K-On! is a Slice of My Life – a Life Reflected by Caricatures

Akiyama Mio Hirasawa Yui K-On! Kotobuki Tsumugi mata Nakano Azusa Tainaka Ritsu

One of my favorite anime of the season, K-On! has often been criticized as being simple mindless moeblob or lacking in depth. For most of the first and second season, I agreed somewhat, but I did not mind the fluff at all. I like watching a light series on a lazy afternoon with some tea and cake. Recently, however, I have realized that K-On! is more than just that. It is actually quite a realistic reflection of my life (and undoubtedly the lives of others).

Tainaka Ritsu Akiyama Mio ghost stories

I have always marveled at the details put into making the girls convincing. Besides wearing fashionable but not outlandish clothes, the girls engage in conversations that feel really genuine. For example, I have laughed at random words because of the high from being with friends on a trip, just as Mio does. I have felt the resigned frustration Azusa feels at the lack of productivity. In fact, I see a lot of myself in Ritsu. Among my friends, I am usually the outgoing and inane one. We even share the same associations about summer and the same liking for teasing.

K-On! Kagome Tainaka Ritsu traumatize

Of course, Ritsu sometimes come off ridiculous; Mio can be too shy and delicious; and Azu-nyan is divinely adorable. In that, these characters are caricatures with exaggerated personalities. Perhaps that actually makes them the best mirrors for our lives. Further, much like political cartoons or the grotesque in literature, K-On! amplifies certain ideas far enough to resonate with me, yet does not lose me in its silliness.

Hirasawa Yui Akiyama Mio Tainaka Ritsu future plans

This is especially apparent in the second season. In an episode, Yui and Ritsu have difficulty filling out the forms for future plans, because neither has thought much ahead. Their first response is “undecided,” but Sawako sensei quickly rejects it. After a lot of considerations, they write “musician” in the form. Again, Sawako swiftly rejects that idea. In the end, the two decide to just try their best first.

This reminds me much of my freshman year in college. I entered college life undecided about my future. My high school life was only about the present fun. After being thrown into a field during my first year (somewhat randomly), I simply tried my best.

Tainaka Ritsu Hirasaw Yui musician future plans Sawako sensei

Moreover, when Ritsu’s dream of becoming a musician is brutally shot down by Sawako, I felt heartbroken. Although Ritsu has a passion for music and loves playing in the band, she has to eventually face the reality that her talents are simply not enough to make music a viable career. It is even worse when no one around believes in her: not Sawako, not Mio, and not Nodoka.

My mother was an artist and a curator at a museum. Influenced by a lot of her paintings and ceramics, I had a passion for art as well. Throughout my childhood and well into high school, I had really wanted to build a career from it. Of course, as Ritsu has to face her reality, I ultimately had to give up on that fantasy. Though I still draw regularly, I have accepted that I lack the talents to do so. Now that I have finished my personal statement for applications, I am happily on a completely different path. Still, watching Ritsu’s naïve ambitions shattered brings up some sensitive feelings.

goto-p Hirasawa Yui K-On Mizuki-chan Club Tainaka Ritsu

Anyways, I am so glad K-On!! is having 26 episodes. I cannot wait to see more reflections of my own experiences in future episodes. Maybe we will even see the girls graduate.

As a side note, I was a bit surprised by how certain some girls in K-On!! feel about what they want to do, such as the cosmetic girl and the photographer.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Like This!

About Yi

''lol...you're either sleeping or eating'' ''oh and watching anime'' ''and indulge in fashion.'' ... Ahh the busy life~
This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Editorial, K-On! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to K-On! is a Slice of My Life – a Life Reflected by Caricatures

  1. Guy says:

    They are caricatures, but so are the characters in say, Friends, or most sitcoms.

    I think usually they are not aimed at you to identify with, but to identify them with your friends ;)

    Then again, sometimes caricatures and characters are really people. They’re one person. But often, they have one over-the-top aspect, but are overall drawn in broad-strokes, so everyone could read themselves, or their friends, into them.

