K-On!! Fashion – What Casual Fans Like

akiyama mio k-on ending moutiko

One of my favorite series of this season, K-On!! has been an absolute delight so far. While many may disagree, there is something mind-numbingly relaxing about its pointless plot. I certainly do enjoy just lazing around with Yui after school drinking tea and eating cake. Thus, I recommended K-On! to my sister.

My sister is not an otaku; she is not even an anime fan. She watches less than five series a year, all of which I had to force her to watch. And she is picky. She refuses to waste her time on mediocre stuff and she can only watch a few episodes in any given amount of time. After all, she is not really into anime. Understandably, she also has a rather different view of K-On!

akiyama mio k-on! mille

A few days ago and not too long after she saw K-On!, we went shopping because I needed some clothes fitting of Taiwan’s scorching summers. While shopping, I asked for her thoughts on K-On! in the hopes of getting her to watch season two. Expecting a lukewarm response, I was pleasantly surprised when she said she really liked it. She gave several positives, such as the music, the relaxing atmosphere, and the personable characters (she loved Ritsu).

akiyama mio hirasawa yui k-on! kotobuki tsumugi nakano azusa tainaka ritsu

Among all of the reasons for liking season one, a particularly outstanding thing she loved was that the characters changes into different clothes, all of which are very cute.

After she mentioned that, I realized how much I loved that subtle detail as well. Unfortunately, season two has not seen as much variety or quality thus far.

K-On Azusa Ui Jun suspender tunic

For example, here Ui wears a rather bland pink tunic with yellow trims and Azusa sports unflattering suspender shorts, which I think is so yesterday. Although suspenders can be in style if one pulls them off, these on Azusa just do not look good to me.

K-On Mio Ritsu Azusa Ui Jun T-shirt printed sweatshirt

Moreover, this season has not given enough opportunities to showcase casual clothes. In the few chances that it does, the girls only wear average printed tees and hooded sweatshirts.

K-On Dress Shirt Scarf Yui

Of course, it has not been a total loss. I actually really love the shirt dress and the scarf Yui has on. Still, it is just not enough compared to the earlier seasons.

K-On Fashion Mio Ritsu Mugi Azusa Yui

Indeed, consider the casual clothes displayed in season one and the OVA above. Both feature a wider variety and better fashion tastes. Although some of the items have carried over to the current season (such as the dress shirt and scarf ensemble mentioned earlier), the newly designed clothes just do not seem to compare. The trendy clothes also appear in fewer scenes as well.

K-On ending sequence boatneck t-shirts

I do, however, really love the boatneck printed tees in the ending sequence. Though they are not as costume-like as “Don’t Say Lazy”, they are still very chic.

k-on! nakano azusa wagamama99percent

Thus, after realizing the lesser focus on fashion, I decided not to press my sister further on watching season two with me. Despite this, I do still think K-On!! is doing a lovely job in this aspect, at least better than most other anime.

It was really interesting to see how a casual watcher may enjoy things much differently from me. Certainly, having a variety of clothes, while neat, was not my on my mind at all initially, but has now been something I always look for in anime.

__________________________________________________
Further Reading:
K-On!! Going Retro – Fashion in Listen!! and No, Thank You!
K-On!! Review

About Yi

''lol...you're either sleeping or eating'' ''oh and watching anime'' ''and indulge in fashion.'' ... Ahh the busy life~
This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Editorial, Fashion, K-On! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

99 Responses to K-On!! Fashion – What Casual Fans Like

  1. Shinra says:

    AGREED!!! They really have good sense on Fashion!!! XD Hair style too!!! I totally love Yui’s ED hair style, AWESOME!!! I can say tat Season 2 is way better than 1!!! (not the Op n ED tho) Is it me or is Kakifly a fashion designer?

    Yup! I have to Force my Sis & Cousins on watching Animes, espeically K-On! In fact, they fell in love with K-On! after i introduce it to them. I myself, know about k-on when i accidentally read the manga, before anime.

