Hanahira! – New Yuri Game by Fuguriya

Hanahira yuri visual novel game

Hanahira! (はなひらっ!) is a new yuri game by Fuguriya (or rather Huguriya) set to be released on September 24th. I am extremely excited for this work. Over the years, Fuguriya has brought us the lovely genre defining series, A Kiss for the Petals (Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke wo). Every single one of the eight games has been a hit for me and for yuri fans. As a side story to the original series, Hanahira! is certainly going to be just as wonderful. Indeed, the preview images do not disappoint. We have all the elements that make the other eight games great: Peko’s artwork, vibrant characters, yuri themes, and those absolutely adorable, sexy uniforms from St. Michael’s All Girl Academy.

Hanahira yuri visual novel game

The main characters are Yuuki Amane (結城あまね) and Hamura Kaori (羽村佳織). It looks like Amane is the cheerful honest girl, while Kaori plays the serious tsundere role to Amane’s antics. They are nicely complemented by a supporting pair, Uozumi Koharu (魚住小春) and Toudou Makoto (藤堂真琴). I am, of course, instantly drawn to Kaori the tsundere. I am also really happy to finally see a ponytail in the cast.

Hanahira yuri visual novel game

Peko’s artworks have really evolved since the first Hanabira. We saw a glimpse of the change in the recently released artbook. Hanahira! employs a similar new style from Peko. I actually really love this more moe-fied look. Further, I think it works especially well with this cast. Given that this game will be family friendly, the younger in appearance and in age girls fit the direction of Hanahira! nicely.

Hanahira yuri visual novel game

Hanahira! looks like it will be a sweet little love comedy. It is bursting with cuteness and I could not be more excited. It is also refreshing to see that Hanahira! will be family friendly and will simply win fans over with the charming yuri.

Hanahira!: Download

________________________________________________

Hanahira yuri visual novel game

As a side note, it seems like the different Hanabira translation projects are all really coming together. Be sure to visit the index page and the comments to keep up to date with related news.
 
More importantly, huge thanks to all the people who consistently provide us fans with all the news and the information. Without you, I would not know half the releases, and I probably would not be such a fan of Hanabira.

___________________________________________________
More information on the Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke wo series

About Yi

''lol...you're either sleeping or eating'' ''oh and watching anime'' ''and indulge in fashion.'' ... Ahh the busy life~
This entry was posted in Games, Sono Hanabira and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

146 Responses to Hanahira! – New Yuri Game by Fuguriya

  1. The characters seem a lot more cute, and almost chibified in this one. Definitely something I’d look forward to if I didn’t know it would never get translated orz

    • Yi says:

      Yep yep. Peko’s style has changed quite a bit. Even in some of the artworks for the seventh, there’s a bit of moe-fication with Runa and Takako. It’s cute.

      Don’t give up hope on translations yet. Projects are really coming together from different groups, and I believe we will eventually see all of them done some day.

  2. AXYPB says:

    I can easily see this turning into an anime if it’s successful. If we’re lucky, maybe we’ll see other Sonohana characters animated.

    • Yi says:

      I hope so. If it does turn into an anime, I hope it’s better than Mayoi Neko.

      Anyways, I’m hoping for another Chu Chu/ A1C x Fuguriya collaboration.

  3. FT says:

    this is just too cute! but on the other hand…will this contain any H scenes(difficult to imagine chibi chara doing it)? I do hope there will be images/scenes with ‘un-chibified’ characters :) quite different from the other VNs but a good change(though I would have liked more another Shizuku x Eris VN)

  4. Swordwind says:

    I’m glad you remembered the lack of ponytails, and I’m just as glad the situation has been rectified.

    While, I’m less happy over the moeification, It’s definitely still bearable. The story should be nice.

    • Yi says:

      Haha yea. Ever since that comment, I’ve been noticing a distinct lack of ponytails in yuri. The story looks like it should be a lot of fluffy adorable nonsense. Something I’d really enjoy.

  5. AXYPB says:

    Yi, check the second paragraph.