    Just like horoscopes ;) :D

    • Yi says:

      @Guy: I agree! I think K-On! is kind of meant to be caricatures of the ideal fun high school life. You can find bits of your friends, your teachers, and even yourselves in there. Yet they are still over the top fun.

  2. Swordwind says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. However, I don’t think I’d enjoy it for the same reasons that you enjoyed it. Aren’t I complicated? To be specific, I can experience real life…in real life. I don’t need to watch a show to do that. And if I were to watch such a show, I’d probably watch a live action show (as it more accurately reflects reality). I prefer Anime that have fantastic or unlikely elements for that reason.

    • Yi says:

      @Swordwind: I definitely see what you’re saying. I was going to expand more on that idea in this post, but it was running a bit long.
      I think part of what makes K-On! so enjoyable for me is that even though it felt like real life, and it did have elements of real life, it was an idealized version of the high school experience. Thus, it kind of seems more like fantasy, which is usually the escape I need in anime.

  3. Shinra says:

    XD I cant even count how many times i rewatch Season 1 & 2 XD

    My Fav is Yui and 2nd is Azunyan… but if their seiyuus, 1st Kotobuki Minako 2nd Toyosaki Aki. I’m also glad its 26 eps…. and not 12 or 13 like the other animes. The longer the better >w<

    Btw, Ritsu is sooooo Kawaii. I love the part where she always talks weird and where she pops up a bump when Mio hits her ^^

    • Yi says:

      @Shinra: My favorites are Azunyan and Mio! As for Ritsu, I actually don’t like her as much… Even if I think she’s probably the closest to my personality. (Or maybe I don’t like her because she’s close to me.)

      • Shinra says:

        XDFor me, I like Yui the most because shes almost like me, playing guitars without learning basics, Dojikko, and Air Headed XDD Same as her, I like weird stuffs, all most all of my shirts r weird XD

  4. The thing about life though is that getting to be the best of the best involves a lot of work, which means really practicing your ass off and maintain a high amount of self-discipline. Anyways, that’s just my thought on how life goes that’s tangentially relevant.

    As for K-ON, the caricature thing you cite is one reason why I never warmed up to it because the characters don’t really offer another side to them to grasp; they’re fairly one-dimensional in that respect.

    • Yi says:

      @zzeroparticle: That’s a fair point about the K-On! characters. They have one easily identifiable personality, so they can get boring after a while. Still, I like it because each character is different, and their interactions make the cast in its entirety very interesting.

      As for life… I’m still trying to get a handle on life.

  5. Yu says:

    I watch slice-of-life because it does remind me of actual life. Of course it’s never a realistic representation, but a comedic slice-of-life show is never realistic. Shows like K-On help me remember the better and more amusing moments of my life. I would not enjoy the show in the manner I do currently if the characters had SERIOUS CHARACTER FLAWS or DIRE LIFE ISSUES. So what am I saying? I agree, it’s a moe-blob show with nothing serious at all about it. Yay.

    I felt a little bad for Ritsu and Yui when their job choice was rejected. Sometimes, you realize what you want to do in the future too late. At that point, there isn’t enough time to take the steps to achieve that future.

    And don’t get me started on how hard it is to be a musician. The world of classical instrumentalism is cutthroat competitive. No matter how hard you practice or how stringent your discipline, there is always some gifted prodigy putting all of your hard work to shame. I would think that pop music is slightly easier to get into, since there’s much more room to be unique in a way someone else can’t copy. Especially since a pop song is immensely more easy to compose >_>

    • Yi says:

      @Yu: For me, K-On! is a fun version of high school that reflects tidbits of my own experiences, yet treats them in a fluffy way to allow my imaginations to escape there.

      “I would not enjoy the show in the manner I do currently if the characters had SERIOUS CHARACTER FLAWS or DIRE LIFE ISSUES. So what am I saying? I agree, it’s a moe-blob show with nothing serious at all about it. Yay.”
      Agreed. Although they do deal with some life issues, K-On! keeps them light enough that I just love it. If it becomes too serious or too dire, then I don’t think I would like it as much.

