friends zone” which kinda sucks?

    • Yi says:

      I don’t want to spoil all the fine details, but I do want to get people interested in this manga. Fortunately, yurikai is working on scanlating this, so it should be much more accessible later on.

      Love the startled cat too. ^ ^

      “Did they got together or stayed in “friends zone” which kinda sucks?”

      Highlight this:Mizusu confesses her love and Ayumu accepts those feelings.

  23. hisui19 says:

    Hell yeah, thanks for the jump to comments button… I hate spoilers, thanks so much… now that you review it, I’m off to reading it now ^_^

  24. lovelyduckie says:

    OK, I’ll give it a try. I’ll probably get to this sooner than all the anime series I said I’m going to watch.

  25. EmperorG says:

    I read the 1st 3 translated chapters since as you know, I’m not good with RAWS, nor am I impatient. Anyway, this is certainly a pretty interesting tale. You already described it so well and you’re so right on how you described this manga. I’m upset because I highly suspect that the real game begins after miss black hair made her debut at the end of chapter 3, meaning that the real dark stuff begins in chapter 4. I guess it’s going to take a while before the translation of the 4th chapter is finished. Until then, I’ll be waiting to see just how dark Misuzu’s past really was.

    • Yi says:

      Yea… The suspense is really brooding. It gets more intense as the story continues. I hope you continue to enjoy it as much as I did!

  26. wingberg says:

    That ending doesn’t really tell us if this manga is yuri, because it can be interpreted as a blue friend, a very strong bonding but not a romance one.
    Is there an extra story to follow after the ending? i heard ppl talking about it.

    • Yi says:

      You interpretation is totally valid. After all, the difference between friendship and romance is often very blurred, especially when told through manga. I personally think they do have romantic feelings. The kiss, the way they embrace each other… etc. I interpreted that as something more than friendly love.

      As a side note, I (and many other yuri fans) use the term “yuri” often very loosely.

  27. reo 2040 says:

    http://livedoor.blogimg.jp/yuri_amagasa/imgs/2/5/255a88b1.jpg?blog_id=123901
    THERE IS MORE IN THIS MANGA I AM HAPPY because there is more chapter 7 NOT THE Ending

    • Yi says:

      That’s awesome!! I can’t wait to see whatever omake or last page I missed. And it looks like an even happier ending. ^ ^

      • EmperorG says:

        That’s most definitely wonderful news. I look forward to seeing what will happen next to our danger prone couple. I’m assuming they’re danger prone.

  28. Dumb Guest says:

    can i know where site can i read this manga?

  29. wingberg says:

    Just like eban fumi’s style, well, the ending is kinda like the previous ones, except that she confirms the love between the two. But, the ending of that couple, is left for the reader to guess………..

    • Yi says:

      I can’t say I’ve read that much of Eban Fumi’s works, but my interest in her stuff has definitely been piqued. Anyways, the ending of this couple is… pretty.

  30. Dumb Guest says:

    i read Blue Friend chapter 4 but im so excited for chapter 5 where i can read chapter 5 in english ..?

  31. Izumi4423 says:

    Misuzu is a yandere? Really? 0_0
    I just finished this manga yesterday…it was quite sad as the manga end so soon but the ending was good. This is probably the best shoujo-ai I’ve ever read so I was planning on supporting it with my best. That’s why I was hoping for another emotional shoujo ai manga just like this one from the same mangaka. Or maybe another volume continuing this story~ ^^

    • Yi says:

      Mizusu is not a yandere in the strictest sense, but she did kind of feel like it at points. That part of her tapered off pretty quickly though and she just feels broken.

      Anyway, I’m glad you liked it because I really like this manga too; one of the best shoujo-ai I’ve read as well.

      p.s. There’s an extra 100 pages after chapter seven that wrap things up really nicely.

      • Izumi4423 says:

        I just took a look again at the after-story and it says there will be a second volume in February. I did some searching and found out that the second one will be release on 15 Feb. Pretty soon.

        • Yi says:

          Ooh, there’s going to be a second volume? That’s awesome news. I’d love to see this cute pair again.

          Thanks for the info. ^ ^

  32. Nakayo says:

    I’ve read 4 chapters so far and it has been like a breath of fresh air for me. I’m not saying that it’s completely unique in the themes (I feel like I’ve seen similar works like Pieta) but I have lacked as good as a read as this in a while. I’m holding out and hoping that it is not all bleak in the end.

    • Yi says:

      That’s kind of how I felt as well. It was a really refreshing read and I was coming out of a pretty long dry spell. While it’s not unique, its presentation and execution are amazing. I love the way it builds atmosphere and suspense.

      Anyway, hope I didn’t spoil anything terribly. :(

  33. YELLOW says:

    Now I’m just confused.

    Just how many chapters are in this manga? I heard that 5 chapters were released in the first volume and the last 2 would be in the second volume. But since you’ve already finished does that mean that the second volume has been released? Or is there really only one volume?

    @___@

  34. Pingback: Sorairo Girlfriend [Yuri Manga] | Listless Ink

  35. Izumi4423 says:

    I’m afraid that chapters 1-5 are in volume 1 and chapters 6-after story are in volume 2.
    At first what I thought was similar to you ==”
    Didn’t expect that, it’ll be good if the story continues.