    K-On! Banzai!!! Yui Banzai!!

    • Yi says:

      @Shinra: Their hairstyles are really pretty indeed! I really like Mugi’s in the ED sequence, and I’ve always loved Mio’s hime cut.
      Kakifly certainly has an eye for clothes and costumes. ^ ^

      Anyways, I also read the manga before the anime too, although at the time, I was not as impressed by the manga… Mostly because I don’t really like 4-komas.

      I also just realized your avatar is Yui. Yui Banzai!!

  2. Guy says:

    Here’s an interesting thing: “pointless plot” is somewhat of an oxymoron, as a plot is a path. While we may wander aimlessly, and a path is also what we are walking along, it’s sort of not what is intended here.
    Ok, that was an aside ;)

    You should suggest K-ON season 2 to your sister, just to see how she replies, and what she thinks of it, based on her own outlook and prism of considering the show.
    BTW, I actually found one of the things you said weird… Printed Ts ARE the epitome of casual. Suspenders, Ts, flannels, slacks… these are casual, and I quite appreciate seeing characters dressed as people in the real world might be dressed. Dressed as girls in my school dressed. And not just those who were fashion victims.

    I like Ts, and characters wearing Ts is refreshing. The characters do look nice above, and while my sister often switches clothes 3-4 times a day (WTF?! Why?!), it makes more sense for people to not switch clothes SO often. Besides, that picture of them walking in the mall made me think of “Sex and the City”, which is SO inappripriately commercial..

    I touch it lightly here in which I discuss going out to buy more… “nice” clothes, but I think the Genshiken episode where Madarame goes to buy clothes is one of the most real things I’ve watched in anime. Ever.

    • Swordwind says:

      “Pointless plot” is a perfectly acceptable term. Paths do not actually require a destination, and even those who take routes with an intended purpose may fail to reach their goal, making it ultimately purpose. Meandering, as you noted, is also a possibility.

      Yi noted that casual tees are, in fact, among the only casual clothes they use in the show. He wasn’t stating that tees aren’t casual.

      Changing clothing three times a day isn’t terribly excessive. From Casual-> to work-> back to casual is already two. If you go to the gym or something similar, you’ll hit three changes. Or if you do something formal. Or if you moonlight.

      • Swordwind says:

        Uops. “ultimately purpose”->purposeless. My apologies…

      • Guy says:

        I think this is a mixing of the other term of path being driven in. Heck, plot also means a piece of land, which we can toil, and make a story grow out of on top of a story-tree ;)

        I am not going to count clothings, or gym. I’m going to count “Three clothes I change for myself”, not where you’re expected for a different type or a specific sort.

        Seriously, going to the city, coming home, going out with friends, coming back home. My sister may go through 4 exchanges here, and none of them are PJs.

    • Yi says:

      @Guy: I think my wording was probably a bit confusing, but as Swordwind said, I meant that printed tees are the only few casual clothes displayed. While I do appreciate tees, I’m not sure they are what you’d see among teenage girls outside in the streets of Asia.
      Anyways, that image actually seems fairly typical to me, but I can see how that could seem commercial.

      @Swordwind: You pretty much addressed everything I wanted to say to Guy. ^ ^

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention K-On!! Fashion – What Casual Fans Like | Listless Ink -- Topsy.com

  4. enri says:

    Haven’t got the time to watch K-On! yet , i’ve been really busy lately.
    It seems interesting though, I’ll probably do a K-On! marathon some weekend.
    The only anime i’m watching more or less regulary at this point is Seikon no Qwaser and i have love and hate relationship with it. It’s kinda funny-serious-pervy at the same time…go figure..

    • Yi says:

      @enri: K-On! is actually an anime I would not marathon because it lacks an overarching plot that ties episodes together. As a slice-of-life anime, I like to enjoy it bit by bit.

      Seikon no Qwaser reminds me of Queen’s Blade, which I really enjoyed, so I should check it out sometime.