      I could only imagine how hard it is to be a musician. Pop music is probably very hard to do well in as well, especially because talent alone is often not enough in entertainment.

  6. hisui19 says:

    what the!? K-ON!! is a 26 episodes?? wow! I thought it has 13 episodes…
    I’m a bit sad that it’s going to end again after a few days… thanks for the info! ^_^
    and I like your positive comments about K-ON! ^_^

    • Yi says:

      @hisui19: According to ANN, it’s 26 episodes. I’m really happy about that since it’s one of the best ways to fill half an hour.

      Anyways, I’m glad you liked my comments! ^ ^

  7. kluxorious says:

    26 episodes? They better have a more concrete plot now.

    Why don’t you think that Ritsu was being realistic. When I saw that episode, i said to myself that Sawako-sensei was just being a bitch. She couldn’t realized her dreams so she killed the kids’ dreams. I personally think Ritsu is the most talented person in that tea time group and she’s passionate when it comes to music.

    If anything, I know for sure that passion can get you really far in life. Hell, my career atm is the product of such passion.

    • Yi says:

      @kluxorious: I doubt K-On!! will have a concrete plot. I see it as being more like Lucky Star, where all 26 episodes are slices of life.

      I guess I’m also guilty of not believing in Ritsu… Although I did think Sawako’s harsh rejection is kind of a jerk move.

      “If anything, I know for sure that passion can get you really far in life. Hell, my career atm is the product of such passion.”
      I honestly really admire people who can make a career out of passion, rather than force passion into their careers. Cheers. ^ ^

  8. Wait, you draw too? Are the header and those twitter/RSS buttons drawn by you? If so, WHOA!! You’re pretty good! :)

    Though a musical career is risky, I’m still wondering how their Japanese school system operates. Think about it: let’s say a character wrote down “nurse/doctor/some medical profession” which is also a risky choice. Is it alright for Sawako to say, “No, you know absolutely nothing about that”, and she would be correct. Of course they wouldn’t know anything about it because the whole point of college is to learn about your field/profession. You may have an idea of how it’s like beforehand, but you really don’t have a clue til you learn the whole process through college. I feel it’s the same for music. If not the K-ONERS, who would be a perfect candidate for a musical career? NO ONE ’cause they’re too inexperienced to know everything about music! That’s what college is for!

    They’re actually off to a great start by playing for the Light Music Club, and they can continue to sharpen their skills by applying for a college/university that focuses on music. Sawako’s decision was probably for the best, but it was a bit harsh. At least let them fail at it in college so they can experience it first hand. It’ll make a perfect episode! We can point and laugh afterwords :P

    • Yi says:

      @Jesus159159: I do draw occasionally still, but I’m not that good. I didn’t draw those RSS buttons and I vectored the header image from something.

      Anyways, I should have looked closer, but the box actually asked for school name (Thanks SSS for pointing that out), so Sawako rejects Ritsu’s form because she filled it in wrong. Still, I’m a bit disappointed that Ritsu and Yui did not get any support and perhaps suggestions to music schools and such.

      On a separate point, college should really be a time to explore interests and new things.

  9. SSS says:

    Just a nitpick, the reason why they were rejected is because they’re filling the form wrong. They put ‘Musician’ under the choice of school. In episode 10, Sawako is shown to do the same thing. So her reaction back there when she rejected their papers was more like; “Them too?” She wanted both of them to realize that on their own.

    • Yi says:

      @SSS: Thank you so much for pointing that out. I should have watched it closer. Well, I’m a bit a embarrassed now, since it did pretty much invalidate much of my post.

      Thanks for visiting and thanks for the comment.