    • Izumi4423 says:

      The after story was published in the magazine but I thought it was in the vol.1. That’s why when it said vol.2 will be publish, I thought there’s going to be another volume. ==”’

      • Yi says:

        Ahh that makes more sense. I was checking out the “extra” and was super surprised at how long (100 pages) a mere extra was. Since it is actually part of volume two, its length seems more appropriate.

        Thanks for the info! I’m glad you cleared that up for me. ^ ^

  36. EmperorG says:

    Chapter 6: I must confess that I did not see that coming. Well played writers, well played. you know, a part of me is upset that it’s taking so long for each chapter to be translated. another side is most appreciative of the fact someone picked up this great manga in the 1st place. since the latter overpowers the former, I’ll patiently await the release of the 7th chapter. Good stuff.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, the story is quite compelling with many twists and turns, ups and downs. It’s really intense, and that’s what I like about it so much. It really grabs my attention from chapter to chapter.

  37. Yana says:

    Hello,
    I loved what you wrote about this manga and i agree with you 120%
    for now its one of my favorite yuri manga
    i just finished reading 7th chapter and daaamn it was intense!
    but i loved it
    ive read that there is an after story released already
    do u know if there is one in english? or they still need to translate it?
    i really hope Ayumu and Misuzu will end up together as a couple
    cuz in the end it didnt really say exactly)
    anyway ur post is great :)
    all the best,
    yana

    • Yi says:

      I know right? Totally intense, but so lovely!!

      There is indeed an after story released. Not sure about the English scanlation, but I don’t think it’s out yet.

      As for Ayumu and Misuzu, I won’t spoil anything~

      Anyway, I’m really glad you enjoyed the manga and the post. It makes me happy. ^ ^ Thanks you so much for visiting and commenting!

      Cheers!

  38. Overlord-G says:

    I look forward to the bonus chapter when it’s released. It was a dark, yet lovely story at the same time. My only gripe is that our beloved, black, seductive side-heroine didn’t get much screen time here. At least we know she kicked ass. In any case, this manga rocked and I thank you very much for introducing us to it.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, I really like Satsuki as well, and I wish we could’ve seen more of her. But she does appear in the after story as well, so look forward to that. ^ ^

  39. Dumb Guest says:

    im just finished volume 2 of blue friend and im expecting volume 3..there will be volume 3 ?

    • Yi says:

      Last I heard, Ribon magazine’s 7th volume in June will continue Blue Friend in a second season. I’m not sure if it will be an entire volume though.

  40. Jadie says:

    I sometimes sense that they should release something involving couple Satsuki (a bad guy in disguise) and Ayumu (a heroine at heart) haha. I kinda have a feeling for a heroine x villain couple. Anyway, heard there was a ~after story~ which has not been scanlated yet and it will wrap up the ending.

    • Yi says:

      I’d say Satsuki is a good girl in a villainous disguise. I think she’s actually a really kind person at heart, and she cares deeply for Ayumu. And yes, I’d toally support Satsuki x Ayumu.

      There is indeed an after story. It’s a whole other arc that follows the events in Blue Friends. There is also going to be more chapters after the After Story in Ribon Magazine, so the story has yet to end. ^ ^

    • Overlord-G says:

      Satsuki is what we in “the nation” call sort of an anti-hero, yet not exactly an anti-hero. She started off sounding like a heel but she really isn’t. She just sees things from a different perspective yet clearly understands what’s going on. These traits, along with her undeniable beauty, are what make Satsuki an awesome character. (Oh, and the fact that she’s a badass who doesn’t take names)

      That’s most exciting news Yi-san. The fact that there will be even more chapters after the Special is a most joyous report to hear mademoiselle.

      • Yi says:

        Yep yep. She is kind of the anti-heroine of Blue Friends in the broadest definition: a protagonist who is unlike the archetype hero, but who still inspires considerable admiration/ sympathy.

  41. Pingback: Honey Crush – The Bittersweet Yuri of a Yurei, the Impossibilities of Some Love | Listless Ink

  42. Overlord-G says:

    With the 4th chapter of Blue Friend: 2nd season being released tomorrow, I was wondering if you have any thoughts on the story so far since we’re both reading it. I personally think it isn’t as impact worthy as the 1st one and follows a more lovable yuri stereotype route…kinda similar to Kiddy Grade and Kiddy Girl. Does that mean I dislike it? HECK NO! It’s enjoyable so far and I have a feeling things will get much more intense as the story continues

    • Yi says:

      I find season two to have a very different feel from season one. It doesn’t quite have the same super angsty intensity–season one is just so incredibly and shockingly powerful–but do I love the story. S2 does follow a tried-and-true friends turn into lovers yuri archetype, but unlike most, the friendship is very very delicately authentic. The confusion and uncertainty about how to make friends right at that transitional age, combined with the cliquey environment and mean personalities make this story about two clumsy friends a fascinating read. (As an aside, I really like Aki and I hope we see more of her.)

Leave a Reply