  5. kluxorious says:

    Actually when I saw K-ON! few days ago, and spotted Ui with a simple long shirt, I thought that she looks very chic.

    I have never paid any attention to what clothes they were wearing before but I guess now I have something to look forward to? Meh, I doubt it -__-

    and I love your sister already. The only reason I watched K-ON!! is because of Ritsu <3

  6. I’m a big fan of the fashion sense in Kyoto Animation shows – I really suggest you get your sister to watch Lucky Star since almost every episode features at least one new cute outfit, although the plot might be harder for her to comprehend. Also,

    >>> While many may disagree, there is something mind-numbingly relaxing about its pointless plot.

    Don’t say it’s pointless~ there’s really a lot to enjoy about the plot in K-On! You just have to look for it. http://ghostlightning.wordpress.com/2010/05/18/the-plot-to-put-a-plot-in-k-on-can-it-be-done/

    • Oh and I forgot to mention, I LOVE the suspender shorts~ lol. There are outfits like that in Lucky Star as well so it’s probably somewhat popular in Japan or something.

    • Yi says:

      @21stcenturydigitalboy: I’ve actually watched Lucky Star with my sister. She loved it too. She didn’t get all the jokes, especially the ones that reference other anime, but she thought Konata was absolutely precious.
      Hehe, ghostlightning’s entry is pretty good.

      The last time I read about suspenders, the writer said that they are always in style, but only if you can confidently wear them. I guess they are just not my thing. I vaguely remember Konata wore a pair of tan suspender shorts, but just as Azusa’s outfit, I did not think they pulled them off.

      As for how popular in Japan, I think they’re OK. They’re not super popular, but they’re around.

      Thanks for the spot-on suggestion on Lucky Star. ^ ^

  7. Gypsy Dress says:

    You have a great sense of fashion – no argument about it :D

  8. AXYPB says:

    “She watches less than five series a year, all of which I had to force her to watch. And she is picky. She refuses to waste her time on mediocre stuff and she can only watch a few episodes in any given amount of time. ”

    This describes a good friend of mine. He tells me that there is no anime released in the last five years interests him and has written multiple blogs about how he can’t get into anything. For this reason I showed him Sonohana, even though he dislikes hentai. Now he’s going on about how the OVA is the only good hentai ever (even though it’s not out yet) and that he finally has an anime to look forward to.

    • Yi says:

      @AXYPB: I’m glad you’re able to give hime something he likes, and I’m even happier that it’s Hanabira. ^ ^

  9. Fabrice says:

    Haha my sister also is not an anime fan, well sometimes i do force her into it lol which still fails. but she likes mio ! =3

    yup me too im loving k-on!! atm, very nice.
    the clothing is also great!
    now… *forces again sister to watch XD

    • Yi says:

      @Fabrice: I’m also always trying to force my sister to watch something. ^ ^
      Maybe I should force her to watch season 2.

  10. Yumeka says:

    Like digital boy, I also love the fashion sense that KyoAni displays in their shows (and in the promotional art for said shows as well). Guess it goes along with their attention to detail characteristic that I love about them. K-ON! definitely has some of their best. I actually have no interest in clothes/fashion (I can’t even remember the last time I went clothes shopping), but for some reason I like seeing it in anime XD

    • Yi says:

      @Yumeka: KyoAni is definitely the forefront in that. K-On! not only has a pretty amazing variety, it also has very cute costumes for the performances. I just love that!
      Shopping is kind of fun for me, but even if it isn’t, seeing cute clothes is always kind of neat.

  11. Ryan A says:

    Aww, but Azusa’s overall shorts are cute <3 I think there's always been that style aspect to the series, although it's much less apparent during the episodes when the girls are stuck in school a lot of the time [and sporting the uniforms].

    What might be interesting to look at is the frequency the girls are at school/in uni this season compared to last.

    • Yi says:

      @Ryan A: That’s a great point. For this post, I actually went back to see how much casual clothes there are. In second season, there were just much more uniform times in general. I was hoping though that the class trip, the girls would dress casually, but that didn’t happen. :(
      There also seems to be less costumed performances too.