  10. Kairu90 says:

    When Yui and Ritsu had trouble choosing what they wanted to be in the future it hit pretty close to home for me as well. In my case it was more deciding what to do in general.
    In high school I had no idea where I was going or what to do. I had always loved computer, working on them, playing, or just surfing the web. I took classes for it, but I was never really sure if it was a career I wanted to get into.
    Even now I am attending my first years in technical college, and I am still pretty lost as to what I want to do in the future. I am working towards computer programming since I figured it would pay more, but I am not sure that is what I really want to do.

    Very interesting post Yi, and I am excited that K-ON! is getting another 13 episodes also ^w^

  11. Tiffy Tran says:

    To me, this is a cute carefree show. It warms my heart and makes me laugh. It doesn’t really matter if there really isn’t a plot like some people are saying, it still grabs my attention either way. In the end, a show is a show. You either like it or not :).

    • Yi says:

      @Tiffy Tran: Agreed! I like K-On! because it is a carefree idealized version of high school. I don’t really care either if it’s “pointless” or anything. I’m glad you like it too.

  12. Canne says:

    Building a firm career from art is very very hard in reality. When I was in high school, I used to dream of becoming a science fiction writer. I even wrote few short stories. But I eventually know that I needed more than just passion and desire to do that…

    • Yi says:

      @Canne: I think at some point, I realized the same thing too. It takes more than just passion and desire to build a career from something so abstract and subjective. I could only imagine it’s the same for writing.

  13. Yumeka says:

    I agree, just because an anime doesn’t follow a plot doesn’t mean it’s “mindless.” I’ve also written a post about K-ON!!’s appeal. The show is meant to be enjoyed because of cute/funny character interactions and feelings of chilling with friends and high school nostalgia. And in your case, it seems to reflect a lot of your own life, too =)

  14. Ningyo says:

    Slice of life? Bah, that flying fanblade should’ve split Ritsu’s face in half! She was right in front of it! It flung off with enough force to ricochet like three times!
    Naw, I get you. That’s just me being bitter like K-ON haters do. I can see the appeal of being able to watch accurate representations of day-to-day emotions. I know that high one has with friends very well too; I generally conduct myself like the village idiot as long as I have enough people around me. Still, I guess purely slice of life just isn’t what I’m looking for in my anime – anime’s just always embodied the fantastic for me.

    Has occupational competition finally spread to high schools? All my friends seem to have their plans for the future set in stone, and their summers are booked with referential jobs and lessons. While I sit at home and type into a keyboard. Well, I think I managed to sign up for the last free position in a Gr. 12 English course today, so hoping all goes well there. ‘I wish the world would just let me embrace my lethargy once in a while’ is what I want to say, but for once I should can the pessimism and find myself something to do, I suppose.

    • Yi says:

      @Ningyo: K-On! does have a fantastic feel to it in that I doubt high school life for most people is that innocent and that fun, but I can understand that feeling. My favorite anime all tends to be far removed from the mundane school life stories.

      “I wish the world would just let me embrace my lethargy once in a while”
      Well said. I feel the same. I just want to be listless for a while.

  15. akira says:

    wow K-ON!! has 26 episodes?! I guess they want to make up for the short season one. Now I really have to catch up…

    By the way, does anyone have any news on the new Sono Hanabira game that was supposed to come out at the end of June? I was really looking forward to this and the OVA :)

    • Yi says:

      @Akira: The success of moeblob season 1 is probably unexpected even by the production. More episodes = bigger franchise = more money. It also = more fun for me.

      As for Hanabira game, I haven’t heard of anything. I’m beginning to doubt my sources earlier… So I guess wait a while?

      • akira says:

        I guess you’re right. Aww… I was really hoping to play that after my midterms :) as a reward lol Oh well, all we have to do is to wait for the OVA!

  16. Mint says:

    Fluffy as it is, that’s also the reason I enjoy watching K-On, and I’m also liking how you related it to your life. The episode where the girls thought about their future plans really got to me, since that’s a stage I’m going through in high school… But the way their character traits are played up and exaggerated always reminds me that it’s still a show, but a fun show nonetheless!