    • Yi says:

      Thanks for pointing that out! That was embarrassing. I must have mixed up the voice actress names with the character names. It was like 6am after an all-nighter of essay writing when I wrote this, so my mind wasn’t exactly sharp.

  6. Nopy says:

    Just looking at the characters, I would never have guessed they were from a yuri game. Like FT says, it’s difficult to see them doing it since they’re so cute.

    • Yi says:

      Yea, I can’t imagine them doing it… As much as I love loli yuri, that would be crossing the boundary. Well, the game is going to be family friendly and will not have any adult scenes, so that’s nice.

    • AXYPB says:

      As a point of interest, my name translator returns Eri Kitamura as the voice of Kaori. Can anyone more familiar with her work confirm?

      • Yi says:

        喜多村英梨 is indeed the same name written the same way as the well known Eri Kitamura (Yui from Angel Beats!…etc).
        I’m sure it’s the same person.

        I hadn’t noticed that before though. That’s kind of neat. I like her.

  7. Ryan says:

    Wow, this art is just so adorable!

  8. Johnny says:

    It seems more “lolicon”… 2 bad there’s no more H scenes…

  9. softz says:

    I’m not sure what to expect from the game but its character design looks darn cute. I bet many girls out there will love this game. :)

  10. Persocom says:

    Looks pretty cute, interesting that it’s actually family friendly. I wonder just how yuri a family friendly game can be :3

  11. shinra says:

    Hummm…. Honest, Tsundere, Kind and Otona? Loli XDDD I would like to see how the story goes…. hope its not too light on the Ecchi part. XD

    But then again, it would be wayyy better if its an anime.

    • Yi says:

      It’s going to have no ecchi actually. This will be a under 18 game, so yea…

      I guess that means it should have an even better story than usual because that’s what everyone’s focus is going to be on.

      “But then again, it would be wayyy better if its an anime.”
      Agreed!

  12. hisui19 says:

    oh my!… another one?! so cute! XD *grab the pics* not an ero, I might be able to play this… ^_^ speaking of “Artbook”, I hope it will come soon… XD thanks!

  13. Gelotaku says:

    Blue Hair? Ponytail? ;swoon~;
    They’re all really cute~ and of course the character designs are lovely (same for the art, as expected of Peco). I rather like the new look of the art as well, it seems more bright and fun, which I guess works with this game. Looking forward to seeing more of it~

    • Yi says:

      I’m very excited for the ponytail girl. She seems like the quiet shy, outwardly cold but compassionate inside kind of girl.

      Anyways, this style certainly feels a little less serious and a little more fun. Should work great with a more innocent story.

  14. Zeroblade says:

    OH GOD SO MOE I’M GONNA DIE.

    Though seriously, all-ages is great – that means I can play it in public and there’s absolutely no chance of me stumbling upon an eroscene!

  15. AXYPB says:

    Looking through these comments and on other threads, it looks like Fuguriya was right. There are indeed more than a few people who want to play their games without fear of hitting something unsavory. I wonder how long this has been true.

    • Yi says:

      Agreed. The massively positive response surprised me. I thought people would like this, but I was expecting more lukewarm feelings overall. Good move by Huguriya.

  16. PhantomPhreek says:

    Holy crap, the artwork looks surreal!, why is it that these breathtakingly beautiful games don’t get anime adaptations?..HUH!!??…seriously….the absurdity of this world has thrown me into despair….

  17. biotoxic says:

    Looking at the artwork I was kind of worried if they were going to include H-scenes in this. While I’m relieved they are not, I’m a bit uneasy of the characters appearance. I’ll probably pass on this one, not really my cup of tea.

    Ah, so that’s where I can see the progress and news of the other parts. I’ll be sure to check there often :D.

  18. ZeroQ says:

    I heard about this game a week or so ago on the Fuguriya website. I was worried at first, because I thought the Hanabira series was going down the path-of-no-return by making an all-out loli adult game (Similar to that of the less-than-pleasing “teacher/student” game from earlier).