  12. mefloraine says:

    The Listen!! outfits trump any other song outfits, I think. They balance style with casual attitude, and they’re great to see around.

    Perhaps while making season two all around better than the first, they did not have time to care about the clothes as much? >3

    • Yi says:

      @mefloraine: The Listen outfit is probably one of the best I’ve seen so far. I do like “Don’t Say Lazy” a bit more probably because I prefer the more costumey clothes. And Mio’s outfit in that is just gorgeous.
      Still Listen is close behind. So cute. I especially like Mio and Mugi’s clothes in Listen!

  13. Swordwind says:

    I didn’t find it terribly funny. It definitely wasn’t dramatic, so I just saw it as something that was kinda…there. Is the large following a result of a perceived cuteness? That’s the only trait I can identify. Whatever. I’m glad you’re enjoying it, though.

    Where’s the obligatory swimsuit episode?

    • Yi says:

      @Swordwind: That’s what I get out of K-On! Nothing dramatic and not too funny. As a moeblob show, the cute characters are definitely the draw. For some people though (including me), I like it precisely because nothing happens. I can just kill time without devoting too much thought into it.

      Obligatory swimsuit hasn’t happened this episode yet, but I’m expecting one soon.

  14. Raph says:

    I think K-on! can really appeal to a wide audience, so it was a great choice in showing it to your sister. ^^ To me, it’s clean, relaxing, enjoyable and fun, and – as your sister said – the characters are really easy to like. I have a friend who is rather obsessed with anime and manga, but will only watch/read shoujo. (We’ve talked about several seinen and shonen series, and she’s only heard of Naruto, Bleach and My-Hime – she was forced to watch it by another friend and she really didn’t like it all that much – as far as they’re concerned.) It’s not exactly aimed at the shoujo crowd but I think it can bridge demographic boundaries, so I’m planning to recommend K-on! to her and see what she thinks. I think/hope she’ll love it and maybe she’ll comment on the fashion as well…

    • Yi says:

      @Raph: I’ve also shown my sister My-Hime, and she actually loved it. She liked it even more than K-On!, so you never really know. Tastes are really hard to predict.
      However, I think K-On! is always a safe bet. I hope your fried likes it too.

  15. softz says:

    Well said. I don’t think K-On! season 2 is as good as season 1 too. The opening and closing songs are not as great as those of season 1. I’ve yet to listen to any nice ones from season 2. Anyway, I’ve only finished watching episode 2, still have some more to catch.
    But again, as a K-On! fan, I still support K-On! very much. :)

    • Yi says:

      @softz: Agreed. Although K-On!! has not been as good as K-On!, I still love it very very much.
      As for the music, I still has not yet gotten used to the new OP and ED, so yea…

  16. Ningyo says:

    “Hey, true, those are really chic clothes!” – says the one who never sat through K-ON.
    Well, that’s not exactly true. I did tolerate the first few episodes, and noticed that the artist(s) had a pretty keen fashion sense. Not to bash on the series; K-ON certainly does what it does well, and its probably just not the series for me. My ‘non-otaku’ peers also explore into K-ON due to its omnipresence, but fail to come anywhere close to at least realizing there’s a sense of fashion involved. Gawd I hate associating with those guys when it comes to my interests *grumble grumble insert various antisocial comments*

    Your related post there also reminds me that every time there’s a Touhou/Bad Apple post I break down into fanboyishness. Also, emoticons o.o :P xD >.<. Strange that would be related, too.

    • Yi says:

      @Ningyo: Actually, the most vicious criticisms of K-On! I’ve seen have generally come from the “otaku” community. Still, it really is not for everyone, especially not for those looking for depth.

      Hehe, I love Bad Apple too. I don’t really understand how the related posts work; I have no control over them.

  17. Pingback: casual dress shirts for guys? | Custom made suit

  18. 2DT says:

    Boatneck. That’s the word I was looking for. All this time I was mentally categorizing those tops as “80s Madonna shirts.”

