2009 Summer Anime: Canaan, Aoi Hana, and More

Lately, I have not been watching much anime at all, but mostly just been reading manga (yuri), because frankly I really have not seen anything too exciting. However, I do want to catch up on second seasons of several earlier series, as well as view some from this summer season.

Canaan, of course, is at the top of my list. I have always loved assassin/ girls with guns anime. Some of my favorite anime of all time include Gunslinger Girl and Noir, so I really wanted to watch Canaan. Just as I had hoped, the first few episodes did not disappoint. In fact, it was exactly what I have been yearning for.

As a big yuri fan, I should be much more excited about Aoi Hana, but I am not. I remember reading Aoi Hana manga some time ago, but I actually do not remember any of the characters or the plots… It simply was not a memorable series. Further, the art style for the anime does not really appeal to me as much. Still, yuri is yuri, so this is on my to-watch list.

Umineko no Naku Koro ni looks quite interesting too. I don’t know too much about it, but I enjoyed the Higurashi series, so I think I will like this as well.

Umi Monogatari ~Anata ga Ite Kureta Koto~ is another anime I might watch. It is not really this season (is it?), but since I am viewing it now, I guess it is for me. It is different from what I usually go for, but I do love the skinny, lengthy, lanky look of the characters, so yea.

Anyway, are there any other anime I should view?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

About Yi

''lol...you're either sleeping or eating'' ''oh and watching anime'' ''and indulge in fashion.'' ... Ahh the busy life~
This entry was posted in Anime/ Manga, Aoi Hana, Canaan, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 2009 Summer Anime: Canaan, Aoi Hana, and More

  1. Pingback: Cartoon and Manga articles news. » Archive » 2009 Summer Anime: Canaan, Aoi Hana, and More

  2. shijima says:

    Enjoy the new anime series!
    I don’t have much time to watch anime, so please let me know at the end of the season, which ones were worth it. =)

    Thx for the Umineko wallpaper too.
    Kyrie is the best!
    I enjoyed Umineko just as much as Higurashi.
    (Could use more yuri though. :D )

  3. Pingback: majinosity » Blog Archive » 2009 Summer Anime: Canaan, Aoi Hana, and More « Listless Ink

  4. Yi says:

    @shijima: Yep yep, will do.
    Umineko wallpaper I got from Minitokyo.

  5. wow! i just feel like i wanna watch Canaan, u posted a nice pic XD
    And I also love animes with girls with guns…
    Aoi Hana is so cute, I really like it, I really hope it can have more than 11 episodes, well, they will have to make more episodes since the manga still going on…
    Umineko no Naku Koro ni it’s in my list too, I really liked Higurashi’s animes so, I might like this one too, and have one character that looks like Rena :)

  6. Yi says:

    @Yuri Downloads: Sounds like we have very similar tastes. ^^ I’m much more excited for Umineko now that a lot of people seem to enjoy it.

  7. Oh, that’s good ^_^
    Yes, Umineko its getting more popular, and the serie seems to have some strongs characters (for what i have seem in pictures), I just finish to watch Ga-Rei Zero, so I might watch the first Umineko episode during this week, coz I just have to watch some Saki’s episodes and Kananemo :)

  8. Well you saw my blog post about Kanamemo, so add that one ^^ I’ll talk about the second episode sometime this week. I kinda like Princess Lover, even though it’s partially censored >_<

  9. Yi says:

    @Yuri Downloads: Sounds good.
    @lightningsabre: Yea, definitely adding Kanamemo. Partially censored??? Is it really fan-servicey?

  10. koyot3 says:

    They all look pretty good, though nothing really grabs me. Maybe Canaan is best of these? thanks for the reviews :3

  11. Yi says:

    @koyot3: I’m guessing Canaan is the best of these too. Some of the others I might not get around to watching ever.

  12. Regarding Princess Lover… the ones that’s been censored that I’ve noticed are mostly panty shots… So it’s either steam, or excess sunlight or very dark shadows covering them up. The story is very typical, but somehow I’m hooked to it.

  13. IMSirius says:

    To me, Aoi Hana is like a second rate Maria-sama. It’s okay, but not that remarkable.

  14. Yi says:

    @lightningsabre: It sounds like Princess Lover is yet another typical fanservicey anime… I might check it out if I have time, but…

    @IMSirius: From what I’ve seen so far, I agree.

  15. Snark says:

    As a huge Noir fan, I probably should give Canaan a look ^^

    Anyways, if you’re still looking for more anime to sink your teeth into, might I suggest Sengoku Basara? Manliest and gayest thing I’ve ever seen.

  16. Yi says:

    @Snark: Thanks for the suggestion. Sengoku Basara looks decent. I’ll keep it in mind.

  17. I watched 3 episodes of Canaan and 3 of Umineko, OMG, I am in love with Canaan! It’s really a great anime! Umineko is good but, well, it’s too early to say something yet, I think that I will have to wait for more episodes, until I can say that I like it…

  18. Yi says:

    Agreed on Canaan. I’ve been too busy to start on Umineko right now though…

  19. raiinnie says:

    Umineko no Naku Koro Ni?
    Hm… I’ve only heard of Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni~<33333

  20. Fujii_Itsuki says:

    CANAAN kicks@$$~! Can you believe that Canaan is voiced by the same person who did GOD in Maria+Holic?? =3 But I LOVE LOVE Canaan’s voice. I watched it for the whole Noir, Madlax, El Cazador kinda vibe I got. Just seemed like a BeeTrain meets TypeMoon kinda deal. Also because I love Maaya Sakamoto and she’s voicing the Snake leader(forgot her name…). Loving the episodes so far~!

    Aoi Hana is pretty much all about the drama and relationships. Nice watch on a lazy Sunday…I’d have to agree that it doesn’t give that much impression campared to Hourou Musuko from the same mangaka. The latter keeps me on the edge of my seat despite having the same kinda of pacing and vibe. I think the whole gender bender angle, interesting characters and their dynamic are addictive. XD

    Umineko has been quite interesting so far though the whole trapped in an island with a mass murderer killing people one by one is becoming stale…

    Sea Story is a pretty cute little mermaid meets mahou shoujo kinda story. Has some subtext too despite main character being in denial mode. Heheh.

    Another anime with some shoujo-ai subtext is Taishou Yakyuu Musume. A group of high school girls starts a baseball club during 1920s in Japan. Quite endearing though I don’t really watch it for the baseball…There are some obvious attractions between some of the characters though. Heh.

    The anime I’d recommend is Tokyo Magnitude 8.0. When an anime starts with a (non)disclaimer about having done “research and simulations” to make things as real as possible, you know you’ve got something special. 4 episodes so far and they’re awesome~! =D (non-yuri…so far)

  21. Yi says:

    @raiinnie: You should check it out. It’s not bad.

    @Fujii_Itsuki: Thanks for this great quick review of anime. Agreed with you on all of them. I think Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 is another one that I’d like to add to my list. It sounds interesting.

  22. jae says:

    glad to see there’s many yuri fan’s here. .looks like we’re in the same boat

  23. Yi says:

    @jae: Yep yep. ^ ^ I’m definitely a yuri fan as well, as are many readers here, since this is quite a yuri-centric blog.

  24. Pingback: Canaan | Listless Ink

Leave a Reply