    I’m relieved to learn that this new Hanahira “series?” will be more family-friendly ^_^

    The purple-haired girl is my favorite for the moment, she looks cool and collected XD

    • ZeroQ says:

      What I said about the purple-haired girl being cool and collected (I just listened to her voice tracks), I stand corrected ^_^

    • Yi says:

      Haha I actually really like the seventh Hanabira, but yea. I’m all for loli yuri, but an adult version of this is not exactly my thing.

      I do hope there will be more Hanahira other than this single side story. The characters seem to have a lot of potential.

      Purple-haired girl is also my favorite as well even if she isn’t cool and collected. I like long hair.

  19. Shin says:

    The loli designs sit very well with me, even if it unfortunately has no ero. I can almost forget the yuri theme altogether.

  20. AXYPB says:

    An upload was spotted.

    1 2 3

  21. AXYPB says:

    To no one’s surprise, the CGs show that this game is as mild as explicit yuri can get.

  22. SparkyTheGryphon says:

    So cute! XD It’ll definitely have a different feel without all the ecchiness of Hanabira, but I’m definitely looking forward to it. Looks like it’ll be quite funny. ^^ And yuri always makes something good. |3

    Normally I automatically get drawn to the cheery, outgoing girl. But for whatever reason, I’m going for Mokoto this time…

    • Yi says:

      Mokoto seems to be my favorite too based on first impressions, but everyone else is so cute too! Should be a nice little adorable yuri love comedy.

  23. AXYPB says:

    One thing I noticed right away is that there’s no narration. The profiles don’t fade between changes, so lines change faster and the conversations flow a lot more naturally. It really does play out like the Reo/Mai Diaries. I suppose this is what they meant when they said this is for fans of that. I wonder if later games in the main series will be like this.

    • Yi says:

      With no narration of setting and more conversation based storytelling, it sounds like it’s essentially more like an anime/ manga rather than a traditional role play visual novel. That’s really cool!

    • AXYPB says:

      I played through more of it and I’m now fully convinced that the only thing that separates this from a real anime is that it’s a visual novel. The exaggerated expressions of the characters (especially relative to past works), the semi-innocent and naive subject matter, and the viable voice cast are just begging to be animated. If it ever comes to that, we need only hope that the same writers are kept.

      That said, the only thing that makes it special is its legacy. It wouldn’t be much more than a blip in the face of the higher-profile anime with a similar format. I can’t imagine that an anime of this would be of much interest to anyone other than Fuguriya’s established fanbase, so maybe this is asking for too much. It would need radical changes that I don’t think I would want to be successful.

      • EmperorG says:

        I guess this is just one of those great games that should remain as such and not be converted into an anime. Maybe that’s the reason Hayate X Blade hasn’t been turned into an anime yet. Does this show remind you more of Lucky Star or Ichogo Mashimaro? I think it’s a little of both from what I’ve played so far. I guess the truth will be revealed after the translated version is completed.

      • Yi says:

        I agree that its legacy is the only thing separating the potential anime apart from your average season loli filler. Just off the top of my head, I can think of a few already: Hanamura Kindergarten, Hidamari Sketch, and Ichigo Mashimaro. Most of these have a more expansive story and a a more comedic pop. As of right now, Hanahira, while fine as an “interactive” visual novel, could be slightly boring to sit through a whole season. It probably would have very little appeal for the average fan who’s only lukewarm to yuri themes.

        I still would love to see an anime, but if no changes were done, I’d probably only pick this up because of the yuri and Fuguriya.

        p.s. I haven’t completely played through this yet either, so it might still change my mind…

        p.p.s. Is there a translation going on?

        • EmperorG says:

          If the anime adaptation were to have a similar premise to shows like Ichigo, Hidamari and Hanamura, I’M SOLD BABY! i love those three shows.

          I’ve heard rumors of planned fan translations but I’m not sure if they production has begun yet on said translation.

        • AXYPB says:

          I will to create a patch for this as well if any translators are willing to volunteer. The current tools will need to be updated for this game’s scripts first, though.

        • afkeroge says:

          Since this game is purely conversational, I may be able to help in the translation itself. I only have problems reading Japanese text, but I can understand the spoken language, more or less. So if any help is needed, I sure can help out.