    Cheers.

    • Yi says:

      @2DT: Glad I could be of help.
      Cheers. ^ ^

      • Those shirts were indeed the thing back in the ’80s. LOL I was old enough to appreciate them back in the day.

        The whole aesthetic of the ED is very, very ’80s. Look up bands like The Go-Gos, and maybe a little B-52s; and yes, Madonna.

        • Yi says:

          @ghostlightning: Retro is what’s in right now, especially Madonna. Thanks to Lady Gaga, appearances on Glee, and other publicity, Madonna has regained her position in the fashion and entertainment world. She’s also at the forefront of the rising popularity of “cougars.” Even Sex in the City pays some homage to that.
          Given that, I’m not surprised K-On! used a lot of 80’s style. It’s really hot right now.

          Thanks for the suggestion on other 80’s stuff. ^ ^

  19. I have to admit, these girls do have a good sense of fashion if I do say so myself!!!!!

  20. blindability says:

    I too long for a little bit more “fashion” from K-On!! Not just casual fashion but their performance costumes as well. It’s just too much fun to be had when you’ve got five cute girls and an imagination’s worth of clothes/costumes to throw on them. I’m really hoping that we see something different and soon; their school uniforms are starting to look really drab!

    • Yi says:

      @blindability: Yep yep. Other than Listen, there really hasn’t been many performance costumes. Well, there are still many chances to perform, so I hope Sawako sensei dresses them up nicely.
      The uniforms are sure getting a bit boring.

  21. Pingback: should i wear a suit to my sainsburies interview tommorow? | Business Suit

  22. Fashion is the last thing on my mind unfortunately XD But I guess I’m not a very fashionable person, plus K-ON are all girls >.>

    I have to say I like the “Don’t Say Lazy” outfits better than “Listen!!”.

  23. Pingback: Watch French Open Roland Garros Live Online Now! | Download Zone

  24. Whoa, I didn’t realize Jun was in that OVA episode. They definitely need to feature her more!

    (she loved Ritsu)

    Uh-oh, is your sister’s personality anything like Ritsu? If so, I can see why you hate episode 4 =P! I’ve also noticed the lack of funky-outfits, and I’m really hoping for a new music-video-performance like in K-ON! (1st season) episode 5 (or was it six?). The only thing close to that was this season’s episode 7, but like you said, they just wear their boring uniforms (they made it up with the yuri-power, though).

    Also, as creepy as it may sound, your sister interests me. Mind if you could tell me any other anime she likes? Maybe I could recommend them to my non-anime palz as well!

    which I think is so yesterday

    LOL, I’m glad I’m not the only one still using that phrase!

    • Yi says:

      @Jesus159159159: My sister’s awesome! Ritsu was actually all right back in season 1. She seemed to go a little over the top.
      I was hoping for some nice outfits for Mio + others in episode 7 too, but instead, I see the same set of uniforms. Boring indeed.
      “Mind if you could tell me any other anime she likes?”
      She loved Mai Hime. Didn’t like Shana. Lukewarm to Gunslinger Girl. Enjoyed Lucky Star. Loved Ga-Rei Zero. I tried to show her Strike Witches once, and she got mad. She didn’t watch any other anime after that for a long long time.

      “which I think is so yesterday”
      I didn’t realize that phrase is so yesterday.

  25. Reltair says:

    Hey, average printed tees and hooded sweatshirts (or sweaters) is how I roll. I need to change my clothes style soon though.

    • Yi says:

      @Reltair: Well, in Berk. that’s how most people roll. ^ ^
      Nothing wrong with printed tees and hooded sweatshirts, but I’d love it they mixed it up once in a while.