    Also glad to hear that it’s going to be 26 episodes. It’s perfect for watching during those lazy summer days. ^^

    • Yi says:

      @Mint: Exactly. Your comment pretty much summed up how I feel about K-On! perfectly. It’s a lazy show when you want it to be, and it’s a thought provoking series when you’re looking for reflections.

  17. Smithy says:

    “K-ON!” is such an excellent slice-of-life show, love it to bits.

    The characters are often caricatures with exaggerated traits yes, but this is true for most anime series, nonetheless they do get the necessary depth and realism when needed.

    Take Ritsu for example, yes she’s the outgoing, energetic silly girl but there’s more to her. While she was a bit too caricatured in the Kyoto trip episode, take for instance the summer festival episode, she was the serious one, keeping Mio in check and the others together for most of the trip. She may have no clue about her future, but when it comes down to it, she’s as levelheaded as Mio and often is a support pillar for Mio or the entire club.

    Throughout this season, the series has actually been offering more serious themes, in fact that the four girls are soon to graduate and move on, leaving Azusa behind is a recurring one since the season started. What this means for all the girls and their lives is being explored, which is more than what one would expect ‘mere moeblob’ to have.

    Then again, let’s not forget the ‘mindless moeblob’ and “K-ON!” bashing merely spawned from the bored minds of so-called fans who have nothing better to do to gain attention than bash series and alas populist sites who are hit whores picked it up and hammed it up for all it’s worth. A sad thing really.

    • Yi says:

      @Smithy: I totally agree about Ritsu. When I think about it, she is one of the most layered characters, showing both her silly side and her serious side in various episodes. She has her concerns and she has her fun times. She is really a very real girl compared to, for example, Mio, who is often a bit one dimensional.

      Definitely agree too about the serious aspects of this season. The show is not just an average 4-koma joke joke punchline anime anymore. It’s offering a real look into high school experiences, and doing it with really adorable girls.

  18. biotoxic says:

    For me K-ON!! is just a casual view in to what appears to be ideal school life in Japan.

    Over here schools are completely different – we certainly don’t get these “what do you want to be” things. After school clubs, what are those. Is that where youths get together and get wasted outside the local off-license? :lol:

    It’s nice to see all these strange customs and events from an outsiders point of view. And also how each of the characters go about making their way through school life.

    • Yi says:

      @biotoxic: We don’t really get after school clubs here either. We have school sports teams and some other stuff, but nothing so integrated with everyone’s school life. And most after activities people participate in are on a larger organizational scale than a school club formed by students. So it was definitely interesting to see the ideal school life in Japan through K-On!

  19. Persocom says:

    You said it perfectly. I have my own reasons for watching and enjoying K-On! as well. I can relate to the characters, I started watching because I heard it was a music club anime and well.. my dream when I was younger was to become a musician too. I used to jam out with friends and we’d all dream of making it big, but alas the real world is harsh and eventually we become disillusioned. I play the bass, and a few other instruments simply for fun now, with no drive to ever go further than that. I find K-On! to strike some sort of chord in my soul and I keep watching hoping that they can overcome all the obstacles and actually make something of their band. As for watching slice-of-life for some reason anime gives me something nothing else ever has been able to, so slice-of-life is enjoyable to me.

    • Yi says:

      @Persocom: You play the bass? That’s really cool!
      I’ve always though it would be cool to be good at some instrument, but in the end, I lack the discipline, the passion, and the talent to continue with any of them. I really admire people who can make music though.

      Anyways, I’m glad that K-On! resonates with your soul. It does the same for me too.

  20. Reltair says:

    The main reason I like watching K-ON!! is to see the characters interact with one another. Their conversations are fun to listen to, yet still plausible enough. I can relate to a lot of things in the series, which is why it’s an example of slice of life done right.

    I’m hoping to see them graduate and succeed with their band. Although I’m not sure if the series goes that far.