  24. Zemial99 says:

    By looking at the CGs (Haven’t played the game yet), I have to say that I’m starting to like how different the series shifted. No sex scenes, but the cuteness and characters make up for it.

    Oh, I forgot to mention one thing (Off-topic) about Tokusatsu: Even if Tokusatsu is a super hero kind of genre in Japan, there’s just some exceptions that it’s not really heroic, but it’s still works.
    Take this song for example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dRCsM1C-hw
    The Original Action-Zero was more of a Rock kind of Music, but like Hanahira (in some ways), the series changed from a superhero story, to a love story.

    • Yi says:

      Agreed. With characters so cute, I don’t think I want to see sex scenes.

      That’s an interesting thing about Tokusatsu. It’s sometimes really refreshing to see stories mix and play with genres.

  25. EmperorG says:

    Hmm, looks like part 2 is temporarily down. Oh well, I guess it’ll eventually be fixed. Looking forward to previewing this one.

  26. More family friendly, eh? I wonder if Peko adjusts the art to see fit the target audience? Oh and yes, the tsundere would definitely get my attention right away too ^^

    • Yi says:

      I kind of wonder that about the artwork. It’s interesting to note that the 7th, 8th, and the artbook do kind of go in this direction though even though those are not family friendly.

      Tsundere are always lovely.

  27. afkeroge says:

    A family friendly game from Fuguriya (Huguriya)? Count me in on that one! I’m kinda reluctant to view H-Scenes in any visual novel because they’re usually filled with those dirty fetishes (guro, anyone?). The H-Scenes from the Sono Hanabira series, however, was very light on the eyes, and wonderful to the ears, so I didn’t mind the H-Scenes. Then here comes Huguriya to deliver a family frienly title. Genius!!! This one I certainly can’t afford to miss for the world. It has nice CG (MOE FTW!!!), love comedy, and all the good stuff minus the H-scenes. This would really be a good buy! ^_^

    There’s this super cute pic that I found earlier.

    MOE!

    Hands down for cuteness and sweetness!

    • Yi says:

      I know what you mean about eroges with unsatisfactory scenes… Here’s something kind of interesting. There are actually several purely yuri eroge series other than Sono Hanabira/ Fuguriya. However, productions like Shining Star Lily’s series are not as popular perhaps because of they tended toward the heavy tastes. I think many fans really do appreciate the light, fluffy, sweetness.

      The CGs are super moe indeed!!

    • Johnny says:

      I didnt remark this picture yet !
      Kawaiii !!!

  28. Pingback: Sono Hanabira 10 Announced! Amakute Otona no Torokeru Chuu | Listless Ink

  29. hossammilan says:

    Hmm…… so now this is the ninth game.

  30. MyHatsOffToYou says:

    Though I haven’t played it (since I can’t read Japanese), but I seem to like the 2 supporting actors more. One that’s always smiling and a quite cutie.

  31. SeaMeow says:

    I already Finished the game, But why didn’t I get this scene? http://i1214.photobucket.com/albums/cc500/SeaMeow/hanahirac_3.png

    o_0

  32. Johnny says:

    Probably because u chose 2 many wrong answers…
    To complete it, you have to choose the very first option.

  33. EmperorG says:

    The thought of some people actually wanting to see prepubescent children nude and “getting jiggy with it” frightens me sometimes. Thank the glaciers it didn’t get that far in Hanahira! Oh sure there are some scenes here and there but nothing that will make you shoot a hole through your monitor.

  34. MaiXReo_rocks says:

    i really hope that this game dont be hentai…

    i men…blargh!
    they´re like children

    its not agradable seeng children havin sex with each other!
    its not healtly…=_=

    i really hope that this game will be for “all family”
    because if its not i will be VERY MUCH desapointed with this seriesU.U

    i mean…its ridiculous like EVERYTHING IS BECOMING SO APPELATIVE !!!if this happen here too it will be VERY sad!Ç_Ç

    i mean….i am a hanabira fan…not a Pedobear =_=*

    • Yi says:

      You’ll be happy to hear that it won’t have any adult scenes. Hanahira keeps it very cute, cuddly, and family friendly.