  26. Canne says:

    Though fashion forward quality does not make any show a better show, I think it can be counted as one of the charm that makes us like the anime more. I have to admit that I have never noticed how detailed the girls’ clothes are created. Sometimes, I am too concerned about bigger things that I overlook the little things. Thanks to you (and your non-otaku sister), I won’t make the same mistake again :)

    • Yi says:

      @Canne: I think all these little things add up to make an amazing experience. In my review of Railgun, I also pointed to the incredible attention to detail Railgun shows in its crepes and cityscape, and how that enhances the animation quality. Similarly, all the details, such as clothes, costumes, cakes, or guitars, while individually not all that important, when considered together, makes the world and the characters a very believable one.
      For example, I like Mio even more now that I can see her outside of school.

  27. Pingback: French Open 2010 Live Online! Watch Now! | World Cup 2010

  28. phro says:

    I laughed my ass of when you said you forced your sister to watch anime. For some reason, I just pictured you threatening to beat up your sister up with a stick if she didn’t watch anime. And while I was thinking about that scenario, I also imagined another scenario. I imagined your sister saying in her head “Damn, otaku brother always wanting me to watch anime. >:[]” I know my imagination is extreme, but when you use the word “force” instead of a better word like “persuade”, I tend to imagine the things like I stated above. -Ended Rant-

    I stumbled upon your blog today when I was searching on google for anime reviews. What I found was more than just anime reviews (cough* h-anime games cough*) which was a treat :). I will be sticking around.

    • Yi says:

      @phro: Haha! That’s certainly a very funny image. I guess rather than force or persuade, it’s more like pleaded. Anyways, I wouldn’t be able to beat up my older sister if I wanted to.

      I’m really glad you found this blog, and I’m even happier you decided to stick around! Thanks for visiting. I’ll admit though that h-games will not be very common, but they will be around once in a while.

      Anyways, I hope you found the reviews and the posts enjoyable. ^ ^

      p.s. Your comment made my day!

  29. lovelyduckie says:

    When I first started watching anime one of my favorite shows was Cardcaptor Sakura. Why? Well it had gorgeous art, lovable characters, AND the main character wore different outfits! I was used to my magical girl anime series shifting between their battle outfit and their school uniforms only. BUT CCS! OOOHHH the outfits! I never realized how much I desired that variety until I watched CCS. Sakura and everyone else even wore something cute/unique when they were in their casual wear. So yes, I also enjoy when a series changes up the outfits of all their characters.

    • Yi says:

      @lovelyduckie: “I was used to my magical girl anime series shifting between their battle outfit and their school uniforms only.”
      Yep yep. That could get pretty stale really quickly. I loved that about Cardcaptor Sakura too because of the pretty costumes and clothes. (Tomoyo also helps a bunch!) Similarly, I loved Tsubasa Chronicles.
      For me, variety of clothes is something I never knew I missed until I saw how much it adds to an anime.

  30. Ninjovee says:

    If it wasn’t for this article, I haven’t realized much about the change in cute outfits at all. I usually paid attention to when Sawako-sensei dresses them up, not when they’re out casually.

    I have to say though, Mugi’s style is absolutely darling. I especially loved her outfit for Listen! and that one episode (I shamefully forgot which) where they were in a music video like sequence.

    I do feel a bit disappointed that K-On! started to dwindle down on drawing cute outfits even during the near-end of season one. I was half-expecting them to have some new costumes in the OVA and my hopes were dashed when they decided to go in school uniform.

    I have only watched this season’s K-On! until around episode 3 and I have noticed that they didn’t make an effort to deck out costumes then too — even in the ending sequence, only Mio gets a costume and the rest get casual attire. Can’t deny that I love costumes ^^; which is why I love any anime that has CLAMP’s handiwork in them.

    • Yi says:

      @Ninjovee: I’ve really loved Mugi’s clothes throughout K-On! She has a great sense of style, and seems like she’s also got a lot of cash around. Even her casual clothes are nice.
      I also love her outfit in that first season wanted music video scene. She’s too cute!
      Anyways, keep watching! Around episode 8 or 9, the clothes pick up again as well as the costumes. I was really glad to see that.