    • Yi says:

      @Reltair: I’ve always really liked the conversations in K-On! They really do feel very real and listening to them, I could almost feel like I’m just listening to my friends talking about random stuff. It’s definitely one of the best slice-of-life I’ve seen.

  21. softz says:

    I don’t mind the simple mindless moeblob or lacking in depth, I’m a big fan of K-On!. Although, I’ve not been following the season 2 series yet, I’ll definitely finish watching them soon (when I’m free).

    • Yi says:

      @softz: Same here. I don’t mind moeblob or lacking in depth (not that it lacks depth.)

      Anyways, definitely check out season 2. It’s really pretty good. I’m starting to like it slightly more than first season.

  22. Solaris says:

    Watch out when you compare yourself with a stereotype. Life is greater and more complicated than the 2D world drawn for your own entertainment.
    You can find similarities with any char you empathize with, and that is the way a good writer can gain its reader/viewers interest in the story. But be aware that is only a plot device.
    But those chars are indeed stereotyped so that more people could empathize with the. That is to say they have the minimum useful traits so that more people can identify with them.
    Their limit is being 2-Dimensionals, and that is the line between you growing fond of them and your urge to identify yourself with them. If you pass that line and stick yourself with a sterotype like that. believe me, it’s like declaring you have no char at all and need to borrow it from the outside.
    K-on’s char are nice and all and win over your heart with spice and sugar but so let’s just consider them as what they really are. Chars of a light story.

    • Yi says:

      @Solaris: Agreed. K-On!! is still a very idealized and simplified world, and its characters can never have the depth real people do.

      I guess rather than identifying with them, I just see how parts of my experiences are in common with theirs. It’s nothing more than that. And as you said, it should not be more than that. After all, real life is much more complicated than that of the girls.

      I do see how I seem to jump to identifying completely with the characters in this post. It’s a fair concern. ^ ^

  23. f0calizer says:

    Apologies in advance for “comment necromancy” since this post is a bit old, but I liked what you said about K-ON! & I thought I’d share my thoughts. =)

    I didn’t follow the series at first since my general impression was that it’s just a bunch of high school girls being cute. But after watching one episode on a dull afternoon, I actually began following it. For me, one of the band’s songs, “Fuwa Fuwa Time,” sort of encapsulates its appeal. It’s not a series I can or want to marathon, since it doesn’t keep me in nail-baiting suspense. But I enjoy & follow it for a few reasons: 1) it’s light-hearted & doesn’t take itself too seriously; 2) it has a cast of characters who are varied and distinct (I wish Tsumugi would get more screentime…); 3) since my own high school experience was very stressful & intense, it’s sort of nice to watch an anime in which that particular time seems more carefree and fun. One might call it “retroactive wish fulfillment,” perhaps?

    purely because it’s light-hearted & doesn’t take itself too seriously.

    • Yi says:

      @focalizer: Very fine reasons for loving K-On! For me, it’s similar too. This is not a series that I would ever marathon, but rather one that I watch whenever I need a bit of relaxation.

      Anyways, I think Mugi gets a lot more screen time in the second season.

      “Apologies in advance for “comment necromancy” since this post is a bit old, but I liked what you said about K-ON! & I thought I’d share my thoughts. =)”
      Haha don’t worry about it. I actually love it when older posts get comments. Thanks for visiting and for sharing your experiences on K-On! ^ ^

  24. Mikoto says:

    K-ON! isn’t as bad as some people say it is. I enjoy it. If someone wants a deep plot and found K-ON!, then they obviously did something wrong.

    I like to watch the funny conversations these characters have and the club’s carefree attitude reminds me of myself whenever I’m lazy. Tis’ a good show.

  25. Pingback: The Power of Context – Brief Discourse on the Success of K-On! and Black Rock Shooter | Listless Ink

  26. Pingback: The Power of Context – Brief Discourse on K-On! and Black Rock Shooter | Listless Ink

  27. Pingback: K-On!! – Best for Last | Listless Ink

Leave a Reply