      • EmperorG says:

        Is it really such a pain to translate an adorable game like this just because it doesn’t have T and A? Such a shame really. I would truly enjoy playing a Lucky Star themed Hanabira game.

        • Yi says:

          I don’t think it’s so much that it’s a pain, but rather the people who have the time, the passion, and the ability to work on the projects are all busy with something else.

          I think eventually, someone will get around to it, unless Fuguriya continues to come out with new adult yuri games that take priority.

  35. Johnny says:

    To my mind, id rather have translations of adult games than Hanahira’s !

    • Yi says:

      I think me too, but only by the tiniest margin. And it also depends on my mood. Sometimes, I would prefer to play a family friendly, cute loli visual novel as opposed to one that’s so sex oriented.

  36. sekiryu says:

    I like hanahira very cute. For some reason it reminds me of lucky star. Not to much into the tsundere. If its kind of light its fine but to much tsuntsun is just idk not something I much like. However, the hanahira and hanabira make it possible to endure the tsundere. I tend to like characters like makoto. Or Ellis/Eris. Good game so far!

    • Yi says:

      Not a fan of tsundere huh? I kind of like the archetype. But yea, the tsundere in the Hanabira series are all lovely. ^ ^ Also, I like Ellis a lot too!

  37. angeloidx says:

    So the game is not X rated…
    I’m not complaining its just that…
    It’s cute and sweet and all it’s just that… mhee
    I have a weird lolicon complex and i’m NOT creep
    Dont judge I’M NOT WEIRD
    just a little shy thats ALL

    That came out wrong…

    • Yi says:

      Thanks for finding the link! I’ll be sure to keep them in mind. It’s so wonderful to see that someone has picked this up. ^ ^

  38. Johnny says:

    I would have prefered another Hanabira game… well, i saw Yuru Yuri and it was more yuri than expected, so why not? ^^

  39. shifune says:

    LOL this looks like Tamao and Nagisa

  40. AXYPB says:

    Fuguriya has started a video series named Hanahiranime!, a 10-part companion series to Hanahira! in the style of the Reo/Mai Diaries. Unlike the Diaries, it is being posted on Nico Nico Douga, not on their YouTube channel. Because of this, I will upload them to YouTube myself in this playlist for convenience unless Fuguriya chooses to do so themselves.

  41. Cell says:

    Is it just me, or does Kaori sound a lot like Kagami from Lucky Star?

  42. shaffy says:

    how to play this T.T

  43. FFF says:

    i can’t find the hanahira game link .. could you .. please post it again .. thank you

  44. yanuar adji says:

    can you reupload it again, look like your link is broken, and I can’t download that, please reupload it…

  45. Idiot Game Freak says:

    (TT ^ TT)
    is it me or i’m just stupid….
    I can’t seem to get hanahira working…
    i’ve downloaded it all but I still can’t play it!!
    Can you help me by saying the step by step procedure (TT ^ TT)…
    I must be the most moronic game freak who ever lived……
    I extracted it and evrything, but it still doesn’t work…..

    • Priscila_Dokuro says:

      Hey! I found a way!
      You just need to change the name of the folder, you know, its in japanese, well, re-name it to “hanahira” for example and success!!

      • Lolicon101 says:

        I also did that but is it normal for the words to be like
        ” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ” <——this???
        I can hear their voice and everything but I cannot see the words….

        • Yi says:

          This is odd. Make sure you have Japanese languages on your computer. I hope this helps. Cheers!

        • Priscila_Dokuro says:

          Thats it, if you don´t have Japanese languages in your pc, this will happen.
          Install the pack of Japanese languages, or download Applocale, and use this program to run the game :D

  46. Priscila_Dokuro says:

    I can’t open it!!! please somebody help us T.T
    Says something like: MainWingdows: FileJoin… and nothing else happen…
    i wanna play!! TT.TT

  47. Minaya says:

    By any chance is this out in english yet? if not can i have a english patch link?

Leave a Reply