      CLAMP is absolutely the queen of clothes and costumes. Cardcaptor and Tsubasa Chronicles are just adorable. I especially loved Tsubasa Chronicles with its many worlds and many different flavors and influences in the costumes.

  31. Hellomotto says:

    You know, I’ve always been indifferent towards K-ON!. There was nothing that really interested me about it; I regarded it generally as boring. Despite this, however, I somehow kept plowing through the series…and I think you’ve solve the enigma. I was especially hooked on the outfits in the ED series. Though Ritsu’s was a bit bland, the hairstyle of Tsumugi and Mio’s costume were quite nice. Plus, whenever the girls were out of uniform, I was always interested in what they would wear. (The outfits in the new ED are especially great–it reminds me of the 80s dress-up day in school.) Maybe this is why (on twitter) I announced that I only liked K-ON! because it could produced some of the best cosplay out there…huh.

    • Yi says:

      @Hellomotto: K-On! does allow for great and easy cosplays. The casual clothes should be easy enough to procure, and the 80’s boatneck tees are easy enough to find too.
      Anyways, I love most of the clothes, and I’m glad the good clothes have been brought back with the recent episodes.

  32. Pingback: Addressing Some Comments | Listless Ink

  33. Pingback: K-On! is a Slice of My Life – a Life Reflected by Caricatures | Listless Ink

  34. Libby says:

    Yi, did you know that just a few days ago on the most recent episode of K-On!, a new opening and ending were assigned. I think this also means that the second season will be longer than the first. The clothes on the ED are very chic and in style. From head to toe, the HTT club members look great! I completely wondering if and and where you can get them. I know not everything is originally designed by Kakifly because some of the stuff is by brands like Tommy Hilfiger, if I spelled that right, and to end this, I wanted to give you a heads up on Seikon no Qwaser. Completely echi and hentai. It takes the cake, and there’s some cradlerobbing.

    • Yi says:

      @Libby: Yep yep, I just saw it two days ago and loved the music and the sequence. The clothes in the ED were especially fashionable. There’s still a retro feel going on, but also combined with a more modern hip style. I really like it.

      Actually, an episode or two after I wrote this post, the nice clothes start to rush in. My opinion of the second season has since completely changed. So many new gorgeous clothes are featured. There are also so many beautiful costumes. Summer festival, punk rock, and even just hanging around, the girls sport very nice wears.

      As for Seikon no Qwaser, I’m still debating on that series, but so far, I doubt I will watch it. Seems too extreme, even more than Queen’s Blade, and QB is already pushing my boundaries for ecchi.

      Anyways, thanks for the comment!

      • Libby says:

        Thanks for replying to my other comment! I was wondering who your favorite character on K-On! is? Mine is Yui, all the way!
        Also I had an opinion that there should be another character on K-On! Sure there are a lot of questions to be asked but K-On could use a new character’s aura, in my opinion, and once the original four graduate, Azusa and her friend will be the only ones and maybe Ui because I don’t think she’s in a club and she has potential with the guitar. That’s only three though. There should be like some cool, mysterious exchange student, or something, or Mugi’s cousin, some relative. Someone! I really love K-On and don’t want to see it end again even though they might not show the original characters anymore or at least Kakifly should have some new works.
        I know my comments are long but my friends into anime don’t have a wide variety of seen anime and mainly watch Naruto(nothing against it) and can’t be considered otaku. It’s frustrating because here in America, Naruto is going even slower and the switched the channel for Shippuden and a lot of people can’t see it anymore so they don’t even know about K-On! and it’s lightheaetedness!
        Lastly, I just wanted to tell you about an anime series that came out last summer called Umi Monogatari. The fashion is okay (there are animes with way worst) The style isn’t mediocre. it’s short but lighthearted. I reccomend this.

        • Yi says:

          @Libby: My favorite K-On character used to be Mio. I think it’s now Azusa, but Mio still comes really close.

          With the second season, I think the series is pushing more characters. Azusa, Jun, and Ui seem like they’d be the core of the club once the four graduate. We’ve also met other side characters like the former president of Mio fan club. Hopefully, we’ll continue to see new characters once in a while. Still, I can’t imagine K-On! without Mio, Yui, Mugi, and Ritsu. I’m not sure I want to see that either.

          I think I can relate a bit to your feelings about anime. I started this blog originally because none of my friends like anime, and I wanted somewhere I could talk (even if just to myself) about it. Anime still hasn’t really taken root in North America.

          Will certainly watch Umi Monogatari. I’ve had quite a weird flirt with that show. It was one of my most anticipated series and I loved the manga. Yet, I never got around to watching it although I know I would really enjoy it. I’ve also gotten several recommendations for that, and I tell myself to watch it each time, but I still haven’t.

          “Thanks for replying to my other comment!”
          Haha, I try to reply to every comment. I’ve been kind of busy lately, so the reply came kind of late. :(

  35. Libby says:

    Hey Yi! I really need your help! I was wondering if you live in the US or Japan or neither. If you live in Japan, have you heard of the Parakiss store or if you live in the US like me, do you think there should be one or some in the US. What I need your help with is if you or anyone you know, knows where to get Paradise kiss merchandise and by merchandise I mean the fashion line. Some of my dreams is to become a model, actress, voice actress, and fshion designer. I think if was able to get the stuff i would be given happiness and a bigger edge. Sure the clothes are a bit old but basically that’s how fashion is in the US. Their bringing back the 70’s and 80’s. I’ve been trying hard but theres like no way to contact Ai Yazawa. So please help!

    • Yi says:

      Hi Libby. Sorry I can’t help you. I live in the US, but I have actually heard of the Parakiss Shop. I tried searching for their website hoping that they might ship overseas, but I can’t find it at all… :(

      I think it’s really great that you’re into high fashion, and even cooler that you’re drawing inspiration from anime. Retro is indeed in right now, but I didn’t know that was also true for the glamor industry. That’s pretty cool. I like the style in Parakiss.

      Anyways, good luck with your goals! I’m sure you’ll be able to do fantastic stuff even if you don’t find the Parakiss shop. ^ ^

  36. Libby says:

    Yo Yi! sorry 2 bother u but I really need your help or 2 just talk 2 someone 2 cool off as needy as that kinda sounds!

  37. Pingback: K-On!! Going Retro – Fashion in Listen!! and No, Thank You! | Listless Ink

  38. Pingback: The Power of Context – Brief Discourse on K-On! and Black Rock Shooter | Listless Ink

  39. Pingback: Two Levels of Wish Fulfillment in Ore no Imouto: Little Sister and Otaku Shame | Listless Ink

  40. Libby says:

    Hey Yi! I don’t know if my e-mail sent or not but I wanted to tell you that I seperated myself from Parakiss and I found out that there will be a live-action movie in 2011 for Parakiss so I’m excited!
    I also wanted your take on vampires and if you like the Twilight vampires?

    • Yi says:

      That’s good to hear about ParaKiss. I’m kind of excited to watch it too.
      I’m sorry to say that although I am a fan of vampires, I’m not that big of a fan of the Twilight series.

      p.s. When did you send the email? I haven’t received it. :(

  41. Pingback: Ore no Imouto Fashion Sense – Kirino, Top Model | Listless Ink

  42. Pingback: K-On!! – Best for Last | Listless Ink

  43. Pingback: So I watched Ore no Imouto with my Onii-chan… | Listless Ink

  44. Pingback: Century Bike

  45. toffee-kun says:

    I saw this video on YT once dedicated to Yui’s band shirts. :3

  46. Pingback: K-On! (Movie) Review – The Denouement of Two Seasons | Listless Ink

  47. megan says:

    their outfits are great so stop saying bad things about their outfits!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! : l

    • Yi says:

      Not sure which specific commentary this is addressed to—in general, I am a fan of the fashion in K-On!—but keep in mind that we are all entitled to our own opinions and our words. ^ ^

  48. do you like tsumugi ?
    i don’t like her

Leave a Reply

